Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!

Product Video:

Our toughest waterproof blanket yet
Find out why

Rambo® Original Turnout Blanket w/Leg Arches

Horseware Ireland
- Item #18714
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The classic Rambo style, with great updated features! The Rambo Original Turnout with Leg Arches features a 1000 denier ballistic nylon outer shell, the strongest and most durable turnout material on the market. Inner lining is anti-static and anti-bacterial with thermobonded fiberfill for longer lasting heat retention so your horse stays comfortably warm all season long.

Made in Ireland

Also Available:
Matching Rambo® Original Neck Cover (Fill: 0g, 150g, 250g)
Rambo® Original Turnout Sheet w/Leg Arches (Fill: 0g)

Favorite Features

  • Waterproof 1000 denier ballistic nylon outer shell is extremely strong and durable
  • Inner lining is anti-static and anti-bacterial with thermobonded fiberfill for longer lasting heat retention
  • The wicking nature of the lining pulls moisture away from the horse's body where it is absorbed by Horseware's unique AquaTrans coating
  • Compatable with Horseware Liner System
  • Leg arches for increased freedom of movement
  • Wipe clean tail cord
  • Reflective strips for added visibility
  • Oversize tail flap
  • Removable triple belly surcingle straps make it easier for you to keep the blanket clean
  • Patented "V-front" quick clip closure system with snap allows for easy on and off while Surefit Neck Design helps to reduce pressure on your horses chest and shoulder
  • Medium/Lite has 100g of fill, Medium has 200g fill, Heavy has 370g fill
  • Coordinating neck rug available here!
Key Specifications
  • Denier: 1000
  • Fabric: Ballistic nylon
  • Fill: 0g, 200g, 370g
  • Closure Style: V-front neck closure

Specifications

Denier 1000
Fabric Ballistic nylon
Fill 0g, 200g, 370g
Surcingles Triple belly surcingles
Lining Anti-Bacterial lining
Gussets No
Closure Style V-front neck closure
Neck Style Standard
Leg Straps/Tail Cord Tail cord
Tail Flap Yes
Neck Rug/Hood No
Special Features Wicking nature of the lining pulls moisture away from the horse's body where it is absorbed by Horseware's unique AquaTrans coating. Leg arches for increased freedom of movement.
Customizable Embroidery
Manufacturer Warranty 3 Year Guarantee
You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "The new Mio Fly Sheet is made from ...
    Description:
    "The new Mio Fly Sheet is made from an ultra breathable soft knitted polyester fabric with UV protection to keep your horse cool and protected from the sun and bugs all summer long. Imported."
    "Accuhorsemat is an innovative acupressure blanket designed to ...
    Description:
    "Accuhorsemat is an innovative acupressure blanket designed to reduce muscle tension and soreness, alleviate pain, and accelerate recovery after exercise. The acupressure mats on the hindquarters and shoulders are held in place by the royal blue nylon blanket. Wearing the ...
    "Voted the ""Best Summer Turnout"" out by John ...
    Description:
    "Voted the ""Best Summer Turnout"" out by John Lyons ""The Perfect Horse"", the Saratoga Summer Turnout is the best selling flysheet from Saratoga Horseworks. The fabric is non-absorbent and wicks away sweat from the horse allowing it to cool more ...
    "The Weatherbeeta Genero 1200D High Neck Turnout made ...
    Description:
    "The Weatherbeeta Genero 1200D High Neck Turnout made Exclusively for SmartPak offers Weatherbeeta quality at a great price, in a fun, new color only available at SmartPak. This blanket features a high-neck cut providing extra coverage and warmth. Imported. Imported ...
    "The Rambo Helix Stable Sheet uses an advanced ...
    Description:
    "The Rambo Helix Stable Sheet uses an advanced fabric construction of ring spun brushed polyester with the latest in moisture management technology making this high-tech sheet Horseware's most versatile yet. Imported. Imported"
    "Rambo Blanket Wash is a laundry solution concentrate ...
    Description:
    "Rambo Blanket Wash is a laundry solution concentrate specially made to safely clean your horse blankets. Also great for cleaning leather trimmed breeches and wool or down-filled articles. Case of 12. Made in USA"
    "The Noble Outfitters Guardsman Turnout Blanket features an ...
    Description:
    "The Noble Outfitters Guardsman Turnout Blanket features an innovative design engineered to naturally move with the horse and ensure the utmost in comfort! This durable blanket is made from 1000D ballistic ripstop nylon and backed by a 4 year guarantee!" ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    91% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Rambo® Original Turnout Blanket w/Leg Arches is rated 4.8 out of 5 by 58.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Strong, sturdy, and very warm! My TB gelding recently destroyed his medium weight turnout, so I started to research his replacement. I saw nothing but rave reviews for the original Rambo in terms of durability, and also read about great fit for horses with high withers. So far, the blanket is holding up well to all the hype - no blanket rubs and no damage, hooray! Very happy with this blanket...you really do get what you pay for in the horse world!
    Date published: 2015-12-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tough and effective I needed a new rain sheet and am so happy I went with the Rambo. Durable, fits him well (OTTB), and with these crazy fall temp fluctuations I don't have to worry if it gets a little warm because it's breathable - he was still dry underneath. Pricey, but I consider it an investment just like the Rambo medium I bought for him last year.
    Date published: 2015-11-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product Line I bought this blanket for my 16+ hand Arab cross. He is a very difficult fit but this blanket fits him very, very well. My mom also bought one for a 16+ hand quarter horse. It fits him perfectly. Great quality blanket!
    Date published: 2015-11-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love Rambo I bought this just because it was time for a new sheet for my horse. I purchased my normal Rambo size and fit perfectly.
    Date published: 2015-10-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great quality I bought this blanket, a mid weight and a sheet over the last month. They are great, they fit perfect not rubs! Great horseware quality.
    Date published: 2015-03-14
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from RAMBO QUALITY HAS GONE DOWN IN RECENT YEARS Purchased new rambo turnout for winter season, only 6 weeks on my horse and it's already trashed! The plastic clip on tail strap broke the first week. Now the inside lining is hanging out and the white padding is strewn over the dry lot. I've been using rambo turnouts for over 20 years and still have one I purchased 12 years ago. The older models are truly worth the money. The blanket I purchased in 2013 is laying in my hayloft with same rips, just thought it was a fluke defective blanket….now I see this is a pattern with rambo quality and craftsmanship, so sad. The off brand blanket I purchased at a local tack store is still holding strong. The clerk at my tack shop reports she gets many poor reviews on rambos. Anyone else seeing theseproblems? Hopefully Smarkpack Equine will make this right…..
    Date published: 2015-01-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great product My horse is really tough on his sheets - Rambo is the only one that lasts. His old turnout sheet had lost it's water repellence. this new one arrived just in time for rain and cold weather. there are new and improved features over the old one. I will waterproof the old Rambo and use it as a back up.
    Date published: 2015-01-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent quality! I don't know why I ever thought I should buy a cheaper sheet and expect Rambo durability. Worth the money to not have to repair/replace.
    Date published: 2014-12-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Durable, fits well I hesitated a little bit at the price but Rambo has such an excellent reputation. Several weeks into winter, it seems well worth it. The quality of the blanket is excellent, and I love that the buckles are easy to hook up. It stays in place (love the triple buckles) and helps keep him warm. I know that it will earn that price over many years.
    Date published: 2014-11-23
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good features and quality The fit is a little big for the size, but overall I love this. The plastic cord around the tail is awesome, as within a week I already needed to wash it. The three clasps around the middle and then the two in the front are durable and help a little bit with the fit as well. I haven't had it for a full winter yet, so I'll get back on its durability after the winter.
    Date published: 2014-11-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really works! I bought this blanket for my 3 year-old thoroughbred about a year ago. Him and his friends are quite rough on each other when they're turned out together in their field and I was not too found of buy such an expensive blanket. I am so glad I did because this blanket has made it through everything you can imagine. Last weekend we had torrential rain storm and I was worried that his blanket would be sopping went and he would be drenched underneath. Not a single drop of water got through and he was completely warm, dry, and comfortable (he had been out in the pouring rain for 4 hours at this point). I will never buy another blanket again!!!
    Date published: 2014-11-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE THIS BLANKET Have owned Rambo blankets for years - as well as Horseware's less expensive blankets - the Rambo's are worth every penny! Superior quality. Fits may different breeds/body styles well and stays in place well. Holds up to repeated use. Excellent blanket.
    Date published: 2014-11-04
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Just the BEST Since I have a lot of mileage and years under my belt with cleaning and repair blankets....hands down, Rambo holds it waterproof the best and the balistic material cannot be beat. I would not consider buying anything else for my own horses. My only negatives on the newer Rambos, the plastic snaps on the tail straps and the plastic pieces in the surcingles.
    Date published: 2014-10-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good turnout, just one sewing flaw. This is a very nice turnout sheet. I like how it fits my Morgan, the contours provide better fit, and I really like the reflective silver trim that I can see in the dark! The hardware is durable and the whole sheet is easy to get on quickly, with strong velcro and no-nonsense clips. My only problem was that the front closure had one seam that hadn't been sewn completely (see photos), but I couldn't wait the week for a replacement, so I "made it work." If you order well before the rainy season starts and check the sewing carefully, it should be fine. Now that the rains are over here in California, I have washed it and re-waterproofed with NikWax (as recommended by Rambo), and it looks great and is ready for the autumn.
    Date published: 2014-05-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome! I bought this blanket for my new horse, along with all the other fill sizes and i love it! Quality if amazing and looks great even when covered in mud ;)excited i wont be having to buy all new blankets every year!
    Date published: 2014-03-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this Rambo blanket, but runs big I have another Rambo blanket that I purchased probably about 4-5 years ago and still looks great! The only problem I had was that I ordered this blanket in an 81, the same size as my other Rambo that fits my horse perfectly. When i put the blanket on him is was a good 3-4 inches too long. My horse normally wears an 80. I had no problems exchanging it for the 78 that fit perfectly. Although Rambo's are a bit pricey they last forever based on my previous Rambo purchase, and are well worth in investment.
    Date published: 2014-03-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it!! I'm very happy I bought this product! It has hold up well, and I can wipe mud off very easily! Little expensive, but TOTALLY worth it! One little complaint, the three buckles in the front are very time consuming to put one. Normally whoever puts my horses blankets on only does the front buckles. All in all, this is an excellent blanket!!
    Date published: 2014-03-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Unsurpassed Quality!! I always know I can count on Rambo. I had another blanket, but it wasn't truly waterproof. We live in Oregon, so it needs to be completely effective no matters how much rain falls out of the sky. I really like the reflective tape on the blanket...makes it easy to find him in the pasture at not. The extra Velcro attachments in the front are nice too.
    Date published: 2014-03-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from rambo is great There is nothing like this turnout rug it is worth the money it is now the only rug I will buy
    Date published: 2014-01-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE IT !!! I love the new style of the Rambo!! The leg arches and the new front enclosures are the BEST!!! Highly recommend these blankets!!!
    Date published: 2014-01-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from v-front closure really makes a difference I find that for mine and many other horses, the V-front closure really makes a difference (as long as the blanket is the right size) in reducing pressure and rubbing across the point of shoulder. Plus all the other great features and quality from Horseware/Rambo makes their blankets worth the extra money, but mainly for me, it's how comfortably they fit my horses around shoulders and withers. The poor fits I see for withers and shoulders with so many blankets, for so many horses, make me cringe! Also, I love the high neck/wug style, but for my Morgan mare, with her big, upright Morgan neck, it just didn't seem the right match, so this style is working better for her.
    Date published: 2013-12-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful Blanket I bought the Rambo blanket for the up-coming cold weather. I am very impressed with the quality and details of the Rambo blanket. The fit was great and I am so glad I made this purchase. I would highly recommend the Rambo Original Turnout blanket.
    Date published: 2013-12-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rambo - Consistent Excellence Over the years I have become an ardent fan of Rambo blankets. Especially the Original Turnout with leg arches. The newer fit, especially in the sheet (lite) runs larger than it used to with the change to the current innovative front closure with two Velcro closures and snaps on the bias. Very tough blanket, very waterproof even with somewhat frequent machine washing. My oldest Rambo is greater than 15 years old and is still going strong, although over time the insulation has thinned out (the blanket is a medium weight). I have not been impressed with the blanket liner concept as I have multiple horses that need blankets changed and I see much more shifting of the blanket/liner combo than with the original style. Expensive though it sounds, I have found that single distinct weights work best. They can be layered if need be.
    Date published: 2013-11-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful blanket This is a great blanket! This is my first Rambo blanket for a TB that I have a hard time fitting. This blanket is perfect for his high withers. I am a Rambo blanket buyer from here on out. Thanks smart pak for carrying great products.
    Date published: 2013-04-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this turnout! This turnout fit my performance-built Quarter Horse a little big in the shoulder area, but overall I am very pleased with the fit. I like how the blanket stayed put without leg straps.
    Date published: 2013-03-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rambo original turnout with leg arches Fantastic turnout. I have 2 and use them on different size, shape horses. They fit well, stay in place and are easy to put on and take off. I have a 200 gram liner for one of the turnouts and have been able to unfasten it from the turnout and pull it off my horse without taking the turnout sheet off. That is handy when I come home and find him getting too warm in the pasture because the weather changed but I don't want to take the turnout off and have him coat himself in mud!
    Date published: 2013-03-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Durable blanket I went through two other medium weight blankets in about 4 weeks.So I decided to invest in a Rambo. My horse is always out and he runs and plays and rolls in his blanket so I needed something that would really hold up.The sizing is weird he typical wears a 74 but those ran too small.But so far so good this is a super quality blanket that I hope to have for years to come.
    Date published: 2013-03-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rambo Turnout Absolutely the very best available !!
    Date published: 2013-02-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2013-02-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutely LOVE RAMBO! I have used Rambo products for years, I absolutely love the fit and durability on all things Rambo. This particular turnout blanket, I own in both the medium and heavy weight and I can highly recommend it!!
    Date published: 2013-02-06
    • y_2017, m_2, d_20, h_6
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_4, tr_54
    • loc_en_US, sid_8714, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders