Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!

Product Video:

Our toughest waterproof blanket yet
Find out why

Rambo® Original Turnout Blanket

Horseware Ireland
- Item #18720
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.
We're sorry, but certain colors/sizes are sold out and are no longer available.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The turnout that started it all! The Rambo Original Turnout Blanket has the classic cut and material that you and your horse have come to know and love, with some great new features.

Please note: We recommend placing embroidery on a surcingle. Embroidery on the body of the blanket may interfere with the blanket's waterproofing ability.

Also Available:
Matching Rambo® Original Neck Cover
Rambo® Original Turnout Sheet

Made in Ireland

Favorite Features

  • Waterproof
  • Original neck design and straight front closures
  • 1000 denier ballistic nylon outer shell and nylon lining offer waterproof and breathable protection
  • The wicking nature of the lining pulls moisture away from the horse's body where it is absorbed by Horseware's unique AquaTrans coating
  • Anti-bacterial lining helps eliminate the conditions that cause bacteria growth
  • Available in Med/Lite weight (100g) Medium weight (200g) and Heavy weight (370g)

 

Key Specifications
  • Denier: 1000
  • Fabric: Ballistic nylon
  • Fill: 200g, 370g
  • Closure Style: Straight front double surcingle

Specifications

Denier 1000
Fabric Ballistic nylon
Fill 200g, 370g
Surcingles Triple belly surcingles
Lining Anti-Bacterial lining
Gussets No
Closure Style Straight front double surcingle
Neck Style Standard
Leg Straps/Tail Cord Tail cord
Tail Flap Yes
Neck Rug/Hood No
Special Features Wicking nature of the lining pulls moisture away from the horse's body where it is absorbed by Horseware's unique AquaTrans coating.
Customizable Embroidery
Manufacturer Warranty 3 Year Guarantee
You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "The ultimate all season blanket. 2 rugs in ...
    Description:
    "The ultimate all season blanket. 2 rugs in 1 - Simply detach the removable liner to choose the level of warmth for your horse making this blanket extremely versatile, you'll be using it all season! Made from 1000D ballistic nylon, ...
    "This is the blanket that inspired it all! ...
    Description:
    "This is the blanket that inspired it all! The Rhino SmartPak Collection Wug Turnout was created exclusively for SmartPak by the experts at Horseware Ireland for the most fashionable and functional turnout around. Rhino’s exclusive Barrier Technology means that even ...
    "Blankets with features on their mind. VELCRO® brand ...
    Description:
    "Blankets with features on their mind. VELCRO® brand and double buckle closure reduces sagging and rubs. Rear darts are tailored instead of just folded over. Tough 210 Denier taffeta show coat lining limits coat damage while 240 grams of fiber ...
    "The Weatherbeeta Genero 1200D High Neck Turnout made ...
    Description:
    "The Weatherbeeta Genero 1200D High Neck Turnout made Exclusively for SmartPak offers Weatherbeeta quality at a great price, in a fun, new color only available at SmartPak. This blanket features a high-neck cut providing extra coverage and warmth. Imported. Imported ...
    "Your favorite Amigo turnout now available with a ...
    Description:
    "Your favorite Amigo turnout now available with a removable neck rug! The Amigo Hero 6 Plus Turnout Blanket features a 600D waterproof and breathable outer to keep your horse dry and protected from the elements all season long. Imported."
    "The Amigo 1200D Bravo 12 Wug is new ...
    Description:
    "The Amigo 1200D Bravo 12 Wug is new to the Bravo range, and features Horseware's high cut neck design and V-front closure for a snug fit. 1200D polyester outer with polyester lining and front leg arch. Imported. Also Available: Matching ...
    "The Rambo Wug Turnout with Leg Arches is ...
    Description:
    "The Rambo Wug Turnout with Leg Arches is the Wug you love but with great new features! This blanket offers high-neck protection from rain and snow providing a snug fit and eliminating wither pressure. Ballistic Nylon outer shell and nylon ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    92% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Rambo® Original Turnout Blanket is rated 4.8 out of 5 by 62.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Little too expensive for a sheet I have a rambo medium and heavy blanket so when my horse's sheet ripped I figured I'd get a rambo sheet as well given their durability. I feel like they are making them a little longer (north to south) than they were before. Beautiful blanket, but since it wasn't a perfect fit for my 15.1 horse I opted to return it for something a little less expensive.
    Date published: 2016-05-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I <3 Rambos! I am a very loyal Rambo customer. I love their products. They fit well, and most of all they last. All of my turnout blankets are Rambo: sheet, medium and heavy. I have to admit - I stick to the original Rambos. The newer designs cost more and frankly, even though I've read about them, they never seem to have much appeal over the original design. Love, love, love! Buy it - you won't be sorry!
    Date published: 2016-03-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect blanket for my mare!!! This style Rambo fits my mare better than any other blanket-no shifting and no rubbing She actually moves more freely in this blanket, when turned out in it!
    Date published: 2016-02-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from ALWAYS THE BEST CHOICE Nothing fits better or lasts longer than a Rambo. I've never had to replace a Rambo sheet or blanket. They wear like iron. Certainly worth the money in the long run. And they fit great. No lop-sided blankets in the morning!
    Date published: 2016-02-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Sheet - the quality I'd expect from Rambo I bought this a month ago for my Perch/TB cross. It fits her so well and doesn't shift at all while she's out. She has sensitive skin and gets shoulder rubs from her blankets sometimes but hasn't had the problem at all with this one because it fits so well. My complaint with the rambo design has always been that the tail strap gets disgusting and i need to wash it every few days to keep it from staining her legs. This one has the extra loop on the tail flap to weave the strap through that keeps it from going under her tail and getting gross. Definitely the quality I have come to expect from the Rambo name.
    Date published: 2015-12-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Blanket Brand! I love Rambo blankets so much. I trust them on my thin skinned, never grows a winter coat OTTB. I purchased the Hunter Green and Red in Heavy (350 fill). The colors look amazing on a chestnut. My boy is a 16.3, long-backed thoroughbred and the 81" fit him perfectly. I was hesitant to buy this product because of the price (which in the long run isn't bad at all) but these blankets are worth the money and last so long. My trainer swears buy Rambo, she has had a Rambo for around 5 years? Maybe, I don't know how long they have been around. But it works like its brand new and looks that way too. So even though I can't comment on the durability yet, my trainer can.
    Date published: 2015-12-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tried and True Recently purchased getting ready for colder temps! I like this blanket because my QH is very tough on blankets and this can withstand his workouts!
    Date published: 2015-11-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love my Rambo (all 5 of them)!!! They wear well-no rubs, wash well-year after year and keep my horses dry!!!
    Date published: 2015-11-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rambo Original Turnout I love Rambo blankets. They are tough and durable and stay in place on the horse.
    Date published: 2015-11-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fit This is the only winter rug I've found that actually fits my horse. It's tough and durable and keeps him very comfortable.
    Date published: 2015-08-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rambo Sheet The Rambo sheet is excellent. It is very durable and very well made. The sizes run large. I had to return the first one I bought for a smaller size. Smart Pak was wonderful about the return. Their customer service is very good also.
    Date published: 2015-04-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome turnout!!! I bought this for my gelding who lives in a herd and the geldings can be rough on their blankets. It's wonderful and indestructible. Fits great...I just wish Rambo would have more colors available.
    Date published: 2015-04-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Typical rambo quality. Well made, durable, I buy only rambo blankets. They are of superior quality and are designed to last for many,many years. They are well worth the initial expenditure because it will usually be your last. I have Rambos that are nearly 20 years old.
    Date published: 2015-02-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Had one for 25 years, bought another I had a Rambo Rug for 25 years, used every winter. It just lost its waterproofing on the lower part this year. Rest was still waterproof! I had purchased a new one several years ago for when it needed to be replaced but never needed to even open it up. When our barn burned down recently. I decided to get another one. I believe in going with what I KNOW works and lasts. My 33 year-old horse is on 24/7 turnout with a run-in stall that he seldom goes in, so having a dependable turnout rug is imperative. This Rambo Rug definitely fits the bill. It never had a single tear, even when there were several horses with him. :)I no longer compete, as I am way too old. LOL
    Date published: 2015-01-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from so far fits well and is as advertised as a turn out sheet
    Date published: 2015-01-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great blankets. This is the second Rambo blanket I've purchased and I can see the quality of them is so much better than other brands that I will from here on only buy Rambos. They are light weight but provide warmth and have superior water repellency. They dry off so much faster than other blankets.The only thing I don't like is the fact that they do run large and hang really low, including the tail strap, which runs across the back of the horse underneath the tail and gets covered with manure. Aside from that, these blankets are great.
    Date published: 2014-12-08
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Did Not Last After one season of use, the linings of all 4 medium weight blankets have fallen apart. I have had Rambo blankets for years and have not had this problem before.
    Date published: 2014-11-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice sheet Finally broke down and bought a Rambo after many years. So far it is great keeps my clipped horse dry in mild weather. My horse is fairly stocky so he normally wears a 78. It's a bit big- next time would do a 75.
    Date published: 2014-11-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Blanket! I have purchased many other brands but Rambo is by far the best. I have my horses turned out with 10+ other horses year round and have had no tears or leakage in my Rambo Rugs. They are more expensive but worth the cost.
    Date published: 2014-11-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great sheet! My horse needed something lightweight, durable and waterproof. These met all of the qualifications. Worth the price!
    Date published: 2014-11-12
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good Quality, but No Leg Straps I thought the material and fill in this was really nice and it seemed like a truly sturdy blanket, but there were no back leg straps, which I prefer to help keep a blanket in place. Instead it had a nylon strap around the butt, which would have been highly inefficient to clean should my horse poop on it. A 75 also dwarfed my leggy 16.2 warmblood cross, so that was a problem, too.
    Date published: 2014-10-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice blanket, but too much for my horse I bought this blanket and really like the quality, but it was too bulky for my Morgan, he is a 15.3 hand gelding and I ordered him the 75.  I thought the quality was fantastic, but leg arches might have made the fit better.
    Date published: 2013-12-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from All 4 of my horses have these blankets now. They are super easy to get and off and they last forever. I have tried many brands but Rambo is the best. I need to add that it arrived very quickly too.
    Date published: 2013-12-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well Made I have had this product before and was anxious to get a new one, however it did not fit my horse. The 78 is too tight in the chest/shoulder area but if I get a 81, it hangs off her butt. She is big chested and short backed, so unfortunately I had to purchase a different brand. But I love Rambo quality!!
    Date published: 2013-12-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have had 3 of these rain sheets for my horses. They are durable and totally water proof. Rambo makes a good product. Smartpak has the best price I have found.Thank-You
    Date published: 2013-06-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Blanket Ever I've owned my Rambo Original for 10 years now, and it doesn't have any rips. No leaks. No issues. No holes.After dealing with other blanket brands, I highly respect Horseware Ireland's products and am loyal to Rambo especially. Everyone in my barn has at least one Horseware Ireland turnout--I think it's partly because I'm such a huge fan!
    Date published: 2013-06-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is my 2nd Rambo rainsheet for this horse. Holds up very well and keeps him dry.
    Date published: 2013-04-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rambo quality Herdmates rough on blankets. This one still intact
    Date published: 2013-04-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Once again once again I purchase this turnout sheet. After trying other less expensive turn out sheets, I have returned to what I know. I have several if these sheets..yes they are more money, however they wear very well and keep the horses dry. I have a few of these that are 15-20 years old!
    Date published: 2013-03-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Keeps my horse warm!! This is my second heavy Rambo, I like the changes they have made to them. My old one is over 20 years old. I feel better having this blanket on my 30 year old horse when the weather is cold.
    Date published: 2013-03-16
    • y_2017, m_1, d_20, h_18
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_62
    • loc_en_US, sid_8720, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=AGE, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders