Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
Contact our experts 24/7: Call 800-461-8898

The SmartPak Experts are now SmartPak TEXTperts!

All of our supplement and product expertise is just a text away! Ask questions, manage your account, and place orders by texting 26756 from your mobile phone. Have a great ride!

Available Monday - Friday
9:00am - 5:30pm EST

By texting 26756, you're giving SmartPak your consent to text you to help resolve your issue, including automated replies, at the number you provided. To opt out, text STOP to 26756. Text HELP to 26756 for info. Msg&data rates may apply. Consent to receive texts not required to buy products. Terms & conditions and the full Text Message Privacy Policy can be found at https://www.smartpakequine.com/content/2waytextTC in case you're interested.
Putting your horse's supplements on AutoShip helps you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements on AutoShip, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one individual AutoShip supplement or horse's SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
Because you have your horse's supplements on AutoShip, you get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by syncing them with your AutoShip order, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
colors available

Product Video:

Our toughest waterproof blanket yet
Find out why

Rambo® Micklem® Competition Bridle

Rambo
- Item #18335
Our Price: List Price:
Our Price: Our Price: Sale Price: : $ (%) :
Member Price:
(Members save 5% at SmartPak)
:
SmartPerks Price:
(Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items!)
:
Your Price:
(You save 5% as a member of . And, because you have supplements on AutoShip, you save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items!)
:
SmartPerks Price:
(Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you can save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items! Enter promo code PERKS at checkout.)
:
Your Price:
(You save 5% as a member of . Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you can save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items! Enter promo code PERKS at checkout.)
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING
AutoShip and Save Time (Details)

days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The Bridle with an Ergonomic Design

The Rambo® Micklem® Competition Bridle by Horseware Ireland is designed to fit the horse's skull and prevent uncomfortable pressure points. This unique shape makes this bridle the most comfortable and effective ever designed. Available in both black and dark havana (brown). Approved for FEI competition.

Imported

Favorite Features
  • Ergonomic design to fit the shape of the horse's skull
  • 5/8" Eco-friendly with rubber reins
  • Stainless steel buckles
  • Padding on noseband, browband, and cheek pieces

Sizing

Available in sizes Pony, Cob, Horse, Large Horse
What Customers Say:
You Might Like

    Reviews

    out of 5
    94% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Rambo® Micklem® Competition Bridle is rated 4.5 out of 5 by 302.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful bridle... I've purchased two of these, one (small horse size) for my hard-to-fit 14.3 Appaloosa gelding, and the other (large horse) for our 17.2 Percheron mare. My App loves his, and I love not having so many straps on his face, LOL. The large horse size was, sadly, just a smidge too small for our mare, and I returned it. I would definitely recommend this for fussy horses who need a flash--I wish I'd tried this on my OTTB!
    Date published: 2017-08-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful Bridle I bought my very sensitive mare this bridle over six months ago in hopes of having a more comfortable bridle that would allow her to soften more, and it did not let down! In my first ride with it, there was a noticeable difference in how my horse behaved. Suddenly she was softening and relaxing and reaching lightly into my hands within seconds. Although the leather could be better quality, it is more than worth it to see the difference this bridle makes!
    Date published: 2017-07-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great supple leather This is my first dressage bridle and I so happy with it. My horse is responding very well and seems super comfortable. I really love that the leather was a good quality, supple leather. Plus the rubber reins are super grippy and flexible! Looks great!
    Date published: 2017-06-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Bridle Ever! I hate to buy into fads, especially gimmicky things with tack, but holy cow this bridle is everything I expected and more. My horse LOVES it! He didn't go poorly before, but now he's in my hands, ready to work as soon as I get on. I was skeptical at first but after a month in this bridle I am sold, it's completely worth every penny. The leather is soft/supple and the bridle is incredibly adjustable, making it completely customizable - the horse-size fit by OTTB who also fits in a cob-sized HDR Figure8.
    Date published: 2017-06-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simple, comfortable design This bridle fits my horse perfectly. The jaw & chin straps fasten easily & smoothly. The reins have the best sure-grip ever. I absolutely love this bridle and think my horse does too.
    Date published: 2017-05-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fits beautifully, love it. I have been using this on my mare for about a month and she is much more relaxed and working great. She has a petite head for a warmblood and it fits her beautifully. Very easy to adjust for small or large heads. I have had to order custom cheek pieces before to get the right fit. She is between a cob and horse size. It has the perfect size noseband, not too big and bulky for my mare. Less straps mean less bulk on sides of face. Great bridle.
    Date published: 2017-05-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from my horse loves it!!!!!!!! I bought this for my ottb who I am starting to Event with. For the year I have had him he has been struggling to honestly seek contact. From the first ride using this bridle he is going through and happy to do so. Everyone who has seen us working has commented on how happy and well he is now. It may be partially training but I am sure the bridle has made him happier. Best money I have spent on him right up there with a new saddle.
    Date published: 2017-05-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love Micklem bridles, but disappointed this time. I purchased three Micklem bridles before buying this one. They have stood up to daily use and the horses love them. This particular bridle, however, was very dried out (poor quality leather) and one of the keepers broke while I was putting the bridle together. I am still waiting to hear back from Smartpak and the Mfg.
    Date published: 2017-05-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! This bridle has made such a difference to my horse! I had heard good things, but wasn't expecting miracles... but honestly if your horse seems at all unhappy or fussy about the contact you should consider this bridle. It has improved my horses connection incredibly, even without the bit clips. I haven't even needed to try those!
    Date published: 2017-04-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great flexibility! I bought this for my 7 yr old Andalusian who is very sensitive and always fussing with the bridle. Overall the fit is good, but I did have to replace the browband with a larger one. I tried using the bridle with various bits, with and without the clips to the bit. When using the clips, he is very steady, but heavier in the bridle and less sensitive to nuanced cues, so we are not using the clips. He seems much happier in this bridle overall. He holds the bit more quietly and is not as inclined to grab it as an evasion. The leather is nice quality. A little stiff, but I know that will improve with conditioning. It is a very dark brown. I use it for dressage and jumping.
    Date published: 2017-04-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this bridle! I bought this bridle about 6 months ago to help my wind sucker who wears a cribbing strap deal with poll pressure exerted in the bridle. Instantaneous improvement with acceptance in the bridle. It is a winner!
    Date published: 2017-03-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beautifully balanced bridle I was intrigued with the idea of a more ergonomic bridle. I have a young 4 year old that is just being started and I wanted to give him the easiest way to start. Especially knowing that he is still dealing with teeth that are changing and wolf teeth that may or may not come in at some point. This bridle has been amazing. I paired it with a very simple double jointed happy mouth and he is super happy and taking a light contact. This bridle did take a little bit of reading to understand how to properly fit and adjust the bit and the noseband but it was explained in the booklet that came with the bridle. And a special bonus that it comes with my favorite reins on the planet. Super supple yet sticky rubber reins that are easy to grip yet flexible enough for you to be light in your contact. My only complaint is that it is a fairly plain bridle however the browband is easily changeable so I was able to dress this bridle up a little bit for show.
    Date published: 2017-03-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pony approves My pony seems to be softer in my hand and a bit more willing to move forward. He is a large pony, similar to a Welsh Cob Section D. I ordered the horse size for my boy and it was a good fit. A Cob size would have been too small . So far he seems to like it. The leather seems nice and is soft and easy to adjust . The noseband is not too wide and I think he likes the "minimalist" feel of this bridle. I always thought it was a gimmick , but, not after the difference I felt in him after the first ride. For my pony , it has been a positive tack improvement.
    Date published: 2017-03-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from As advertised! Used this bridle for the first time today and I am very pleased. I bought this because I needed a new bridle and was tired of the nosebands on my other bridles losing shape over time. This bridle has many great reviews and I have found them to be very accurate. The leather is a bit stiff but of good quality. I ride dresssage so will not use the rubber reins that came with it. The only oddity is the chin strap seems a bit small, I have a 15.2 QH mix, not a big guy at all but that strap is a bit too short. As. for. the ride, def noticed more reaching for the bridle today and less resistance. I will see if this keeps up but first ride was good. Overall very pleased with the purchase!
    Date published: 2017-02-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great bridle! Really love the Micklem design for some horses. Not that prettiest bridle, but the function definitely out weighs the lack of stylish features. For a few horses I ride this is a night and day difference from a conventional snaffle bridle. Every trainer should have one in their tack room :)
    Date published: 2017-02-17
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from I just bought this bridle and I am very pleased for the most part tho I did notice that some off the leather were the holes are started to crack! I am very disappointed about that but nothing Some oil can't fix. Overall pretty nice quality but I don't think it was worth 200, my thoroughbred didn't change when I rode him in it but he definitely didn't dislike it. Everyone I have talked to has loved this bridle I would definitely recommend it.
    Date published: 2017-02-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Voodoo magic bridle I'm generally opposed to training devises such as draw reins, etc., but at the request of my trainer who uses it on her own horse, I agreed to try hers for a day. It had a Happy Mouth double jointed boucher. I figured I'd be getting run away with or have my arms pulled out of their sockets & was fully prepared. But WOW! My hot jumper loped around like a hunter! Soft, submissive, responsive, no head tossing, seeking contact....not things typical of this mare! I thought it was a fluke but used it again the next day. Same thing! Still skeptical, I used my regular bridle with regular double jointed snaffle on day 3. She went back to the same strong, somewhat resistant, head tossing hot jumper...... So....... I bought my own with the exact same bit as used on my trainer's bridle. We haven't looked back since then. Not sure how it works & don't really care. It's worked miracles with my horse! As far as leather quality, it's not the luxurious leather of expensive bridles, but is certainly decent. Leather balsam has softened it up nicely.
    Date published: 2017-02-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love my Micklem Competition Bridle! My horse has a bony protrusion on her jaw that was getting rubbed by the noseband on her previous bridle. The Micklem Bridle is designed to eliminate the regular nose band and now I do not have to worry that her bridle is making her uncomfortable. The bridle has a stream-lined look that I really appreciate because my horse has a smaller face. I recommend this bridle to everyone.
    Date published: 2017-01-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Supple leather The leather is supple and I really like the rubber reins, having never used anything but leather previously. For a horse that is overall sensitive to using a flash the bridle may be too strong. I cannot use for the horse intended but it works well with the other. I may even be able to switch to a bit even milder than the one currently in use.
    Date published: 2017-01-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great features! I bought this bridle to relieve head shaking. My horse Is more comfortable in it than a typical dressage bridle with a flash nose band. He isn't totally asymptomatic, but, it has helped.
    Date published: 2017-01-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Significant Difference! I got this bridle for my horse for Christmas and have seen a big change in my horse. The bit stays in place with the optional clips and the leather is soft. The contact is more steady and even with this bridle. The reins for the horse size were a little short for long and low work but I didn't mind. My horse was more accepting of the bridle and didn't try opening his mouth anymore. He also was more willing to keep his head down and stretch more. I'm very glad I purchased this bridle.
    Date published: 2017-01-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great quality This is a very different kind of bridle than I have used before. It feels like it's looser when it goes on because it doesn't have the nose band, however it isn't loose at all. My horse likes it and I like that he does.
    Date published: 2017-01-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved by horse and rider I love this bridle because it takes the pressure off the mouth and distributes it to the pole thus a lighter hand. My horse loves it for the same reasons.
    Date published: 2016-12-23
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great product! I bought this bridle a few months ago after hearing great results on other horses with "connection" issues. My horse was already being ridden in a nice quality padded bridle. He responded positively from the first ride and has continued to change dramatically. I'm usually a skeptic, but I'm quite impressed. Nice quality as well!
    Date published: 2016-12-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from "Best gift ever" Selected this bridle as a gift to my wife for her BD... (no, last year I did not get her a vacuum). We found the leather and leather work to be of top quality. She had no issues gaining the fit she sought on her mare and is very pleased with the way her horse is responding to the innovative design... as always, doing business with SmartPak was hassle free and cost competitive.
    Date published: 2016-12-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Mickelm bridle Our horse has been so happy since we started using this bridle. he is much quieter when riding.
    Date published: 2016-11-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good quality I was very hesatint to spend this much money on a bridle I wasn't sure was gonna work on my ottb, but I am so glad I did!! My ottb rides so well in it and the leather quality is pretty good.
    Date published: 2016-11-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent bridle I am happy with the quality of this bridle. The leather is sturdy and well tanned, and the stitching is even and nicely finished.
    Date published: 2016-11-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Looking and Effective Bridle -- This was purchased for my 14.3 Quarter Horse mare on the advice of my trainer. The cob size fit perfectly. As with some other reviews, I found the leather a bit stiff; but it did soften with Lederbalsam. My mare showed salivation on her first ride - a never before occurrence. Beyond that it has not created any miracles in her ride but she shows no problem with it. I like the drop noseband feature and the overall ease of use and fit. (Not crazy about the rubber reins but they are adequate -- and changeable!) Overall I am pleased with this bridle.
    Date published: 2016-10-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great bridle! This bridle made a huge difference with the Icelandic mare I ride (dressage). Way more acceptance of the bit and less head shaking. The only reason I gave this 4 stars is the leather. It seems durable enough and it's not stiff but it's really thick and has a weird rubbery texture that makes it look kind of synthetic. Overall though I really like it!
    Date published: 2016-10-03
    • y_2017, m_12, d_13, h_24
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_12, tr_290
    • loc_en_US, sid_8335, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak
    • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
    • CLOUD, getContent, 32ms
    • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders