Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Rambo Blanket Wash

Horseware Ireland
- Item #11576
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

 

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer. That means this item isn't eligible for additional discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Rambo Blanket Wash is a laundry solution concentrate specially made to safely clean your horse blankets. Also great for cleaning leather trimmed breeches and wool or down-filled articles.


Favorite Features

  • Environmentally-friendly
  • 100% biodegradable formula
  • Cleans all synthetic, canvas, poly-cotton and insulated horse blankets
Sizing It Up

8 oz bottle
Case of 12

You Might Like
    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Rambo Blanket Wash is rated 4.303 out of 5 by 66.
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Doesn't get the smell out Used this--then used it again... then used it again. I washed a single sheet 3 times using this, and it STILL stinks!It feels clean after the 2nd washing, but I used a lot of the product just to get to that point...and yes, then I washed it one more time to try to remove the stink of dirty blanket, and it just didn't work. Not a fan.
    Date published: 2013-11-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Wash I tried this for the first time and it seemed to get my blankets clean
    Date published: 2013-07-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rambo Blanket Wash - The Best I have used Rambo wash for years to wash all my sheets, blankets, and turnout rugs. It it all natural so won't irritate my horses' sensitive skin and does an amazing job of getting everything clean and smelling good. I use it in my large front loading washer - the same one I wash our clothes in. No problems!
    Date published: 2013-06-24
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Only wash waterproof blankets with this! Helps the longevity of waterproof blankets, cleans great, and takes out those nasty odors.
    Date published: 2013-06-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Blanket wash Used it on my blankets (Rambo and Weatherbeeta) in the washing machine or in the scrub sink. It cleaned the blankets as well as the Leather Therapy blanket wash that I bought last year (and couldn't find this year). All of the blankets needed extra sweeping, scrubbing, rinsing after our mild winter. This took out the general dirt and sweat but manure and mud spots needed extra elbow grease. I won't know how well the waterproofing held up until next winter.
    Date published: 2013-06-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great stuff It got my horse blankets, halters, wool cinch and wool blend saddle pad very CLEAN with no resdual coating or smell. I really liked that it did not leave a "perfumed" smell. I'm going to try it on the dog bedding next. My only criticism is that it comes with a squirt top rather than a measuring cup or lid so I think I underused it with the first load and put in too much with the second load.
    Date published: 2013-06-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Blanket Wash I washed my horse's filthy winter blanket (he wore it 24/7 for 2 months) and this seemed to get it pretty clean (not sure anything can get rid of 60 days of filth in one wash!). This was an easy to squeeze/use and didn't spill during use.
    Date published: 2013-06-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Did a Decent Job In regards to getting the blankets clean, it did do a good job (the blankets weren't all that terribly soiled). I made sure to brush the blankets off with a mud brush first then put them in the washer. I put the medium and light weights through twice- just for good measure. While the blankets smelled better going out than going in, the smell wasn't totally gone. I stored them in their bags with a dryer sheet or two.All-in-all, I'd use it again next year to save the $$$ of having them professionally cleaned.
    Date published: 2013-05-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Did a Great Job I was a little iffy to try this after the mixed reviews, but my mare's turnout sheet was FILTHY and I needed something to clean it with that wouldn't ruin the waterproofing. This did an absolutely AMAZING job. The sheet was covered in ground-in mud from her rolling in the turnout every day for the last 2 months, which I did scrub off with a broom and the hose prior to washing in the machine, but it was still very dirty when I put it in the washer at home with 3 capfuls of the Rambo Blanket Wash. Given how that sheet looked going in the wash, I was astounded by how it came out. There were a couple of faint stains that didn't come out, but the sheet has a printed design on it (it is a Weatherbeeta Genero in the crazy Geocities print) and you could barely see the stains. Otherwise, the sheet looked like new - the colors were bright, and the waterproof of the sheet remained. I also used it to wash my black Tuffrider Thermomanager blanket, which had turned gray from dust and hair accumulation. This one I did not pre-clean at the barn. It also came out good as new! The blanket is back to its rich sleek black color.A lot of people have complained about the horsey smell remaining. Honestly, I have washed that Thermomanager blanket previously with regular detergent, and NOTHING gets that smell out. The Rambo blanket wash did a much better job at eliminating the pungency of the smell than any other detergent I've tried so far, and removed the hair and grime way better, too.It's a little pricey for what you get, and I wish you could get it in a larger bottle (hint-hint Smartpak!) but I will be purchasing again.
    Date published: 2013-02-21
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not a repeat! I bought Rambo Blanket Wash to clean a medium-heavy Weatherbeeta landa freestyle blanket in the middle of this winter 2013, hoping not to have to send that blanket for professional cleaning. The blanket was dirty, especially the tail cover, the fleece on the withers and the surcingles and leg straps that were very smelly and stained. The Rambo wash did absolutely nothing. Apart for the fleece that came out cleaner, the smell and stains remained even after two washes. I am very disappointed by this product. I will see how it works on turnout sheets and breeches but as far as cleaning medium/heavy blanket goes, it does not achieve acceptable results in my opinion. I was not expecting to get the blanket as clean as with a professional cleaner but I was expecting much better results from this product.
    Date published: 2013-01-24
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works pretty good I washed my rambo wug that had only been worn for about 24 hours (so not super dirty, but he had laid down while wearing it and it did have mud/dirt on it) in 3 tablespoons of this stuff as directed in my front load washing machine. It did get it mostly clean (I added the extra rinse cycle too), but not perfectly clean, like I would expect if I had sent it out to be professionally cleaned. Definitely good enough for me without the cost of sending it out. I also washed some saddle pads & Kerrits winter gloves (synthetic palms) and they turned out clean and not so smelly anymore (I was afraid to wash them previously, but now that I know that they won't get ruined, they will be getting washed more frequently!). I look forward to washing my other horsey items in this stuff and see how they turn out.
    Date published: 2012-11-18
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Just okay I had higher expectations after reading others reviews. I had to wash my turnout sheet twice to try to eliminate the odor and while the blanket came out looking like new, this wash didn't do much for eliminating odors. I followed the directions and used the recommended amount of detergent per blanket, but I didn't get the results I had hoped for. I will finish this bottle as it is pretty pricey for the amount you get... but I will be on a hunt for a different product.
    Date published: 2012-11-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from best blanket wash I've tried a few different blanket wash products and this one is in line with those on decent cleaning, but the best part is the fresh smell!!
    Date published: 2012-11-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works Great!! I was skeptical due to some of the other reviews, however I decided to try it. Glad I did!! I have a front load washer and used 3 Tablespoons per blanket. It worked awesome! My blankets / sheets look like new. Best of all, NO odor on my blankets. I have not yet had the opportunity to test to see if the waterproofing on the sheets held up, but I have confidence in this product.
    Date published: 2012-11-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Blanket Wash Out There! This blanket wash is the best! It turns the most dirty & smelly blankets into ones that look brand new again!
    Date published: 2012-06-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product! Better than regular detergent - to help make my blanket last a long time!
    Date published: 2012-02-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Definitely recommend! I am so glad I decided to purchase the Rambo Blanket Wash! I took my blanket to a regular laundromat, used the Rambo wash and now my blankets are as good as new. No fading of the fabric and it worked wonders at getting out all the mud, grass and "dirty" business. Best of all, my blankets smelled as fresh as the day I bought them. The Rambo wash is so gentle that it did not irritate my TB's sensitive skin. I couldn't have asked for anything better, especially for the value and from a company with as wonderful customer service as Smartpak!
    Date published: 2012-01-28
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from disappointed I read reviews but I bought a bottle to try and I too had to use a lot compared to the directions. I have front loader machines and I washed four blankets (all separate), the bottle is now empty, and the blankets are still stinky!! Not happy.
    Date published: 2012-01-25
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not Impressed I purchased this product to wash my Rambo blankets in order to preserve the waterproof coating. I'm not impressed with the cleaning power or the odor removal. My horses don't get that dirty and I rinse the blankets before washing, and they didn't come clean and were still stinky. I've had much better luck with Leather Therapy Laundry Solution.
    Date published: 2012-01-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Blanket was review My horses' turnout need to be washed but I was worried about losing the waterproofing. I searched for a blanket wash that would clean well and preserve the waterproofing. This product seems to fit the bill quite well. I was happy with the outcome and the waterproofing has stayed intact.
    Date published: 2011-12-05
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from rambo blanket wash I didn't have as much luck as others have had in washing my blankets and I'm not sure if it was the way I was doing it or what. I used a front loader at the laundrymat and I've had to use one bottle to wash one blanket. It was mostly because I put it through several cycles in trying to get out the smell. It still had a bit of a smell even afterwards.
    Date published: 2011-11-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutely the Best!!!!!! I loved it before on my old blankets. No soap residue left, rinses clean. But this time washed my new Rambo Duo turnout sheet for the first time with and was amazed at how clean it got the blanket. This second winter of use and it looks like brand new first year.
    Date published: 2011-09-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cleans even white pads Works wonders on my saddle pads and coolers.I use them in a front loading washer and dont wash to many at the same time.I also use it on my dog bed covers and it takes out the "wet dog" smell.
    Date published: 2011-09-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Blanket Wash Worked well for cleaning my horse's lighter weight blankets that would fit in my home washer. Very convenient!
    Date published: 2011-08-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from rambo wash love this wash. does a really good job cleaning my rambo blankets and keeps them water proof. great product.
    Date published: 2011-07-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from gets the stench out! I love this stuff. I only wash my blankets in the spring, so when I finally take them in to the laundromat, I just drop them off with a bottle of Rambo Blanket Wash, give the instructions and pick them up smelling almost as good as new! This stuff is superconcentrated, and it really takes out a winter's worth of grime with just a small amount per blanket. Love it!
    Date published: 2011-07-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Blanket Shampoo on the Market I've used this product on my horses blankets. I washed alot of them as i have many horses. They come out clean without urine smell. There is no shrinkage. I am pleased with this product and would recommend it.
    Date published: 2011-07-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Required to clean Horseware blankets Does a great job cleaning those turn out blankets!
    Date published: 2011-05-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to use This product is so easy to use! For us, we kept adding some to a 5 gallon bucket, adding water, and then placing a suction that attaches to the power washer. Simply as that, no using the home washer or spending money at the laundry mat. It only cost me a bottle of Rambo wash and half a day to wash 10(!) horse blankets.
    Date published: 2011-05-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Safe for your blankets Since Rambo advised not using ordinary detergent on your blankets, I think it is worth paying a little extra to wash your blankets safely.They are a big investment!
    Date published: 2011-05-23
    • 2015-05-23T08:29CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.3
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_4, tr_62
    • loc_en_US, sid_1576, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Recipe: Homemade Carrot and Oat Treats
    It has been such a cold and snowy winter here in Massachusetts for the past few months. I look for any excuse to fire up my oven. Prior to visiting my horse Bug last weekend I decided to make her

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.