Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Colors and Styles

Rainbow Reins

Kincade
- Item #14149
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Rainbow Reins are an effective and fun training aid with colored panels for beginners to learn correct contact. Hook stud ends. 1/2" x 54", 5/8" x 54" or 1/2" x 48". Patriotic and Pastel reins are not available in 1/2" x 54".

You Might Like
    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Rainbow Reins is rated 4.35 out of 5 by 20.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Just right. Got these in pony length for my daughter & her pony. They were stiff at first, but they softened up after just a few rides & are working great in her small hands. Just what we needed.
    Date published: 2014-05-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect for young rider Perfect for beginner or young rider to learn how to carry rein length during instruction. Plus, color options really cute!
    Date published: 2014-01-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bought these for a young rider Perfect to learn rein position. Fun for the student! Nice price for the money!
    Date published: 2014-01-22
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from They are colorful! I liked the colors in the reins but did not like the feel. It was too stiff and the pebbled texture too rough. Since these were being used for children and adults with special needs they did not offer the ease of grip that I needed.
    Date published: 2013-12-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pleasently Surprised I have only just started using these reins in lessons with my "little" students. I do wish the rubber parts were a bit thinner to be easier for small hands to hold. The leather is VERY nice and soft though! I will be careful about the warm weather in summer and hopefully won't have any problems with melting like other reviews mention!
    Date published: 2013-12-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So Cute! Asked for these and got them as a gift. So adorable!!! They get a little dirty,but it's not very noticible at all, and I am not sure how cleaning would go
    Date published: 2013-10-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for Teaching I remember learning to ride with these reins! Now I am teaching with them. They are a great visual-aid to help beginner riders shorten/lengthen their reins correctly.
    Date published: 2012-02-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent learning tool A great tool for the beginner rider. The reins are nice and thin for the small hand. It shows the beginner that they have one rein longer or shorter than the other or that the reins are to long or to short.
    Date published: 2011-07-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So cute I loved finding the pastel rainbow reins, I thought they were so adorable. I bought a pair for a beginner rider who is riding one of my horses. She eventually graduated to another pair of reins to match her dressage bridle, so I tossed these on my jumper's bridle for a while. After deciding I need a pair of "big girl" reins, I donated them to the local therapeutic riding program, where they love them!
    Date published: 2011-07-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Indispensible Training Tool! I've now bought two pairs of rainbow reins for the lesson horses at my barn. The kids really love them and it is a great training tool for rein length/evenness. My first pair is over two years old and holding up well (does sound like you should avoid heat!). It is great that they are available in different length/widths. I agree that the wider width is tough for little hands.
    Date published: 2011-03-07
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Melted in Storage I bought the pastel ones and ended up having to store them for a few months. When I went to use them again the reins had melted and there was pastel goo all over my bridle bag and the bridle. It was difficult to get off and the reins were ruined. Be careful about storing them anywhere warm.
    Date published: 2010-08-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from trainers delight I love these for beginning riders who need help to know where to hold their reins. It's easy for them to be sure they're even and even easier for the trainer to explain exactly where they want the students to hold them. I do wish they were a bit thinner for narrower hands but still worth the investment.
    Date published: 2010-06-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good as a back-up I bought this set of reins to use when I just wanted something to attach to my baby's halter to ride bareback, after roundpen work. I had to add clips to make it easier to attach, and the rubber is already dirty from just one use. But, it's still more convenient that putting on her bridle!
    Date published: 2009-11-29
    • 2015-08-31T16:14CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_18
    • loc_en_US, sid_4149, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Horse of the Month: Dax
    Horse of the Month: Doc’s Mostly Yella aka Dax Breed: Quarter Horses Age: 8 years old PATH Intl. Member Center: Miracles in Motion Location: Keene, NH Dax is an 8 year old palomino quarter horse. He is about 16hh and

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright 2015 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.