Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Review Snapshot

Rain Maker

Farnam Companies, Inc.
- Item #13483
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for SmartPerks FREE SHIPPING. (Find out why)
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75. Have a question? Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime! Applies to eligible items as long as you have active SmartPaks over $40 for at least one horse.

 

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The Rain Maker formula leaves hooves strong and pliable, while enhancing color and sheen. Special natural ingredients are combined to give Rain Maker hoof moisturizer its unique "Triple Action" formula: attracts moisture to the hoof, increases moisture absorption, and retains moisture once it has been absorbed. Rain Maker penetrates deep to improve texture and elasticity.

Sizing It Up

32 oz. container w/ brush

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    Packed in the hoof cavity, Forshner's Hoof Packing ...
    Description:
    Packed in the hoof cavity, Forshner's Hoof Packing provides vital oils and medication for the prevention and treatment of hardened frogs, contracted heels, hoof dryness and infection.
    out of 5
    93% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Rain Maker is rated 4.6829 out of 5 by 41.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works well Works well and doesn't make the hooves too moist. Pretty easy to use too. It is harder to use when it's cold- so I try to keep it in a heated area during the winter. I think it works better than Hooflex.
    Date published: 2014-10-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very Effective for Dry Hooves Between stomping from flies and very dry weather, my horse's feet have been extremely dry, hooves proned to cracking (no shoes). I put Rainmaker on twice a day to help his feet between farrier visits. This product does the job and his feet show the difference, they are visibly moisturized and do not crack as easily. This product smells like BBQ sauce, but it works!
    Date published: 2014-09-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Farrier's Go-to product I've used Rain Maker on the advice of my farrier for several years. It, and judicious rasping of messy edges, keeps my barefoot guys in sound hooves during our dry summers.
    Date published: 2014-08-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Effective Long time user on all four horses, as good if not better than anything else I have used
    Date published: 2014-08-12
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Conflicted... I like Rain Maker and I don't.Pros: great hoof sealer before a bath, I think it smells good, easy to applyCons: pricy, stains clothing, inconsistent consistency (hard paste in the winter, liquid in the summer), makes hooves gunky if used dailyI used to use it daily, but my horses hooves got gross (like to the point where I didn't even want to pick them up to clean them!). I now use it maybe once a month if I run out of my other stuff or if I give him a bath.
    Date published: 2014-08-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great hoof product Rain Maker leaves my TB's hooves looking good for days after just one application. They were looking dry, and even though my ferrier said they were fine I wanted to give this a shot and I'm glad I did - his feet just look healthier now. And you don't need to use a lot so the container should last a while, definitely worth the money.
    Date published: 2013-09-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My favorite hoof moisturizer I have tried alot of hoof balms and this one is my favorite for its value and effectiveness. Living in Florida, sand cracks are always an issue, especially with my barefoot horses, and this really pack on the moisture, plus it lasts along time too (I can have a bottle last 6 months on one horse and that's applying several times a week!). I recommend wetting the hooves before application as it helps lock in the extra moisture.
    Date published: 2013-05-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Stuff! My horse has always had healthy feet, but on occasion they chip or crack. I started using rain maker (once or twice a week) and his feet are healthier than ever, never crack, and never chip! I stopped shoeing him and just keep him barefoot now! It is a little pricey, but it definitely can save you money! To bad some gets stuck at the bottom and you can't get it all out... But a can lasts a long long time!
    Date published: 2013-05-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Too Much like Jelly The consistency changes depending on the weather. It does do a good job of protecting hooves though. I just don't like how it gets so jelly-like, once you have used most of it it sticks to the bottom of the jar.
    Date published: 2013-04-12
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from I've used this dressing on my horse's bulbs and underside of their feet when the weather is really hot and dry. It seems to protect and moisturize from dryness and cracking, preventing existing chips from getting worse. I like to apply it right after riding and untacking, giving the feet about 10-15 minutes to soak up the hoof dressing before walking back to her stall (which by that point prevents it from just coming off with the dirt when she walks). I would probably recommend this product.
    Date published: 2013-02-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Only thing I use on my horse's hooves I like to put this on in the spring and fall during the "muddy season" since my horse's feet dry out the most then. I like to put it on and let is soak in for 10-15 minutes before I let him get shavings all over it in his stall. It works well to put it on before giving them a bath because then it sticks and doesn't wash off.
    Date published: 2013-01-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best product for a horse pedicure! We use this on our horses hoofs to help keep them healthy. It has helped with cracks and dryness of their hoofs and our farrier was impressed with the results.
    Date published: 2012-11-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from EXCELLANT PRODUCT FOR HOOVES i BOUGHT THIS PRODUCT OVER THE SUMMER BECAUSE WE HAVE BEEN HAVING A VERY DRY SUMMER..ALL THE HORSES HOOVES AT MY BARN WERE GETTING CRACKED AND NOT GROWING...I USED THIS EVERYDAY AND NIGHT AND WITHIN 3 WEEKS I HAVE SEEN A DRAMATIC DIFFERENCE IN MY HORSES HOOVES...GROWING OUT NICE AND THE CRACKS ARE DIMINISHING.
    Date published: 2012-10-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from good paint on Horses feet have always been good but develped cracks from being exteemly DRY from the drought this summer--so decided to try this product. Worked very well and fixed the dryness.
    Date published: 2012-10-22
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Some like it, I don't. I know a lot of people at the barn who use this, but I have recently given mine away and switched to another hoof conditioner. Rain Maker does do a good job of keeping your horse's hooves from getting soaked during bathing, but I found that it tends to leave a layer of buildup if used daily. The smell is terrible - I call it bad barbeque sauce. The consistency also changes greatly with the weather, and in the summer it can get so thin that it drips everywhere.I guess that it is fine for occasional use to protect feet in the wash stall, but I switched to a product that does not contain animal proteins.
    Date published: 2012-06-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful Hoofs!! Rain Maker is thick enough to apply just where you want it yet thin enough where it doesnt cake on heavy. The heat for the hoof softens this product so I feel I'm not wasting it as the oils tend to spill. Stays put turned out better then any other so I know it has a chance to do its job!!
    Date published: 2011-05-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tried and True You can try cheaper hoof conditioners, but you'll always end up coming back to Rain Maker if your horse suffers from dry, cracked and hard hooves. One application lasts for days.
    Date published: 2011-01-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from only hoof dressing I buy love this stuff ~ 'course, it freezes in the winter if kept in an unheated tack room, but otherwise it's great!
    Date published: 2010-12-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A good standby Always a great help in getting and keeping hooves in great shape! Every tax box needs a bottle!
    Date published: 2010-09-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from have used this since owning my 2nd horse I've used this brand since 1993 ~ once I purchased Hoofmaker instead and regreted it ~ I prefer RainMaker as it contains tar and seems to soak into the outer hoof wall better
    Date published: 2010-07-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best on the market Living in Texas where we go from extreme dry to extreme wet it always a challenge keeping hooves healthy looking. This is th ebest I have found for any type of season.
    Date published: 2010-07-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Hoof Protection Very easy to use and provides excelleant protection to hooves.
    Date published: 2010-05-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Hoof conditioner Bought this for my aging TB cracking hooves. Moisturizes for days and coats evenly. Great old standby product.
    Date published: 2010-05-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Favorite hoof conditioner I love rain maker! Easy to apply, and keeps my horse's feet in great condition. But, it gets a little hard in the winter if it's kept in the cold (obviously), and, unfortunately the brush doesn't reach the bottom of the can! Regardless, this is my favorite! Much better than others I have tried!
    Date published: 2010-03-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! I always use Rainmaker on my mare. It is thicker than the other brands, and stays on longer. She always gets compliments from my farrier on her great feet! My ONLY complaint is they don't make the brush long enough, so you can never get it all out of the can!
    Date published: 2009-11-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from THIS REALLY WORKS!! I HAVE USED RAINMAKER FOR FOUR YEARS AND I LOVE THE RESULTS I HAVE GOTTEN!!MY HORSES HAVE ENDURED VERY MUDDY CONDITIONS WHICH PULLS THE MOISTURE OUT OF THEIR HOOVES...WITH RAINMAKER I DON'T WORRY BECAUSE IT MOISTURIZES AND CONDITIONS THE HOOF SO THAT THE MUD IS ONLY A NUISANCE..I WOULD RECOMMEND THIS TO ANYONE!!!
    Date published: 2009-10-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Hoof Product This hoof supplement/moisturizer has been recommended by both my farrier and veterinarian for the use of cracking/split hooves and the prevention of both. I have had great farrier visits since using this product consistently. He is even barefoot in the back now!
    Date published: 2009-08-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My farrier recommended this product to me years ago and have been using it ever since. Keeps my horses feet well moisturized during the hor summer months.
    Date published: 2009-06-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this product! I have been using Rainmaker on my gelding's hooves for years to keep them moisturized in the dry sandy climate here, which is especially hard on his heels. The product always retains its nice thick and gooey consistency unlike a couple of other brands out there, and the can seems to last forever.
    Date published: 2009-04-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from stains Great stuff for the hooves but be careful - it permanantly stains any clothing it gets on.
    Date published: 2008-01-01
    • 2016-05-05T14:49CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.2.0
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_5, tr_36
    • loc_en_US, sid_3483, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders