Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Review Snapshot

Professionals Choice SMx English Girth

Professional's Choice
- Item #15107

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Professionals Choice SMx English Girth is ideal for the rigors of training and competition because the non-slip SMx® English Girth is more comfortable for your horse. This is due to the combination of elastic and buckles on each side, which provides uniform pressure and even pull.

Favorite Features

• Made with waffle-patterned neoprene, provides four-way stretch for comfort and support, easy to maintain doesn't absorb sweat or harbor bacteria, doesn't require overtightening and creates natural lubricant to prevent galling
• Hook & loop-attached neoprene, easy to remove for replacement or washing
• Heavy-duty webbing, for strength and durability
• Double-reinforced stitching, ensures hardware remains securely in place
• Stainless steel hardware, won't rust even with long-term use
• Dove-tailed leather accents, add style to the overall look
• Elastic and roller side buckles, easy to fasten, expands as needed for more comfort
• Product warranty, 30-day money back guarantee and a one year limited warranty

Imported

Sizing It Up

38"-54"

You Might Like
    out of 5
    95% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Professionals Choice SMx English Girth is rated 4.7632 out of 5 by 76.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfort for my horse This girth looks nice, seems very comfortable for my horse and cleans up easily. It seems very durable. I like that Professoonal Choice also backs it with a warranty.
    Date published: 2015-05-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect schooling girth! Bought this girth for schooling and love love love it! Buying another smaller one for my other horses
    Date published: 2015-05-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth the money I purchased this girth over a month ago. It is easy to hose off after each use and comes out looking brand new. I have used it hunting. It stays place climbing and coming down mountains. It looks great. I would buy one again.
    Date published: 2015-02-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product! -Great for schooling and showing-supper easy to clean (just hose off!!)-holds up so nicely!I love this girth and have absolutely no complaints
    Date published: 2015-01-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect fit Bought this as a Christmas present for my riding instructor. Great color. The ring on the bottom is great for martingales and draw reigns. She loves it so far.
    Date published: 2015-01-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really helps with the keeping Saddle from slipping Great for use on the ponies when the saddle wants to ride up their necks!
    Date published: 2014-12-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fixed my sensitive pony girth problem I have a sensitive pony that was getting girth rubs from every other girth I tried. Much softer, easy to clean and her belly has been free from rubs since getting this girth.
    Date published: 2014-09-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Girth You've Been Looking For! Great girth! Never slips, easy to clean, (hose it off) and breathable! Love this girth!
    Date published: 2014-09-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome girth! I love this girth and the one thing i love about is you can just hose it down and a sweaty ride and when your horse is shedding and the hair gets stuck to it! I love this girth.
    Date published: 2014-07-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great quality! I love this girth!!! everyone in my barn has at least one! the inner lining makes it extremely easy to clean they have amazing quality! I'm obsessed! oh and when u wash it and let it dry the buckles won't rust ;)
    Date published: 2014-07-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic I love this girth!! I have never had any issues with rubs or anything! It stays clean and you can always just hose it off which is so nice! I have recommended it to all of my friends
    Date published: 2014-07-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice non-slip girth This is a good quality neoprene girth, particularly helpful on those horses that tend to have the girth or saddle slip. No offense to professional's choice, great products--but I typically cut off the logo for a cleaner and less distracting look. Good for schooling and can hold their own in the show ring (logos removed).
    Date published: 2014-06-17
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Product I think my horse is more comfortable in this girth.  It looks nice and is also easy to clean.  Keep in mind that it stretches a little bit after the first couple of times using it (will fit one or two holes higher on billets).
    Date published: 2014-01-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from easy care girth This is a very good girth for use every day. It wipes down fast and well for use on the next horse or to put it away. The matching color elastic looks nice, is strong and very adjustable. No rubbing or sliding and the horses seem comfortable wearing this girth. It has a nice enough look for shows and has a cleaner look then some fleece girths.
    Date published: 2013-10-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Purchase! I've had this girth for a little over a year now... It's super stretchy, which I love for my Quarter Horse who gains weight in the summer and loses in the winter. Seems comfortable enough for him and it's super easy to clean as opposed to the fleece girths - just hose off! I haven't had any problems with slippage either. It also looks nice enough to use in local schooling shows. This was a great purchase!
    Date published: 2013-08-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Girth I needed to buy another girth for my new horse. Having used this brand/style girth for over 10 years / two previous horses, I knew this was a good one. These girths seem comfortable for the horse. They are also look nice, are very easy to clean and last for years.
    Date published: 2013-07-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great product This girth was recommended by a friend and I have not been disappointed in the least. Great product. And I am becoming a firm ProChoice lover as I also have the SMX comfort pad and its been just as wonderful.
    Date published: 2013-06-28
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not for my horse I have a chestnut Thoroughbred/ Trakhener mix with very thin skin. He seems to get a bit fussy about it. It could also be that it's too small, but we're back to a leather or fuzzy girth and he's much happier.
    Date published: 2013-05-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best girth ever! I love this girth! I have always used one of these over a leather girth for many reasons. These are so easy so clean, the new color blends in and doesn't stand out as a non-leather girth in the show ring, they never move, are very easy to tighten, you can tighten on both sides which keeps the pressure even on the horse's belly, and it is very comfy and doesn't chaffe. A must have for schooling at home and for shows!
    Date published: 2013-04-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Only Girth I'll Ever Use These girths are brilliant, non slip, easy to clean, no irritation, and because of the elastic on both sides it is extremely easy to use and stays on great. I will never use any other girth for pleasure or show.
    Date published: 2013-04-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Spend the extra $5 for this girth My friend has two of these girths that she uses daily - they hold up great, don't slip, are easy to clean, and are attractive. I decided to buy a neoprene girth last year. I bought the comparable SmartPak neoprene girth. While my SmartPak girth is still usable, the neoprene has gotten stiff and there are some cracks in it. It is also drier and seems to offer less grip than the PC. I needed a girth for my new pony - let me just tell you, it was a no-brainer to get this girth instead of the other one. I can't believe the difference in price is only $5.00 - I would have paid more for it.
    Date published: 2013-03-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from No Slip, Nice Girth I finally got this girth a few years ago after my trainer pushed me for months. I was always fond of leather girths because of their classic look, but I'm glad I got this for my guys. I use it in hunters/jumpers/equitation and the saddle never slips. One of my guys used to have really bad irritation from other girths, but never with this one. While the outer part of the girth (made of neoprene, I believe) can get some tears in it, that's not a big issue. Great girth for the money!
    Date published: 2013-03-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great girth This girth is great. I have a haflinger, so I wanted a girth that would help keep my saddle in place on her round back. Although it's not completely non-slip, it definitely helps. It is also very easy to stretch if my girl decides to have a "fat day" and bloat her belly while I'm tacking up. I love that the elastic is equal on both sides and has roller buckles as well. It makes it super easy to tighten while riding. I have only had it about a month so I'm not sure about durability, but it seems like it will hold up for awhile. Overall, really good product.
    Date published: 2013-02-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Extremely nice girth! The PC girth is amazing! Soft, easy wash care and good quality! It's not tough on my horses belly as she is super sensitive due to having stomach ulcers. It has an amazing feel too and the removable lining makes it easy to care for. I've seen people show on A/AA circuits with this girth too! I recommend this girth! One thing though is it is a little stretchy.
    Date published: 2012-11-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Provides equal pressure from side to side As is usual for the Professional Choice line of products, the quality and workmanship is excellent.No areas to rub your horse; they have improved the way the neoprene meets the girth, so if you've had trouble with rubs in the past with this girth it should not be a problem.I purchased this to use with a treeless saddle, an Ansur jump saddle, which required equal pressure distribution from side to side. The elastic is thick and strong, the buckles sound, and I fully expect to get many years from this girth as I have from other Prof. Choice girths I've used in the past.As far as heat buildup is concerned with the neoprene, I have not experienced anything of concern. The neoprene does encourage a good sweat under there, and good lubrication=no friction.
    Date published: 2012-11-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I just love this girth I love the Pro Choice girths. OUr horses like them. Easy to clean - just hose off. Well made - I use them nearly every day on my jumpers and couldn't be more pleased. Always seem to be out of stock at our local tack shop in the sizes I need. (Thank you, SmartPak!) Pro Choice girths are popular for a reason!
    Date published: 2012-09-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I really LOVE these girths! I have a couple of these. I have used my 54" Pro Choice 4-5 times a week for the last year and I just love it. It's still in really good condition. Also love that I can just wash it off and hang it to dry for a little bit and it's clean as a whistle. I have zero complaints - don't think my horses do either - and will continue to buy these in these future. I endorse these Pro Choice girths with confidence!
    Date published: 2012-08-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Girth!! very great girth! durable and easy to keep clean!!
    Date published: 2012-07-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best girth I am on my 4th SMx girth and still LOVE them. Both horses use them. So comfortable and easy to clean--just hose them off each time, they dry quickly. The SMx is better than similiar less expensive brands. Fit is better.
    Date published: 2012-05-10
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not what I expected This girth is very lightweight. I do not like the open-cell rubber on the inside, as I think it will harbor grunge, bacteria and fungus. The one I used to have was a closed cell rubber construction and that's what I thought I was getting. I'm returning it and starting to look again.
    Date published: 2012-05-08
    • 2016-02-12T15:00CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_8, tr_68
    • loc_en_US, sid_5107, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Mollie and Eden
    I started riding when I was 9 years old and quickly got swept up into the competitive hunter/jumper world. I showed my first pony, Chloe, in the Small Pony Hunter divisions were we competed at shows like Fairfield Hunt Club, Old Salem, HITS, and West...

    Learn more »

    SmartPak Barn Field Trip, Part 2: Decoding hay and grain for horses
        Download the worksheet to test your knowledge! How much hay and grain does your horse get every day? How much SHOULD your horse be getting each day? Many horses may not be getting what your feed bag recommends,

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-800-461-8898.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.