Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Colors and Styles

Professional's Choice Clinician Halter

Professional's Choice
- Item #18900
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

The Professional's Choice Clinician Halter is designed by professionals, this custom-made halter features two strategically placed knots that trigger pressure points on the horse's nose to help maintain control of a difficult or young horse. The halter is slightly rigid, has a smooth finish and comes with a 15 foot lead with poppers. The Clinician Rope Halter is ideal for all groundwork and increase effectiveness and safety during training.

Universal Size 5/16 inch in diameter with 15 foot lead

How To Tie a Rope Halter

You Might Like
    out of 5
    91% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Professional's Choice Clinician Halter is rated 4.5143 out of 5 by 35.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Rope Halter! I bought this halter to use on my 5 y/o OTTB. It has been wonderful to use for groundwork so far. I really love the durable feel of the halter and the lead is the perfect length with a good weight to it. Overall great product!
    Date published: 2014-03-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Halter/Lead Combo My mare recently began pulling back when tied (she wasn't afraid-just doing it for fun to escape to eat grass until I found another halter to bring her back to the barn-too smart for her own good!) so I needed to go back to a rope halter and lead to use with the blocker tie ring to remind her to be a good girl but not be too harsh. This halter and lead rope was a great combination. It fits her well, looks great and gets the job done. The quality is as good as much more expensive brands.
    Date published: 2014-03-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good value I purchased this after reading theReviews written by others who areUsing this product. It is well made and has a nice long lead. My trainer isHaving me do ground work with myNew horse who is a young gelding. We are working on manners and gettingHis attention. So far is seems to beA reliable product that is making myJob a little easier.
    Date published: 2014-01-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fabulous halter and lead rope combo I have owned this halter and lead combo for a couple of years. I use the halter for ground work training. I added a snap to the lead rope and use it with a regular halter all the time. It is my favorite rope ever. It has a nice feel, is easy to tie with, and is long enough to do some "discipline lunging" in the event of a behavioral problem while leading. It has held up to heavy use very well.
    Date published: 2013-07-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic halter! An amazing halter for teaching ground manners. Identical to the Clinton Anderson halter that costs twice as much. I have used this halter on my mare for three years and its still in great condition. I just bought a second one for a new horse. This halter has become a staple in my training.
    Date published: 2013-04-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Just what I needed I started doing some basic ground work with my horse and needed something that he would respect a little more. The knots on the noseband did the trick. Its seems fine, I just thought it was a little pricey for what it is (it didnt seem as "rigid" as I had expected). The 15ft lead is perfect!
    Date published: 2013-04-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from As far as fit - I'm not sure why so many have said these halters run small, my appendix has a big roman nose and wears a horse size in everything and he had more than enough room with this halter. You are supposed to have it a little more fitted and not hanging way off their head, but I still have more than enough room to tie it looser. For usefulness - I found this works better than a chain over the nose to get my stall rest/rehab horse to pay attention to me. The first time a trainer used a rope halter in my horse it was a wake up call even after having used a chain. I'm not a NH expert by any means, but I understand from someone else who is that the lead rope quality is very nice.
    Date published: 2013-03-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Training Tool My young Warmblood can be quite the handful and this halter has really helped with ground work. The lead line is a great length and the halter fits his big head just right!
    Date published: 2013-03-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for sensitive but pushy horses! This halter fits my small TB gelding perfectly. It's very adjustable so I've used it on bigger horses with no issues either. My horse doesn't like when you use a chain over his nose but occasionally needs a reminder that I'm still attached to the end of the rope! This halter works out perfectly in times like that. The two extra knots on the nose give it a little more "oopmh" than a normal halter but does it without upsetting my horse. The lead rope is really long with a "popper" on the end that comes in handy when you're doing groundwork. I'd prefer if the lead was a bit shorter for just regular leading but it's soft and is easy to carry. I've had it for over a year now and it's holding up great. I would definitely recommend it to anyone looking for a more responsive horse when leading or someone who's horse does not appreciate a chain over their nose, like mine.
    Date published: 2013-01-08
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Big Oops This rope halter is good quality and the lead is nice and long but the halter size is small. It hardly fits my 15hh QH. He does have a nice jowly QH head but not overly large and this does not fit at all. I can hardly get it tied. It's got to be a pony size. I'll use the lead and give the halter to someone who has a tiny little horse.
    Date published: 2012-08-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from WORTH IT!!! I am very happy with this halter combo. It is great for training my horse and the price is great!!!
    Date published: 2012-07-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Flawless Beautifully designed. Easily adjustable to custom fit your horses head. The 15 foot lead line is a God-send! A little pricey but worth it.
    Date published: 2012-06-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I use this every day This is the first time I have used a halter like this and I have to say, it sure made me feel like I had control when my horse was new to me and acting up a bit on the lead. I never wanted to use a stud chain and the previous owner used one to get him to load into the trailer. I have been using this during ground work and its really nice. I sort of wish I could take the lead/lunge line off, but thats a minor issue. Definitely a good price fort the set of both halter and lead/lunge.
    Date published: 2012-04-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great quality and works well This rope halter is great. My horse is in rehab and we are now spending a lot of time on the ground and this is the best way to do it. Very good quality and I would highly recommend everyone own at least one.
    Date published: 2012-03-03
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Disappointed in size I purchased this halter for $39 rather than Clinton Anderson'srope halter at $90. I have always been very happy with professional choice products in the past. This halter is way too small for my 16.1 QH. I had approximately 4 inches left to tie thru the loop and was too tight on jaw bones. Lead rope was nice.
    Date published: 2012-02-05
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Would have been great if I had a small horse This halter is just too small if you have a larger horse. My mare is draft cross and this can hardly get around her nose.
    Date published: 2012-01-24
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good quality halter! This is a really nice halter to have around even for the English world. I have a 17hh thoroughbred gelding that sometimes just needs a good reminder or refocus. This halter is made of a good sturdy material and with its long lead I am able to easily get my horse working and get his attention back. The only bad thing about the halter is it runs small. It barely fits my horse.
    Date published: 2011-12-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Pleasantly surprised Great for the money. Effective training halter. I have used Clinton Anderson's halter. Considering the significant price difference, this is a good, affordable alternative.
    Date published: 2011-12-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Purchase! Normally I am not a "rope halter" kind of person. I don't care for the look of them and I much prefer my biothane or leather halters. But I bought this for my big buckskin stock horse, who can be a little stubborn at times. First off - I have to say, this looks GREAT on her head! The black halter is very neat and fits her big thick head perfectly. It looks so much better on her than an "English" style halter. The 15 foot lead rope is very soft, pliable, and well made. It has a great leather popper on the end, which is a bonus. I have used this on the Arabs when I think they will be lugging on my arm and it has worked beautifully. But I have larger, heavier Arabs. The knot is very easy to tie, the material is stiff and thin so it really has a bite to it for those stubborn "I don't wanna" moments ;-) Overall, this was a GREAT purchase for me!!! I would highly recommend this halter and lead combination - even if you're not a western/rope halter kind of person. I will be purchasing another one of these because I like it SO much!
    Date published: 2011-09-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Rope Halter It was a good value and worked well, however my horse is a cob size and the knots were more for a horse size.....
    Date published: 2011-06-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Product This product is a great training tool.Keeps my gelding's attention on me and allows for clear but gentile communication.
    Date published: 2011-05-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Product This halter was recommended by my Certified Natural Horsemanship Trainer & it has really improved my Paso's responses in her training, A great product & gentle training aid. I would recommend it highly.
    Date published: 2011-05-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from I would buy it again if needed Overall, this seems to be a good training halter for the price. I especially like the quality of the lead rope. It is the right length for ground work and lounging, and carries your energy well. The halter itself was a little stiffer than I expected, but I am hoping it will soften with more use. The quality of this halter is similar to one that I paid twice as much for, so I think it is a fairly good deal.
    Date published: 2011-01-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Useful training tool Purchased this to use with my horse that doesn't respond to pressure cues very well (yet). The rope halter with the pressure knots seemed to help with this, and the line is so long you can work in a roundpen/lunge with it, establishing better cues and communication with your horse. The line is a good 15 though and does not come apart from the halter, so don't purchase if that doesn't work for you. Not to be used as your everyday halter of course, but great for a teaching every once in a while. Made very well too.
    Date published: 2010-11-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT for training ANY horse!! Though it is just a halter, this rope halter uses the pressure points well and has made all the difference in training my new rescue mare. I would highly reccommend this product!
    Date published: 2010-08-09
    • 2015-05-22T07:49CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.3
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_33
    • loc_en_US, sid_8900, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Recipe: Homemade Carrot and Oat Treats
    It has been such a cold and snowy winter here in Massachusetts for the past few months. I look for any excuse to fire up my oven. Prior to visiting my horse Bug last weekend I decided to make her

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.