Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Professional's Choice Ballistic Overreach Boot

Professional's Choice
- Item #16205
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

The Professional's Choice Ballistic Overreach Boots are made with DuPont's original ballistic nylon, a material used in the manufacture of bulletproof vests.

Ballistic Overreach Boots use the ballistic nylon as the outer covering, binding at the bottom of the boot and stitching. These boots are extra tough, and able to withstand the daily abuse of riding, regardless of discipline. M (Cob), L (Horse), XL (Warmblood), XXL (Large Warmblood).

PRODUCT FEATURES

  • Ultrashock lining -- provides protection and shock absorption
  • Ballistic binding -- provides high degree of durability
  • Covers back of hoof to ground -- Superior protection to critical areas of hoof
  • Double hook & loop fasteners -- stays on securely and will not come loose while riding
  • Soft, padded rolled pasterns -- reduces rubbing, keeping horse more comfortable
  • No-turn knob -- keeps boot from turning, remaining in correct position for better protection

You Might Like
    out of 5
    86% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Professional's Choice Ballistic Overreach Boot is rated 4.4222 out of 5 by 135.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice boot! Just got this in an XL for my Percheron/TB mare. Will have to exchange for an XXL but boot is very nice
    Date published: 2015-06-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Effective Bell boots One boot came out of position first time I used them but I have adjusted how I apply them and have had no problems since.
    Date published: 2015-05-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Don't move exactly what I was after. They have never turned, even when jumping.
    Date published: 2015-05-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Favorites These fit so impeccably and never turn, providing the most coverage. I use eskadron fleece bell boots for working and these guys for turnout and they hold up surprisingly well. Super easy to clean mud off, have minor rips but nothing that needs replacing after a good four months of daily turn out.much preferred over rubber.
    Date published: 2015-05-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for turn out I've been using these boots for a few months on my mare who has a tendency to pull shoes when turned out. She has these on about 12 hours during the day in all sorts of conditions and they have stood up to the abuse amazingly well. I also use them during schooling and like the fact they fit snugly and don't flap as other bell boots do. I'm very happy with them and will order again.
    Date published: 2015-05-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very happy! The medium size bell boots fit my thoroughbred perfectly. Very happy with the product!
    Date published: 2015-04-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very happy with these Bought size XL for my large-footed warmblood and they fit well. Very happy with them.
    Date published: 2015-04-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good product This is my second pair, as my horse has different sized hoovers. I had a medium before, and it was getting turned around just on the one hoof when I rode. Now I use two different sizes, and neither moves around. They are well made and great. I like them so much better than the rubber bell boots.
    Date published: 2015-03-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from If you have a big warmblood... I used to have a WB/TB cross and he was a large. A fine bones WB is an XL and a big WB is a XXL.
    Date published: 2015-02-25
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Sizing runs WAY small! I wanted to love these boots. However, they were way too small for my boy. Farrier suggested starting with Medium when I talked to him about bell boots. I read the previous reviews, and got Large in this model. It barely fastened around his hoof. :(
    Date published: 2015-02-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Protective Bell Boot My horse went lame for a few months this past summer - and after discovering he had a bruised heel, I knew I needed to find a protective bell boot. I put him in the basic gum rubber bell boots, but after one weekend, he developed scratches from the rubs! After that, I searched for a bell boot I could easily take on and off - he really only needs the protection during work. I came across these and decided to splurge and try these. I'm so glad I did! They are easy to put on and off, and when put on correctly they stay in place and don't turn at all. They've held up well over the past 4-5 months, although I think I will need to reinvest in a few more months. You can see the spot on the boot where he hits himself behind, but his heels have remained in tact and he's been sound. I'll continue to use these in the future and so glad I found them!
    Date published: 2015-01-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Durable no-turn boot This product does what it says it does - my horse is a big overreacher, but he also has sensitive skin, so cheaper boots (ahem Davis) left rubs/sores on his pasterns & at the back of his coronet band area. You have to put these on a little high and then push them down so they 'lock' into the divet at the base/back of the pastern, but once they're in, they don't move! These run quite small, as others have said - my horse wore a L in Davis boots (though I had to trim off the bottom because it was too long) and needs an XXL in these boots. They sit just off the ground and have taken quite a beating without tearing or falling apart. Velcro seems sturdy too.
    Date published: 2014-12-01
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not as durable as I'd hoped The good news is my horse has not pulled them off, the bad news is they are shredding in the back. He's also managed to throw a shoe even with them on. A lot of money for a product that's not doing what I expected it would do.
    Date published: 2014-11-14
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Runs very small These appear to be very well made and durable...for that I would give them 5 stars. I purchase them for a WB who wears size 2 shoe in front, so NOT tremendously big feet, and ordered XL and these did not come close to fitting. Ended up with a size L in the quick-wrap style and they are great. On a GREAT note, they were returned and taken back by SmartPak and credit issued with NO PROBLEM. For customer service 100% satisfied!!
    Date published: 2014-10-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great boots! These were recommended by a very good rider, and she was absolutely right. They don't turn at all, which is great, and they seem to be pretty durable. They cover the hoof very well. The one thing is on the inside it seems like they are starting to rub a bit on the inside.
    Date published: 2014-10-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these I bought these a month ahaI and they really hold up. I have a horse that over reaches.
    Date published: 2014-10-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Ballistic bell boots! I love these boots. My horse overreaches big time and has gone lame from kicking her own heels before. They offer the perfect level of protection. I do think the sizing is a little off and think I should have ordered a size up for my thoroughbred.
    Date published: 2014-10-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Boots! I am very happy with these. My horse has shoes in the front & I bought them for trail riding and hunter paces so he doesn't lose his shoes. He is a standardbred with average size feet. I bought an XL after ready the reviews to get the next size up. Glad I did. Perfect fit. I wash them in my washer and hang dry with no problems. The velcro gives a very secure fit.
    Date published: 2014-09-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good fit Good protection I ordered a size Large for my 15.2 1100 lb. "usually size Medium", Quarter Horse mare. You will want to size up, as suggested in previous reviews. These are well made, a nice fit and if you snug them up they do not turn. Good coverage across the heel and on the sides. Worked well for my mare who was pulling her shoes off because she needed the sides of her shoes set "out" for hoof re-growth.
    Date published: 2014-09-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Better than ordinary rubber bell boots These look neat and clean but are very rugged and durable. Easy to put on and take off. Love them! Some reviews said they ran small but I found the sizing to be accurate. Medium fit my 16H WB/TB cross.
    Date published: 2014-09-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tough material....is it tough enough? Just got these but they seem very durable, haven't turned and are light weight and easy to brush clean. They run small....I have a 17 h oldenburg but her feet aren't huge, and had to go with the XL even though I read reviews saying these ran large...dont know what they are comparing them to. She wears them 24/7 due to humid conditions here in the South. The only complaint, and I have had this with other Professional Choice boots, the velcro is not very heavy duty. I'm hoping the fact there are 2 pieces will keep the boot secure. So far, so good!
    Date published: 2014-08-13
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Protective, no turn, but a little small too tall These boots do protect hooves from being kicked, but they are a bit too tall behind, and the size run a bit smaller. The material is very good.
    Date published: 2014-08-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pleasantly surprised. I thought they looked small for my 1500# lb. 17h. Oldenburg. However, the extra large fit perfectly. They do not move at all and don't seem to pick up much sand.
    Date published: 2014-07-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best bell boots out there My mare needs bell boots on 24/7 to help keep her bar shoes on, these are the best bell boots out there. High quality material, they do not leave rubs like the rubber ones do. Long lasting and high quality. Another great professional choice product!
    Date published: 2014-07-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Durable and well fitting! I have a gigantic, 18.1hh horse, and these are so amazing. He usually destroys everything I put on him, but these have lasted so well. They may seem to be too small at first, but they aren't meant to cover the front, and they totally cover the back. My guy is really big boned and has big hooves, and these fit! They are so durable.
    Date published: 2014-07-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Holds up well and look awesome! I really like these boots for cross country for my draft cross mare. Because they run seriously small I can't use them for a horse with anything larger than a size 3 hoof though. the XL - XXXL all have the same height which I find crazy! I Love them, just wish the XXXL would actually have a height of at least 5 inches or more.
    Date published: 2014-07-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from All around great for all my horses I use these on my barrel and pleasure horses, never have lameness problems from overreaching anymore. Two of my QH have eggbar shoes and I turn them out in these, haven't lost a shoe yet. I find they need the XL for full coverage. The smaller QH I use a large.
    Date published: 2014-06-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality made and nicely padded boots I have used these for about 6 months and am very happy with them. They are thickly padded, fit well, stay on, and protect the heels.
    Date published: 2014-06-13
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great protection, not so gentle to horse's skin? The size was too small for my horse, so I had to return this product, but they sure looked very protective against accidental cross firing. However, the neck (upper part) of this product is a bit stiff for my taste. If a horse sweats or goes in water, the ballistic nylon looking material might be a bit tough on the skin (around ankle). For a lighter, shorter exercise or turn out, I think they are great.
    Date published: 2014-04-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My horse started loosing his shoes frequently. After using these bell boots he hasn'lost one. They do turn however dispute a good fit
    Date published: 2014-03-27
    • 2015-08-26T12:47CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.5
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_6, tr_129
    • loc_en_US, sid_6205, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Horse of the Month: Dax
    Horse of the Month: Doc’s Mostly Yella aka Dax Breed: Quarter Horses Age: 8 years old PATH Intl. Member Center: Miracles in Motion Location: Keene, NH Dax is an 8 year old palomino quarter horse. He is about 16hh and

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright 2015 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.