Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Review Snapshot

Professional's Choice Ballistic Overreach Boot

Professional's Choice
- Item #16205
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for SmartPerks FREE SHIPPING. (Find out why)
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75. Have a question? Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime! Applies to eligible items as long as you have active SmartPaks over $40 for at least one horse.

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

The Professional's Choice Ballistic Overreach Boots are made with DuPont's original ballistic nylon, a material used in the manufacture of bulletproof vests.

Ballistic Overreach Boots use the ballistic nylon as the outer covering, binding at the bottom of the boot and stitching. These boots are extra tough, and able to withstand the daily abuse of riding, regardless of discipline. M (Cob), L (Horse), XL (Warmblood), XXL (Large Warmblood).

PRODUCT FEATURES

  • Ultrashock lining -- provides protection and shock absorption
  • Ballistic binding -- provides high degree of durability
  • Covers back of hoof to ground -- Superior protection to critical areas of hoof
  • Double hook & loop fasteners -- stays on securely and will not come loose while riding
  • Soft, padded rolled pasterns -- reduces rubbing, keeping horse more comfortable
  • No-turn knob -- keeps boot from turning, remaining in correct position for better protection

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    The Pro Performance XC Boots are incredibly comprehensive ...
    Description:
    The Pro Performance XC Boots are incredibly comprehensive boots designed for the sport horse who needs the extra support and protection the most! These boots feature an outer layer of rip-stop Pro Mesh TPU material for the ultimate combination of ...
    The Leather Protection Boots are made of tough ...
    Description:
    The Leather Protection Boots are made of tough but soft leather that conforms to the horse's leg while preventing interference. UltraShock&trade padding absorbs shock and the dense fleece lining is breathable and moisture wicking. The Leather Protection Boots are durable, ...
    The Relentless Strikeforce No-Turn Bell Boots takes overreach ...
    Description:
    The Relentless Strikeforce No-Turn Bell Boots takes overreach protection to the next level! This superior boot combines new technology with savvy design to provide serious overreach protection. In addition to the toughest strike plate, cutting edge materials help reduce "rebound," ...
    The unique design of the Secure-Fit Overreach Boots ...
    Description:
    The unique design of the Secure-Fit Overreach Boots provides protection of the hoof, cornet band and bulbs of the heel, while also looking glamorous in glitter that is sure to be a head-turner! Favorite Features Vinyl Boots with Ballistic binding ...
    The Davis Bell Boots are extremely durable and ...
    Description:
    The Davis Bell Boots are extremely durable and easy to take on and off. Specifically designed for overreach protection and countoured to minimize spinning, these bell boots are the perfect option for someone who wants to protect their horse both ...
    Professional Choice Sports Medicine Boots are the best ...
    Description:
    Professional Choice Sports Medicine Boots are the best selling protective leg gear in the world. Professional Choice Sports Medicine Boots are made of the highest quality closed-cell, limestone-based neoprene that won't crack or crumble, and returns to its original shape ...
    Professional Choice Quick Wrap Bell Boots provide the ...
    Description:
    Professional Choice Quick Wrap Bell Boots provide the ultimate in hoof and soft tissue protection for performance horses. Covers the whole hoof, including the coronet band and the bulb. The Professional Choice Quick Wrap Bell Boots provide excellent shock absorption ...
    out of 5
    86% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Professional's Choice Ballistic Overreach Boot is rated 4.4384 out of 5 by 146.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love love love Easy to clean, easy to apply, I actually even trust my kids to put them on (after minor instruction and confirming proper application)! So much better than rubber bell boots!!
    Date published: 2016-02-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great durable boots I have purchased other brands and these professional choice are the most durable and when correctly fitted they do not turn around on the foot. These are my first choice in overreach boots.
    Date published: 2016-01-14
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Bell Boots I bought these for my horse and the were good for a few months. After that, my horse started getting rubs from the pointy thing that keeps the bell boot in place. Had to not use the bell boots for my next couple of rides. Would not recommend
    Date published: 2015-12-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these I'm a huge fan of Pro choice boots. They fit perfectly with no rub marks, do not turn, and do what they're designed to do. I have multiple pairs used for day to day training, and one of my horses wears them 24/7(note: they are taken off and cleaned daily) and have lasted for over a year now.One of my horses has a HUGE foot and required a XXL. I'm so glad smartpak had them!
    Date published: 2015-11-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love these boots They stay in place and help keep his shoes on. Don't have to worry about him catching his heels as the boot goes all the way to the ground
    Date published: 2015-10-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Durable bell boot I've been using these bell boots on my horses for some years, and have found them to be extremely durable and effective. They are easy to put on.
    Date published: 2015-10-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works Well! I have used these for about a month on my gelding. They have held up great and they don't move, turn around, or come off! Professional's Choice is a great brand for leg protection.
    Date published: 2015-08-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Durable and easy to use This is the second pair, my horse wore through the first after a year of daily wear. But they didn't fall apart, just started looking a little worn around the edges. I think I got my money's worth from the first pair. They are easy to put on and take off, yet don't come off in the paddock. They don't rub on my horses' foot and don't flip up in the snow.
    Date published: 2015-07-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product but order a size larger! Our TB was forever pulling/mangling shoes and injuring himself during turnout (recently requiring stitches and four weeks stall rest!) so we needed something better to protect his front feet.These are just the thing! They have worked wonderfully and he has not been able to fiddle with them and get them off! They seem very durable and protect the entire back of the heel down to the ground in the back and do not swivel around. As others have noted, they do run small so make sure you order up. We needed XL for our rather slender legged 16hh TB.
    Date published: 2015-07-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The barn favorite They work and they last quite well. They've become the standard turnout boots for most of the horses at the barn I board at. Note that they run small: to get them to reach down to the ground so they'll do the job they're designed to do, I had to order XL boots for my 16HH mare who has pretty small hooves. They're a good value.
    Date published: 2015-06-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Ballistic boots I think they are great boots. Like everyone said they run small order a size up.
    Date published: 2015-06-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice boot! Just got this in an XL for my Percheron/TB mare. Will have to exchange for an XXL but boot is very nice
    Date published: 2015-06-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Effective Bell boots One boot came out of position first time I used them but I have adjusted how I apply them and have had no problems since.
    Date published: 2015-05-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Don't move exactly what I was after. They have never turned, even when jumping.
    Date published: 2015-05-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Favorites These fit so impeccably and never turn, providing the most coverage. I use eskadron fleece bell boots for working and these guys for turnout and they hold up surprisingly well. Super easy to clean mud off, have minor rips but nothing that needs replacing after a good four months of daily turn out.much preferred over rubber.
    Date published: 2015-05-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for turn out I've been using these boots for a few months on my mare who has a tendency to pull shoes when turned out. She has these on about 12 hours during the day in all sorts of conditions and they have stood up to the abuse amazingly well. I also use them during schooling and like the fact they fit snugly and don't flap as other bell boots do. I'm very happy with them and will order again.
    Date published: 2015-05-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very happy! The medium size bell boots fit my thoroughbred perfectly. Very happy with the product!
    Date published: 2015-04-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very happy with these Bought size XL for my large-footed warmblood and they fit well. Very happy with them.
    Date published: 2015-04-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good product This is my second pair, as my horse has different sized hoovers. I had a medium before, and it was getting turned around just on the one hoof when I rode. Now I use two different sizes, and neither moves around. They are well made and great. I like them so much better than the rubber bell boots.
    Date published: 2015-03-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from If you have a big warmblood... I used to have a WB/TB cross and he was a large. A fine bones WB is an XL and a big WB is a XXL.
    Date published: 2015-02-25
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Sizing runs WAY small! I wanted to love these boots. However, they were way too small for my boy. Farrier suggested starting with Medium when I talked to him about bell boots. I read the previous reviews, and got Large in this model. It barely fastened around his hoof. :(
    Date published: 2015-02-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Protective Bell Boot My horse went lame for a few months this past summer - and after discovering he had a bruised heel, I knew I needed to find a protective bell boot. I put him in the basic gum rubber bell boots, but after one weekend, he developed scratches from the rubs! After that, I searched for a bell boot I could easily take on and off - he really only needs the protection during work. I came across these and decided to splurge and try these. I'm so glad I did! They are easy to put on and off, and when put on correctly they stay in place and don't turn at all. They've held up well over the past 4-5 months, although I think I will need to reinvest in a few more months. You can see the spot on the boot where he hits himself behind, but his heels have remained in tact and he's been sound. I'll continue to use these in the future and so glad I found them!
    Date published: 2015-01-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Durable no-turn boot This product does what it says it does - my horse is a big overreacher, but he also has sensitive skin, so cheaper boots (ahem Davis) left rubs/sores on his pasterns & at the back of his coronet band area. You have to put these on a little high and then push them down so they 'lock' into the divet at the base/back of the pastern, but once they're in, they don't move! These run quite small, as others have said - my horse wore a L in Davis boots (though I had to trim off the bottom because it was too long) and needs an XXL in these boots. They sit just off the ground and have taken quite a beating without tearing or falling apart. Velcro seems sturdy too.
    Date published: 2014-12-01
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not as durable as I'd hoped The good news is my horse has not pulled them off, the bad news is they are shredding in the back. He's also managed to throw a shoe even with them on. A lot of money for a product that's not doing what I expected it would do.
    Date published: 2014-11-14
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Runs very small These appear to be very well made and durable...for that I would give them 5 stars. I purchase them for a WB who wears size 2 shoe in front, so NOT tremendously big feet, and ordered XL and these did not come close to fitting. Ended up with a size L in the quick-wrap style and they are great. On a GREAT note, they were returned and taken back by SmartPak and credit issued with NO PROBLEM. For customer service 100% satisfied!!
    Date published: 2014-10-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great boots! These were recommended by a very good rider, and she was absolutely right. They don't turn at all, which is great, and they seem to be pretty durable. They cover the hoof very well. The one thing is on the inside it seems like they are starting to rub a bit on the inside.
    Date published: 2014-10-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these I bought these a month ahaI and they really hold up. I have a horse that over reaches.
    Date published: 2014-10-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Ballistic bell boots! I love these boots. My horse overreaches big time and has gone lame from kicking her own heels before. They offer the perfect level of protection. I do think the sizing is a little off and think I should have ordered a size up for my thoroughbred.
    Date published: 2014-10-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Boots! I am very happy with these. My horse has shoes in the front & I bought them for trail riding and hunter paces so he doesn't lose his shoes. He is a standardbred with average size feet. I bought an XL after ready the reviews to get the next size up. Glad I did. Perfect fit. I wash them in my washer and hang dry with no problems. The velcro gives a very secure fit.
    Date published: 2014-09-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good fit Good protection I ordered a size Large for my 15.2 1100 lb. "usually size Medium", Quarter Horse mare. You will want to size up, as suggested in previous reviews. These are well made, a nice fit and if you snug them up they do not turn. Good coverage across the heel and on the sides. Worked well for my mare who was pulling her shoes off because she needed the sides of her shoes set "out" for hoof re-growth.
    Date published: 2014-09-23
    • 2016-05-02T15:33CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.2.0
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_6, tr_140
    • loc_en_US, sid_6205, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders