Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Review Snapshot

Professional Choice Tail Wrap

Professional's Choice
- Item #11610
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING


Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

A tail wrap that really stays put! Professional Choice Tail Wrap features a non-slip lining and three, 3” adjustable hook fasteners to keep it securely in place. The Professional Choice Tail Wrap offers better protection than other tail wraps because of its unique additional contoured padding at the top. This padding protects the fragile top tail hairs from rubbing and fraying.

Customers Also Shopped For
Widely acclaimed as the ultimate anti-inflammatory, Pol-Cat poultice ...
Description:
Widely acclaimed as the ultimate anti-inflammatory, Pol-Cat poultice Is a highly regarded formulation of premium clays and choice earthen materials carefully blended with aromatic essential oils and select absorbent agents to remove heat, swelling and pain. A silky smooth drawing ...
The Premier Equine Stable Boot Wraps are a ...
Description:
The Premier Equine Stable Boot Wraps are a fantastic alternative to traditional bandaging and are great for traveling, overnight support, or to help reduce typical post-exercise swelling. Favorite Features Breathable micro-holedNeoprene (airtec) wraps with Soft cotton liners provide comfortableProtection and ...
EquiFit T-Foam Dressage Bandage Liners conform to each ...
Description:
EquiFit T-Foam Dressage Bandage Liners conform to each horse's legs for maximum support andProtection during strenuous exercise. Providing a custom fit every time. The T-Foam liners minimize dirt and debris build-up known to cause rubs. VELCRO brand closures make for ...
ColdFlex Vet Wrap is an innovative self-cooling compression ...
Description:
ColdFlex Vet Wrap is an innovative self-cooling compression bandage. No pre-planning necessary- the bandage cools by evaporation and does not require refrigeration! Exclusive formulation of gelled water embedded into an elastic foam material supports and compresses while providing penetrating cold ...
Mane N' Tail Pro-Tect Wound Spray provides a ...
Description:
Mane N' Tail Pro-Tect Wound Spray provides a deep penetrating therapeutic formula. With unsurpassed effectiveness on organisms associated with Fungal and Bacterial Problems, Girth Itch, Rain Rot and Scruf. Safe and Gentle solution that will not irritate or stain Effective ...
Ionic Silver has been historically recognized for its ...
Description:
Ionic Silver has been historically recognized for its antibacterial properties and ability to kill fungi, viruses and bacteria. Tapping into this power, EquiFit, Inc. has developed the AgSilver line of silver-infused horsecare products. CleanTalc is a therapeutic powder for the ...
Zephyr's Garden Stop the Itch Spray contains powerful ...
Description:
Zephyr's Garden Stop the Itch Spray contains powerful herbs to relieve itching, soothe the skin, start healing, and regrow hair. All in a soothing aloe vera juice base to calm and moisturize the skin. Favorite Features Perfect for rubbed tails, ...
out of 5
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
    Experience:
  • Competitor:
Quality
Value
Palatability

Helpful?

Professional Choice Tail Wrap is rated 4.441860465116279 out of 5 by 43.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for Trailering I bought this to save my gelding's tail when we trailer. It fits well, is easy enough to put on, and stays in place even when he leans against the butt-bar. I haven't owned it long but it seems like it will hold up well for the occassional trailer ride.
Date published: 2015-10-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from More Than Protection for the Tail I need to hold medication against the large piece of cartilage under the tail - this wrap was perfect - it stays in place and it stays on.
Date published: 2015-08-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stayed in place and did the job!!! I received it just in time for our first trailer ride! I'm really glad in put it on my mare because she really managed to rub her behind against the butt bar during the trip, and would have certainly did a lot of damage to her tail hair if it wasnt for the tail guard!It stayed in place the whole time and did not leave any rubbing marks on her (the outside is made of a really soft plushy material, will the inside is more "rubbery" for easy cleaning)! I will use it every time we are trailering!
Date published: 2014-09-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Disappointed Bought this tail wrap to help protect my horse's tail hair. She rubs and rubs from allergies. It only stayed in place maybe 10 minutes... Fail
Date published: 2014-01-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great buy! Just bought this for my horse and love it! The quality it great and it fits really well. The lining is also another plus. 
Date published: 2013-12-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Show Ready Tail My large 17 hand warmblood leans against the back of his trailer and had rubbed a bald spot in his full, lush tail. This protective tail wrap prevents damage and can be applied as snugly as I want it to be. It stays in place with no slipping. The contoured padding at the top protects the hairs but also prevents any contusion sore from the constant leaning while my horse is in the trailer. For me this product is a must-have.
Date published: 2013-06-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great tail wrap This tail wrap stays put. Another great product by Professionals Choice!!
Date published: 2012-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from nice product really nice product for the price. i expect to have this for years to come.
Date published: 2012-09-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works well The first one I bought tore and SmartPak graciously replaced it with another one. This second one has worked great. My horse rubs his tail at night and I was worried about it coming off. So far, it rarely comes off, but I do wrap it snugly. My horse is very tolerant of having his tail messed with and doesn't mind the velcro sound and pulling on the tail when taking it off in the morning, but some might. It provides a great cushion and, I would think, good training for a crupper!
Date published: 2012-08-28
Rated 2 out of 5 by from professional choice tail wrap The tail wrap stayed in place well, but the upper reinforced padded area, tore away from the lower tail wrap within a few uses. The inner tail wrap also developed frayed areas and separation.
Date published: 2012-08-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from works great My mare pulls her hairs off her tail while trailering, she rubs against the butt bar, so she would end up with bald spots, very unattractive before shows. The tail wrap is easy to put on, stays on, and does the job. the extra pad at the top protects the tail head from rubbing. I recommend it!
Date published: 2012-06-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I can't get it to stay on! I can't evaluate much about this product because I can't get it to stay on the horse! I tried it for several weeks to try and deter my horse from rubbing his tail and keep his friends from eating it. But this thing would not stay on in the stall or in the pasture, no matter what I tried.My horse has a kind of puny tail (which is part of why I bought this!) but it really should stay put better.
Date published: 2012-04-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from nice product but.... I like the this tail protector and it is easy to apply and the neoprene is soft for the underside of the tail and the velcro really grips but....it is for short term use only like trailoring. It will not stay on for any length of time. I find it every morning in my horse's small paddock. I suppose it is better that it slides off rather than being too tight and possibly damaging the tail itself.
Date published: 2012-01-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from What did I do before... I got my trailering tail wrap?? I have a front load trailer and my horse would always come out with the tail head rubbed raw and covered in a not so pleasant substance. Bought this and I have never trailered without it. Easily to put on, no slipping what so ever, easy to wash, and my horse's tail comes out looking pristine when I unload him. Excellent product.
Date published: 2012-01-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from best tail wrap ive tried others this one is the best it stays on! and therefore I save my horses tail
Date published: 2011-10-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I can't get this to stay on him. I bought it so it would keep him from rubbing his tail in the stall but he manages to get it off no matter what I do to try and make it stay on. I think maybe if it was longer it would do better but that is a guess.
Date published: 2011-09-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great This is the only tail wrap I've used before, but it works great so far. I had to start using something on my horse while trailering since he started to rub his tail out during trailering. Easy to use and it has stayed in place very well without being too tight.
Date published: 2011-08-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Ok Tail Wrap This is a decent tail wrap. Nothing fancy about it, but it works well for trailering. Fits my 14.1 hd QH fine. Haven't tried it on my 16.3 TB..
Date published: 2011-07-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Protection and these last forever pretty much These tail wraps last forever pretty much and are good protection from rubbing while travelling or in the stable. I like these better than tail bandages. They also wash easy. Don't put them in the dryer though!
Date published: 2011-07-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from It works reasonably well It doesn't stay on too well. I have to put it back on every morning. But it works for my needs. My horse rubs his tail when he gets up and also the bottom of his fly sheet rubs some as well. I figure that if it stays on for 12 of the 24 hours that is that much less time that rubbing can occur.
Date published: 2011-07-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Quick Fix I bought this tail wrap because every time my horse would come off the trailer at a horse show his already fairly thin tail would be completely mangled at the top from resting/rubbing on the butt bar. I got this to try to save his poor tail and help it to grow more and so far I have had great success! It stays put the entire time, even on a 11 hour haul and it does not seem to bother him at all.
Date published: 2011-07-05
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Got this tail wrap to prevent my Standardbred from rubbing upper portion of tail when in stall. Unfortunately, the wrap does not stay on no matter how much I snug up on the velcro tabs. I saw where someone solved this by trapping some tail hair in the wrap, unfortunately my horse doesn't have enough long hair in this area to do this. The wrap itself seems to be well constructed and durable. Seems to be short, if longer it might stay in place better.
Date published: 2011-05-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best Really a great product: never slips down, easy to clean. The only way I could improve this product is if it was a few inches longer, and it came with a tail bag to attach to the top part to keep trails dry.
Date published: 2010-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great purchase My horse was losing hair at the top of his tail due to rubbing against the stall wall. Knew it couldn't be a worm infection as he had just been tested for this. Began using a spray on the bald spot and keeping his tail wrapped with this tail wrap. His hair is growing in nicely now. No more bald spot. Found this tail wrap to be excellent when trailering too. This specific tail wrap was suggested to me by the barn manager as she finds it an extremely good product too.
Date published: 2010-06-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from keeps tail feathers long The Professional's Choice tail wrap fits better than any other I have tried and keeps my horses' tails intact during trailering. My gelding has a tendancy to sit down on the wall and this prevents all of my hard work from being rubbed off.
Date published: 2010-05-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from To short Fits well on my big mare's tail but it way to short
Date published: 2009-08-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great wrap After years of using vet wrap to wrap my horse's tail on the way to shows, I decided to try this. Boy am I glad! It saves me time which I never seem to have enough of the morning of a show. It protects my horse's tail well and it seems comfortable for him as well.
Date published: 2009-02-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Works if it fits I can see why people love the Professional Choice Tail Wrap, if it fits. But I struggled to get it to fit on my mare's thick dock of her tail and it was laughable how tiny it was compared to her tailhead. I bought it specifically to help prevent her from rubbing out her tail base, but it didn't help. If you have a large horse (Mine is 17 hands, 1500lbs), it may not work for you. But it did fit my friend's 14.2hd QH mare just fine.
Date published: 2007-02-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Friesian Favorite! When you have a Friesian, it's all about preserving those long manes and tails. This tail wrap prevents precious hairs from breaking when trailering and also helps keep the tail clean. Just hose the wrap off when you're done and it's as good as new!
Date published: 2006-11-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for protecting tail in trailer! My large gelding hardly fits in our extra long trailer and often gets bumps on his way to the shows. In addition to the head bumper, I use this tail wrap to protect him anytime we trailer. Added bonus: When we go to shows it keeps his tail in perfect shape and not a single hair gets displaced!
Date published: 2006-09-05
  • 2016-09-30T12:49CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.4.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_7, tr_36
  • loc_en_US, sid_1610, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders