Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Review Snapshot

POMMS Premium Equine Ear Plugs

Item #17741

 

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

POMMS Premium Equine Ear Plugs
are designed to allow your horse to hear normal tones, while greatly reducing distracting or loud noises. POMMS “comfort plus” design protects your horses sensitive ears from wind, water and debris.

Favorite Features

  • Washable and re-usable
  • Comfortable
  • Secure (won't fall out)
  • Non-irritating
  • Soft, pliable, discreet, and durable
Sizing It Up

One size fits most.
2.5" diameter.

Made in the USA

You Might Like
    out of 5
    94% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    POMMS Premium Equine Ear Plugs is rated 4.5455 out of 5 by 88.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Woooooo They're great: they don't come out and my horse eats better on trips with them in. Colour choices would be great for when you don't show with ear net on
    Date published: 2015-10-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great earplugs We bought a pair last year after 4th of July fireworks and really did not get to test them out until this year. Normally we have to give our mare a mild sedative as she gets extremely stressed from fireworks. This year using the POMMS equine ear plugs she was great, no sedatives and very calm in her stall. Thanks!!!
    Date published: 2015-08-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Near Perfection These ear plugs are great, they don't come out easily, no matter how hard/ how much my horse shakes his head about. The only issues are that they are easily seen if your horse has non hairy ears. Its not bad though, I would certainly buy another pair if I needed it.
    Date published: 2015-07-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worked wonders for my excitable mare! I bought this product after realizing that my horse was very sensitive to loud speakers at shows. I tried using these at our home barn first, and she was good(was hard to tell what a show would be like because we don't have loud speakers), but we got to the show, and they were amazing! She was a little irritated when I first put them in, but she settled very quickly. Wonderful product!
    Date published: 2015-06-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great earplugs! Just purchased these, after trying both Pom Pom type plugs and smooth rubber ones. Much prefer these--very secure, block out just enough noise, easy to remove as well. Highly recommended.
    Date published: 2015-06-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Need Different Colors Works as advertised, but really should be black or brown, not gray. They are a little too obvious in that color.
    Date published: 2015-06-17
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy to use These are easy to put in and don't seem to bother my mare. Big enough for her big Percheron ears, and seem as though they will last a while.
    Date published: 2015-06-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Helpful training/showing aid Pomms are excellent for use in horses that get spooked or distracted easily. Obviously they are not a "substitute" for training and desensitization, they are only an aid, but they are super handy in the right situation. We typically use them only in the show pen, on horses that are particularly anxious or easily distracted by noises. Our horses tolerate them well and they always stay in place.
    Date published: 2015-05-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Ear Plugs I ride at a big show barn where everyone uses ear plugs, and these are what everyone uses. I've tried the fluffy kind and the round black balls and neither stayed in anywhere near as well as these. They've literally never popped out of my horse's ears. One time I even forgot to take them out and turned her out with them still in (best horse owner of the year award certainly isn't going to me) and they were both still there the next day. They are ridiculously expensive for little foam balls, but they're the best product out there and they last forever so I'm willing to spend the extra couple bucks.
    Date published: 2015-05-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from POMMES ear plugs We have had the ear plugs for a week or so and have used them on three mares. All showed marked improvement in focus ... we think they are great.!!!!! So glad that someone recommended their use.
    Date published: 2015-05-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful! these ear plugs are a MUST HAVE in your grooming kit, they're in a compact package and always good to have on hand. these have worked miracles with my spooking gelding and they don't fall out!
    Date published: 2015-03-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Saved my life. These have really, really saved me. The echo in the indoor has had me dealing with a spooky, unfocused gelding all throughout the winter months which left me fearful of even passing poles and standards, let along actually going OVER them. I finally buckled down and bought the plugs without high expectations. I got my horse back! No spooking, even when I get my foot caught in the gate and spray deep footing. Nothing. He is focused, relaxed, and SOOOO ready to jump those scary blue poles! I can safely ride my horse again without random spooking and fighting to get his attention. My only complaint; it pulls his ear hairs when I pull them out. He is perfect with them in, no head shaking, I think hes actually really happy with them in, but when its time to take them out, it definitely is a challenge. I'm sure he'd be fine if he didn't have any hair, but I am hesitant because he does not keep fly masks which cover his ears. Overall; life saving product.
    Date published: 2015-02-01
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Great cat toy These ear poms work great. They don't seem to bother my horse at all and are easy to get in and out. No head shaking with them. And , as an added bonus the cats love to play with them. Much fun watching them bat them about
    Date published: 2015-01-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not easy to get out These earplugs saved a show for me one time when my horse just would NOT stop looking at a rugby match outside the arena.That said, I've had problems with either them not being in far enough and being shaken out and rolling away, and if they're jammed in very well, it's hard to get them out without ripping the foam.
    Date published: 2014-12-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Poms Previously, my pony looked like she had Martian antenna sticking up from her head that moved back and forth at such a high frequency that I felt like I was in a wind tunnel. Now that she has the pony poms in her ears, she goes along with her ears looking relaxed and she is not spooking everything in the universe.
    Date published: 2014-11-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from POMS ARE GREAT! I purchased 2 sets of these as they are perfect!We do many Parades, Mounted Shootings, Rodeo Flag Presentations with pyrotechnics, etc. (many extremely noisy activities). These ear plugs are PERFECT to keep my horse from becoming startled. They are soft and squishy, so easy to roll down into the ear. They stay put even when my boy shakes his head. Easy to remove, just pinch a piece of the pom and pull it out.If you do any activities with LOUD noise, I highly recommend purchasing a set.Buy more than 1 set as your friends will ALL want them!!
    Date published: 2014-11-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Best ear plugs ever Been using poms for a long time. Comfortable for the horses and don't come out easily. They muffle sound well and in doing so really can help the Attention deficit type horses concentrate!
    Date published: 2014-10-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My horse is a huge looker at everything, but since using these instead of cut up polo wraps his concentration is so much better!
    Date published: 2014-10-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome product!! Used these for the first time at a horse show that had was loud and echoed. And they worked like a dream! Highly recommended!!
    Date published: 2014-09-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Work like a charm! My gelding gets very anxious in the show pen, especially with the sounds of people walking in the bleachers. These earplugs work very well and help a lot to calm him down. They also stay in remarkably well and are very discrete.
    Date published: 2014-07-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Product They work great for my horse. They are easy to get in and out and they don't fall out even when my horse shakes her head! Love them!
    Date published: 2014-07-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome ear plugs These ear plugs are very durable and are just really awesome. My pony tries to shake out her ear plugs and they stay in well.
    Date published: 2014-05-12
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from not the best design I bought these ear plugs and the ear puffs. I like the puffs a lot better because 1. They are not designed like bouncy little balls, the horse shakes them out I can still find them whereas those round little bouncy things go all over my barn - they ROLL, BOUNCE and are GREY.... the horse shakes them out you spend 10 min looking for them. 2. If you shove them down far enough into the ear there is nothing to grab on to get them out! Again, the ear puffs are fuzzy, there is always something you can pull on to get them out easily and they - again- don't roll away....My horse does well with ear plugs, he feels more focused on his work and is a lot less spooky, he spooks from noise, so this really helps, it's the design of the ear plugs that you have to think about here and which ones you want. To be honest, I rode several times with the puffs, love how easy they are to use and they do blockout noice, NEVER with the grey bouncy balls because before the second one is in the first one is somewhere.....
    Date published: 2014-04-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quiet time These are awesome for horses that are noise sensitive. I show Aqha and this helps a horse stay calm and do their job in the show ring when the microphone makes noises and the wind making those scary noises in the arenas especially inside.
    Date published: 2014-04-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Ear Plugs Easy to use and stay put. We have a WP mare who is sound sensitive and they obviously cut out at least 50% of the loud noise. They are durable. I would highly recommend them. Cheap way to ease your horses tension.
    Date published: 2014-04-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Looks well made Have not gotten to stay in my horses ears. She shakes them out but I think I need to put them in deeper.
    Date published: 2014-03-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to use Easy to use and clean, fits any horse's ears. Takes just enough of the edge off to help the horse be able to focus and work. Love these ear plugs.
    Date published: 2014-03-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So worth the money I bought these because I have a Warmblood who likes to shake his head and get the cotton ones out. These are amazing. They still allow him to hear but take that edge off. He was not able to shake them out but for the first time in a few months he didn't even try. I will be buying more of these little gems!
    Date published: 2013-04-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love them!!!! I first started using the nerf cat toys as ear plugs about 10 years ago. I would color one end with a black sharpie for shows. And now, I have POMMS.
    Date published: 2013-04-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stuffies that don't fall out These are a little expensive but they don't fall out and they are easy to get in and out. I would definitely buy these over the fluffy version.
    Date published: 2013-04-11
    • 2016-02-08T13:53CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_7, tr_81
    • loc_en_US, sid_7741, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Mollie and Eden
    I started riding when I was 9 years old and quickly got swept up into the competitive hunter/jumper world. I showed my first pony, Chloe, in the Small Pony Hunter divisions were we competed at shows like Fairfield Hunt Club, Old Salem, HITS, and West...

    Learn more »

    SmartPak Barn Field Trip, Part 2: Decoding hay and grain for horses
    Download the worksheet to test your knowledge! How much hay and grain does your horse get every day? How much SHOULD your horse be getting each day? Many horses may not be getting what your feed bag recommends, so we’re

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-800-461-8898.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.