Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Review Snapshot

Pol-Cat Poultice

Vapco
- Item #11864
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for SmartPerks FREE SHIPPING. (Find out why)
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75. Have a question? Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime! Applies to eligible items as long as you have active SmartPaks over $40 for at least one horse.

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Widely acclaimed as the ultimate anti-inflammatory, Pol-Cat® poultice Is a highly regarded formulation of premium clays and choice earthen materials carefully blended with aromatic essential oils and select absorbent agents to remove heat, swelling and pain. A silky smooth drawing application with easy glide and workability yielding proven therapeutic benefits. Its moist drawing action is effective with or without the use of a bandage. Pol-Cat® poultice is easily removed with water. Available in 5 and 10lb buckets.

Made in the USA

The 2.5lbs size has been discontinued from the manufacturer.
You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    Why We Love Magnesium is vitally important for ...
    Description:
    Why We Love Magnesium is vitally important for the horse's systems yet the benefits are hardly known. Topical magnesium can help to relax muscle and tendon strains, relive pain of inflammation, and provide and overall calming effect by providing maximum ...
    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Pol-Cat Poultice is rated 4.88 out of 5 by 25.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works Great I use a poultice on my horse after shows and recently ran out. I didn't want to get a large tub of something in fear that it would dry out if stored. I thought this was the right size for the right price. I sure am glad I got it! Has a little bit of menthol smell, not overpowering, goes on smooth, easy to get off either by hosing or currying. My older horse's usually stocked up legs were perfectly normal size also after using this product.
    Date published: 2013-07-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A+ Poultice Goes on easily, very smooth. Brushes off easily when dry. Reasonably priced and highly recommended!
    Date published: 2013-07-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Poultice I love this poultice! It is as creamy as lotion, making it easy to apply, and when I put it on my horse's legs after a tough workout he sighed, breathed deeper, and licked his lips. I can tell it relaxed him and helped him bounce back from the workout while soothing his tendons. It's easily rinsed off when it's completely dried. An awesome poultice at an awesome price - yay!
    Date published: 2012-08-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not Easy To Apply This poultice smells nice & works well, but I found it is hard & thick, making it difficult to apply.
    Date published: 2012-06-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Smooth and smells nice Feels great when applying and smells nice. Great value too.
    Date published: 2012-03-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works Great! It really helps with inflammation, the horses seem to really enjoy when we put it on there legs.
    Date published: 2011-06-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Everyone Should Have A Tub I was minutes away from calling the vet when my neighbor stopped over with her tub of Pol-Cat. My 19 year old mare had swollen rear legs from walking on a rough frozen pasture on newly trimmed feet. Two twice-daily applications of Pol-Cat on her legs and she was good as new. When I applied the first coat, she stopped eating and stood there with a look a of pure bliss on her face. Thankfully we got the snow we needed to cushion the pasture but from now on I will ALWAYS have a tub of Pol-Cat on hand!
    Date published: 2010-12-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great poultice This poultice is silky smooth and goes on very easily. When dry you can easily brush it off with a soft rubber curry. It smells great too. I also love the Sore No More poultice but I think this goes on a little smoother yet because it seems a bit more wet than SNM.
    Date published: 2010-12-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from AWESOME! I have used this poultice for 3 years and I dont think I will ever buy anything else! Cleans off great with water, or dry with a rubber curry. Keeps my reiner cool and tight. Great preventative as well as great at reducing swelling when there is an issue. A little goes a long way and its easy to apply.
    Date published: 2010-03-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great I love this poultice. The only thing I will say is that this poultice does have to be wrapped with paper bags. It does not quick dry to leave on without wraps. It is nice though with the medicated clay. I use it to wrap after heavy jumping or cross-country days.
    Date published: 2009-09-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Pol-Cat worked as well as Up-Tite I have always used a brand called Up-Tite and in a pinch, ordered Pol-Cat and hoped it would work just as well. It had a similar appearance, but I actually found the Pol-Cat poultice easier/smoother to apply. Best of all, my horses' legs looked great the next morning. It does create a large amount of fine dust when you brush it off, so you might not want to do that in an enclosed area.
    Date published: 2009-07-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Go-To Poultice Product This is my favorite poultice brand and the one that I always buy. I would recommend it to anyone looking for a nice basic clay poultice that is OK with or without wraps.
    Date published: 2009-07-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best poultice i've used. With 5 horses in different disciplines (an open hunter, a level 7 jumper, an pre-lim eventer, a level 2/3 dressage horse and an equitation partner) and a total of 10 hard lessons a week i'm always poulticing somebody!!! my dressage horse is a 13 y/o qh and he is lovely at it. he strained a tendon this past september and pol cat was his best friend. i poulticed him every day for about 2 months. the 10lb bucket lasted all that time and never did i sit and scrub it off or un-wrap to a "dry" leg. i now poultice him every few days or so after a work out just to help keep his legs nice and tight. it does well and ::knocks on wood:: has prevented any swelling etc. With my horses averaging 4ft and high level lateral work they can use the extra help and pol cat is that little extra.thanks pol cat!!
    Date published: 2009-04-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It's what your looking for I like it for my horses because you can use it without banages if you want and you can use on the bottom of the hoof too.
    Date published: 2009-04-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great I Pol-Cat Poultice after my weekly lessons and at shows, since my horse and I jump in the big classes. It goes on smooth, stays wet longer, and you can feel it working as you apply it. Pol-Cat does a fantastic job keeping his legs tight and pain-free. Plus it smells good too and lasts a long time!
    Date published: 2008-11-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nothing Better Than This There is truly no better poultice that lasts longer, stays cool and wet, and makes horses' legs incredibly smooth and tight. No hunter or jumper rider should be without this product.
    Date published: 2007-07-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy on, easy off! When my vet recommended I poultice my mare's legs to help treat a case of lymphangitis, I had visions of me, my horse, and my barn aisle covered in poultice. Other brands I've used in the past were messy and just seemed to get everywhere. Not so with PolCat! It is very smooth and easy to apply, yet it is thick enough that it stays were you put it. PolCat is also surprisingly easy to remove, even without water. Just let it dry and brush it right off! This product really helped with the inflammation in my mare's legs, and the 10 lb bucket lasted through a full week of daily poulticing with lots to spare. A great product at a great value!
    Date published: 2006-11-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Thumbs up I bought a tub of this when I ran out of my usual poultice and I was hooked. When my horses jump the big classes, several times a week, I need something to help keep their legs cool and tight. And I found it!
    Date published: 2006-01-11
    • 2016-05-27T16:13CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.2.1
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_23
    • loc_en_US, sid_1864, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders