Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

Plymouth Web Reins by SmartPak

SmartPak
- Item #17450

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).


Why We Love This

Traditional styling and unprecedented quality in this price range.

Favorite Features

  • Leather grips
  • Hook studs
  • Attached rein stops

Sizing It Up

5/8" x 54"

 

????

?
Black or Brown.

You Might Like
    out of 5
    98% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Plymouth Web Reins by SmartPak is rated 4.6585 out of 5 by 41.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from love them I bought this about 1 month ago and love them, they are good quality and they don't slip through my fingers.
    Date published: 2015-06-01
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nice, but too short I like these a lot; they're good quality feel good when riding but they are too short and do not come in any options other than the 54". I would rate them 5 stars if they came in a reasonable length for larger horses.
    Date published: 2015-03-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from lightweight and comfy! These reins are super lightweight and comfortable. So far, they seem well made and match my Micklem competition bridle nicely.
    Date published: 2015-01-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from They have held up very well I bought the Plymouth web reins about 5 years ago. The reins that came with my bridle I didn't like at all. So when I saw these reins for $25. I thought how bad could they be, well I was very pleasantly surprised they are great. After 5 years they still look good, the clean up great and look brand new every time.
    Date published: 2014-07-12
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good product for a good price This is a good, well made product for great price.
    Date published: 2014-02-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Inexpensive reins that look expensive I bought these reins to try to see if I would be able to hold the contact better so I wasn't looking for the best pair of web reins. These reins impressed me. The reins are of decent quality despite being made in India. The leather seems pretty good and the web reins are nicely made. My only gripe is that they are a bit short in length.
    Date published: 2013-12-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exceptional quality for the price Have only been using for a month, so can't attest to the durability, but the reins seem well made and the leather is sturdy. Pleasantly surprised at the suppleness of the webbed sections (last time I bought web reins, from another company, the webbing was stiff). Reasonably priced, too. Very happy with this purchase!
    Date published: 2013-12-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice inexpensive reins These are just as advertised: nice, inexpensive, very functional web reins. They are not too thick of too wide, and have rein stops and leather martingale stops -- everything I need to be happy. After the first pair, I came back and bought a couple of extra pairs for other bridles.
    Date published: 2013-05-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Web reins The best value for the money that I found anywhere.
    Date published: 2013-02-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best $25 I've spent lately I had $127 Thinline dressage reins. My trainer suggested that I get a pair of notched reins because I wasn't able to keep consistent pressure. BEST decision ever. These reins are super simple and just right. Best $25 I've spent lately.Thanks SmartPak!
    Date published: 2012-12-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice reins These pair perfectly with the Plymouth dressage bridle and I like them better than the reins that originally came with the bridle - which my filly broke by mistake. Great price too.
    Date published: 2012-10-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from great for the price These are really nice for the price, seem pretty well made. I have only used them a few times but I like how they feel, the leather is not the highest quality but certainly nice for the price. I'm sure they will get better as it is cleaned and oiled more too.I would definitely recommend these, but can't speak to durability yet as I have only had them a few weeks
    Date published: 2012-09-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Quality I wanted an inexpensive pair of reins for everyday use and these reins are better than I expected! The leather was soft right out of the box and with one coat of oil they were even softer! The webbing is just right and the reins feel great in my small hands!
    Date published: 2012-09-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A surprisingly great set of reins! Although I don't know why I should be surprised, it is SmartPak -- these reins far exceeded the quality I expected at this price point. The leather is nice, the web is soft and supple, my hands don't slip and I can't think of a single thing negative about them.
    Date published: 2012-08-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great quality Really super reins, especially for the price! Bought a pair and loved them-- will be buying more.
    Date published: 2012-08-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Extremely pleased I had searched for some reins with hand stops that were not too expensive but of good quality. These reins fit the bill! They are easy to clean and very comfortable. My other bridle came with similar reins and the price tag was much higher but the ones from smartpak are more pliable out of the box. I would definitely buy these again.
    Date published: 2012-08-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Feel Im glade that reins came with my new bridle I only wish I could choose what kind. I really like the feel of the web reins and they match perfectly with my bridle.
    Date published: 2012-06-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Reins! These reins are better than I expected. I bought them because they were so inexpensive but when they arrived I switch them onto all my show bridles because I liked them so much!
    Date published: 2012-04-24
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great purchase! These reins were better than I expected them to be. I have similar much more expensive reins that are still fine but I got another horse and needed another pair. I found these and decided to give them a try. They are perfect and very good quality. The price is right too!
    Date published: 2012-03-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from excellent schooling rein Feels good in the hand. This is a lovely, light-weight rein perfect for everyday riding. I love the width! It lets me feel like I can get a secure grip, even if I'm not directly over a stop!
    Date published: 2012-02-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My favorite reins My old pair of web reins had finally given in to old age and daily use. I tried a pair of rubber lined reins that I had on hand but really missed my web reins. I ordered the Plymouth Web Reins and I am so glad I did. The break in period was minimal but the quality of the leather is quite good for the price. The stops are perfectly placed and they and the webbing keep my hands from slipping. Thank you SmartPak for carrying this great product!
    Date published: 2012-01-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Reins for the price I broke the web reins that originally came with my horse's bridle. I didn't think I would be able to get the same reins since they were 8 years old.I was so relieved that the Smartpak web reins were exactly what I was looking for.
    Date published: 2011-09-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice Reins I have only used these reins over the last month, but so far I am quite pleased with them. They came out of the box feeling soft and the leather ends were of better quality than I was expecting. Based on previous reviews, I was worried about the length, but when I compared them to a similar pair that I already owned, they were actually longer. They are a nice pair of reins for the price.
    Date published: 2011-09-05
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Buy better reins I love rubber reins, but I hate the price so I decided to cheap out and buy these. They get the job done, but they aren't easy to hold on to, especially if you are in a double bridle or are holding two reins for any reason. I'm kicking myself for wanting to save the money because I will probably end up buying another pair of rubber reins, or suffer through switching back and forth with my rubbers between the double and the snaffle bridle.Overall, save yourself some time and spend the money on the some nice rubber reins so when you're riding, you won't want to be pulling out your hair trying to hold on to these!
    Date published: 2011-07-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great reins These are a great set of reins. I love the leather stops on the. It helps me so much so now I that my reins are even. They have held up so well with all the riding they look brand new!.
    Date published: 2011-07-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from super nice for the price! These are softer than reins that came with $300 bridles! I hesitated on ordering them due to the price, but I'm so glad I did. They are perfect for starting an opinionated baby horse who may very well break them eventually, but without sacrificing quality and feel.
    Date published: 2011-07-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice quality reins I had bought the Plymouth bridle, and loved the reins so I bought a set for another bridle I have. They don't require much break in and feel good in my small hands.
    Date published: 2011-02-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice reins for price! I was pleasantly surprised at the quality. The leather is soft, supple and evenly colored. The webbing is pliable, but sturdy. Very nice reins for the money. They have a nice feel while riding. I usually don't like using web reins, but these are actually pretty nice! Only thing I dislike is that they are on the short side.
    Date published: 2010-12-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from i absolutely love these reins!! my horse loves to pull and try to fight me when i start asking him to work. with these reins i have more control and he cannot pull them out of my hands easily. i love the way they look and the way they feel. i would definitely recommend this product to everyone i meet who is looking for a good set of working reins.
    Date published: 2010-05-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Better Than I Expected These reins are extremely well made, especially considering how inexpensive they are. I have used other "cheap" reins for my schooling bridles before, and there is no comparison between them and these Plymouth reins. These reins are supple and substantial and have that "broken in" feeling from the first ride. I bought these reins to replace the lace reins that came with the O/S Plymouth bridle I purchased. The only thing I noticed is that they are a bit shorter than the reins that came with the bridle, not leaving quite as much bight. However, I am very pleased with them.
    Date published: 2010-04-28
    • 2016-02-07T15:13CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_4, tr_37
    • loc_en_US, sid_7450, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Mollie and Eden
    I started riding when I was 9 years old and quickly got swept up into the competitive hunter/jumper world. I showed my first pony, Chloe, in the Small Pony Hunter divisions were we competed at shows like Fairfield Hunt Club, Old Salem, HITS, and West...

    Learn more »

    SmartPak Barn Field Trip, Part 2: Decoding hay and grain for horses
    Download the worksheet to test your knowledge! How much hay and grain does your horse get every day? How much SHOULD your horse be getting each day? Many horses may not be getting what your feed bag recommends, so we’re

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-800-461-8898.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.