Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Review Snapshot

Plymouth Plain Raised Bridle by SmartPak

Plymouth by SmartPak
- Item #17209

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).


Why We Love This

Plymouth bridles are crafted in imported leather with fine details and stainless steel hardware at an unbeatable value.  Traditional styling and unprecedented quality in this price range.  Available exclusively at SmartPak. 

Unprecedented quality at this price.  A perfect schooling bridle designed for daily use.  Raised ½” caveson and browband (except O/S which is 5/8").  Traditional hook stud ends and stainless steel hardware with 5/8” cheeks. Complete with 5/8” plain laced reins. Brown.


Favorite Features

  • Raised caveson & browband
  • Great for schooling or at a horse show
  • Holds up to everyday use


Sizing It Up

Pony
Cob
Full
O/S 

You Might Like
    out of 5
    93% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Plymouth Plain Raised Bridle by SmartPak is rated 4.4754 out of 5 by 61.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good bridle for schooling This is a great schooling bridle for the price. After almost a year of use, the browband has some rubs where it lost color, but other wise is in pretty good shape. It isn't butter soft, but it's very serviceable all the same.
    Date published: 2015-06-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice bridle Great Product for the price. I bought this bridle for my daughter as a show bridle. She loves it
    Date published: 2015-04-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from IGreat bridle for the mone. Good fit. Nice buckles.
    Date published: 2015-03-13
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nice schooling bridle I bought this bridle as a schooling bridle and its nice. I had to really oil it and use different reins though. The reins that came with it are tough and won't break in. That's OK for me cause I had a different pair that I use. Its not a show piece but it is great for schooling.
    Date published: 2015-02-01
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good bridle at first glance, but then had problems I have had this bridle for at least 6mo. At first I thought it was perfect for schooling and that it would really hold up. The color on the reins has rubbed off, so now there is a tan colored leather showing, that I can't even darken. The braids in the reins never got soft with copious oiling, the edges of the braiding are still very stiff/sharp and makes my hands sore. My main issue is that the buckle on the noseband does not have piece of leather as a guard to keep it from pinching. The buckle rubs and makes my mare's skin raw and sometimes scabs up. Having to put fleece underneath for comfort. I've had many other schooling quality bridles but never had these problems arise.
    Date published: 2014-12-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great bridle for the $$ great lesson and local /4-h show bridle. The price allows me to cry less if the kids break it:)
    Date published: 2014-10-15
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Darker than expected Thought the quality seems nice, I'm still pretty disappointed. I bought this bridle because of the color advertised in the photo- that beautiful reddish brown color. The bridle is extremely dark brown- I'm afraid to oil it in fear of turning it black. I would like to keep it because of the quality, but honestly its a totally different color than my other tack. So disappointing!
    Date published: 2014-10-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful bridle and great price I bought this for my daughter's new horse. He has a somewhat large head and it fits him well. It's is stitched beautifully looking like it cost much more. Great value!
    Date published: 2014-09-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super nice bridle! High quality, nice looking, great value, great fit (an issue w/ my Arabian's small head - I ordered cob size).
    Date published: 2014-07-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great schooling bridle Great bridle for the price. Nice leather. Has lasted a while
    Date published: 2014-04-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for the price got this as a schooling bridle for my lease horse. It's nice leather for the price - way better than anything else I've seen at this price. It was a bit stiff when I got it but it's softening up with use and leather conditioner.
    Date published: 2014-01-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this bridle! I purchased this about a month ago and for the price, I love the quality.  It holds up well and looks wonderful on my horse. I have had no issues with it and i really enjoy it!
    Date published: 2013-12-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Value! I bought this bridle in a cob size for my arabian mare about a month ago. It fits her beautifully as well as being a great bridle overall. Was very nice and supple to begin with. I love everything about this bridle! The stitching also makes it look like a more expensive bridle, and my friends' jaws drop when I tell them what I paid for it.
    Date published: 2013-11-17
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Bought this as a cheap bridle for a Shire Sporthorse that I'm backing. Full size was too small but o/s was too big. By punching extra holes in the headstall I've made it work but it must be made for a huge head! Quality is pretty good for the price - will need some oiling to soften it up.
    Date published: 2013-10-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Bridle I was shocked by the high quality of this bridle.... especially for the price! Very happy with this purchase. I got an engraved nameplate as well and it looked beautiful and was done on high quality brass. This is a great bridle for schooling and lower level shows. I got a cob size which ran a little small but fit the Arabian/Morgan cross I bought it for.
    Date published: 2013-08-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Steal! Have not had my bridle for very long, But it came in the mail promptly and is very nice!. Have only used it twice, so I can't say too much. It was made with nice leather, and the only complaint that I have is, The reins are a little dry and stiff. But with a little conditioner, It will probably be a lot better off! Thanks Smartpak!
    Date published: 2013-07-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good bridle, excellent value! Just like the other reviews say, this is a great bridle for the money. Is it the nicest bridle I've ever seen? Of course not, but for the price it can't be beat.I bought this bridle in the pony size for a chunky POA I have. She is 13.3h and has a cute head that I've never tried to fit. The headstall was great (even with a very small ringed bit) and the browband fit well. The cavesson will need a hole or two punched in it to fit around her jaw however. Just some cleaning and oiling and it's ready to go. Very classy look.
    Date published: 2013-06-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Needed for a new horse This bridle was better than expected for the cost. I have just started using the briddle so I don't yet know what the durability with be.
    Date published: 2013-05-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great little bridle I bought this for my lesson pony because he stepped on his reins and broke them and it was cheaper to buy this bridle and reins than to buy replacement reins. WOW, was I pleasantly surprised! Great leather for this price point nice craftsmanship the leather is easy for little hands to work with( taking it apart, putting it back together and cleaning, using keepers and suck) which is really important to me for a lesson pony bridle and VERY hard to find in a bridle that is cost effective for young children who drop reins for ponies to step on;) to use on a daily basis. The throat latch is huge and the noseband is a tad large but fixable with a leather punch. I am using on a 12.2 welsh gelding.
    Date published: 2013-05-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Purchase Ever This is a quality product for the price. Would recommend this to everyone.
    Date published: 2013-04-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pretty, inexpensive bridle I needed a pretty, fine-featured bridle for occasional use showing. This bridle is a nice quality for the price and serves the purpose for which I bought it.
    Date published: 2013-04-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful, high quality bridle I was pleasantly surprised by the high quality of this bridle. The leather was already supple and well moisturized when I got it, and the color was perfect. I oiled it once before my show, and it fit my gelding well and looked lovely on him. I will be buying another one so that I don't have to switch bits between HUS and Equitation.
    Date published: 2013-04-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Bridle! I bought this bridle after reading countless good reviews, however ordered a Cob as many reviews said the bridle runs huge!This bridle runs true to size as the cob was too small for a thoroughbred with a refined head. Since I bought it on sale I could not return it and so I had to sell it to a friend. I was very dissapointed but I will not hesitate to order another.
    Date published: 2013-03-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Definitely a great basic bridle! I purchased this bridle for my one youngster who is just starting his training - I read previous reviews, and thought that this sounded like a nice, basic bridle for a reasonable price. I am very happy that I gave this bridle a chance! The leather quality is nice, and I did oil, clean & condition it after I received it & before putting it together. I think it could stand to be oiled again (but I don't like to over oil!). I like that the nose & brow bands have a very thin look to them - it makes the bridle have an elegant look when it is one. The fit is very nice - this is a very nice entry level bridle for the price range! I do own a Harwich bridle as well for my other young horse. I am very impressed with the quality of Smartpak bridles - I feel like the quality of the materials & workmanship is excellent, especially compared to other major name brands. I do plan on purchasing another Smartpak bridle in the future for my youngster that I'm starting in this Plymouth bridle right now. I definitely recommend this as an entry level or spare bridle.
    Date published: 2013-01-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great value for second bridle I purchased the Plymouth as a second bridle to use with a more corrective bit for trail rides with my opinionated chestnut mare. I can keep the trail bit handy in this second bridle. Makes life a little easier.
    Date published: 2013-01-23
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Wonderful Value I bought this bridle for my Mustang, who can be a bit difficult to get a good fit for. It works wonderfully on him. Great value for the price.
    Date published: 2013-01-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful bridle for the price! Lovely bridle, especially for the price. This bridle is not only a great schooling bridle, I think it looks nice enough for the show ring as well.The leather was quite soft right from the box and is breaking in very easily and nicely.A horse size fit my 16.1 hand Canadian Warmblood mare perfectly.
    Date published: 2013-01-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very happy with this bridle This is my second review of this bridle... I liked the one for my horse enough that when they were on sale I picked up one for my daughter's pony. It's a smidge too large for her, but it is one TINY pony and nothing seems to fit her right. The first bridle we had for the pony had leather that quickly became thick and difficult for my daughter (6 years old) to handle with her tiny fingers, to the point where she always needed help fastening and unfastening the bridle. With the Plymouth the leather stays smooth and even so she is able to do everything by herself. She loves it so much more than the other bridle and our 'pony jockey' has also commented on how much nicer it is than her old one too.
    Date published: 2013-01-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing I was expecting this bridle to just be 'nice for the price'. But was happy to see that this is a bridle with true quality. The leather is so nice and the contrast stitching is beautiful. I found that this bridle runs true to size, many reviews said it ran large and on my fine thoroughbred the cob was too tiny. Despite the size issue I will never hesitate to buy a Plymouth again, they are the first line I will go to!
    Date published: 2012-12-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Quality for Price This is the second Plymouth Bridle I've purchased and I'm still amazed at the quality for the low price. You can't beat it!
    Date published: 2012-12-15
    • 2016-02-11T15:35CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_4, tr_57
    • loc_en_US, sid_7209, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Mollie and Eden
    I started riding when I was 9 years old and quickly got swept up into the competitive hunter/jumper world. I showed my first pony, Chloe, in the Small Pony Hunter divisions were we competed at shows like Fairfield Hunt Club, Old Salem, HITS, and West...

    Learn more »

    SmartPak Barn Field Trip, Part 2: Decoding hay and grain for horses
        Download the worksheet to test your knowledge! How much hay and grain does your horse get every day? How much SHOULD your horse be getting each day? Many horses may not be getting what your feed bag recommends,

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-800-461-8898.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.