Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Plymouth Padded Fancy Stitch Bridle by SmartPak

SmartPak
- Item #17734
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Plymouth bridles are crafted in imported leather with fine details and stainless steel hardware at an unbeatable value.  Traditional styling and unprecedented quality in this price range.  Available exclusively at SmartPak. 
Padded fancy stitch bridle with excellent detail at an unbeatable price - you will be amazed at the quality and craftsmanship and an unheard of price.

Favorite Features 

  • Traditional styling with delicate fancy stitching on 3/4” brow and 5/8"noseband
  • Hook stud ends and stainless steel hardware with 1/2” cheeks
  • Complete with 5/8” plain laced reins

Sizing It Up
 
Size:  Pony, Cob, Full, O/S
Color: Brown

You Might Like
    out of 5
    93% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Plymouth Padded Fancy Stitch Bridle by SmartPak is rated 4.5686 out of 5 by 153.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful bridle! This bridle is great for both schooling and showing, it holds up well, the leather stays shiny and soft. I recommend this bridle 100%!
    Date published: 2015-07-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beautiful Schooling Bridle This bridle is absolutely beautiful and the leather comes out of the bag already supple. I still spent several days oiling the leather before using it, so I was a bit disappointed that after just one ride, in a few spots the darker outer leather started to peel away showing the light color underneath. The spots haven't gone away with more oil either.This bridle's still a great value and looks lovely with the fancy stitching and padding, but I would only use it for schooling or local shows.It also runs a bit large: I got a Full, but for every horse I've used it with so far, it's on the highest cheekpiece holes and almost on the tightest for noseband and throatlatch. And I ride horses with pretty chunky heads.
    Date published: 2015-07-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from soft leather! I was looking for something to fit a horse I would only have a couple of months. Super small head on this little guy. Was pleasantly surprised when this came in. The leather was pretty soft and stitched as well. It is much better quality than I expected for the price point. I would order this again as an every day working bridle.
    Date published: 2015-06-17
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Quality for the Price Range I was looking for a lower cost bridle for my new yearling (baby's first bridle!), and jumped on this one during a sale. I was looking for something knowing he would soon outgrow it. I am so impressed with the quality of this bridle. The leather starts out stiff, but easily softens with a little work and oil. It also looks fantastic - classic hunter bridle. I'm a little cautious about the long-term wear along the edges, but have not had it long enough to comment.
    Date published: 2015-06-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from In love I am a rider on a budget and was looking to replace a bridle I had for years. I purchased a very inexpensive one from another website and was horrified at the quality. Lesson learned, no more $30 bridles and went on a search for something nicer but still under $100. I decided on this bridle for several reason. Firstly, I have had nothing but pleasant experience with Smartpak so far. Secondly, I am much more comfortable spending the money knowing I can ship it back for free if it doesn't fit. Thirdly, it was under $100. After reading the reviews I purchased and couldn't be happier. I wore it for the 1st time in my lesson yesterday and my trainer couldn't stop complimenting it. It look fantastic on my chestnut thoroughbred and looks good with my other tack as well. Thank you Smartpak for making such a soft, supple, good looking, affordable bridle.
    Date published: 2015-06-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect for the price Bought this for my kids' pony, as his old bridle was nasty. I really didn't want to spend much, as they only ride for fun. This is perfect. It's soft, not stiff. Perfect for the price.
    Date published: 2015-05-29
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Shows wear quickly. When I first received this bridle, I was ecstatic. The leather was supple, the padding soft. The stitching was lovely and just an overall great bridle.After five months, however, the dye began wearing off. For me, it happened along the noseband. For my friend (who bought the bridle same time as I did) it happened on her reins. The wear on her reins was much worse than the rubbing on my noseband. This doesn't affect the softness or fit of the leather but is just an aesthetic issue. Great for schooling; not show.
    Date published: 2015-05-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very soft leather, very well constructed! I found the perfect bridle to spoil my OTTB with. It is extremely soft, supple and doesn't forsake the quality. Very well made, expensive looking bridle. I've seen $200 + bridles of similar quality, and this one is less than half the price. Very happy with my purchase.
    Date published: 2015-05-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Looking forward to showing! I have not had the opportunity to use this bridle yet as I purchased it for showing only. I was very pleasantly surprised by the quality of leather and craftsmanship. I am excited to use it!
    Date published: 2015-05-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great looking & value Very pretty bridle at a great price! Go for the personalization--its a lovely feature.
    Date published: 2015-04-08
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Sharp looking. Love the bridle. It's Just taking a while to break In.
    Date published: 2015-04-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great price for nice bridle Bought this bridle as a show bridle for a pony. Very nice leather, nice details at a great price. Had to exchange the pony size for a cob size for a medium pony but the exchange was extremely easy. A friend saw it and immediately ordered one for herself! I used to be a customer service supervisor so my standards are high and I give Smart Pak an A+ for customer service!
    Date published: 2015-03-31
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Get the Harwich I was initially impressed with this bridle's appearance for the price point it's at. I've had a few specific issues that keep me from recommending it, though. First off, the reins have needed a LOT of oil to get soft enough to reasonably ride in, and even then, they were pretty stiff the first couple of rides. Second, there's a shiny veneer on the leather that apparently scratches off pretty easily. My horse rubbed against a fence his first time wearing it (totally my fault, but he does it all the time and my other cheap bridle cleans up fine after with a bit of conditioner.) It now has a permanent light mark where the shiny finish scratched off that won't go away with oil. Third, the sizing is weird. Cob size is way too small in the noseband, but the horse size has really long cheek pieces that make the top hole adjustment just barely small enough to work with certain bits.I will say that it's very pretty and has design details I expect of a more expensive bridle. But if I could do it again, I would just spend the extra $50 and get a second Harwich.
    Date published: 2015-03-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Look I bought this to use as a schooling and show bridle, and it works well for both!
    Date published: 2015-03-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT BRIDLE !!! I bought this bridle after doing a lot of looking - for a nice bridle without spending a fortune. The review on it were all good so I took the chance - being fairly new to buying leather goods site and touch not done! I was surprised at just how nice this bridle is!!!! The leather is soft on arrival and once i oiled it it looks and feels amazing. So much bridle for the money - highly recommend this.
    Date published: 2015-02-24
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Pretty pleased Got this for the new horse with a petite little face. A very nice quality bridle for the price, but fits a little funny - the noseband sat so high on her face that I had to punch 2 more holes to get it to the appropriate level, but it is the right length to be tight enough when adjusted. The browband is a little snug as well but everything else is perfect. Can't speak to the quality of the reins as I am using a different set. The stitching and padding on everything is lovely.
    Date published: 2015-02-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice leather This bridle was great, leather is supple and looks very nice. Very pleased with this purchase.
    Date published: 2015-02-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great quality; Amazing value Priced like a schooling bridle but fancy enough for shows. Terrific quality. Wears well.
    Date published: 2015-01-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So supple! I could not be happier. It didn't even need oiling when I opened it! The stitching was clean and the padding soft.
    Date published: 2014-12-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome quality! Was extremely impressed when I recieved this bridle. Amazing color, super soft, great stitching...all at affordable price! Great job smartpak!
    Date published: 2014-12-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well made, supper pretty I bought this a few weeks ago after using the one my trainer had for her horse. I love it! It's supple right out of the box, and the leather is really good quality. Also I was very pleased that it came with reins, as a lot of bridles do not. Overall I was very impressed with this product. The only thing which I don't love is that it doesn't have a mono-crown piece. Still great bargain especially of this price. Definitely recommend.
    Date published: 2014-12-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful bridle for a great price I was looking for a relatively inexpensive bridle, so I bought this one because of all the good reviews. It's great bridle, and the leather is expensive looking. The reins took some time to break in and required a lot of oil, but they are very nice. The only thing I don't like is on the noseband the keepers are fixed, so if you need to tighten it, the leather piece just sticks out.
    Date published: 2014-11-18
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from not bad Not bad. leather is soft and supple. There are a couple of spots in the leather that have a small blemish discoloration or scratched.
    Date published: 2014-11-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great bridle for the price! Came very supple right out of the packaging! Looks like a much more expensive bridle than it is. Will work for either schooling or show. Love it so far!
    Date published: 2014-10-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Quality leather I bought this a few weeks ago and it came out of the box supple and soft.
    Date published: 2014-10-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great price without compromising quality Have two of these great bridles for pony's in my lesson program. Reasonable price wise to use every day and nice enough quality for when we show
    Date published: 2014-10-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love the thick braided reins. Great quality bridles for the price.
    Date published: 2014-10-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE this bridle Have been using for about 3 weeks. Nice leather right out of the box. Oiled the reins a bit to soften them, the headstall was super. Lot of bang for the buck. Looks just as good as a high price bridle!
    Date published: 2014-10-07
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Hasn't Held Up I bought this bridle to replace an older Plymouth. The original Plymouth held up and looked beautiful for years. The replacement has been used 4-5 days per week for about two months now and the leather has lost its finish on the crown and side pieces in the buckle areas. I am religious about wiping my tack after every ride and am rather disappointed it has not held up well at all.
    Date published: 2014-09-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Buy Great quality item for the price. Leather was much nicer than expected and it is a great fit!
    Date published: 2014-07-31
    • 2015-08-29T13:13CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_5, tr_148
    • loc_en_US, sid_7734, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Horse of the Month: Dax
    Horse of the Month: Doc’s Mostly Yella aka Dax Breed: Quarter Horses Age: 8 years old PATH Intl. Member Center: Miracles in Motion Location: Keene, NH Dax is an 8 year old palomino quarter horse. He is about 16hh and

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright 2015 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.