Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Review Snapshot

Plymouth Elite Dressage Bridle by SmartPak

Plymouth by SmartPak
- Item #19857
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for SmartPerks FREE SHIPPING. (Find out why)
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75. Have a question? Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime! Applies to eligible items as long as you have active SmartPaks over $40 for at least one horse.

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Following the success of the Plymouth line, SmartPak is proud to introduce the Plymouth Elite. The Plymouth Elite takes all of the wonderful features of the Plymouth line and adds additional enhancements such as a true padded monocrown, buckle closures, 1" wide noseband. Offered with plain noseband and flash or crank noseband with no flash.

Complete with 5/8" rubber lined leather reins (flash) or rubber reins (crank). Available exclusively at SmartPak.

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    Plymouth bridles are crafted in imported leather with ...
    Description:
    Plymouth bridles are crafted in imported leather with fine details and stainless steel hardware at an unbeatable value. Traditional styling and unprecedented quality in this price range. Available exclusively at SmartPak. Unprecedented quality at this price. A perfect schooling bridle ...
    Available exclusively at SmartPak at anunbelievable value, Plymouth ...
    Description:
    Available exclusively at SmartPak at anunbelievable value, Plymouth bridles are crafted in imported leather with traditional styling and unprecedented quality in this price range. Favorite Features Delicate fancy stitchingdetail Traditional styling Supple imported leather Stainless steel hardware Hook stud ends ...
    Harwich Bridles are crafted in durable imported leather ...
    Description:
    Harwich Bridles are crafted in durable imported leather that's vegetable tanned. With an innovative padded crown design that allows the caveson strap to pass over the crown to alleviate pressure on the sensitive poll area. Superb craftsmanship is reflected in ...
    Plymouth bridles are crafted in imported leather with ...
    Description:
    Plymouth bridles are crafted in imported leather with fine details and stainless steel hardware at an unbeatable value. Traditional styling and unprecedented quality in this price range. Available exclusively at SmartPak. Padded fancy stitch bridle with excellent detail at an ...
    Plymouth bridles are crafted in imported leather with ...
    Description:
    Plymouth bridles are crafted in imported leather with fine details and stainless steel hardware at an unbeatable value. Traditional styling and unprecedented quality in this price range. Available exclusively at SmartPak.Favorite Features Beautifully crafted with a raised andSoft padded 1"flash ...
    Harwich Bridles are crafted in durable imported leather ...
    Description:
    Harwich Bridles are crafted in durable imported leather that's vegetable tanned. With an innovative padded crown design that allows the caveson strap to pass over the crown to alleviate pressure on the sensitive poll area. Superb craftsmanship is reflected in ...
    A perfect schooling bridle crafted to stand up ...
    Description:
    A perfect schooling bridle crafted to stand up to the rigors of daily use! Plymouth bridles are crafted in imported leather with fine details and stainless steel hardware at an unbeatable value. With traditional styling and unprecedented quality in this ...
    out of 5
    91% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Plymouth Elite Dressage Bridle by SmartPak is rated 4.4274 out of 5 by 117.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Bridle for the price! This is my first purchase of dressage tack for my horse and I was not disappointed at all by what I got. Arrived an entire day early and was supple right out of the box. Only had it for about a week but its held up fantastically so far. My advice is to NOT oil it when you first take it out of the box, maybe wipe it down if its a little dusty but I just put it right onto my horse and actually showed two days after I got it and it was perfect!My one flaw that cost the final star was the reins. They're good quality for the pricing but the nylon webbing design gave me a huge cut/blister on my ring finger on my left hand after an intense lesson. I admittedly did not wear gloves but with my old bridle that was just plain leather I was safe to go glove-less so this was a little irritating. Threw on a blister pad and some gloves and it was fine but still not amazing.Overall, great bridle, fashionable and function but I would be aware of the nylon reins.
    Date published: 2016-03-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fit and great leather!!! I have bought several of these bridles and have loved every one. The leather is supple and lasts and the fit is true. Will buy again!
    Date published: 2016-03-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Such a nice bridle! I received this bridle about a week ago and I am so impressed! I love how supple the leather is right out of the box, but the best thing has to be the reins. They are so pretty but also feel really nice.The padded, one-piece crown is pretty hard to find in this price range...believe me, I looked everywhere!Excellent bridle with an excellent price. Oh, and my horse looks very handsome in it!
    Date published: 2016-01-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Can't beat the price for a mono crown! Nice for the price and adjustable on both sides. Love the mono crown.Reins were a bit stiff but soften with oil and use pretty quick. Padded crown and nose band are nice. The shaped crown for the ears is nice even if the padding is not shaped with it.The leather is about the quality of the Elite, not the toughest bridle leather but good.Can't beat even regular price for a mono crown though.
    Date published: 2015-12-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Nice The cob size fits my 16 hand 24 yo TB mare best. It is set on the middle holes, so it has room to be adjusted if it stretches. The bridle is beautiful, soft out of the bag and a great price, just as all of the other reviewers have said. I can't say enough nice things about the quality. It really is a great bridle. Very, very happy with the purchase.
    Date published: 2015-11-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Quality comparable to much higher priced brands Purchased as a schooling bridle but quality comparable to my competition and show bridles. I added a touch of pizazz with the silver clincher brow band sold separately.
    Date published: 2015-11-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Much nicer than expected. Leather was surprisingly soft out of the box, lovely padding on the crown and noseband. Cob size fit my fine-headed Morgan mare without having to resort to using the very last holes. Reins not my favorite, but very acceptable for this price point and easy enough to swap out.
    Date published: 2015-11-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Way underpriced! I've owned this bridle for about two years now, and have been using it roughly 4-3 times a week. Now that this bridle has had quite a bit of use and "dirt" on it, it is beautifully broken in. Does not require constant oiling like the origional Plymouth did. I use. I only use Fiebing's soap and it has turned this bridle into butter. The holes have stretched over time, but I still have room to spare all over. The padded crown is very soft and not tight or bulky behind my horses ears. The buckles are sharp without being overly obnoxious, the reins are OK, not my favorite but definitely not the worst pair I've ridden with. It is very hard to tell the difference between this bridle and other expensive brands that are floating around our barn. Beyond pleased with this purchase.
    Date published: 2015-10-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great bridle for the price! I recently purchased this bridle. I had been drooling over the Passier bridles, but just couldn't afford one at this time. I ordered this bridle, and it arrived in less than a week with standard shipping. Right out of the box it felt buttery, soft, and supple. My horse is a Percheron/QH cross with a HUGE head. I purchased the O/S flash noseband version. This bridle fit him with room to spare everywhere except the noseband (I think it's on the second to last hole). I LOVE the padded monocrown feature. This bridle is great for schooling, and would look very fancy by simply switching the browband. My trainer also loved the reins included with the bridle. They are leather on the outside and rubber-lined on the inside, The reins are grippy without feeling bulky in your hand. I live in Ocala with an abundance of tack shops and I couldn't find anything comparitive to this bridle at this price point. Very happy with this purchase!
    Date published: 2015-10-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Soft leather I was very surprised at the quality and softness of the bridle. The mono crown is nice and padded. I ordered the cob size for my 14h welsh QH cross. He has a wide head and the noseband was on the last whole and the browband was snug. It looked pretty nice on him but I hope it stretches a little.
    Date published: 2015-09-08
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Plymouth Elite Dressage Bridle Not the quality I had hoped for. No where in the description of the bridle does it say "imported" product.
    Date published: 2015-09-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fabulous quality! Excellent fit! I plan to purchase one for my personal horse whose name is Pony Pants!
    Date published: 2015-08-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good fit I bought this bridle for my hard to fit Quarter Horse Mare. After consulting with one of Smartpaks excellent consultants we decided on the horse size. It fit! I might punch two holes to lift the bit more but otherwise I love it.
    Date published: 2015-08-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Soft and comfortable! Right out of the bag I appreciated the quality for the price. Nice soft padding and the fit was near perfect. I have a 16 hand TB with an average head and bought the full size. In my opinion it runs a tad big. What I love the most is how comfortable Captain seems to be. First bridle he has worn that he didn't fidget. Purchased the crank style and it came with rubber woven reins. Was skeptical at first but I really like them. Nice and thick, easy to keep your place.
    Date published: 2015-06-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Reins Are Great! I purchased this for my OTTB because I wanted a reasonably priced training bridle and the reviews on this one were good. The bridle is nice for the price (I paid 125.00). I would not say outstanding but nice. It is superior to the Crown set due to the reins. The leather and padding from the Crown Dressage was really quite nice. I would have kept that headstall in honesty, due to the softer leather and additional padding but the included reins were junk! The Plymouth reins are great! They have the leather/rubber backed reins that are nice quality! There is no need to purchase a new pair. For that reason, there was no question which one I kept. I conditioned the leather on the headstall a couple times to soften it a bit. The fit was good for my guy as well.
    Date published: 2015-06-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great quality and fit for the price! I tried 3 bridles sold by a competitor and had to return them all. I read the great reviews on this bridle, and due to the generous return policy, I decided to try this one. It fit my 16-1 thoroughbred perfectly and is quite supple right out of the box. One of the mail reasons I purchased this bridle was because it has bit buckles instead of hooks which is hard to find on a bridle at this price. I highly recommend trying this for your horse.
    Date published: 2015-06-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great bridle! Thank you, SmartPak! Thia was my first horse and I was looking for an reasonably priced but good bridle....this was perfect! I tried others first and they didn't fit but this one adjusted for a good fit. The features I wanted are all there and the leather lined reins are the best! I tried other reins but not right for dressage. Wish it had a plain nose band as my trainer and I don't like flashes.
    Date published: 2015-06-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful Bridle! My mare and I really love this bridle! My TWH mare has rather large ears and a long thin face. Several other bridles I tried did not fit her very well. The cutback area behind the ears and adjustability of fit are outstanding features of this bridle. The leather is of excellent quality and was quite supple right out of the box. I was also impressed with the padding - it is nicely padded but not so thick as to be too bulky. The only thing I wish is that this bridle was available with a plain noseband.
    Date published: 2015-05-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great buy Bought this a few weeks ago and I love it. Fits great on my OTTB and he loves it too. Nice and soft with great padding. He gets complements on his bridal all the time.
    Date published: 2015-05-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from well worth the price the leather was a little stiff when it arrived but honestly it was quite nice. The buckles looked nice and the monocrown+ crank option was nice, even though im not intending on cranking it too tight. I wish the crank came with the other reins but for 124, it looked great, leather was good, and had good features. It fit well on a tb mare, but the throat latch was a little long. what sold me was the costumer sevice of smartpak, ordering is simple and easy vs other online tack stores
    Date published: 2015-05-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really nice This is a really nice inexpensive bridle. I use it for schooling, but it is pretty enough for showing.It fits my mare well and seems comfortable for her. I did add a blingy browband to jazz it up.
    Date published: 2015-03-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful bridle, especially for the price! Not sure why others are complaining of the quality or suppleness -- out of the box, my bridle was soft, easy to adjust and looked about three times more expensive than its cost would indicate. I've never tried the rubber/leather rein combo before, but I've found it easy to ride with and prettier than a pure a rubber/notched rein. My horse was literally preening his new gear. :)
    Date published: 2015-03-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great deal on Monocrown Bridle
    Date published: 2015-03-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice leather and padding I really liked this bridle especially for the price because it had a monocrown and buckle cheekpieces and there was nice padding on the crown and noseband and the leather was relatively soft. Unfortunately, I couldn't find a size that would fit either of my horses. Granted because they are fjords they can be difficult to fit but the horse size cavesson was too small and the oversize cavesson was just a tiny bit too long when adjusted on the shortest hole. It seemed like there was a big difference in sizing in the circumference of the horse size and oversize nosebands. I think the oversize sizing was more standard, but the horse size seemed to run small because one of my horses can usually fit in any horse size bridle. I could make the oversize crownpiece work by changing the cheekpieces to a full or cob size but couldn't work with the cavesson length. So I am really disappointed to have to return it. If your horse has a more refined head or is an oversize, it would likely work for you.
    Date published: 2015-03-17
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Quality not as great as expected based on reviews Based on the other reviews I read, I expected very good quality for the price. Quality was just ok. Some of the leather was wrinkled (near the buckles) straight out of the box, and some of the keepers refuse to stay in place and slide down during rides, which is a pet peeve of mine. One of the keepers on the crank noseband falls completely off every time I unbuckle it - seems like there should be some way to make sure this keeper stayed on the bridle. I would have preferred to choose the type of reins. The rubber reins that came with the crank noseband were nice enough, although I would rather have the leather reins that come with the flash noseband. Also, because of the construction of the padded crown, you cannot replace the noseband if required in the future. The padding on the crown and noseband is nice and soft. The horse size fit my 15.1h Appaloosa well.
    Date published: 2015-03-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It took two, but I would definitely do it again! I love this bridle. I have been using it for about 6 months now, and it still looks new, is super comfy for my horse, and is overall a great purchase. My horse is a warmblood, but with a narrow head, and it was hard to find a bridle that fit him well. And I really wanted a crank noseband. I had spent a huge amount of time trying out different bridles, experimenting with various bridle parts, etc. but wasn't really happy with my options or the way things fit. Then I tried this bridle. The warmblood size fit him well over the top of his head, but the noseband was HUGE on him. The horse size noseband was perfect, but the rest of the bridle was no where close to fitting. So I ended up buying two bridles and piecing one together that fit. Even paying twice the price of this particular bridle to get one that fit, I would do it again. Happy horse, happy rider, lots of compliments!
    Date published: 2015-03-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Extraordinary value! I purchased this bridle to replace the one that was stolen. It was in my price range, but I did not expect the soft, gorgeous, quality leather and beautiful craftsmanship in this bridle. It rivals the bridle I purchased at more than double the price. Outstanding value and terrific fit.
    Date published: 2015-02-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Value & Durability I purchased this bridle in 2013 and with heavy use over the past 2 years, it still looks brand new! It showed up soft and supple. Its well padded and with the moncrown at this price point its an excellent value! Leather quality is great and both my horses work in this with comfort and ease.
    Date published: 2015-02-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super nice!!!! I got this a month ago and am very happy with it, I love all the padding on it and so does my horse. I got the XL size as he is a 4yr old Friesian and there will be plenty of room for him to grow into it and we can use it now. It is a wonderful Bridle, I would recommend it! Very good quality!!
    Date published: 2015-02-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful bridle!! This is my second one.I liked it so much that I decided to use the first one for schooling and the new one for showing.
    Date published: 2015-01-07
    • 2016-05-24T16:20CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.2.1
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_3, tr_114
    • loc_en_US, sid_9857, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders