Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Plymouth Elite Dressage Bridle by SmartPak

SmartPak
- Item #19857
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Following the success of the Plymouth line, SmartPak is proud to introduce the Plymouth Elite. The Plymouth Elite takes all of the wonderful features of the Plymouth line and adds additional enhancements such as a true padded monocrown, buckle closures, 1" wide noseband. Offered with plain noseband and flash or crank noseband with no flash.

Complete with 5/8" rubber lined leather reins (flash) or rubber reins (crank). Available exclusively at SmartPak.

You Might Like
    out of 5
    89% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Plymouth Elite Dressage Bridle by SmartPak is rated 4.383 out of 5 by 94.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Extraordinary value! I purchased this bridle to replace the one that was stolen. It was in my price range, but I did not expect the soft, gorgeous, quality leather and beautiful craftsmanship in this bridle. It rivals the bridle I purchased at more than double the price. Outstanding value and terrific fit.
    Date published: 2015-02-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Value & Durability I purchased this bridle in 2013 and with heavy use over the past 2 years, it still looks brand new! It showed up soft and supple. Its well padded and with the moncrown at this price point its an excellent value! Leather quality is great and both my horses work in this with comfort and ease.
    Date published: 2015-02-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super nice!!!! I got this a month ago and am very happy with it, I love all the padding on it and so does my horse. I got the XL size as he is a 4yr old Friesian and there will be plenty of room for him to grow into it and we can use it now. It is a wonderful Bridle, I would recommend it! Very good quality!!
    Date published: 2015-02-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful bridle!! This is my second one.I liked it so much that I decided to use the first one for schooling and the new one for showing.
    Date published: 2015-01-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beautiful Bridle but Cavesson not Plain I so wanted this bridle to be what I wanted. Unfortunately it was not a true plain cavesson. It did have a flash attachment. It didn't look like the picture. H, ated to send it back because the leather is so soft. As always SmartPak took it right back. Love SmartPak with the free shipping and return policy.
    Date published: 2014-12-31
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Tiny bridle and doesn't fit in keepers well I bought a cob size in this bridle- I have bought the Harwich Smartpak bridle in the past and it fits my Morgan's heads fine (always need larger browband.) My smallest Morgan, a 14.1 hand little guy, hated the Harwich I bought for him so I got the Plymouth. It is REALLY small. More like a pony bridle. The noseband is so small I had to add a hole at the very tip to secure noseband. Unfortunately my guy hates this bridle as well and shakes his head constantly when wearing it.The leather is Indian leather and it seems well made although it is too small to use on any of my cob sized Morgans.
    Date published: 2014-12-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beautiful bridle but cheap reigns This bridle is very nice out of the box. Very soft and supple. I love the soft padding too. It looks great on my 16.3" OTTB, but the reigns killed my hands. I had to ditch them and get a better pair. I also got the crank which is nice but on the first day already lost the keeper since it was so loose and not sewn down. Other than those two things I recommend this bridle!
    Date published: 2014-12-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It Fits! My Arab/Quarter horse is somewhere between Horse and Cob. I bought a Cob and it was too small but, the Horse size fits him perfectly with room to adjust up or down. The leather is extremely supple for being brand new. He seems to love the fit!
    Date published: 2014-12-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent product Very nice leather. Love all the padding, including the flash.So happy with this product I am considering getting another.
    Date published: 2014-11-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great quality for the price This bridle is a pleasant surprise; nice quality leather, padding and stitching. The bridle is true to size, and the hardware and keepers are all well made. The only thing I may change are are the rubber reins; I do prefer leather reins.
    Date published: 2014-11-06
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from quality was less than desireable for me I needed an oversize bridle but didn't want to spend a lot of money. I tried this, but the quality of the leather was on the "cardboard" side. I didn't even want to use it to school in. I ended up buying an oversize browband and putting it on an older bridle with nice leather.
    Date published: 2014-10-29
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from OK for the price I bought this bridle in August and the reins are fraying, with bits of material hanging down from them. Also, one keeper is too large and won't "keep." Poor keepers are the leading mark of a cheap bridle. The leather is fine for this price range and it's an attractive bridle.
    Date published: 2014-10-24
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice but proportions not right for my horse This is s nice quality bridle, especially for the price. I ordered cob size for my 14.2 connemara cross who has a long nose but is pretty narrow. The crown, cheek pieces and nose band length were all fine but the throat latch was too long and could not be adjusted small enough, and the noseband was too short to even buckle. Sorry to have to return it as it looks and feels nice
    Date published: 2014-08-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from to big The noseband is way to big and its very thick just doesn't fit my OTTB that well but i still use it because its a very nice bridle for schooling i use it every time i ride!
    Date published: 2014-07-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really gorgeous! :) This bridle is AWESOME! It shipped out to me super fast (Smart pak you guys ship fast! THANK YOU!) :) The leather looks great. I assembled it and put it on my grade horse gelding. He seemed happy in it. It's great that the crown in padded so the horse can be comfortable. I cannot wait to ride in this bridle once I get my horse used to wearing it and used to having a saddle on. The leather it shiny and in great condition. It wrinkled a little at the leather bit connectors but I don't think that's much of a problem. :) FANTASTIC BRIDLE!
    Date published: 2014-07-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Bridle I bought this bridle to replace my ancient bridle from the early 90's which had started to crumble. What a nice bridle. My mare LOVES it and there are no issues putting it on (she is a little ear shy). Several people have commented that it looks great on her. Very happy with the quality for the price. Looks and feels like a very expensive bridle.
    Date published: 2014-06-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Bridle! I bought this bridle about 2 months ago in full size for my 16hh ottb mare. I am in love with it! The padding is spectacular and I love the cut back ear space. The leather came out of the box soft and ready to use. It is very elegant and I am happy to use it for schooling and showing. It fits great, it looks great and it was definitely worth what I payed for it. I will definitely buy another if I have to and I would highly recommend this bridle.
    Date published: 2014-06-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from nice work bridle I purchased this bridle about a month ago and just put it together. I like the quality of leather. It will be a good bridle for schooling and schooling shows.
    Date published: 2014-05-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great bridle Great bridle especially for the cost!!! Only complaint is that I wish the nose band and flash buckles had rollers.
    Date published: 2014-04-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great bridle at an excellent price! Great quality at an excellent price! This product was supple right out of the box and has the looks and features of more expensive brands. The monocrown design is super padded as well as the browband. The noseband is super padded on the front and back which is great for comfort.
    Date published: 2014-04-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great value Purchased this bridle for one of our clients. We have a few of these bridles in our tack room. Like this peticular bridle because you get the one sided rubber lined reins. All of our ladies like these reins. No more lipping thru the fingers or having the stops either too short or tooLong for where you want to hold the reins. The leather is soft and ready to use. Add a little oil and bridle is perfect. FYI, cob is a true cob size. Browband is a bit snug for small horse head. Other than that love it
    Date published: 2014-04-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It Makes Any Horse Look Like a Champion! I decided to purchase this bridle after reading so many good reviews about it and I'm so glad I did!! Like everyone says, the leather is buttery soft and just flops over in your hands like bridles that are several times as pricey. It's so easy to slide all the parts together and has that lovely new leather fragrance! Along with the new Sprenger bit it's going to look fabulous on Kaspar, my Friesian stallion! I can't wait!
    Date published: 2014-04-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Soft and ready to use I am quite please with the quality and softness of this bridle. Well worth the money. Hopefully it will prove to last a long time. (as long as the big boy doesn't get his mouth on it. Leather is so tasty!)
    Date published: 2014-04-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful, expensive look This bridle was purchased for my new gelding. The fit was perfect. I'd even say it runs a bit large, as my guy's head is anything but small and we didn't have to let out any of the buckles on the Full.It's a tie for best feature between the mono-crown piece (so thick and comfy, loved the contours) and the modern buckles. I love not having those pesky eye and hooks to heal with when I need to clean. The reins are brilliant, too!I have used this for a month, with virtually no break in time. Just today, I gave it a clean and shine. It looks and feels great. Highly recommended! Cant beat the price.
    Date published: 2014-04-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Butter soft right out of the package What a great value. I do not ride my dressage horses with a flash so finding a black bridle without a flash was tough. I simply leave the crank looser like a cavesson. The throat latch could be a little wider and it would be a perfect bridle.
    Date published: 2014-04-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Soft Leather I was very surprised at the quality of this bridle. I had it recommended on the Chronicle of the Horse forums, but still was surprised to find that it is MUCH nicer than a nearly identical name-brand one I bought a year ago for double the price. The leather is beautiful. Love the rubber-lined reins. I actually bought another pair of those to go with the older, not as nice, bridle.
    Date published: 2014-03-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Product looks good and price was very reasonable. I'm very happy with the product. It fits well and looks great.
    Date published: 2014-03-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality of leather is fabulous/fit is large Lovely leather quality, just wonderful! Getting the right fit is tricky. My mare is 16h TB and I purchased the horse size....she is on the tightest hole on the bridle and the noseband, thank heavens that fits. The padded leather is so nice and after regular use and cleaning/oiling, the bridle continues to hold up well and is so nice.
    Date published: 2014-03-12
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not a bad bridle for the price I was going back and forth between this bridle and the Harwich. I have a new horse that none of my tack fit and I needed new jump and dressage saddles so I wanted a dressage bridle that looks nice without being 300$.. both were in my price range but I chose this because of the wider noseband and the reins seemed different (I have so many pairs of webbed reins I didn't need another). The leather is a really good quality but I oiled it lightly because the noseband was extremely stiff and kind of dull looking. My horse is a big thoroughbred and his head was too big for my cob sized dressage bridle and he fits nicely in a full size figure 8 bridle, but this bridle in a full size is quite big on him. The noseband and flash fit nicely around but lengthwise everything is on the very tightest hole and the buckles all lay on eachother near the edge of the browband making it very bulky and uncomfortable looking. I like the bridle and will keep it but I will definitely have to buy some cob sized cheek pieces to make it less bulky and hopefully fit better.... the full size is definitely for horses with BIG heads not average horse size
    Date published: 2014-02-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful quality A wonderful bridle that is well constructed and of very high quality, especially for the price. Supple right out of the box, and I love the rubber grip reins.
    Date published: 2014-02-10
    • 2015-05-28T10:09CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.3
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_3, tr_91
    • loc_en_US, sid_9857, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Recipe: Homemade Carrot and Oat Treats
    It has been such a cold and snowy winter here in Massachusetts for the past few months. I look for any excuse to fire up my oven. Prior to visiting my horse Bug last weekend I decided to make her

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.