Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Plymouth Elite Dressage Bridle by SmartPak

SmartPak
- Item #19857
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Following the success of the Plymouth line, SmartPak is proud to introduce the Plymouth Elite. The Plymouth Elite takes all of the wonderful features of the Plymouth line and adds additional enhancements such as a true padded monocrown, buckle closures, 1" wide noseband. Offered with plain noseband and flash or crank noseband with no flash.

Complete with 5/8" rubber lined leather reins (flash) or rubber reins (crank). Available exclusively at SmartPak.

You Might Like
    out of 5
    90% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Plymouth Elite Dressage Bridle by SmartPak is rated 4.4158 out of 5 by 101.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great bridle! Thank you, SmartPak! Thia was my first horse and I was looking for an reasonably priced but good bridle....this was perfect! I tried others first and they didn't fit but this one adjusted for a good fit. The features I wanted are all there and the leather lined reins are the best! I tried other reins but not right for dressage. Wish it had a plain nose band as my trainer and I don't like flashes.
    Date published: 2015-06-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful Bridle! My mare and I really love this bridle! My TWH mare has rather large ears and a long thin face. Several other bridles I tried did not fit her very well. The cutback area behind the ears and adjustability of fit are outstanding features of this bridle. The leather is of excellent quality and was quite supple right out of the box. I was also impressed with the padding - it is nicely padded but not so thick as to be too bulky. The only thing I wish is that this bridle was available with a plain noseband.
    Date published: 2015-05-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great buy Bought this a few weeks ago and I love it. Fits great on my OTTB and he loves it too. Nice and soft with great padding. He gets complements on his bridal all the time.
    Date published: 2015-05-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from well worth the price the leather was a little stiff when it arrived but honestly it was quite nice. The buckles looked nice and the monocrown+ crank option was nice, even though im not intending on cranking it too tight. I wish the crank came with the other reins but for 124, it looked great, leather was good, and had good features. It fit well on a tb mare, but the throat latch was a little long. what sold me was the costumer sevice of smartpak, ordering is simple and easy vs other online tack stores
    Date published: 2015-05-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really nice This is a really nice inexpensive bridle. I use it for schooling, but it is pretty enough for showing.It fits my mare well and seems comfortable for her. I did add a blingy browband to jazz it up.
    Date published: 2015-03-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful bridle, especially for the price! Not sure why others are complaining of the quality or suppleness -- out of the box, my bridle was soft, easy to adjust and looked about three times more expensive than its cost would indicate. I've never tried the rubber/leather rein combo before, but I've found it easy to ride with and prettier than a pure a rubber/notched rein. My horse was literally preening his new gear. :)
    Date published: 2015-03-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great deal on Monocrown Bridle
    Date published: 2015-03-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice leather and padding I really liked this bridle especially for the price because it had a monocrown and buckle cheekpieces and there was nice padding on the crown and noseband and the leather was relatively soft. Unfortunately, I couldn't find a size that would fit either of my horses. Granted because they are fjords they can be difficult to fit but the horse size cavesson was too small and the oversize cavesson was just a tiny bit too long when adjusted on the shortest hole. It seemed like there was a big difference in sizing in the circumference of the horse size and oversize nosebands. I think the oversize sizing was more standard, but the horse size seemed to run small because one of my horses can usually fit in any horse size bridle. I could make the oversize crownpiece work by changing the cheekpieces to a full or cob size but couldn't work with the cavesson length. So I am really disappointed to have to return it. If your horse has a more refined head or is an oversize, it would likely work for you.
    Date published: 2015-03-17
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Quality not as great as expected based on reviews Based on the other reviews I read, I expected very good quality for the price. Quality was just ok. Some of the leather was wrinkled (near the buckles) straight out of the box, and some of the keepers refuse to stay in place and slide down during rides, which is a pet peeve of mine. One of the keepers on the crank noseband falls completely off every time I unbuckle it - seems like there should be some way to make sure this keeper stayed on the bridle. I would have preferred to choose the type of reins. The rubber reins that came with the crank noseband were nice enough, although I would rather have the leather reins that come with the flash noseband. Also, because of the construction of the padded crown, you cannot replace the noseband if required in the future. The padding on the crown and noseband is nice and soft. The horse size fit my 15.1h Appaloosa well.
    Date published: 2015-03-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It took two, but I would definitely do it again! I love this bridle. I have been using it for about 6 months now, and it still looks new, is super comfy for my horse, and is overall a great purchase. My horse is a warmblood, but with a narrow head, and it was hard to find a bridle that fit him well. And I really wanted a crank noseband. I had spent a huge amount of time trying out different bridles, experimenting with various bridle parts, etc. but wasn't really happy with my options or the way things fit. Then I tried this bridle. The warmblood size fit him well over the top of his head, but the noseband was HUGE on him. The horse size noseband was perfect, but the rest of the bridle was no where close to fitting. So I ended up buying two bridles and piecing one together that fit. Even paying twice the price of this particular bridle to get one that fit, I would do it again. Happy horse, happy rider, lots of compliments!
    Date published: 2015-03-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Extraordinary value! I purchased this bridle to replace the one that was stolen. It was in my price range, but I did not expect the soft, gorgeous, quality leather and beautiful craftsmanship in this bridle. It rivals the bridle I purchased at more than double the price. Outstanding value and terrific fit.
    Date published: 2015-02-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Value & Durability I purchased this bridle in 2013 and with heavy use over the past 2 years, it still looks brand new! It showed up soft and supple. Its well padded and with the moncrown at this price point its an excellent value! Leather quality is great and both my horses work in this with comfort and ease.
    Date published: 2015-02-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super nice!!!! I got this a month ago and am very happy with it, I love all the padding on it and so does my horse. I got the XL size as he is a 4yr old Friesian and there will be plenty of room for him to grow into it and we can use it now. It is a wonderful Bridle, I would recommend it! Very good quality!!
    Date published: 2015-02-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful bridle!! This is my second one.I liked it so much that I decided to use the first one for schooling and the new one for showing.
    Date published: 2015-01-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beautiful Bridle but Cavesson not Plain I so wanted this bridle to be what I wanted. Unfortunately it was not a true plain cavesson. It did have a flash attachment. It didn't look like the picture. H, ated to send it back because the leather is so soft. As always SmartPak took it right back. Love SmartPak with the free shipping and return policy.
    Date published: 2014-12-31
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Tiny bridle and doesn't fit in keepers well I bought a cob size in this bridle- I have bought the Harwich Smartpak bridle in the past and it fits my Morgan's heads fine (always need larger browband.) My smallest Morgan, a 14.1 hand little guy, hated the Harwich I bought for him so I got the Plymouth. It is REALLY small. More like a pony bridle. The noseband is so small I had to add a hole at the very tip to secure noseband. Unfortunately my guy hates this bridle as well and shakes his head constantly when wearing it.The leather is Indian leather and it seems well made although it is too small to use on any of my cob sized Morgans.
    Date published: 2014-12-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beautiful bridle but cheap reigns This bridle is very nice out of the box. Very soft and supple. I love the soft padding too. It looks great on my 16.3" OTTB, but the reigns killed my hands. I had to ditch them and get a better pair. I also got the crank which is nice but on the first day already lost the keeper since it was so loose and not sewn down. Other than those two things I recommend this bridle!
    Date published: 2014-12-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It Fits! My Arab/Quarter horse is somewhere between Horse and Cob. I bought a Cob and it was too small but, the Horse size fits him perfectly with room to adjust up or down. The leather is extremely supple for being brand new. He seems to love the fit!
    Date published: 2014-12-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent product Very nice leather. Love all the padding, including the flash.So happy with this product I am considering getting another.
    Date published: 2014-11-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great quality for the price This bridle is a pleasant surprise; nice quality leather, padding and stitching. The bridle is true to size, and the hardware and keepers are all well made. The only thing I may change are are the rubber reins; I do prefer leather reins.
    Date published: 2014-11-06
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from quality was less than desireable for me I needed an oversize bridle but didn't want to spend a lot of money. I tried this, but the quality of the leather was on the "cardboard" side. I didn't even want to use it to school in. I ended up buying an oversize browband and putting it on an older bridle with nice leather.
    Date published: 2014-10-29
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from OK for the price I bought this bridle in August and the reins are fraying, with bits of material hanging down from them. Also, one keeper is too large and won't "keep." Poor keepers are the leading mark of a cheap bridle. The leather is fine for this price range and it's an attractive bridle.
    Date published: 2014-10-24
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice but proportions not right for my horse This is s nice quality bridle, especially for the price. I ordered cob size for my 14.2 connemara cross who has a long nose but is pretty narrow. The crown, cheek pieces and nose band length were all fine but the throat latch was too long and could not be adjusted small enough, and the noseband was too short to even buckle. Sorry to have to return it as it looks and feels nice
    Date published: 2014-08-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from to big The noseband is way to big and its very thick just doesn't fit my OTTB that well but i still use it because its a very nice bridle for schooling i use it every time i ride!
    Date published: 2014-07-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really gorgeous! :) This bridle is AWESOME! It shipped out to me super fast (Smart pak you guys ship fast! THANK YOU!) :) The leather looks great. I assembled it and put it on my grade horse gelding. He seemed happy in it. It's great that the crown in padded so the horse can be comfortable. I cannot wait to ride in this bridle once I get my horse used to wearing it and used to having a saddle on. The leather it shiny and in great condition. It wrinkled a little at the leather bit connectors but I don't think that's much of a problem. :) FANTASTIC BRIDLE!
    Date published: 2014-07-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Bridle I bought this bridle to replace my ancient bridle from the early 90's which had started to crumble. What a nice bridle. My mare LOVES it and there are no issues putting it on (she is a little ear shy). Several people have commented that it looks great on her. Very happy with the quality for the price. Looks and feels like a very expensive bridle.
    Date published: 2014-06-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Bridle! I bought this bridle about 2 months ago in full size for my 16hh ottb mare. I am in love with it! The padding is spectacular and I love the cut back ear space. The leather came out of the box soft and ready to use. It is very elegant and I am happy to use it for schooling and showing. It fits great, it looks great and it was definitely worth what I payed for it. I will definitely buy another if I have to and I would highly recommend this bridle.
    Date published: 2014-06-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from nice work bridle I purchased this bridle about a month ago and just put it together. I like the quality of leather. It will be a good bridle for schooling and schooling shows.
    Date published: 2014-05-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great bridle Great bridle especially for the cost!!! Only complaint is that I wish the nose band and flash buckles had rollers.
    Date published: 2014-04-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great bridle at an excellent price! Great quality at an excellent price! This product was supple right out of the box and has the looks and features of more expensive brands. The monocrown design is super padded as well as the browband. The noseband is super padded on the front and back which is great for comfort.
    Date published: 2014-04-29
    • 2015-08-30T14:22CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_3, tr_98
    • loc_en_US, sid_9857, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Horse of the Month: Dax
    Horse of the Month: Doc’s Mostly Yella aka Dax Breed: Quarter Horses Age: 8 years old PATH Intl. Member Center: Miracles in Motion Location: Keene, NH Dax is an 8 year old palomino quarter horse. He is about 16hh and

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright 2015 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.