Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Plymouth Dressage Bridle by SmartPak

SmartPak
- Item #17211
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).


Plymouth bridles are crafted in imported leather with fine details and stainless steel hardware at an unbeatable value. Traditional styling and unprecedented quality in this price range. Available exclusively at SmartPak. Beautifully crafted with a raised and soft padded 1" flash noseband and 3/4" browband.  A perfect schooling bridle designed for daily use. Updated hook stud closures on 5/8” cheeks. Complete with 5/8" web reins with leather stops.
Size: Pony, Cob, Full, O/S
Color: Black with black padding

You Might Like
    out of 5
    97% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Plymouth Dressage Bridle by SmartPak is rated 4.6868 out of 5 by 182.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Impressed!! Wow! I was definitely skeptical about this bridle when I saw the price, but I decided to give it a shot. This bridle is worth EVERY penny and could definitely go in the show ring. The leather is high quality and soft straight out of the box! I highly recommend this bridle to anyone looking for a simple but quality bridle for an excellent price point. The only flaw I would say it has is the reins. I prefer a rubber rein over webbed, but I did use them and they're comfortable and nice! Overall an excellent bridle! Well done Smartpak!
    Date published: 2015-04-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bargain for the Price!!! The Plymouth Dressage Bridle by SmartPak is one of my favorite schooling bridles. I've dealt with many brands, but so far this bridle stands its ground against more expensive dressage bridles in the market. The leather is of high quality and could easily be used as a show bridle with the right care. I've purchased 3 so far, one for each of my dressage horses and the fit is great. Horse size fits my large warmbloods and will adjust to smaller horses well (who would possibly have to use cob size). Oversize does run a bit too big, especially the nose band, would only recommend for draft breeds.
    Date published: 2015-03-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Bridle for a Spectacular Price This bridle was a great price for such high quality. It was supple and had great leather right out of the box. I bought the full for my big QH and it fits him very nicely. It goes perfectly with my dressage saddle and its just a great bridle. Thank you to Smartpak for exceptional customer service. I ordered this bridle when the sale was and it was here within 3 days, it was 2 days early. I love this bridle as much as I love Smartpak.
    Date published: 2015-03-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good quality for the price I bought this as a training bridle to replace one that got chewed up, and I really like it! It does come out of the box a bit stiff, but a few good sessions of oiling and rolling it around gets it supple enough pretty quickly. Overall the leather quality is much better than I was expecting for the price. It's not a super floppy soft hunter-style bridle, but the thick leather seems like it will hold up well. As for sizing, my TB has a delicate head and usually needs a cob size, but this bridle fit him well in the horse size. The noseband does seem to run small, which wasn't a problem for me but might be an issue if your horse has a large head.
    Date published: 2015-03-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice leather especially for the price! I was looking for a training bridle so I did not want to spend a lot of money. The feel of this leather was very nice and the fit was perfect. I will not feel worried to use this as a training bridle due to the cost, but really this could go to a show and be proud.
    Date published: 2015-03-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome, love it! Love this bridle so far (only used it a handful of times) It's so soft and looks great! I got the horse sized for my Dutch Warmblood mare and it fits great, though I did still have to get an oversized brow band, apparently she has a wide head!
    Date published: 2015-03-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great look at a great price! I am very pleased with the quality and the look of this bridle.
    Date published: 2015-02-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really great quality for the price! I needed an inexpensive starter dressage bridle and I'm so happy I found this one! The leather arrived supple and it is MUCH better looking than I would expect for such a low price. I had not used web reins before and was not sure that I'd like them, but I've used this twice now and find the reins to be comfortable. It looks great on my horse and I found it to be true to size.
    Date published: 2015-01-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for the price! I bought this in O/S for my belgian/haflinger pony I just adopted. His head is GIGANTIC and I was afraid full wouldn't fit him even on the last holes. The O/S needed to be put up to the last holes, but there was plenty of room to punch a few more and it fit perfectly. This bridle is lovely for the money spent, and nobody would know it was on the more affordable side of the spectrum. AND I ordered it on a wednesday, it was due to arrive monday, but magically arrived friday!I'm giving it a "good" for quality since I"m not sure how it will hold up to wear and tear yet, but so far I think we're on the right track. :)
    Date published: 2015-01-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Plymouth Dressage Bridle This bridle was very easy for me to assemble and my horse seems very happy with my choice. I am a new horse owner and caretaker so every purchase is an adventure for me. SmartPak is making it easier with their great support staff.
    Date published: 2015-01-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Quality for a Great price I wasn't sure what to expect given the lower-end price of the bridle but I am not disappointed at all! The quality is really fantastic. I don't show in dressage so maybe it's not as fancy as others but it is way more quality than I even hoped for in a bridle of this price.
    Date published: 2014-12-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from nice bridle for the price This seems like a decent bridle for the price. Leather is better than I expected, and the straps feel pretty solid for the price. I ordered the full and it fits my Thoroughbred's petite head with the cavesson buckled up on the last hole. I was worried it might look too bulky on him, but it doesn't at all.
    Date published: 2014-11-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great bridle but runs large! The leather quality for this bridle is quite lovely and I loved the wide noseband and padding. I am not picky with reins and found no problems with them at all. I did get a separate browband for the bridle.My girl is a Quarter Horse and her head is average, the noseband and flash fit perfectly but the cheek pieces and the throat latch fit her on the second to top hole. It's no big deal but if your horse is smaller than normal or is in between sizes, either order down or consider another bridle. Overall, I love the bridle for myself and my horse.
    Date published: 2014-11-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from very nice This is my second Plymouth dressage bridle. Very nice. Great price. Good quality. O/S fits my large warmblood very well.
    Date published: 2014-11-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice quality Bridle I bought this for my WB filly for her inspection. Good quality.
    Date published: 2014-09-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really nice leather and quality bridle. Fit nicely on my horse and look great in the show ring!!
    Date published: 2014-09-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great bridle for the money Bought this for my daughter's pony and its a great looking bridle at a very reasonable price. Looks good and fits well.
    Date published: 2014-08-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great bridle for the price! Soft leather, fits my horse great. I am very, very pleased with this bridle for its price point. We needed a bridle with a flash noseband to help reschool a gelding who has been allowed to gap his mouth and evade the bit. This bridle fits him well, is very attractive and is nice enough to show in.
    Date published: 2014-08-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice low-budget bridle This is a nice bridle for the price. It was supple enough right from the beginning. There are a few slightly tacky/sticky spots (where pieces were joined together); but that has not gotten in the way of use, and I assume the stickyness will go away over time.
    Date published: 2014-07-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect for the Price Perfect fit. Perfect quality. I had no problems at all. My mare looks so adorable in it and finally looks like a proper eventer in her snazzy bridle. I get compliments on it all the time when I go to shows. I love this bridle and will buy another for my other horse very soon.
    Date published: 2014-07-06
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Nice for the Price I bought this bridle a couple of months ago and when I got it I oiled it right away but after I did it got a weird sticky goo on it and I cant get it off! the leather is separating on the noseband and I had to get a new browband completely. It is a nice leather though and I really like it for the price! Just be careful about oiling it!
    Date published: 2014-05-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent quality I bought this bridle last week for my pony and it was very impressed with the quality of the leather for this price point. Highly recommend!!
    Date published: 2014-05-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great bridle for the price! My Plymouth Dressage bridle arrived supple as if it didn't need to be oiled (I oiled it anyway). I got complements at the barn on how pretty it looked on my horse. Seems to be a great quality bridle for a good price!
    Date published: 2014-05-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Value This is a lovely bridle for the price! The sizing is a little smaller than I would have initially thought, but seems to be fitting my fine-boned Arabian mare just fine. It is hard to find a nice dressage bridle without a thick noseband...this one is nice because it's not rail thin or huge, just right in the middle. The leather is really nice and I placed a "fancy" browband on mine, which makes the bridle look more expensive than it really is. So far, I have been very happy with this product and I'm thinking about purchasing a second one for my other horse.
    Date published: 2014-05-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic bridle for the price. I bought this bridle just over a month ago and I am very impressed. For the price the quality of this bridle is outstanding. Obviously it is not the highest quality leather for the price tag but the leather is soft and accepts oil. I am currently using this bridle to school/show my young horse and you cannot beat this price for the quality you receive. My only dislike are the reins, the material grabs and retains dust and hair and is hard to clean, a plain leather rein would be more suitable.I also had my bridle customized and the laser engraving is accurate and classy. Great product that I will invest in again.
    Date published: 2014-03-22
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nice product, but sizing issues for draft cross I saw the great reviews of this bridle, loved the price, and wanted something for schooling, so I ordered the oversize (same as my others) for my draft cross. The leather was pretty soft right out of the box - I was impressed and hopeful. The nose band fit perfectly; however, the cheek pieces are too long. So I ordered a full size. This time the leather was stiff. The cheek pieces fit perfectly, but the two ends of the noseband just barely touch and don't have hope of buckling. I agree with other reviews on the nice leather and good quality for the price, but not if I have to put together parts from two. Sadly, they will both be going back.
    Date published: 2014-03-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice soft leather Love the leather but the throat latch tends to be very big.
    Date published: 2014-02-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gift bridle This was a gift so I only examined it when the package was opened. The leather was supple and all the stitching looked even. It looked like a very nice bridle.
    Date published: 2014-02-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A great value! Excellent choice for everyday training. Is a much better quality than similarly priced bridles plus you get to deal with the awesome folks at SmartPak!  
    Date published: 2014-01-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good value The leather on this bridle felt nice and soft right out of the box. It looks and feels much better than I anticipated and I would rate it better than more expensive bridles I ordered in the past!
    Date published: 2013-11-19
    • 2015-05-26T10:17CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.3
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_7, tr_175
    • loc_en_US, sid_7211, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Recipe: Homemade Carrot and Oat Treats
    It has been such a cold and snowy winter here in Massachusetts for the past few months. I look for any excuse to fire up my oven. Prior to visiting my horse Bug last weekend I decided to make her

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.