Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Review Snapshot

Plymouth Dressage Bridle by SmartPak

Plymouth by SmartPak
- Item #17211
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Plymouth bridles are crafted in imported leather with fine details and stainless steel hardware at an unbeatable value. Traditional styling and unprecedented quality in this price range. Available exclusively at SmartPak.

Favorite Features 

  • Beautifully crafted with a raised and soft padded 1" flash noseband and 3/4" browband
  • A perfect schooling bridle designed for daily use
  • Updated hook stud closures on 5/8” cheeks
  • Complete with 5/8" web reins with leather stops

Sizing It Up 

Size: Pony, Cob, Full, O/S

Color: Black with black padding

Customers Also Shopped For
Especially kind and comfortable! The Passier Special Caveson's ...
Description:
Especially kind and comfortable! The Passier Special Caveson's unique bit recesses is especially gentle on the horse's mouth. The 40mm noseband shape avoids any contact with the bit ring so that even the most sensitive of horses will not experience ...
The Rodrigo Fancy Stitched Wide Noseband Bridle is ...
Description:
The Rodrigo Fancy Stitched Wide Noseband Bridle is created from Rodrigo Pessoa's competition-proven designs and then meticulously crafter from hand-finished American leather. Rodrigo bridlework is created with attention to detail that distinguishes top horseshow equipment. Trendy fancy stitched 1.25" wide ...
Wellfleet Monocrown Hunter Bridle is a traditional and ...
Description:
Wellfleet Monocrown Hunter Bridle is a traditional and classic choice! Wellfleet Bridlework represents the combination of the finest vegetable tanned North American bridle leather available and expert craftsmanship. Designed to alleviate pressure on the sensitive poll area, the redesigned genuine ...
Wellfleet Bridlework represents the combination of the finest ...
Description:
Wellfleet Bridlework represents the combination of the finest vegetable tanned North American bridle leather available and expert craftsmanship. The Wellfleet Fancy Stitch Padded Halter by SmartPak is elegant and exquisitely detailed, featuring extra fine stitching and supple rich leather. Carefully ...
When only the best will do. Built for ...
Description:
When only the best will do. Built for the competitive rider, the Wellfleet Monocrown Figure 8 Bridle is suitable for the show ring and durable enough for everyday use. Wellfleet Bridlework represents the combination of the finest vegetable tanned North ...
Antarès Sellier has successfully risen to be among ...
Description:
Antarès Sellier has successfully risen to be among the best saddle makers in France. Antares Sellier France specializes in custom made saddles and fine equipment for horses, backed by decades of experience and improvements. Impeccably crafted, innovative bridle. UltraSoft and ...
Wellfleet Bridlework represents the combination of the finest ...
Description:
Wellfleet Bridlework represents the combination of the finest vegetable tanned North American bridle leather available and expert craftsmanship. Favorite Features Designed to evenly distribute pressure throughout the girth area Ensures the girth'sSoft padding stays flush against horse's barrel Wider mid-section ...
out of 5
96% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
    Experience:
  • Competitor:
Quality
Value
Palatability

Helpful?

Plymouth Dressage Bridle by SmartPak is rated 4.613043478260869 out of 5 by 230.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very good bridle I got this inexpensive bridle for my filly, who is part draft, but very short. Fits her very well, and is nice and soft.
Date published: 2016-07-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from gGeat quality bridle for the money. The leather is very soft for a brand new bridle.
Date published: 2016-06-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Value By far this is the best bridle at this price. It is very high quality and looks very nice. I have noticed that the noseband in the cob size is a tiny bit short, but it fits on the last hole.
Date published: 2016-06-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great bridle for the price Nice leather was lightly oiled. Only reason I didn't give five stars was the slightly lower quality reins compared to the quality of headstall. The reins will work just fine but they are rough enough to definitely require gloves each ride
Date published: 2016-06-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great bridle Very nice quality. Was just too big for my thoroughbreds tiny head!
Date published: 2016-06-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Bridle I bought to show at one dressage show just to see how my new mount would do at a show. Nice bridle, I did buy the cob size and fits nice on my NSH who is about 15.2. The brow band is a bit small but other than that its a really nice work bridle.
Date published: 2016-05-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tremendous value I am a new dressage rider, transitioning after being a hunter/jumper rider for 10+ yrs. I purchased this because I have the hunter Plymouth elite fancy stitched bridle and have been happy with it. I also found it difficult to find budget friendly options at local tack stores. I am beyond thrilled with this bridle! If I did not see the price, I would have easily assumed this was $100+. The leather is super soft and does not even need oiled out of the box. Plus with smart perks, you get 10% off and free shipping!
Date published: 2016-05-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Just what I expected The quality matches the price. Just what I needed.
Date published: 2016-05-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Like it... This had great reviews and I guess I'm overly concerned but it seems tight on his poll, although my trainer's bridle fits exactly the same. I want to exchange for the (I guess it's a newer style) bridle with the caveson integrated into the crownpiece, and is padded. It does fit him, though, and he goes in it just fine. And the crownpiece seems wide to me.
Date published: 2016-04-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love it! I have an OTTB and we usually compete in hunters, but my barn was having a home schooling dressage show and I thought it would be fun for us to do a little intro A test. Bridle was super soft and flexible right out of the bag. He's only worn it a couple of times but it is super great quality and I'm sure it'll hold up!!
Date published: 2016-04-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice quality! Very nice quality for the price, easy to break in, great fit!
Date published: 2016-04-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice bridle This bridle doesn't seem to be the greatest of qualities, but is nice enough to show in. The cob size seems to run a bit small in the noseband circumference compared to the many other cob sized bridles I own.
Date published: 2016-03-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great value, wonderful bridle I bought this as a schooling bridle but it is really good looking and so am showing in it also
Date published: 2016-03-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very nice bridle I bought this dressage bridle for my mare as we are getting into dressage. She has a large head that usually is hard to fit, but the horse size fit perfectly. The leather wasn't stiff upon arrival, it was nice and supple. The bridle isn't too thick either, which is what I was worried about. For the price, this is a very nice bridle
Date published: 2016-03-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very decent bridle Bought two---one for a pony and one for a horse. Leather is way more supple for the economical price than I expected. Appearance is quite good. Am sure we will have these for a good long time.
Date published: 2016-03-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Decent for the price I purchased a cob size. The noseband needs to be worked to make it more flexible. I wound up taking it off for now as i'm just using it for training purposes and keeping it rolled and conditioning it to make in more pliable. Surprisingly, i can only use the last hole on the noseband as well and my mare has quite a dainty face and is only 13.2, so maybe the noseband is a bit short.But for the price, not bad. Easy to adjust buckles, etc. for a new bridle. Will work just fine for training purposes.You probably won't get a better quality bridle in that price range.
Date published: 2016-03-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simply but Classy I bought this bridle about a month ago and I love it. The leather is nice a supple but also great quality. It looks super snazzy on my Arabian cross!
Date published: 2016-02-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comparable to much more $$$ bridles! First of all, I love Smartpak, and knowing they would happily accept a return I took a chance on this bridle. My hunter schooling bridle is a Vespucci, my show bridle is a smartpak Wellfleet, and I ride in a custom CWD, so I'm a bit picky with my tack. I'd rather save up and get exactly what I want than settle for less. Well, we recently decided to take some dressage lessons (we do hunters) and I wanted a nice bridle but didn't want to sink a bunch of $ into it. I figured I'd give this bridle a chance, based on the positive reviews. Well I was almost in total shock when I opened it- this bridle is wayyyy nicer than expected, and far nicer than anything under $100. The leather is so soft and beautiful, I was almost confused if they sent the wrong bridle, but sure enough it's stamped "Plymouth" on most pieces. If you're not sure if you want to risk buying a "cheap" bridle, do it! It's gorgeous! Smartpak rocks!!!
Date published: 2016-02-23
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Sizing is off I swear mine was miss marked. I ordered a full size and its ginormous on every "normal sized" horse I put it on. It fits like an oversize. I'm afraid to get a cob because cob size is usually way too small on my horse. Unfortunately I bought this over a year ago so I'm stuck with it, but it's a beautiful bridle. The leather is really nice and seems really durable.
Date published: 2016-02-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great bridle!! I am so happy I took a chance and bought this bridle. It fits my mare like a glove. Nice quality leather for the price!!
Date published: 2016-01-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just what I was looking for I have used this bridle 5 or 6 times so far. For my 16 hh TB, the browband fit well but the cheeks and noseband are on the smaller holes. The leather was pretty supple out of the box and easy to adjust. I swapped out the web reins for rubber ones (personal preference). So far I'm really pleased with how it looks, how the leather feels, and the price!
Date published: 2016-01-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very nice quality for the price I bought this for my young horse, who won't have anything nice until he learns not to put things in his mouth. :-D My older (well-behaved) horse has the Plymouth Elite and I definitely prefer the one-piece padded crown and buckle ends, but for the price the Plymouth can't be beat. The leather is decent quality and wasn't stiff upon arrival. The reins that came with it were fine too. Glad I bought it!
Date published: 2016-01-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from GREAT FEATURES! I got this for christmas, and absolutely love it! so soft and supply and fits amazingly!
Date published: 2016-01-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very nice Bridle I was surprised at the quality of the bridle for the price. I just needed an extra for schooling and it is nice enough to show in. I got an oversize for my warmblood and could have gone with horse size as it was quite large. The reins were nice also.
Date published: 2015-12-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from good quality I bought this for my QH mare who has a classic small head with big jaws. I read reviews and went with the cob. I would like to sugest to SP to make a QH bridle. The cob cheeks and crown are perfect but the brow band and cavson need to be horse sized. Love the quality of leather.
Date published: 2015-12-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent quality! I bought this bridle about a month ago and I absolutely love it!!
Date published: 2015-11-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Can't beat the price! I own several of the Plymouth bridles. I'm always so happy with the feel and fit of the bridles at such an affordable price!
Date published: 2015-11-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great value! The bridle came ready to use. It did not require oil or break in time. It is a perfect everyday bridle and allows me to save my fancy one for shows.
Date published: 2015-11-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great value for the price but.... Purchased this thinking I'd get into dressage, but then decided to stick with H/J. However, the bridle did get used consistently for several months and has held up well. The ONLY thing that really bothered me about this, aside from it running a bit large (if you have a small-headed AQHA or APHA, may want to go down to cob size), this thing was RIDDLED with scuffs and dents right out of the box. It was obvious it hadn't been used and these flaws were from the manufacturer, I was just very surprised by this-I've never gotten anything from Smartpak that wasn't in mint condition. However, being a cheap bridle, I didn't bother returning it. On a black bridle, issues are easy to hide! If it'd been a hunter bridle, I'd definitely returned it. Over all, a good buy!
Date published: 2015-10-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great value for the money! I purchased this for everyday use on my OTTB. The fit of the full size worked well and the quality was outstanding for the price. I would not hesitate to purchase another if the need arises.
Date published: 2015-10-15
  • 2016-09-28T12:43CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.4.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_9, tr_221
  • loc_en_US, sid_7211, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders