Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!

Product Video:

Our toughest waterproof blanket yet
Find out why

Piper Plus Knee Patch Breeches by SmartPak

SmartPak
- Item #20948
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Too Fun to Have Just One

In addition to durable materials and fantastic fit, the Piper Plus Knee Patch Breeches by SmartPak come in a variety of fun colors with all the fashionable details you've been looking for in a pair of schooling breeches.

Imported.

Knee Patch Breeches Comparison Chart


Not sure which style of Piper Breeches to choose? Click here to find your perfect pair!

Favorite Features

  • Comfortable, soft and flattering fabric mix (63% polyester, 32% viscos, 5% spandex) performs well in the saddle and has great long term shape retention
  • Contoured 2" wide waistband helps eliminate gapping
  • Flattering mid rise gives you the comfortable coverage you want 
  • Ergonomic shaped panel at the calf eliminates bulky closures and annoying seams for a streamlined fit 
  • Stretch synthetic knee patch fabric offers fantastic grip and great durability
  • Contrast stitching and pocket trim on front pockets add some fun flair to your riding ensemble 
  • Fashionable Euro seat and front zip
Key Specifications
  • Breech Material: (63% Polyester, 32% Viscose, 5% Spandex
  • Type (Front Zip, Side Zip, Pull-on): Front zip
  • Rise: Mid-rise

Sizing

Available in sizes 38-46R
What Customers Say:

Specifications

Breech Material (63% Polyester, 32% Viscose, 5% Spandex
Patch Material Synthetic
Type (Front Zip, Side Zip, Pull-on) Front zip
Rise Mid-rise
Ankle Closure Sock fit
Pockets Yes, 2 front, 1 back
Special Features front zip with 2" contoured waistband that helps eliminate gapping Comfortable, natural rise hits below the belly button Ergonomically designed calf panel provides a streamlined fit underneath your boots
You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "Designed to be the most comfortable knee patch ...
    Description:
    "Designed to be the most comfortable knee patch breech you’ve ever worn, the Piper Knit Breech with Silicone Grip Knee Patch by SmartPak is constructed with a 4-way stretch cotton blend knit fabric that allows for excellent stretch, recovery, and ...
    Why We Love This Why We Love This ...
    Description:
    Why We Love This Why We Love This The Piper Plus Classic Full Seat Breeches have everything you love about Piper Breeches with traditional styling perfect for any ring! Favorite Features Comfortable, soft and flattering fabric mix (63% polyester, 32% ...
    "The Champion Full Seat Breech is just as ...
    Description:
    "The Champion Full Seat Breech is just as tough as you are. Made from a cotton and stretch micro-nylon, the breech is exceptionally comfortable. This breech features a curve fit- a special cut to reduce gapping at the back waist." ...
    "The Piper Knee Patch Breeches by SmartPak are ...
    Description:
    "The Piper Knee Patch Breeches by SmartPak are the perfect choice for breeches to wear in the schooling ring. With many stylish color options to choose from, these breeches can be mixed and matched to create the perfect outfit. The ...
    "Designed for riders who want to stay tight ...
    Description:
    "Designed for riders who want to stay tight in the tack, the Piper Breech with Silicone Grip Knee Patch by SmartPak features silicone grip knee patches that provide maximum grip in the saddle. The perfect choice for all riders looking ...
    "The Romfh Sarafina Knee Patch Breech has an ...
    Description:
    "The Romfh Sarafina Knee Patch Breech has an exceptionally flattering fit with it's strategically placed contoured waistband it's the perfect fit around your waist and hips!"
    "The Pikeur Ciara Knee Patch Breech has quickly ...
    Description:
    "The Pikeur Ciara Knee Patch Breech has quickly made its name known amongst the most discerning Hunter/Jumper riders, it's no surprise it's Pikeur's most popular breech! This breech is constructed from Prestige-Micro 2000 Plus fabric which is a highly elastic ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    92% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Piper Plus Knee Patch Breeches by SmartPak is rated 4.5 out of 5 by 142.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another great piper breech! Wonderful as usual! Comfortable, true to size, and adorable colors to boot!
    Date published: 2016-10-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very comfortable Love them! They don't rise all the way up my ribs, they sit just right on my waist
    Date published: 2016-10-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I am in love with these breeches. Seriously. These breeches are awesome. A great buy for the price and so very very comfortable. My only tiny complaint is that the rise is just a touch low for me. Gaps in the back a bit for those of us with a little junk in the truck if you get my drift :). BUT, these are well worth it and a great breech.
    Date published: 2016-10-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fit and style
    Date published: 2016-09-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from My favorite riding pants Recently purchased these breeches as a birthday gift to myself and I must say as someone who absolutely hates riding pants, I love them! I ride only western but have bad back problems, the constriction and pressure points of jeans when riding would always causes the nerves in my back to swell up. With these breeches I don't have that problem. They give you the comfort and flexibility of riding pants but to me are much more stylish, especially as someone who rides western, I bought a navy pair and you would almost think they are jeans. Only problem I had were that the sizes run big in my opinion, measured myself the way they said to and ended up getting a pair 4 sizes too big, even now with my correct size I feel like the waist is a little loose even though the leg area fits great.
    Date published: 2016-09-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from These didn't fit my shape properly, too low in the crotch, possibly because of lack of room for my booty. ha. The quality of these breeches is really nice though and I loved the fabric. Unfortunately I'm just the wrong shape for them.
    Date published: 2016-08-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Favorite Breeches! I LOVE these breeches! I now own seven pairs of the Piper Plus breeches-- they're just that great! The cut is excellent for plus size breeches; I've found that other breeches I've tried are really straight cut, and these are definitely meant to fit curves. The colors are cute, the material is a nice, heavy weight and holds up pretty well, and I love the back pockets! They're the best schooling breeches I've ever had and they're a fantastic value. (Now I'm just waiting for them to make Piper Plus show breeches...)
    Date published: 2016-08-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from In deep Piper Love This is my 3rd pair of pipers and I am in mad love with them :) I actually like my Pipers better than my Tailored Sportsmans. I bought this pair to be part of my cross country wardrobe. They are comfortable, wear extremely well ,are flattering to my post partum body shape ( 2 two legged foals back to back did me in !) They clean up very nicely even after a mud run. you can't go wrong with Pipers!
    Date published: 2016-08-09
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Didn't love styling I really, really wanted to love these breeches, but the front zipper is unflattering on me, a size 16 rider. Also, the contrast piping is very distracting and brings attention to the back pockets, which isn't an area that all of us want to highlight. That being said, the fabric and fit (other than the front zipper) is quite nice.
    Date published: 2016-07-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product, slow shipping The breeches are awesome. I had to return them to get a smaller pair and it took much longer than I wanted it to.
    Date published: 2016-07-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great colors It is nice someone is carrying plus size breeches in lighter colors other than black. I could live without the pockets though.
    Date published: 2016-07-07
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Love the look of them. I had to take them in at the waist. Big around waist and almost too tight in the legs. They are very comfortable, but fall down. I'm constantly pulling them up my legs and then pulling up around my waist.
    Date published: 2016-06-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect for schooling shows! I bought the tan & black breeches to use as show breeches, & I totally love them! Not to mention SmartPak was AMAZING in customer service! They were on back order & weren't expected to be in before my show. However, they were shipped a week before my show & I was able to have peace of mind! This was not my first pair of Pipers, however. I just keep coming back for more!
    Date published: 2016-06-16
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good quality, bad fit. If these breeches fit better, I would buy a dozen! The material is comfortable and the overall quality is very good. I love that they have nice deep pockets and the Euroseat is really comfortable. Unfortunately, they don't fit me very well. I have a relatively small waist and larger hips and thighs, and these fit great up to my hips. But there's a huge gap at the waist which makes them sag terribly! If you are pear or hour-glass shaped, plan on getting these breeches altered. If you have a good tailor, it's worth it.
    Date published: 2016-06-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My second pair, love them!
    Date published: 2016-05-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I found my new go-to breech! I absolutely love these breeches! The fabric is thick enough that it hides the unsightly bumps in my legs, but they are cool in warm weather too. The fit is fantastic; I am a typical hourglass shape, and they fit through my waist, hips, and thighs. I'd say these are true to size; I have another brand of breeches in the same size that fit identically. I love the colors they come in; I got them in the charcoal/lt. grey and they are so versatile! The euroseat took a little getting used to, but it is very flattering and now I find it comfortable. I'll definitely be ordering more of these! :)
    Date published: 2016-05-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super comfy! Best breeches I have ever purchased! Would gladly order them again!
    Date published: 2016-04-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfortable Love these breeches. This is my 5th pair. Really comfortable and I can wear them all day! Great colors too!
    Date published: 2016-04-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love piper !!!! Absolutely love the piper breeches. Super comfortable amazing fit and look great! This is my 3rd pair. They last forever and I love the color combos!
    Date published: 2016-03-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Rise Too Low at Rear, Even for a Short Girl Let's face it, Short + Round = a tough fit in equestrian wear. I am five feet tall, and wear street size jeans in a 14 or 16 currently. The size 38 Piper Plus Knee Patch Breech fit wonderfully around my hips and thighs. Sadly, even though I am so short, the rise was too short in the rear. Perhaps part of it is that I have a pear-shaped figure, and the breeches gap in the rear. I didn't want to wear them with a belt, but I found a stretchy one that keeps the breeches mostly from sliding down. Sometimes the crotch falls down a few inches when I am walking. It's OK in the saddle. The pockets are generously sized. There is a piece of elastic sewn into the center seam. I was worried the elastic might be irritating or rub but I don't even notice it. The fabric feels nice against my skin, looks flattering, and stretches really well for riding. The knee patches are slightly grippy. Of course the legs are too long for my height, but the soft stretchy material below the knee doesn't feel too bad inside a boot, even bunched up to make the leg shorter. If these had a waist in them, and were higher rise in the rear, I would have loved them.
    Date published: 2016-03-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fits Well They fit good for pants I bought off of the internet.
    Date published: 2016-03-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Cute breeches This is my second pair of pipers. They are great in the saddle and I love the color options. I didn't give them 5 stars because the crotch does sag some on me. I wish smart pal would widen the legs or shorten the rise. Overall cute breeches.
    Date published: 2016-03-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Need them in white! I have 6 pairs of piper breeches (4 pairs knee patch, 2 full seat) and am dying to have them in white! any chance you guys could make that happen!?
    Date published: 2016-02-24
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great Look but Fit Needs a Re-Design I ordered these in Black with White Piping in a size 36.....I love the look and fabric however the fit needs some work. They keep falling down as the waist is extremely big and mis-proportioned to the rest of the breeches. This non-curvy design sort of defeats the purpose of the Plus offering. I am going to have them tailored with 2 pleats in the back but hopefully the designers will rework the fit. If so, I would definitely purchase additional pairs.
    Date published: 2016-02-23
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not the right fit for me Well to be fair these pants are great. Nice quality, great colors, They are just not the right fit for my SHORT self. I wish they had. I loved them as soon as a way them.
    Date published: 2016-02-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Riding Pants Ever! I needed a pair of riding pants so I purchased 1 pair and liked that the Piper Plus Breeches came in my size and looked really nice. I loved them so much that later I purchased 2 more pair and have loved them so much that I wear them around town, to school, not just for riding. They are warm, durable, stretchy and are cut generously to fit the curvy equestrian lady. I highly recommend these - they are reasonably priced and are a great value.
    Date published: 2016-01-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The fit is comfortable and easy to ride in. This is my second pair, I find I go to my Pipers more than my other breeches. They wash well, dry in no time and are comfortable to ride in.
    Date published: 2015-12-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Breeches for us Fuller Fillies I love my new breeches. I had to return for a smaller size. They run a little big which is great, because not all of us ladies are the same.
    Date published: 2015-12-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really comfy I have three pair of these and I just want more! The only thing that would make me happier than I already am with them is for pipers to have a white pair of breeches!!! Come on pipers!!
    Date published: 2015-11-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Piper Breeches Love my breeches ! They feel great when I ride, and love all of the different colors
    Date published: 2015-11-19
    • y_2017, m_1, d_21, h_2
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_9, tr_133
    • loc_en_US, sid_10948, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=AGE, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders