Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Piper Plus Knee Patch Breeches by SmartPak

SmartPak
- Item #20948
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Too fun to buy just one!

In addition to durable materials and fantastic fit, the Piper Plus Knee Patch Breeches by SmartPak come in a variety of fun colors with all the fashionable details you've been looking for in a pair of schooling breeches.

Favorite Features

  • Comfortable, soft and flattering fabric mix (63% polyester, 32% viscos, 5% spandex) performs well in the saddle and has great long term shape retention
  • Contoured 2" wide waistband helps eliminate gapping
  • Flattering mid rise gives you the comfortable coverage you want 
  • Ergonomic shaped panel at the calf eliminates bulky closures and annoying seams for a streamlined fit 
  • Stretch synthetic knee patch fabric offers fantastic grip and great durability
  • Contrast stitching and pocket trim on front pockets add some fun flair to your riding ensemble 
  • Fashionable Euro seat and front zip

63% polyester, 32% viscos, 5% spandex.
Imported.

Sizing It Up

Knee Patch Breeches Comparison Chart

You Might Like
    out of 5
    90% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Piper Plus Knee Patch Breeches by SmartPak is rated 4.3239 out of 5 by 71.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from So excited! I've finally sprung for breeches that cost more than I usually spend so I was really concerned about the quality and fit, but I have to say I love these! They look and feel so good. I wear a 16 in regular women's clothing and I ordered a 40 in these plus size pants. They fit really well and they are so stylish. Let's see how they hold up to riding. They appear to be very nice quality.
    Date published: 2015-04-23
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Cute and colorful, few complaints I just ordered 3 pairs of the Pipers last week and think they're very cute. Unfortunately, I sent two pairs back (one for an exchange), because while they weren't necessarily too small, the waist in the back was lower than I would prefer (the front of the waist band is at my belly button). The pair I kept was a size larger, and seemed to help some with this issue. The breeches have great stretch to them which helps getting in/out of the saddle, but on the flip side, they also stretch out and/or a little in the waist. I'm forced to wear a belt with them, which is fine, but I'd prefer not to have to wear one unless I want to. The waist also gaps a little, but I might resign myself to visiting my local tailor to see if they can throw some darts in there or something.Overall, I'm happy with them so far. I'd be thrilled if they would design these with the waist a little higher in the back, but keep the front the same. I think I'm more of a mid-rise breech girl, but I simply can't afford to have too many pairs of the TS mid-rise breeches which normally fit me pretty well.
    Date published: 2015-04-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these I bought a pair to use as show breeches, the minute they arrived I turned around and ordered 2 other pairs for schooling in. Love the durability, the fabric is sturdy and you know your going to get alot of miles out of these. I like the legs breathability and its nice to have a variety of colors.
    Date published: 2015-03-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So comfortable! I ordered these breeches a couple of weeks ago and they came quickly in the mail. The navy blue is a great color and goes well with everything! I have only wore them to one lesson but they were so comfortable to ride in. The sock calf bottom is a great feature and makes it much easier to wear my tall boots. Would definitely recommend these to anyone!
    Date published: 2015-03-26
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Love the breeches not the color I have multiple pairs of Pipers in different colors. This time I got the military green. And am not as impressed with the color. I plan on sending them back and getting another pair of the navy.
    Date published: 2015-03-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great plus-size breeches for the price! I'm so happy I tried the Piper! The fit is pretty good, the material feels great, and the extra features are a hit (so cute)! Finding breeches for curvy gals can be a trial, but the Piper lives up to expectations. I would suggest going up 1 size for curvier riders--I needed more room in the hip/thigh area, which made the waist a little big (but nothing a good belt couldn't take care of). Fabric seems pretty sturdy, but soft & comfy to ride in, and yet supportive to not show all the "bumps". I like the trim details--even the pockets have an ultrasuede partial liner!--and the stretch calves are nice. I bought the charcoal color, which is a little more brownish in person, but it's a good look! I'm looking forward to purchasing more pairs in the other colors! Just wish they made a Piper Plus in a show-ready breech...
    Date published: 2015-03-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the fit!! I am so happy with the way that these breeches fit. They make me feel like a million bucks every time I wear them.
    Date published: 2015-02-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I HAVE BOUGHT SEVERAL PAIRS - EACH HAS KEPT ITS SHAPE AND LOOK - THREAD TEARS LIKE OTHER BRANDS - THEY ALSO DON'T ROLL DOWN THE LARGER TUMMY
    Date published: 2015-01-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very comfortable and rugged! I was looking for a pair of plus size breeches and found these. I am impressed with their fit, comfort and durability.
    Date published: 2014-12-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great price. I bought this item and discovered that it was too big. SmartPak made the exchange easy peasy.
    Date published: 2014-12-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great price. I bought this item and discovered that it was too big. SmartPak made the exchange easy peasy.
    Date published: 2014-12-24
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from not a curvy girl fit. I bought these for showing in last summer. I am too large in the hips and thighs for regular ladies, but average in the waist. I bought these breeches in a 38. They gapped terribly in the waist and were very snug all the way down my legs.
    Date published: 2014-12-21
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from out of proportion Ok, so I'm a plus size. I'm not horribly out of proportion. These breeches were so tight at the bottom (elastic around ankles), that I couldn't have pulled them up high enough without cutting off the circulation in my calves. It's like the bottom elastic was from a skinny size 6. Returned them.
    Date published: 2014-12-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love them ❤ I have worn them for the frist time and I love them so much I would buy them again
    Date published: 2014-11-26
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Order 2 sizes larger! I'm normally a 36 in breeches, but with these I had to go up to a 40! I love the color, and I'm sure they'll fit once I get the correct size, but getting the size right has been an absolute nightmare! I really suggst getting at least one size bigger than you normally wear, if not two.
    Date published: 2014-11-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great breeches! I ordered two pairs in different sizes, one 40 and one 42. The 40 fit but were snug in the waist. The 42 was perfect! I'm 5'-3" and generally wear a size 18 jeans. The length was fine even though I'm shorter. The material is heavier than a standard breech but I'm fine with that because it helps hide any unflattering lumps or bumps. It actually has a very flattering smoothing effect.
    Date published: 2014-11-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Fit! I bought my first pair over a month ago and I like the way they fit with absolutely no pinching anywhere. They are very comfortable. My only complaint is that the piping isn't color fast and after just a few washes, they have completely lost their color. I also don't understand why it is not recommended to use fabric softner with these breaches.
    Date published: 2014-11-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from nice fit. Very flattering I loved these breeches from the first time I put them on. They are soft , comfortable cute and easy to move in. I plan on buying a few more pairs in more colors which are awesome. It's so hard to find plus size stylish riding cloths. Especially cloths that are flattering. Fits was true to size.
    Date published: 2014-11-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love smart pack, they ship to me almost overnight and they have great customer service!
    Date published: 2014-10-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Problem solved A recent purchase: worn 5 times and two washings. It appears that these are mid-rise. My problem is I'm short wasted so what would normally sit below the waste on a normally proportioned person, comes up higher on me, making the waste huge. I placed two darts in the back and now they are form fitting. I like the reinforced seams (check the inside seam in the seat) with an extra strip of fabric. this is a quality item and I will purchase them again, knowing they will need a slight alteration
    Date published: 2014-10-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfortable and flattering! I've never been so happy with a pair of breeches! The fabric is stretchy yet firm, making them very comfortable for longer periods of time. The construction of the breeches is great too—they are nicely structured and make me feel well put-together without feeling at all "lumpy" or cinched in as some breeches do.The fit on these is great for me—they are quite flattering and I've gotten several compliments on these breeches already. I'm more of a ruler shape with a waist that's only slightly slimmer than my hips. They fit well for me through waist, hips, and thighs, although the calves and lower leg area are a bit loose. If you are more pear shaped, the waist might be a smidge big on you. Based on my measurements I felt I was in between sizes, so I ordered both and ended up keeping the smaller size. I would say they run just a tad large, and slightly long (the bottoms come a bit low for me, and I'm 5'5 with average length legs for my height).I have these in both merlot and wheat colors, and I'd say the colors are pretty true to the photos.
    Date published: 2014-10-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great pockets! and fit Recently I bought two pair of Piper Plus breeches. I am between 1X and 2X size in most regular clothes. I ordered a size 42 and size 40. The 40 fits best on my legs and I am apple shaped and think I fall between 40-42 in the seat and waist. I am short 5' 1" so length is good at ankles (why I prefer breeches to jods)I love the detail and real pockets as I always have stuff to carry. I would also like them in a lighter more breathable fabric same style as I live in AZ. I am keeping both sizes for good and bad days :) great product!
    Date published: 2014-10-02
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Beautiful but big I bought the breeches in the size recommended from the chart. I ended up returning them twice for smaller sizes. They are still a little big in the waist but I couldn't go any smaller because of the thigh area. I love the colors they come in but I'm not sure I will be buying another pair. They are beautiful but could use a little bit more room below the hips.
    Date published: 2014-09-27
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not what I expetected I bought these breeches about a year ago. I have been waiting to write a review after I have used them. I have to say the colors are amazing. But the overall fit and materials leave something to be desired. The material isn't as stretchy in the calves as it is in the waist or the fit is wrong. My weight is more in my legs than my waist. I need to go up a size or two to get the fit on my legs right and when I did the waist wasway to big. The proportions are wrong breeches aren't long enough in the knee to waist and too long below the knee for me. To fit them above the knee I need to have the sock part up so high you can see it above my half chaps. I think after washing them several times they aren't as comfortable as other brands.
    Date published: 2014-09-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good quality, good price! I have multiple pairs of piper breeches and recommend them to my friends! I love the quality, fit and price. So excited to see they are now coming out with some for shows too!
    Date published: 2014-09-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Breeches Ever Made I started riding again after a 5 year hiatus- needless to say all my old riding clothes didn't fit well. I was so happy to find fun, fashionable breeches in larger sizes and am slowly working my way up to collecting a pair in every color. This material is very stretchy and slimming, with that suck it in quality. The pockets are awesome, and I love the wide waistband and belt loops. They wash very well (I always wash them inside out and hang to dry). I do feel like they run a little large, in some other brands of breeches I wear a 42, but in these the 40's are a bit big around the waist (nothing a belt can't fix). Compared to the Bradley breeches they have a higher rise and I think much better fit. The length is almost perfect for my 5'9" frame, I wouldn't complain if there was an extra inch or two in the inseam. If you are on the fence just order them! You can't go wrong with any SmartPak product or the free returns and customer service.
    Date published: 2014-09-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome colors! I just received these a few days ago and I just LOVE the look and feel of them. Have not had a chance to ride in them yet but am very excited to. The color combos are awesome -- they are so pretty! Ordered them in the 40, but were too big. Went down to the 38 and they were just right.
    Date published: 2014-09-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome! In jeans in a size 16-18 and the size 40 fits perfect! Not to loose not too big. The merlot color is absolutely gorgeous and looks good with the black Dublin easy care chaps! Or with the brown tuff rider starter paddock boots! I am definitely buying these in most of the colors and getting the merlot in full seat because the grey looks really nice with it! Recommend!!!
    Date published: 2014-09-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Really comfy! These breeches are super comfy and really good at hiding my imperfections. Its hard to fit women who are curvy in different ways and these breeches were hard to make work for my shape. They work best for "apple" shaped women, I think. I am "hourglass" and had a hard time finding a size that were comfortable in both the hips and legs. I normally wear a 34/36 and had to order a 38 for these to fit. They are slightly too low but nothing major, I HAVE to wear a belt with these because the waist is about 2" too big, with the belt everything works ok. I'm going to get them tailored though because I love everything about them. If you are hourglass or pear-shaped... order up a size or two and get the waist tailored or wear a belt!
    Date published: 2014-08-31
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from So close... I'm a curvy girl and I was really hoping these breeches would be the answer to my hard to fit prayers but unfortunately my curves are just wrong for these breeches. The material feels FANTASTIC. It feels like it would wear well without being too heavy and I love the variety of colors. However, in order for the thigh area of the breeches to fit I had to buy such a large waist that the butt and crotch areas were sagging. I also get most of my height from a long torso and the breeches tended to want to "pool" excess fabric at my knees.I think with a different body shape than mine these would be an awesome buy. Oh well, back to the drawing board!
    Date published: 2014-07-28
    • 2015-05-28T10:19CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.3
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_4, tr_67
    • loc_en_US, sid_10948, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Recipe: Homemade Carrot and Oat Treats
    It has been such a cold and snowy winter here in Massachusetts for the past few months. I look for any excuse to fire up my oven. Prior to visiting my horse Bug last weekend I decided to make her

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.