Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

Piper Plus Knee Patch Breeches by SmartPak

- Item #20948
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for

Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Too fun to buy just one!

In addition to durable materials and fantastic fit, the Piper Plus Knee Patch Breeches by SmartPak come in a variety of fun colors with all the fashionable details you've been looking for in a pair of schooling breeches.

Favorite Features

  • Comfortable, soft and flattering fabric mix (63% polyester, 32% viscos, 5% spandex) performs well in the saddle and has great long term shape retention
  • Contoured 2" wide waistband helps eliminate gapping
  • Flattering mid rise gives you the comfortable coverage you want 
  • Ergonomic shaped panel at the calf eliminates bulky closures and annoying seams for a streamlined fit 
  • Stretch synthetic knee patch fabric offers fantastic grip and great durability
  • Contrast stitching and pocket trim on front pockets add some fun flair to your riding ensemble 
  • Fashionable Euro seat and front zip

63% polyester, 32% viscos, 5% spandex.

Sizing It Up


Knee Patch Breeches Comparison Chart

Customers Also Shopped For
A fashionable denim breech offering exceptional comfort! Tredstep ...
A fashionable denim breech offering exceptional comfort! Tredstep Ireland integrates active-motion feature designs with high-performance sports fabrics into its breeches to allow for unrestriced movement and ultimate comfort. Favorite Features Contrasting knee patch for a modern twist Two front pockets ...
Look smart and excel your performance with the ...
Look smart and excel your performance with the Tredstep Symphony No. 4 Nero Knee Patch Breech. The Nero combines Tredstep's ExCel performance fabric with their signature Motion Fit Design to provide all the latest in breech function and style. Favorite ...
Tradition just got better - Dress to perform ...
Tradition just got better - Dress to perform with confidence and style in the Tredstep Symphony Rosa Side Zip Knee Patch Breeches. Tredstep's Classic Motion Fit design combined with TS Evolution fabric redefines traditional standards resulting in a range of ...
The International Breech is made with a super ...
The International Breech is made with a super light and stretchy fabric. It provides comfort while keeping you cool. The ultra flattering true-waist fit and ankle length inseam are added perks while you're in the saddle. Favorite Features Flattering Fit ...
Our exclusive Bradley PlusSoft Shell Knee Patch Breeches ...
Our exclusive Bradley PlusSoft Shell Knee Patch Breeches will be your favorite winter breech!Soft shell fabric is peached on the inside but the best part is the windproof exterior is QUIET, so no more worrying about spooking your horse with ...
The Equine Couture Sportif Schooling Breeches are both ...
The Equine Couture Sportif Schooling Breeches are both comfortable and innovative! This breech introduces the Comfort Fit System (CFS) leg bottom made to fit any length or width leg. TheSoft stretch leg opening offers a perfect, seamless comfort underneath your ...
out of 5
92% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
  • Competitor:


Piper Plus Knee Patch Breeches by SmartPak is rated 4.430656934306569 out of 5 by 137.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Favorite Breeches! I LOVE these breeches! I now own seven pairs of the Piper Plus breeches-- they're just that great! The cut is excellent for plus size breeches; I've found that other breeches I've tried are really straight cut, and these are definitely meant to fit curves. The colors are cute, the material is a nice, heavy weight and holds up pretty well, and I love the back pockets! They're the best schooling breeches I've ever had and they're a fantastic value. (Now I'm just waiting for them to make Piper Plus show breeches...)
Date published: 2016-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from In deep Piper Love This is my 3rd pair of pipers and I am in mad love with them :) I actually like my Pipers better than my Tailored Sportsmans. I bought this pair to be part of my cross country wardrobe. They are comfortable, wear extremely well ,are flattering to my post partum body shape ( 2 two legged foals back to back did me in !) They clean up very nicely even after a mud run. you can't go wrong with Pipers!
Date published: 2016-08-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Didn't love styling I really, really wanted to love these breeches, but the front zipper is unflattering on me, a size 16 rider. Also, the contrast piping is very distracting and brings attention to the back pockets, which isn't an area that all of us want to highlight. That being said, the fabric and fit (other than the front zipper) is quite nice.
Date published: 2016-07-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product, slow shipping The breeches are awesome. I had to return them to get a smaller pair and it took much longer than I wanted it to.
Date published: 2016-07-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great colors It is nice someone is carrying plus size breeches in lighter colors other than black. I could live without the pockets though.
Date published: 2016-07-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Love the look of them. I had to take them in at the waist. Big around waist and almost too tight in the legs. They are very comfortable, but fall down. I'm constantly pulling them up my legs and then pulling up around my waist.
Date published: 2016-06-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect for schooling shows! I bought the tan & black breeches to use as show breeches, & I totally love them! Not to mention SmartPak was AMAZING in customer service! They were on back order & weren't expected to be in before my show. However, they were shipped a week before my show & I was able to have peace of mind! This was not my first pair of Pipers, however. I just keep coming back for more!
Date published: 2016-06-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good quality, bad fit. If these breeches fit better, I would buy a dozen! The material is comfortable and the overall quality is very good. I love that they have nice deep pockets and the Euroseat is really comfortable. Unfortunately, they don't fit me very well. I have a relatively small waist and larger hips and thighs, and these fit great up to my hips. But there's a huge gap at the waist which makes them sag terribly! If you are pear or hour-glass shaped, plan on getting these breeches altered. If you have a good tailor, it's worth it.
Date published: 2016-06-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I found my new go-to breech! I absolutely love these breeches! The fabric is thick enough that it hides the unsightly bumps in my legs, but they are cool in warm weather too. The fit is fantastic; I am a typical hourglass shape, and they fit through my waist, hips, and thighs. I'd say these are true to size; I have another brand of breeches in the same size that fit identically. I love the colors they come in; I got them in the charcoal/lt. grey and they are so versatile! The euroseat took a little getting used to, but it is very flattering and now I find it comfortable. I'll definitely be ordering more of these! :)
Date published: 2016-05-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super comfy! Best breeches I have ever purchased! Would gladly order them again!
Date published: 2016-04-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfortable Love these breeches. This is my 5th pair. Really comfortable and I can wear them all day! Great colors too!
Date published: 2016-04-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love piper !!!! Absolutely love the piper breeches. Super comfortable amazing fit and look great! This is my 3rd pair. They last forever and I love the color combos!
Date published: 2016-03-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Rise Too Low at Rear, Even for a Short Girl Let's face it, Short + Round = a tough fit in equestrian wear. I am five feet tall, and wear street size jeans in a 14 or 16 currently. The size 38 Piper Plus Knee Patch Breech fit wonderfully around my hips and thighs. Sadly, even though I am so short, the rise was too short in the rear. Perhaps part of it is that I have a pear-shaped figure, and the breeches gap in the rear. I didn't want to wear them with a belt, but I found a stretchy one that keeps the breeches mostly from sliding down. Sometimes the crotch falls down a few inches when I am walking. It's OK in the saddle. The pockets are generously sized. There is a piece of elastic sewn into the center seam. I was worried the elastic might be irritating or rub but I don't even notice it. The fabric feels nice against my skin, looks flattering, and stretches really well for riding. The knee patches are slightly grippy. Of course the legs are too long for my height, but the soft stretchy material below the knee doesn't feel too bad inside a boot, even bunched up to make the leg shorter. If these had a waist in them, and were higher rise in the rear, I would have loved them.
Date published: 2016-03-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fits Well They fit good for pants I bought off of the internet.
Date published: 2016-03-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Cute breeches This is my second pair of pipers. They are great in the saddle and I love the color options. I didn't give them 5 stars because the crotch does sag some on me. I wish smart pal would widen the legs or shorten the rise. Overall cute breeches.
Date published: 2016-03-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Need them in white! I have 6 pairs of piper breeches (4 pairs knee patch, 2 full seat) and am dying to have them in white! any chance you guys could make that happen!?
Date published: 2016-02-24
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great Look but Fit Needs a Re-Design I ordered these in Black with White Piping in a size 36.....I love the look and fabric however the fit needs some work. They keep falling down as the waist is extremely big and mis-proportioned to the rest of the breeches. This non-curvy design sort of defeats the purpose of the Plus offering. I am going to have them tailored with 2 pleats in the back but hopefully the designers will rework the fit. If so, I would definitely purchase additional pairs.
Date published: 2016-02-23
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not the right fit for me Well to be fair these pants are great. Nice quality, great colors, They are just not the right fit for my SHORT self. I wish they had. I loved them as soon as a way them.
Date published: 2016-02-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Riding Pants Ever! I needed a pair of riding pants so I purchased 1 pair and liked that the Piper Plus Breeches came in my size and looked really nice. I loved them so much that later I purchased 2 more pair and have loved them so much that I wear them around town, to school, not just for riding. They are warm, durable, stretchy and are cut generously to fit the curvy equestrian lady. I highly recommend these - they are reasonably priced and are a great value.
Date published: 2016-01-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The fit is comfortable and easy to ride in. This is my second pair, I find I go to my Pipers more than my other breeches. They wash well, dry in no time and are comfortable to ride in.
Date published: 2015-12-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Breeches for us Fuller Fillies I love my new breeches. I had to return for a smaller size. They run a little big which is great, because not all of us ladies are the same.
Date published: 2015-12-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really comfy I have three pair of these and I just want more! The only thing that would make me happier than I already am with them is for pipers to have a white pair of breeches!!! Come on pipers!!
Date published: 2015-11-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Piper Breeches Love my breeches ! They feel great when I ride, and love all of the different colors
Date published: 2015-11-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very comfy!! I love my breeches! I broke them in with a nice bareback ride and they washed clean very nicely!
Date published: 2015-11-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for us short people! So far so good. I have had these for about a month and still love them. They are a little on the short side, but I am short, so they are a perfect fit for me. I appreciate the pockets so that they look like pants and I can put my phone in there. I ride and drive my ponies, and the full seat is useful in the carriage as well. I am also glad that they are a reasonable price. I will probably get these again.
Date published: 2015-11-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Extremely comfortable! Most comfortable pair of riding pants I've bought to date. And I've bought several pairs over the past few years. Stretchy but fitted. Feel like a comfy pair of jeans.
Date published: 2015-11-03
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good quality, poor fit I bought these breeches a month ago, and I was eager to try them on. I don't know if my measurements were off, or the size chart was off, or if they really weren't cut for my shape. I am happy to say the return process was quite painless.
Date published: 2015-11-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great option I have three pairs of these now. I'll repeat my wish that the back waistband was just a little higher and contoured so the belt wasn't so very necessary, also that my full seats in wheat/teal fit great but another color I got in full seat felt too small so I exchanged for the knee patch variety. Nice fabric. Wish there was a winter version.
Date published: 2015-10-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Awesome breeches! They are overall pretty good breeches, but Im a fairly lean rider nd these breeches were made for the bigger rider.
Date published: 2015-10-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome quality!!! I'm in love with these breeches. They are the perfect durable yet breatheable material and come in super cute colors :)
Date published: 2015-10-28
  • 2016-10-25T12:20CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.4.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_8, tr_129
  • loc_en_US, sid_10948, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders