Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Review Snapshot

Pessoa Lungeing System

Pessoa
- Item #14978
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for SmartPerks FREE GROUND SHIPPING.
(Find out how)

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The Pessoa Lungeing System was invented by international show jumping rider Nelson Pessoa. The Pessoa Lungeing System is designed to encourage balance and a gradual build-up of topline. The Pessoa Lungeing System consists of an easy-to-put-together array of ropes, clips and pulleys, as well as a breeching strap that passes behind the horse’s hindquarters, and is used in conjunction with a training surcingle while the horse is being lunged.

Based on the principles of pressure and release, the Pessoa Lungeing System helps to place the horse in a better position to assist muscle build-up, and increases use of the horse’s back muscles. The Pessoa Lungeing System can assist maintenance of muscle tone in fit horses, while less experienced horses can be guided into the correct shape. It can be used in four different positions, depending on the horse’s level of training and fitness.

**Surcingle is not included**

Favorite Features

  • Encourages balances
  • Encourages a gradual build-up of topline
  • Easy to assemble
  • Assists in maintenance of muscle tone
  • Can be used in four different positions

 

Customers Also Shopped For
Hamilton's hand-selected materials are stitched and boxstitched either ...
Description:
Hamilton's hand-selected materials are stitched and boxstitched either single or double thick, ensuring our valued customers products that have a long, dependable life. Hamilton's quality excellence approach to production is enhanced by an array of dazzling colors that makes Hamilton ...
ThePessoa Legacy XP3 XCH has beautiful European styled ...
Description:
ThePessoa Legacy XP3 XCH has beautiful European styled stitching and madewith extra supple long-wearing pre-oiled Antique Grained English leather. XCH Changeable Gullet System allows the rider to modify the width of the tree with just a screwdriver. The tree can ...
The A/O's ultra comfortable 10" seat and classic ...
Description:
The A/O's ultra comfortable 10" seat and classic balance has made it Pessoa's number one jumping saddle worldwide. Made of ultra supple and long wearing English leather.Features BayFlex contoured multi-density polyurethane panels.BayFlex is an extremely versatile material that can adjust ...
The Rodrigo Figure 8 Bridle is created from ...
Description:
The Rodrigo Figure 8 Bridle is created from Rodrigo Pessoa's competition-proven designs and then meticulously crafted from hand-finished American leather. Rodrigo bridlework is created with attention to detail that distinguishes top horseshow equipment. Plain raised with genuine sheepskin disk. 3/4" ...
The Polar Equine V800 is the ultimate training ...
Description:
The Polar Equine V800 is the ultimate training companion for any equestrian sport! In addition to tracking speed, distance, and route with the integrated GPS, it measures heart rate (even in water!). You can plan and analyze your training sessions ...
With flap options to fit any rider, the ...
Description:
With flap options to fit any rider, the versatile Gen-X saddle offers a great ride for horse and rider with its grippy calfskin covered leather flaps and seat. Favorite Features Euro-styled with added stitching details. Bayflexcontoured multi-density polyurethane panels. XCH ...
Dressage trainer's dream! Three color metered lunge line ...
Description:
Dressage trainer's dream! Three color metered lunge line is a great training aid. Colored divisions for 10m, 15m, 20m diameter circles. Canvas line with a brass snap and a rubber stop. Made in the UK.
out of 5
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
    Experience:
  • Competitor:
Quality
Value
Palatability

Helpful?

Pessoa Lungeing System is rated 4.310344827586207 out of 5 by 29.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great training tool I can see the difference after using it several times. My horse is a 1.20m horse and in shape but can only be on it for ruffly 20 minutes. But it helps her go in a proper frame and build up the correct muscles.It is a little over priced for what you get but it works. So you get what you pay for.
Date published: 2015-02-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It may seem like a lot of money but... I used this product on my former horse he was an appendix. He was very easy to ride and showed in both hunters and dressage how ever on his transitions would pop his head or be heavy on the bit. My friend bought this for her thoroughbred who went with his head in the air all the time. I used it on tge medium setting and i like how it works because if they lift their head it pushes their hind end under them making them use their top line and when they give and relax it allows them to stay balanced and go long and low, my appendix used this 3 times and never needed it again and my friends thoroughbred built beautiful muscling and was much lighter in the bit PLEASE NOTE starting on the medium or low setting is easiest for a horse not use to it, and if youre using this i prefer to not ride them after because 10 minutes in the pessoa is like 20 minutes under saddle. Check out video on youtube "ruby at oxbow" the second video him lunging on the medium setting.
Date published: 2014-05-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Watch video to assemble I had to jerry-rig my training surcingle w carabiners to make it work. Although I'd like to say we look like the videos, maybe not just yet. I think it's too soon to tell if I have good results. And you're definitely paying for the innovation and not the parts.
Date published: 2014-04-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great training system! Slightly confusing to put on the first few times, but one can quickly get the hang of it. Noteworthy improvements in my horse in a matter of weeks.
Date published: 2013-10-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Mixed review I think this is a great system, the quality is good too. It does not come with any directions, that is the problem. You get a small tri-fold brochure with basic information. I would not consider this instructions for use. If you don't have a trainer that can oversee the use of this, you run the risk of using it incorrectly and potentially harning the horse. This product should come with better instructions or a video. I tried contacting pessoa twice via email and have gotten no response.
Date published: 2013-04-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Quality I can really appreciate the quality of the pessoa system. The ropes, hardware, and fleece are TOP notch. I wasn't excited about the price initially but you can definitely see a difference from other systems.I had tried my friend's training surcingle and didn't care for it at all so I did get another fleece surcingle from a different company.
Date published: 2013-03-25
Rated 3 out of 5 by from A ton of money for ropes and pulley I like the idea of this system, to get the horse to use themselves correctly, but when ever I opened the bag and really took a look at my purchase (over $200), I was shocked to see there was hardly anything to it. Some ropes, pulley and faux sheep skin (from what I understand it used to be real). Is it worth that kind of money, that is very questionable! I might return it. Not sure....
Date published: 2013-02-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great system Bought this system over a year ago when my vet suggested it to me to help build back muscles. I was very skeptical because of the price but went for it anyway. I have to say, I absolutely loved the way it worked. My horse didn't mind all the gear on him and learned how it worked very quickly. Over a few months the difference was unbelievable. You could see the difference just looking at his muscle development! Not to mention his performance under saddle improved greatly. I am very satisfed with this product and would suggest it to everyone!
Date published: 2012-11-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Disappointing After owning two knock off pessoa training systems I finally got the money to buy the "real" one. Within 3 sessions, my horse broke the butt bar, it turned out to be just a rubber bungee cord while the knock offs were made out of elastic or rope. Very disappointing after paying that kind of money.
Date published: 2012-01-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from My Horse LOVES it! My 15.3hh QH was beaten on a lunge line before I got him and has been terrified to lunge since I've had him. I've retrained him so that he isn't as nervous, but he was still super anxious with side reins. I had a trainer recommend this product to me because I was hurt and couldnt ride. He LOVES it!!! He is still slightly nervous, but he is as relaxed as he could possibly be!! It may be overr priced, and the ropes aren't held in place well, but the transformation in my horse is totally worth it!
Date published: 2011-09-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super device! This training/lungeing system really is awesome. My mare has to be lunged in it for 6 weeks, as a recommendation from the vet to help her recover from her injury. It is very clever in the way it works, and in the way that it is all attached (e.g when the horse brings it's quarters under, due to the back of the device, the device gives on the mouth) and i like how there are many different settings depending on how you want to work your horse and in what frame you want to achieve. Unlike other devices that force a shape and do not give to the horse, this seems to gently allow for the horse to stretch it's back, bring it's quarters under and make a beautiful, relaxed shape - and it gives when they do so. Even though it is very simple, and not very much for your money in that aspect, it is worth every penny for the way it works on your horse and from the results you'll achieve. I highly recommend this product to anyone and everyone, it really is a great device.
Date published: 2011-06-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Device This is a great device for working your horse if he cant be ridden.My horse is recovering from an injury and it is hard for him to work with weight on his back but really needs to work through his hind end and back and this device puts him to work!!!It's a bit confusing to put on at first, but works wonderfully!
Date published: 2011-05-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great product, but tons of $$$$ I work in the retail industry and understand mark-up and proprietary techonology, but this is pretty prices for what it really is...Don't get me wrong, it works like a charm...but I would convince some barn friends to go in on it together so you could share the cost and the product.
Date published: 2011-03-18
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Feeling a little dooped. Ok, I get the whole idea and I buy into it. I bought this because I’m expecting and can’t ride my spooky OTTB anymore. I need my big horse to build up back muscles and work on his form in general. Once issue is that I paid $170 for some rope, pulleys and clips. I work in a hardware store and I can tell you that though the hardware on this is nice, the entire thing could not possibly cost more than $40 to make – there is no possible way. As if that wasn’t bad enough, you also need to buy a surcingle. Ok, so put all that aside, I paid a good chuk of change for it and the surcingle, I could almost force myself to live with that if this were some form of a SYSTEM to being with. The real problem is that this “system” comes with no real instructions. The tiny piece of paper it comes with is just confusing and depressing. I was expecting at least a small booklet explaining the progression of the system and the stages/positons of it. A DVD would really be ideal to explain something that if not used correctly can actually damage your horse. Do your research and don’t expect this “system” to explain itself to you. As for me, I’ll be working with my trainer to make sure we get it right because I need something to do while I can’t ride!
Date published: 2011-01-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great product for rated jumpers i was a working student down in Wellington and all the jumpers and hunter derby horse were lunge in it 3 to 4 times a week you cane tell how good this product work in just a few time. i notice better collection and the horse feel like their better balance after wards.
Date published: 2010-11-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth the money I have a fully trained 6 yr old paint as well as his 3 yr old green sister. The lil girl is in the beginning stages of being trained. The system was recommended to me by a fellow trainer. I have been using it for almost a month on the baby and have seen an amazing change in the way she moves. I love this system and will also begin using it on my 6 yr old. I recommend it for anyone who is breaking a baby or is looking to polish a trained horse. Easy to use and set up.
Date published: 2010-11-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Surprised by How Effective This Equipment Can Be I am conditioning an American Shetland for driving and he needs all of the muscle that a dressage horse needs. Obviously, he cannot be ridden. I would rate this item even higher for quality and value but there can be issues with the ropes slipping and it seems like a lot of money for mostly rope, a little hardware and a fleecy butt strap. And I had to rework it to fit a small pony! But it has led to a body makeover in just 20 minute sessions a few times a week! It's much less work than harnessing and driving so it's great to get in a valuable training session in the evenings after work. Recommended by my instructor, never would I have believed it would have worked unless I'd seen it myself. Very humane despite the nonsense blogs you see on the 'net. A must have in my tack room!
Date published: 2010-08-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A Keeper in My Tack Room While somewhat expensive, this system has been invaluable for conditioning a small pony that cannot be ridden in preparation for advanced harness work. The animal really is working in proper self carriage and developing proper muscle tone and a lovely swinging gait, rather than just toodling around on the end of a lunge line. It's also a fairly good "simulator" for young horses that will be wearing harness with breeching. My major complaint is the adjustment hardware on the ropes do not stay in place well. I would rate the equipment MUCH HIGHER if that was remedied. Disregard the blogs on the internet about this system jabbing horses in the mouth with every step of the hind legs which is clearly coming from misunderstanding people that have never seen it in use! My pony has tolerated the gradual adjustments "into frame" over several sessions without ANY resistance or negative effect. I'm not a gadget person, but this is a KEEPER in my tack room!
Date published: 2010-06-22
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Overpriced training product This product is great for someone who does not have the knowledge or education to properly long line a horse. It is rather gimmicky and does not give the trainer as much ability to "adjust" the horse as long lining does. For those who cannot long line, this is probably the next best solution. If you have a very large horse, this product may run too small.
Date published: 2009-11-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It works! This system really works. It takes a bit of time to get used to putting on but it's easy after the first few times. A note on fit. If you have a horse that is very large, like my Dutch horse, this system won't fit.
Date published: 2009-05-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Such a smart system I am thrilled with this lungeing system. I am keeping my older horse in work this winter with lots of lungeing. I have used side reins and neck stretchers, but the Pessoa is the only thing that makes him really use his back properly. It's quite easy to put on even though it looks complicated. Adjusting it is also very quick and can be done with the horse wearing it. I feel like the Pessoa is as good as a professional training ride so it's already paid for itself many times over!
Date published: 2008-01-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pessoa Lungeing System Easier than you think, works better than you think. Be careful to read instructions so you do not move too quickly with horses or overdo-it with them. Slow and Easy, Long and Low is the best advice to start with.
Date published: 2007-12-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Product The system really helps strengthen back muscles and aids the horse in finding their balance at the trot and canter while working off their hindquarters.
Date published: 2007-07-22
  • 2016-07-28T10:49CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.3.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_28
  • loc_en_US, sid_4978, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders