Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Passier Lederbalsam

G. Passier & Sohn GmbH
- Item #10216
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

 

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer. That means this item isn't eligible for additional discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Passier Lederbalsam is a tried and tested leather conditioner that restores and preserves fine saddlery.

Favorite Features

  • Rich in nutrients without chemicals.
  • "Lederbalsam" protects the leather against water and keeps it soft.
  • Does not leave leather tacky or oily. 
  • Sponge included!

Sizing It Up

16.9 oz.

You Might Like
    out of 5
    94% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Passier Lederbalsam is rated 4.8629 out of 5 by 124.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best oil conditioner I have used this stuff for years! It goes on like an oil balm but seals into the leather. I like this stuff even more than effax or the devoucoux oil balm. Makes yr leather oiled, supple, but not weaker or prone to wear.Does leave a sticky effect on yr leather, but I personally don't mind that.
    Date published: 2013-10-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful Product This works wonderfully as a leather conditioner. It enriches the look, feel, and texture of the leather, and it does not leave behind a sticky residue. I often use this before a ride on a young horse because it adds that extra bit of stickability. I also use it liberally on the inside of my boots which you normally cannot do with conditioner, but it makes them wonderfully secure. A great product all around. It also works wonderfully on any leather product such as wallets, briefcases, and more. Great buy!
    Date published: 2013-09-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Conditions tack well We use this lots and it's great at keeping our tack soft.
    Date published: 2013-07-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth the price! It's very rich and smells great! Really seems to help leather to become soft and pliable. Not oily or tacky. Well worth the money to help protect and condition your tack.
    Date published: 2013-06-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great dressing! I do love this lederbalsam. It will not darken leather and doesn't rub off on your breeches.
    Date published: 2013-06-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this Lederbalsam! I was hesitant because of the price, but it is worth it!! I use it on my bridles and my toulouse saddle and it works beautifully the leather just sucks it up. I will never go back to anything else.
    Date published: 2013-06-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent product This is a nice rich conditioner. Helps keep the moisture in the leather and keeps it soft and supple. The tack is never oily or tacky feeling afterwards. I even used this to condition my lunging franken- bridle which is made from parts salvaged from broken bridles. It is kept outside and was very stiff and cracked. One use of this and I was able to soften it enough to work the buckles and stud hooks. It smells great and works wonders on leather.
    Date published: 2013-05-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth every penny! I love the smell and the texture of this stuff! After I used it on my breastplate, the next time I wiped it down after a ride, I actually saw the water bead on the leather. Clearly it creates a barrier like it says!
    Date published: 2013-05-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great stuff! Used it on my Filson bridle leather briefcase. Softened it nicely. Used on pair of shoes and restored color and removed scratches. Expensive, but worth it.
    Date published: 2013-05-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My New Favorite Conditioner I got this today at the tack store because my tack was stiff after I used the leather wash and conditioner listed on this site for use in the washing machine. I was worried that my leather would not return to the pre-wash condition. However, one thorough application has made the leather GREAT! So soft and supple! I will definitely be spending more money to get this as opposed to my old go-to.
    Date published: 2013-05-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from High Quality Product I was pleasantly surprised with this balm - I have tried the Effax brand also carried here and was not impressed. This conditioner has a pleasant smell and goes on nicely with a brush. I like it for boots and bridles, as it buffs to a nice medium shine and gives the leather a rich feel. I think I'll be sticking with the Leather New Balsam for saddles, as I think this product is a little heavy/waxy for regular conditioning.
    Date published: 2013-04-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from best there is A jar of this stuff lasts several years, so go for it and get the best. YOur tack is worth it.
    Date published: 2013-03-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yes Please! This stuff works wonderfully on leather goods, it also doesn't leak out of it's container if it tips over. Which I have had happen with other leather products and there goes your money if the bottle tips over and later you find a puddle of money on the tack room floor. You also tend not to have to use very much of this product to get good results.Also one great thing about this with the way it is package is you can leave the rag/sponge you use to apply it in the tin and don't have to worry about where it went when you need to apply this to your leather goods.
    Date published: 2013-03-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My favorite leather conditioner This is definitely my favorite leather conditioner. Not oily or sticky.
    Date published: 2012-11-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product. Really helps to keep my leather supple and in great shape!
    Date published: 2012-10-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Stuff!!! I love this leather conditioner. I first used it working as a groom and we would use it before every show and I feel in love with it! I then bought it for myself and use it every time I clean my tack. I used it from basically every other weekend to random tack cleanings. Even when you use it a lot it lasts a long time. I dont think I will ever go back to a different product. It makes leather soft, shiny, and supple. AMAZING PRODUCT!!!
    Date published: 2012-07-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Because your tack is worth it Simply the best. Not oily, won't damage finish over time like many conditioners will. My saddle maker sings its praises, so I bought it for my Passier and my Adam Ellis. I also use it on my chaps, boots, and bridle. Worth every penny.
    Date published: 2012-07-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Drool-Worthy Leather Dressing The scent alone makes this worth purchasing (mmmmm.... Beeswax!), but the value doesn't stop there. This stuff is very easy to use (I try to use it once every couple of weeks when I'm not riding much, and every week when I am) and makes any leather happier and more supple. Clean your tack as usual, wipe it on (I've just assigned a tack-cleaning sponge to live in the canister for the purpose), let it percolate until your next ride, and buff any residue off before you tack up.THE GOOD: classic formula takes good care of all leather (not just Passier!)THE BAD: it is pricey, but not compared to the cost of replacing tack.THE YUMMY: you'll be hankering for fresh biscuits with honey every time you smell it.
    Date published: 2012-05-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very good leather conditioner This is a bit pricey for how much you get but it does a great job at keeping your leather nice and supple, and is easy to apply with a tack sponge. One of my favorite leather conditioners.
    Date published: 2012-05-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Stuff This stuff works very well and smells nice. Leaves the leather soft, supple with a nice soft sheen
    Date published: 2012-05-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Product I use this on everything. It is great on tack whether it is needing some TLC or is already well-cared for. Friends have also used this product on their leather shoes. I like to use it especially after oiling my tack. It also has a pleasant smell.
    Date published: 2012-04-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Smells Heavenly! This is my second can! Love this stuff! It smells like honey! Nicely conditions my tack and saddles. NOT JUNK! Will only use Passier Lederbalsam!
    Date published: 2012-03-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful Leather Conditioner! This is one of the best leather conditioners that I have ever used. I have been using it on my dressage saddle and dressage bridles. it smells wonderful and leaves my leather soft and smooth. It's not sticky, nor is it oily - at all. It does work better in the warmer months as the product is hard when it's cold. Here in central California our winters are mild enough that I am able to soften the product just by warming it up in my hands. If you're looking for a good leather conditioner, this is it!
    Date published: 2012-02-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Stuff Ever I had used some from a friend and loved that it did not leave any residue on my tack. It has condition my tack extremely well and I would not recommend anything else or use anything else from now on. Not to mention it smells great!
    Date published: 2012-02-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for stiff leather This really helped soften and condition the leather on an older saddle. Did not leave any gunky residue either. I've even used it on my reins.
    Date published: 2012-01-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this stuff! Passier lederbalsam is fantastic. I use it on all of my leather tack to help it become soft and supple. Plus, it smells really good! :) I usually just apply it with my hands which makes them really soft afterwards.
    Date published: 2011-12-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best conditioning product ever! While I have never had this for my own tack, I used it at a good friend's barn on their tack when I rode their horses every day that I was there while I was home and the tack was sooo soft and supple. Highly recommend this product!
    Date published: 2011-12-27
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from It's okay... I bought this from SmartPak, because they don't carry Effax Leder Balsam & I didn't want to purchase one thing of it & have to pay more $ than it cost to ship it.It is ok compared to Effax, it has a slightly pleasant smell-it makes me think of chemicals, not saddles. It is a bit greasy, not all of the product soaks into the leather (good leather).I wouldn't purchase it again if I had to do over again.
    Date published: 2011-12-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best ever! Recently bought a new saddle and would not use anything else!
    Date published: 2011-12-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Revived Decade-Old Leathers! Passier Lederbalsam is my conditioner of choice for all of my tack. Last week I used it on decade-old stirrup leathers that were so stiff I couldn't bend them, and after one application of Lederbalsam, they were back to being supple and soft. It's the first thing I apply to any new strap goods I receive, and it's also responsible for keeping my older saddle in like-new condition. Love this stuff!
    Date published: 2011-11-10
    • 2015-08-29T01:40CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_7, tr_117
    • loc_en_US, sid_216, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Horse of the Month: Dax
    Horse of the Month: Doc’s Mostly Yella aka Dax Breed: Quarter Horses Age: 8 years old PATH Intl. Member Center: Miracles in Motion Location: Keene, NH Dax is an 8 year old palomino quarter horse. He is about 16hh and

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright 2015 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.