Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
Contact our experts 24/7: Call 800-461-8898

The SmartPak Experts are now SmartPak TEXTperts!

All of our supplement and product expertise is just a text away! Ask questions, manage your account, and place orders by texting 26756 from your mobile phone. Have a great ride!

Text us at 26756

Available Monday - Friday
9:00am - 5:30pm EST

By texting 26756, you're giving SmartPak your consent to text you to help resolve your issue, including automated replies, at the number you provided. To opt out, text STOP to 26756. Text HELP to 26756 for info. Msg&data rates may apply. Consent to receive texts not required to buy products. Terms & conditions and the full Text Message Privacy Policy can be found at https://www.smartpakequine.com/content/2waytextTC in case you're interested.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
colors available

Product Video:

Our toughest waterproof blanket yet
Find out why

Passier Lederbalsam

G. Passier & Sohn GmbH
- Item #10216
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING


Days
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Passier Lederbalsam is a tried and tested leather conditioner that restores and preserves fine saddlery.

Made in Germany.
Favorite Features

  • Rich in nutrients without chemicals.
  • "Lederbalsam" protects the leather against water and keeps it soft.
  • Does not leave leather tacky or oily.

Sizing

16.9 oz
What Customers Say:
You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "Lexol® Neatsfoot Leather Conditioner is an all time ...
    Description:
    "Lexol® Neatsfoot Leather Conditioner is an all time classic favorite amongst many equestrians due to its fantastic reputation of pro-longing the life of your leather, and protecting your tack investment. This formula both softens leather and helps prevent cracking. Lexol® ...
    "For the most thorough leather cleaning, Leather Combi ...
    Description:
    "For the most thorough leather cleaning, Leather Combi is a great alternative to traditional saddle soap. Leather Combi's grease free formula penetrates leather and does not attract dust. With regular use, leather is non-slip, tear-resistant, smooth and insensitive to water ...
    "Pink, thick, and greasy, use Ko-Cho-Line Leather Dressing ...
    Description:
    "Pink, thick, and greasy, use Ko-Cho-Line Leather Dressing as a waterproofer on everyday tack and to soften and restore old hardened leather. Also fantastic for prepping leather for storage - a good coating of Ko-Cho-Line will prevent mold and mildew, ...
    "HEY Leather Combi Wash is a specially designed ...
    Description:
    "HEY Leather Combi Wash is a specially designed detergent for leather-textile combinations. This amazing product cleans leather and all leather-textile combinations without a detrimental effect on color. It also preserves the function of material combinations and is kind to seams ...
    "Why We Love This Belvoir Tack Conditioner Spray ...
    Description:
    "Why We Love This Belvoir Tack Conditioner Spray softens, preserves and shines saddlery leather. Contains a pure, clear quality soap formulated from vegetable oils including coconut oil and glycerine. Formulated for regular use to condition, protect and supple leather. Made ...
    "Leather Therapy Restorer Conditioner is an award winner ...
    Description:
    "Leather Therapy Restorer Conditioner is an award winner from the inside out to make leather stronger and last longer. Eradicates mold and mildew problems. Shortens new leather break-in period. Leather remains supple and beautiful with increased strength. Leather Therapy Restorer ...
    Why We Love This Mad Cow Leather Care ...
    Description:
    Why We Love This Mad Cow Leather Care is a special all natural blend of glycerin soap and conditioners. Smells good, too! Formulated for everyday use. STILL HAVE QUESTIONS? SEE Q&A STILL HAVE QUESTIONS? SEE Q&A 100% Happiness Guarantee Hassle-Free ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    94% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Passier Lederbalsam is rated 4.9 out of 5 by 144.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from spa treatment for leather I absolutely recommend this product. I've used it on several saddles and bridles and I can't believe how much nicer they feel. It breathes new life into older equipment and helps to keep the suppleness in the newer pieces. Also like the fact that you don't need to use a ton of it to see the results. The tin is large enough where it could easily last me the rest of my life. Hands down this is the best leather product I have ever used
    Date published: 2015-02-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product saved my saddle I bought a used dressage saddle (the saddle is probably 10ish years old) last year and had mixed feelings. It fits my horse, but I didn't love the way it fit me. The leather was old, stiff and slick - my leg slid everywhere and I didn't feel secure. I was toying with the idea of buying a new saddle but decided to try to breath new life into my current one (the cheaper option). I bought this product based on all the great reviews and it didn't disappoint. I gave my saddle a good cleaning with saddle soap, applied the Lederbalsam and let it sit overnight. The saddle soaked up most of it and I wiped the rest off with a cloth. The leather is significantly softer, more pliable and I feel like I can actually ride in my saddle now (instead of sitting/sliding). It did make my saddle slightly tacky but after one ride the tackiness was gone and I was left with a soft, supple saddle.
    Date published: 2015-02-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! I started using this and don't think ill ever buy anything else for my tack!
    Date published: 2015-02-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for all your leather needs This is my 2nd tin. The first one lasted over 10 yrs. My saddle looks great and it leaves it looking great. I think it also has a pleasent smell. Great product and a good price
    Date published: 2015-02-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for new and old leather I've had a can of this for the past 10 years and it is finally time to order a new one. It keeps my 45-50 yr old Stubben Siegfried saddle in great shape. Everyone at the barn wants to know how I keep it looking so great. I tell them Passier Lederbalsam.!! I just bought a new bridle for my horse for Christmas. Passier Lederbalsam made the leather buttery soft after just two applications.It leaves the right amount of stickyness to my saddle to help prevent those unscheduled dismounts. Look out, squirrel !! :)My instructor wants a can for herself now after she has seen my tack.Attached is a sepia picture of the saddle. Look at that shine!!
    Date published: 2015-01-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Smells so good! I like how this smells and goes on. It seems to be a bit sticky though, even after being rubbed down. Not sure if I like that. I prefer not to stick to the saddle. I will probably continue to use this for periodic conditioning but not often because of the stickiness.
    Date published: 2014-12-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from leather balm This leather treatment is excellent. Not only did it help dry patches on my saddle, but it did wonders for a leather chair at home.
    Date published: 2014-12-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The BEST tack conditioner, hands down! This is my first "real" conditioner. Before I just used a glycerine bar and horseman's one step, but I just realized that I should be taking care if my lease's tack like it's CWD/ANTARES, so I bought this!I first smelled this in my local tack shop, and it has been love at first whiff! I have never tried Effax, so I can't really compare the two, however Effax products contain whale oil and I don't personally support that (AKA I don't want it anywhere near me) so I tried this instead. I LOVE it! It makes my saddle beautifully dark and supple and it creates just the right "good" stickiness/grip. After using this on my lease's halter, he looked like the most loved horse in the barn!So if you love your horse, go for this! I just wish I could use it everyday! (But over-over-conditioning isn't good for the leather.)It would be even better if this came in a chic (possibly limited edition) glass jar- it feels like it will last me forever! A great Equestrian stocking stuffer!)
    Date published: 2014-12-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love It! This stuff has really improved my leather! I have reins that needed some serious CPR and this has made them supple and nice without being tacky or greasy. Smells good, works well, and great price for the quality.
    Date published: 2014-11-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome leather care I bought this a month ago and have used it to condition all of our English and Western tack. The leather looks new and is so soft and supple
    Date published: 2014-10-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful stuff Smells great-not greasy. Leaves leather very nice.
    Date published: 2014-07-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE this product!! This is my all-time favorite leather-care product. It makes tack SO shiny and new looking, moisturizers and protects it, and doesn't leave a greasy feeling after it soaks in. The tin lasts forever because a little goes a long way. Love it.
    Date published: 2014-07-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Softens leather well! I bought the lederbalsam to soften up a new pair of leathers that were showing some cracking after one use. After oiled them up and letting them sit overnight the leathers felt softer and more flexible. Used this together with the Passier saddle soap, planning to use both on my saddle!
    Date published: 2014-05-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutly Amazing! I bought this to revive a used saddle that I bough and it did the job wonderfully! The jar is large and will last a good while which helps me know that Im getting my moneys worth. I would recommend this to anyone looking to revive dried out leather or if you just want to keep your tack conditioned and in great shape.
    Date published: 2014-05-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A little icky texture but spiffs up a saddle!! This has been great for my saddles so far. One is really old and wasn't taken care of before I had it and it got lots of scuffs out and really brightened the saddle. Did not darken or lighten any of the tack I tried it on. It smells pretty good and a little gets you fairly far. I applied with a sponge and prior to using it I wiped it down with a little saddle soap on a rag. I keep my newer saddle very clean so it didn't need much actual soap cleaning before hand but if your saddle or any other tack is really gross definitely give it a nice cleaning with a damp rag and some saddle soap before you use this product. (I like the saddle soap on a rope!) The ONLY thing I don't like is when I squeeze out my sponge while I'm rinsing it afterwards this gross oily gunk oozes out of the sponge. Maybe try using a rag next time I don't know. The can says use a brush but I have no clue what kind of brush they're talking about haha!
    Date published: 2014-05-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent leather conditioner I have used Passier Lederbalsam for many years and love this product. It is an excellent conditioner for dry areas of bridles, such as the flash strap which dries out from exposure to my horses' mouth foam. I also use it when I take my bridles apart for a full detailing, where it quickly re-moisturizes the straps around the bit, etc. To be completely honest, I also use Effax Lederbalsam and rate it equally as high as the Passier. Sometimes there are variations in price between the two, so that ends up being the deciding factor. Both are excellent and don't make my leather too limp.
    Date published: 2014-04-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Conditions without making tack oily or greasy Better than plain saddle soap or just oil... conditions, smells great, doesn't make a mess. Makes my saddle leather soft and just the right kinds of sticky
    Date published: 2014-04-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good as new! Put this on my used saddle I just bought, did a great job and didn't stain the leather or discolor it in any way.
    Date published: 2014-03-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great I bought this to condition my saddle. This leather balm is great. Soaks in, softens and smells great. Before purchasing I researched on the internet and this product received great reviews. And I can see why, I agree.
    Date published: 2014-03-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it!! Feels silky smooth, like a fine butter. Smells great too.  Used on my synthetic/leather combo western trail saddle...the leather drank up two generous applications, once done leather was supple and fine looking....Also, used on my all leather close contact saddle and all my bridles... All are now buttery soft and supple....Love this stuff...also do yourself a favor and buy the little tack sponges, fit right into the can next time!! 
    Date published: 2013-12-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2013-11-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My favorite! Very happy with this conditioner. I clean my saddle, apply a coat of this, and then leave my saddle to sit over night once a week. Leaves my saddle butter soft, non greasy, and always soaks right into the leather. For the price, you cant beat it. This jar will also last forever, which is always a plus. :)
    Date published: 2013-10-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best leather moisturizer I only use Passier Ledersbalsam on my tack. It can be a little goopy for those who are not used to using a real conditioner and are more accustomed to a product like Lexol (which I think is terrible) but once you let your tack sit over night after cleaning you will see the difference. It keeps the leather very soft. You do need to use a glycerine soap before using though - it is not a cleaning product. If you use too much it can build up on the leather so using it every day can be too much. Also, although it seems expensive - I've had the same tin for years so it really is a good value.
    Date published: 2013-10-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best oil conditioner I have used this stuff for years! It goes on like an oil balm but seals into the leather. I like this stuff even more than effax or the devoucoux oil balm. Makes yr leather oiled, supple, but not weaker or prone to wear.Does leave a sticky effect on yr leather, but I personally don't mind that.
    Date published: 2013-10-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful Product This works wonderfully as a leather conditioner. It enriches the look, feel, and texture of the leather, and it does not leave behind a sticky residue. I often use this before a ride on a young horse because it adds that extra bit of stickability. I also use it liberally on the inside of my boots which you normally cannot do with conditioner, but it makes them wonderfully secure. A great product all around. It also works wonderfully on any leather product such as wallets, briefcases, and more. Great buy!
    Date published: 2013-09-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Conditions tack well We use this lots and it's great at keeping our tack soft.
    Date published: 2013-07-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth the price! It's very rich and smells great! Really seems to help leather to become soft and pliable. Not oily or tacky. Well worth the money to help protect and condition your tack.
    Date published: 2013-06-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great dressing! I do love this lederbalsam. It will not darken leather and doesn't rub off on your breeches.
    Date published: 2013-06-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this Lederbalsam! I was hesitant because of the price, but it is worth it!! I use it on my bridles and my toulouse saddle and it works beautifully the leather just sucks it up. I will never go back to anything else.
    Date published: 2013-06-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent product This is a nice rich conditioner. Helps keep the moisture in the leather and keeps it soft and supple. The tack is never oily or tacky feeling afterwards. I even used this to condition my lunging franken- bridle which is made from parts salvaged from broken bridles. It is kept outside and was very stiff and cracked. One use of this and I was able to soften it enough to work the buckles and stud hooks. It smells great and works wonders on leather.
    Date published: 2013-05-31
    • y_2017, m_4, d_24, h_3
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_10, tr_134
    • loc_en_US, sid_216, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders