Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Passier Elastic Dressage Girth

G. Passier & Sohn GmbH
- Item #15154
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer. That means this item isn't eligible for additional discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The Passier Elastic Dressage Girth eliminates chafing and pinching.

Favorite Features

  • All-elastic, non-moisture absorbing girth
  • Excellent no-slip properties
  • Stainless steel buckles

Made in Germany.

Sizing It Up

Approximate conversions from centimeters to inches are as follows:

40cm = approx. 16"
45cm = approx. 18"
50cm = approx. 20"
55cm = approx. 22"
60cm = approx. 24"
65cm = approx. 26"
70cm = approx. 28"
75cm = approx. 30"

You Might Like
    out of 5
    88% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Passier Elastic Dressage Girth is rated 4.76 out of 5 by 25.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My favourite tack item... I have been looking for a girth that wouldn't chafe my gelding at the elbow, or allow my saddle to slide, for some time. I checked a number of the reviews for several girths - I settled on the Passier because of the reviews at SmartPak, and due to the fact that I also ride in a Passier saddle (know the quality). I was concerned when it arrived as it was very short (I followed the advice of the reviewers and knocked 2" off the size that I would normally order). Although it is difficult to get it done up initially (I've come up with a way to eliminate that!), once it is, it can be tightened very easily. There is virtually no slipping or rubbing, and more importantly, my horse is very comfortable with the increased area over which the elastic spreads.There are a few pieces of tack that I wouldn't be without - this has moved to the top of the list!
    Date published: 2013-12-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent, great fit and nice looking I bought this for my horse to free up the shoulder, avoid bunching up, and desired a slim design. My horse was less girthy and was very willing to move out and use the shoulder. I would definitely order a size smaller then usual. I am very glad I ordered this girth and would highly suggest it to others. I will be using it for showing and schooling. 
    Date published: 2013-11-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love It! I initially bought this girth because it was literally the smallest girth I could find. I ride a drafty pony sized mustang in a dressage styled trail saddle, and finding gear can be a hassle. However, I couldn't be more pleased with this girth! First of all, Passier quality, all the way, very nice product. I couldn't tell in any pictures, but the second set of billet keepers are adjustable, for a nice clean look. My previous girth, a Wintec Elastic, allowed a bit of saddle slip on the ups and downs of my trails. This Passier has eliminated the saddle slip issue all together, even on the steepest climbs, and yet it doesn't seem to be cinched near as tight. My pony fussed when saddling up with the previous girth, but he just kind of leans into this girth and lets me do it without a fuss. I do not regret a minute of paying the price for this girth, and I would do it again the next time I need a girth! I did go a size smaller than I would have in another style, based on reviews I read, and it was definitely the way to go.
    Date published: 2012-12-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A great girth I just bought a new one - I have another one in a different size for a couple of years. This girth is very durable. Best of all I have no problems with rubs or sores with this girth - even on my very thin-skinned horse. It does stretch, so erring towards ordering a little smaller is probably best.
    Date published: 2012-10-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from because the girth is not contoured, my horse's elbows rubbed the elastic.i also would be concerned about pinching because there are 3 layers of elastic.and lastly, i was surprised that the leather was unfinished. i would have thought that it should have been finished with smooth leather as on the front (away) side .
    Date published: 2012-08-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this girth I have used this girth for years. It is durable and extremely comfortable for all 3 of my horses. It doesn't pinch or chafe. I have 3 leather girths in my tack room and always use the full elastic passier.
    Date published: 2012-08-17
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Didn't solve saddle slipping problem I purchased this girth in hopes it would keep my saddle from sliding up on the neck of my horse. Unfortunately it didn't help. It is a nice girth though, I use it on another horse. It's super stretchy, if I buy again I would order the next size down.
    Date published: 2012-01-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Girth EVER I purchased this girth for my extremely sensitive WB gelding. He was unhappy in shaped leather girths (no matter how well-padded), and did like any synthetic or wool options.The FIRST RIDE in this girth, I noticed a difference in the relaxation of his back and his willingness to engage his abdominal muscles.Also, he no longer holds his breath when girthing up.This will be the ONLY girth I will use from here on out, on EVERY horse. It is snug (does not slip), yet fully flexible, with no pressure points. It just makes sense :) .
    Date published: 2011-11-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Glad it's still on the market! My first Passier elastic girth was purchased about 10-12 years ago and we still use it daily at my business today! It has finally stretched out a little bit and was already a larger size (purchased for warmbloods initially) so it is a tad too large for the Lipizzans I ride today. I decided to order a smaller one. I am very pleased that they have not changed this girth one bit. In all these years of using it on dozens of different horses it still shows no sign of wear. I have yet to see it rub, pinch, or irritate any horse I put it on. In fact, I like this girth even better than the cushy fleece ones for the most thin skinned and sensitive horses. If only it would go on sale once in a while so I could buy a few more!
    Date published: 2011-09-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from best dressage girth on the market This is the only dressage girth i buy for my dressage ponies. Its comfort for the horse/pony and snug fit without being binding is second to none. Passier quality is always evident in their products and this girth lasts and keeps it shape even after nunermous washings by hand. It keeps the saddle from slipping and your pony or horse moves freeer because there is less restriction. The ponies love it and so do I.
    Date published: 2011-02-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Girth I bought this girth because my nice leather one had seams on it and it was wearing differently and making my horse a little girthy. My saddle maker recommended I buy a girth that is completely flat on the underneath side (that touches the horse) and is elastic. After a lot of research this was the BEST choice. The entire thing is elastic and it is completely flat everywhere! It stays in place very well and I have never had my saddle move around from lack of girth support. I would buy this girth again. The only thing I don't like is that it isn't as easy to clean as my leather one was. Before I could spray leather cleaner on my girth and now I cannot do this because it is made of an elastic material. The underneath is always a little lighter black than the outside becuase of this but you cannot see it when it is on the horse! Overall a great product and worth the money!
    Date published: 2010-12-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Girth! This is a GREAT girth! My horse has had some issues with saddles and girths so I needed to find something that did not make pressure points and was generally comfortable for him. The first time I used this girth he did not pin his ears or make a sour face. He seemed to have more suspense in his step on the first ride and just seemed more comfortable. I would HIGHLY recommend this girth. One thing to note, you might want to order one size smaller than normal because of the stretch. My horse normally wears a 28 and I ended up having to exchange it for a 26 so the buckles wouldn't be under his saddle pad. Don't hesitate to buy though...it is a great girth!
    Date published: 2010-02-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I LOVE this girth! My normally girthy horse is so much more comfortable in this girth...no more ugly faces while we're tacking up! It is very strong and durable, it's easy to wash, and it doesn't lose its elasticity over time. Although it seems counterintuitive, this girth is very secure, and the saddle never slips with it. It's a little pricey, but it is an extremely nice girth.
    Date published: 2009-02-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Truly Amazing Girth The Passier Elastic Dressage Girth is REALLY AWESOME! I was unsure at first because thought it might be flimsy, but my trainer has had one for years. My friend let me borrow hers and I noticed a HUGE difference in my horse. He moved so much more freely, it took less time to warm up and he was less stiff in general. When I used my regular girth again he was stiff again and much less happy. I’ll be using this girth always now! Don't hesitate; buy this girth even with the price tag. Your horse will thank you!
    Date published: 2008-11-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product! I used this girth when I rode one of my friend's horses and it was amazing. She has a few mares and uses this girth because they were extremely girthy with her old leather one, and it is amazing. It doesn't slide around or pinch the sensitive skin behind the elbows when I tighten it. The only reason I did not buy one is that my horse has sarcoids and only one type of girth does not aggravate the ones near to the girth area.
    Date published: 2008-04-20
    • 2015-05-28T09:54CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.3
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_23
    • loc_en_US, sid_5154, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Recipe: Homemade Carrot and Oat Treats
    It has been such a cold and snowy winter here in Massachusetts for the past few months. I look for any excuse to fire up my oven. Prior to visiting my horse Bug last weekend I decided to make her

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.