Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Review Snapshot

Oster Mane & Tail Brush

Oster
- Item #18857
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for SmartPerks FREE GROUND SHIPPING.
(Find out how)

 

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Say goodbye to broken or pulled hair with the gentle Oster Mane & Tail Brush! This mane and tail brush uses gentle bristles that effectively brush through hair to remove knots with extra care.

Favorite Features

  • Comfort handle and round brush head for grooming ease
  • Doesn't break or pull out hair

Imported.

 

Customers Also Shopped For
The Haas Noir Large Brush is made of ...
Description:
The Haas Noir Large Brush is made of high quality 5cm long100% horse hair bristles. This brush works great forSoftly sweeping off fine dust, dirt, anddander in order to promote more shine. With this brush your horse will always be ...
The Haas Express Brush is absolutely a grooming ...
Description:
The Haas Express Brush is absolutely a grooming box necessity! This special sturdy grooming product works as a universal brush. With extra long (4 cm) rubber teeth this brush performs outstanding hair removal action on both animals and textiles. Be ...
Does your horse manage to come in dirty ...
Description:
Does your horse manage to come in dirty from turnout everytime? The Haas Schimmel Brush is you answer!Schimmel translates as white horse. Its dense and long coconut fiber bristles work especially well for white horses, removing stubborn dirt and mud.The ...
This brush is as tough asit's name suggests, ...
Description:
This brush is as tough asit's name suggests, making it an excellent choice for tackling your toughest grooming challenges. The Haas Mustang Brush is a special blend of strong synthetic bristles with very fine brass wire within the body of ...
One of the most popular Champion brushes. The ...
Description:
One of the most popular Champion brushes. The stiff center and pure Tampico border offer the best natural fibers for deep cleaning. This brush can loosen tough dirt and sweep away dust for a clean, smooth finish. The Stiff Center ...
When a horse is turned outfor long periods ...
Description:
When a horse is turned outfor long periods of timein all weather conditions it can be extremely difficult to keep theirPastern clean and healthy. The Haas Pastern Brush is designed with elevated synthetic bristles in the middle that can follow ...
With wild colors and fun patterns, Beastie Brushes ...
Description:
With wild colors and fun patterns, Beastie Brushes are sure to brighten up your grooming routine. Champion Hill Brush Companymakes hundreds of different patterns in dozens of different colors. Don't be fooled by cheap imitations, these brushes are the real ...
out of 5
94% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
    Experience:
  • Competitor:
Quality
Value
Palatability

Helpful?

Oster Mane & Tail Brush is rated 4.723404255319149 out of 5 by 94.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for old hands! I have tried all kinds of mane combs over a 50 year time period. The Oster Mane/Tail brush is the easiest for grip. It goes through long manes and tails in half the time and effort, I'm getting a second one for my husband!
Date published: 2016-01-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works Great! I use this brush a lot and I love it. It gets out all the tangles and doesn't pull out the hair. It also fits nice in my hand.
Date published: 2015-12-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy on tails This brush gentle separates tail hairs while minimizing breaking. Works great!
Date published: 2015-10-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works on really tough manes Comfortable in the hand and works on really thick manes without breaking like other brushes, often on the first use! I'm going to buy another 1-2 for other horses.
Date published: 2015-10-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE This Brush! This brush is fantastic. It gets the tangles out and leaves the hair in.
Date published: 2015-08-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Grooming Kit Staple! Just bought a new one to replace an old one I've had for years. Sturdy, lasts forever and really great for keeping tails tangle free.
Date published: 2015-07-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE this brush This brush is very gentle while still getting the job done. Gets out tangled in manes and tails without pulling out tons of hair. great brush, best on the market
Date published: 2015-07-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Mane/Tail Brush I've Owned This brush is wonderful. It has a nice, comfortable grip that feels natural, and it's super easy to clean! My other tail brushes would fall apart or the bristles would fall off. This one looks the same as the day I got it. Highly recommend.
Date published: 2015-04-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wow! This brush cut my grooming time in half! My mare's thick and unruly main and tail are so easy to brush now with this product.
Date published: 2015-04-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Great Mane & Tail Brush I ordered this item for my own horse after using one like it on a barn buddy's horse. While it's only been a few weeks that I've had it, so far it's great. It makes my bay's mane & tail easy to brush through and even in the Midwest winter when my OTTB can't be bathed, her mane & tail look great after a thorough brushing with this brush.
Date published: 2015-02-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT PRODUCT I have used this product for a long time and will continue to do so.
Date published: 2015-02-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy to hold and use Let me say that nothing works on my horses extremely thick kinky tail without pulling out hairs. This is easy to hold, works through snags that traditional style brushes balk at, and doesn't damage the hair. Combined with a detangling product it works well and is easy to hold. I would buy it again.
Date published: 2015-01-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works well This works very well at getting the hay and other debris from Big Shot's mane and tail.
Date published: 2014-12-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Brush Wanted this brush for years, but was too cheap to buy. How stupid to deprive myself.
Date published: 2014-12-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Big brush head works great at getting out tangles! Big and comfortable to use.
Date published: 2014-10-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally - the right brush for the tail This worked so well that the other brushes have gone into the trash.
Date published: 2014-10-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best mane and tail brush ever! I just got this brush a few weeks back and finally had a chance to use it. What a dream this brush is! I have clients that have this brush and I loved using it. I have Peruvians and with those long manes and tails, it has been a struggle to keep them looking nice with any brush I've purchased. None of the people brushes I bought really worked well at all. It used to take me about a half an hour just to comb out the mane and tail of one horse. It has cut my time in half. Good, strong handle and non slip grip. It helps, in my case, to spray my manes and tails with Lazer Sheen or wash them when they need it to help get the tangles out, but this brush just glides thru the hair like butter. This is a must have for any tack trunk. Spoil yourself and get one. You'll wonder how you got along without it!
Date published: 2014-08-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! This brush works great! My sensitive horse even likes me to use it as a curry as well!
Date published: 2014-07-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Oster was suggested to me as a great mane and tail brush for my horse. I had been using an old brush of my own that had the balled tips of it and it worked too, but this Oster is great. It is very comfortable n my hand, teeth a far enough apart that they slip through the horse's mane and tail easily. The brush is very comfortable in my hand too.
Date published: 2014-06-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from FABULOUS PRODUCT I have had this brush for a while, and none of the bristles have fallen out, gets right through the knots. VERY HAPPY I BOUGHT THIS PRODUCT
Date published: 2014-06-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best mane and. Tail brush I. Have trouble with my hands, this grip is comfortable for effective brushing
Date published: 2014-04-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect I have always had good luck with oster products, and this is no exception. It's very sturdy, durable, and easy to clean. It works very well and my horse loves getting his mane brushed with it.
Date published: 2014-01-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great brush! This brush works great for manes and tails and I've found it to be pretty durable. One of the main reasons I love it, though, is it does double duty as an excellent scratching device that saves my hands and fingers from exhaustion and filth. I use it a lot to win over the suspicious horses that come through where I work, and I also use it to introduce our weanlings and yearlings to currying because they take to it more readily then a regular curry at first.
Date published: 2013-08-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best brush ever I love love this mane/tail brush, it is super durable and has held up great to countless brushings of my horses tick mane and thick and long tail. Plus it is super comfortable in my hand.
Date published: 2013-08-19
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Awkward Shape and too Expensive I find that this brush is an awkward shape, so when I used it for the mane and tail, I had to go over the same areas multiple times. It is not a very practical design. I have not used it for that long, so I can't say anything about durability. I feel that the price of this brush is way too much.
Date published: 2013-08-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Brush This went through my horse's tail in no time. He totally doesn't mind having his tail brushed now and it pulls little to no hair out!
Date published: 2013-07-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Oster Brush I love this brush, mostly for it's durability. I got tired of sticking my fingers with the pin needle dog brushes and getting no where with human hair brushes and bought my first Oster about 8 years ago. Didn't buy my second one until last month when I realized the bristles were worn down! BTW, I have 3 horses and groom often.
Date published: 2013-07-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Brush This brush has worked really well. I've gone through a lot of brushes, so it's nice to finally find one that's durable!
Date published: 2013-06-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best mane and tail brush ever! I have Morgans with unpulled manes that can get very unruly. I have used MANY mane and tail brushes over the years and am so pleased with this one. I have only been using it for a month on my 4 Morgans and it is holding up great!!
Date published: 2013-05-06
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Stick to the Basics! I used this brush a few times before, and it isn't anything special. The circular design is hard to brush with. You miss sections in manes, it's rough in tails, and I just didn't like it. I like the regular square brushes or brushes for my own hair. Not a fancy mane brush.
Date published: 2013-04-12
  • 2016-07-30T10:26CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.3.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_9, tr_85
  • loc_en_US, sid_8857, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders