Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Review Snapshot

Oster Mane & Tail Brush

Oster
- Item #18857

 

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Say goodbye to broken or pulled hair with the gentle Oster Mane & Tail Brush! This mane and tail brush uses gentle bristles that effectively brush through hair to remove knots with extra care.

Favorite Features

  • Comfort handle and round brush head for grooming ease
  • Doesn't break or pull out hair

Imported.

 

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    The Original Mane 'n Tail Shampoo is an ...
    Description:
    The Original Mane 'n Tail Shampoo is an exclusive high lathering formula containing cleansing agents fortified with moisturizers and emollients. Favorite Features Rich fragrant lather provides "down to the skin" cleansing action pH balanced formula provides optimum body, shine and ...
    The Haas Express Brush is absolutely a grooming ...
    Description:
    The Haas Express Brush is absolutely a grooming box necessity! This special sturdy grooming product works as a universal brush. With extra long (4 cm) rubber teeth this brush performs outstanding hair removal action on both animals and textiles. Be ...
    Made from pure horse hair, this Medium Bristle ...
    Description:
    Made from pure horse hair, this Medium Bristle Brush is great for dusting off and removing dander.  Varnished wood back is 3/4 sized to fit comfortably in your hand. Have this brush Laser Engraved with text up to 8 letters long! ...
    Effol Mane and Tail Liquid contains special oils ...
    Description:
    Effol Mane and Tail Liquid contains special oils to prevent the dock and crest of the mane from drying out and inhibiting hair growth. Visible fullness and easier combing of the mane and tail are guaranteed due to the same ...
    The Original Mane 'n Tail Conditioner is an ...
    Description:
    The Original Mane 'n Tail Conditioner is an exclusive highly concentrated formula with unique actions that helps to maintain and achieve a longer, healthier looking mane and tail. Favorite Features Nourishes and conditions hair and skin to aid healthy hair ...
    Canter Silk Mane & Tail Conditioner is an ...
    Description:
    Canter Silk Mane & Tail Conditioner is an award winning formula that keeps the mane and tail sleek and tangle free. Canter Silk Mane & Tail Conditioner reduces breakage and repels dirt, leaves the hair manageable, luxuriously soft and with ...
    With wild colors and fun patterns, Beastie Brushes ...
    Description:
    With wild colors and fun patterns, Beastie Brushes are sure to brighten up your grooming routine. Champion Hill Brush Company makes hundreds of different patterns in dozens of different colors. Don't be fooled by cheap imitations, these brushes are the ...
    out of 5
    93% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Oster Mane & Tail Brush is rated 4.7079 out of 5 by 89.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Grooming Kit Staple! Just bought a new one to replace an old one I've had for years. Sturdy, lasts forever and really great for keeping tails tangle free.
    Date published: 2015-07-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE this brush This brush is very gentle while still getting the job done. Gets out tangled in manes and tails without pulling out tons of hair. great brush, best on the market
    Date published: 2015-07-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Mane/Tail Brush I've Owned This brush is wonderful. It has a nice, comfortable grip that feels natural, and it's super easy to clean! My other tail brushes would fall apart or the bristles would fall off. This one looks the same as the day I got it. Highly recommend.
    Date published: 2015-04-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wow! This brush cut my grooming time in half! My mare's thick and unruly main and tail are so easy to brush now with this product.
    Date published: 2015-04-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Great Mane & Tail Brush I ordered this item for my own horse after using one like it on a barn buddy's horse. While it's only been a few weeks that I've had it, so far it's great. It makes my bay's mane & tail easy to brush through and even in the Midwest winter when my OTTB can't be bathed, her mane & tail look great after a thorough brushing with this brush.
    Date published: 2015-02-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT PRODUCT I have used this product for a long time and will continue to do so.
    Date published: 2015-02-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy to hold and use Let me say that nothing works on my horses extremely thick kinky tail without pulling out hairs. This is easy to hold, works through snags that traditional style brushes balk at, and doesn't damage the hair. Combined with a detangling product it works well and is easy to hold. I would buy it again.
    Date published: 2015-01-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works well This works very well at getting the hay and other debris from Big Shot's mane and tail.
    Date published: 2014-12-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Brush Wanted this brush for years, but was too cheap to buy. How stupid to deprive myself.
    Date published: 2014-12-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Big brush head works great at getting out tangles! Big and comfortable to use.
    Date published: 2014-10-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally - the right brush for the tail This worked so well that the other brushes have gone into the trash.
    Date published: 2014-10-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best mane and tail brush ever! I just got this brush a few weeks back and finally had a chance to use it. What a dream this brush is! I have clients that have this brush and I loved using it. I have Peruvians and with those long manes and tails, it has been a struggle to keep them looking nice with any brush I've purchased. None of the people brushes I bought really worked well at all. It used to take me about a half an hour just to comb out the mane and tail of one horse. It has cut my time in half. Good, strong handle and non slip grip. It helps, in my case, to spray my manes and tails with Lazer Sheen or wash them when they need it to help get the tangles out, but this brush just glides thru the hair like butter. This is a must have for any tack trunk. Spoil yourself and get one. You'll wonder how you got along without it!
    Date published: 2014-08-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! This brush works great! My sensitive horse even likes me to use it as a curry as well!
    Date published: 2014-07-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Oster was suggested to me as a great mane and tail brush for my horse. I had been using an old brush of my own that had the balled tips of it and it worked too, but this Oster is great. It is very comfortable n my hand, teeth a far enough apart that they slip through the horse's mane and tail easily. The brush is very comfortable in my hand too.
    Date published: 2014-06-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from FABULOUS PRODUCT I have had this brush for a while, and none of the bristles have fallen out, gets right through the knots. VERY HAPPY I BOUGHT THIS PRODUCT
    Date published: 2014-06-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best mane and. Tail brush I. Have trouble with my hands, this grip is comfortable for effective brushing
    Date published: 2014-04-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect I have always had good luck with oster products, and this is no exception. It's very sturdy, durable, and easy to clean. It works very well and my horse loves getting his mane brushed with it.
    Date published: 2014-01-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great brush! This brush works great for manes and tails and I've found it to be pretty durable. One of the main reasons I love it, though, is it does double duty as an excellent scratching device that saves my hands and fingers from exhaustion and filth. I use it a lot to win over the suspicious horses that come through where I work, and I also use it to introduce our weanlings and yearlings to currying because they take to it more readily then a regular curry at first.
    Date published: 2013-08-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best brush ever I love love this mane/tail brush, it is super durable and has held up great to countless brushings of my horses tick mane and thick and long tail. Plus it is super comfortable in my hand.
    Date published: 2013-08-19
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Awkward Shape and too Expensive I find that this brush is an awkward shape, so when I used it for the mane and tail, I had to go over the same areas multiple times. It is not a very practical design. I have not used it for that long, so I can't say anything about durability. I feel that the price of this brush is way too much.
    Date published: 2013-08-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Brush This went through my horse's tail in no time. He totally doesn't mind having his tail brushed now and it pulls little to no hair out!
    Date published: 2013-07-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Oster Brush I love this brush, mostly for it's durability. I got tired of sticking my fingers with the pin needle dog brushes and getting no where with human hair brushes and bought my first Oster about 8 years ago. Didn't buy my second one until last month when I realized the bristles were worn down! BTW, I have 3 horses and groom often.
    Date published: 2013-07-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Brush This brush has worked really well. I've gone through a lot of brushes, so it's nice to finally find one that's durable!
    Date published: 2013-06-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best mane and tail brush ever! I have Morgans with unpulled manes that can get very unruly. I have used MANY mane and tail brushes over the years and am so pleased with this one. I have only been using it for a month on my 4 Morgans and it is holding up great!!
    Date published: 2013-05-06
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Stick to the Basics! I used this brush a few times before, and it isn't anything special. The circular design is hard to brush with. You miss sections in manes, it's rough in tails, and I just didn't like it. I like the regular square brushes or brushes for my own hair. Not a fancy mane brush.
    Date published: 2013-04-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Brush This is an amazing brush. I love how durable it is. It works great on his mane and tail.
    Date published: 2013-03-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works better than it looks! I love this mane and tail brush! Yes, I know, it looks like quite a few others on the market and they all cost less, but this one works better. I don't know why, it just does. In my search for the perfect tangled tail detangler, I tried quite a few others - even some innovative looking designs, but this one wins. It not only works faster and better with less pulling, but it's very comfortable to hold. I would give it all 5 stars except I think it's a bit expensive, but really, for the durability, it's worth it. It does not pull the hair like most others (even some that look the same) and it easily handles those dirt-filled ringlets my mare gets when her tail hasn't been groomed in awhile. I think this is the best mane and tail brush out there.
    Date published: 2013-03-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Mane and tail brush I don't buy these items often, because old fashioned mane combs do just fine, except when you've got thistles, mud, and unruly hairs! I did not know what to expect with this brush but it has done just fine so far. Does not pull hairs out and is gentle on the tail. My horse tolerates it well and the results are good.
    Date published: 2013-03-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from best brush Works wonderfully on long winter coats along with doing manes & tails.
    Date published: 2013-03-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from This brush has really hard plastic prongs/bristles that are good for getting out dreadlocks or tangles from horses with super thick manes or tails. Unfortunately it does tend to pull out a lot more hair with it than a "ball tip" brush, so you have to be careful. Using a detangler on the tail first helps to reduce the amount of hair that gets pulled out. Still a fairly good product though.
    Date published: 2013-02-26
    • 2016-02-13T15:03CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_9, tr_80
    • loc_en_US, sid_8857, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Mollie and Eden
    I started riding when I was 9 years old and quickly got swept up into the competitive hunter/jumper world. I showed my first pony, Chloe, in the Small Pony Hunter divisions were we competed at shows like Fairfield Hunt Club, Old Salem, HITS, and West...

    Learn more »

    SmartPak Barn Field Trip, Part 2: Decoding hay and grain for horses
        Download the worksheet to test your knowledge! How much hay and grain does your horse get every day? How much SHOULD your horse be getting each day? Many horses may not be getting what your feed bag recommends,

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-800-461-8898.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.