Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Review Snapshot

Nathe Flexible Loose Ring Snaffle

Nathe Bits
- Item #17154
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for

Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The Nathe Flexible Loose Ring Snaffle has a flexible mouthpiece allowing for smooth communication between horse and rider.  The Nathe Bits are extremely gentle to the horse's mouth and tongue, and are especially beneficial to sensitive horses, young horses and for promoting a sensitive style of riding.  For more than 20 years, Nathe has developed and manufactured synthetic bits. The bits are manufactured in Germany and come with a tear and safety (steel core) guarantee.

Favorite Features

  • Encourages chewing and activates salivation
  • Flexible mouthpiece
  • Allergy free

Sizing It Up

  • 20 mm thick with 75 mm stainless steel rings
  • Please note, because this product is handmade, it is possible for some slight variations in size

Customers Also Shopped For
Happy Mouth bits are uniquely constructed with high ...
Happy Mouth bits are uniquely constructed with high tech plastics, making themSoft, flexible, gentle and comfortable for your horse. The unique apple scent increases your horse's acceptance. Happy Mouth bits are non-toxic, flexible and long lasting with a stainless steel ...
Korsteel bits are proven performers for all levels ...
Korsteel bits are proven performers for all levels of training and competition. They are crafted from materials of the highest quality. Rein loops add leverage to the simple loose ring. 13mm thick. Imported.
?WH ULTRA Developed by SPRENGER in cooperation with ...
?WH ULTRA Developed by SPRENGER in cooperation with Lisa Wilcox and Ernst Hoyos. The KK ULTRA mouthpiece with the middle link turned forward by 45 degrees provides gentle but effective communication with the horse. The additional feature of the WH ...
Happy Mouth bits are uniquely constructed with high ...
Happy Mouth bits are uniquely constructed with high tech plastics, making themSoft, flexible, gentle and comfortable for your horse. The unique apple scent increase your horse's acceptance. Favorite Features Double jointed mouthpiece provides independent action on each side of the ...
The ergonomically formed mouthpiece lies perfectly in the ...
The ergonomically formed mouthpiece lies perfectly in the horse´s mouth resulting inSoft and even pressure on the entire tongue area, encouraging the horse to chew. In addition, this bit supports the contact to the corners of the mouth in a ...
Designed with world-renowned Australian trainer, John Patterson, to ...
Designed with world-renowned Australian trainer, John Patterson, to provide maximum comfort and top performance. The curved mouthpiece eliminates interference and stops bit from hitting the roof of the mouth, allowing room for the tongue. The shape also reduces the severe ...
out of 5
94% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
  • Competitor:


Nathe Flexible Loose Ring Snaffle is rated 4.53125 out of 5 by 32.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful connection This bit is truly something special for a horse who is reluctant to stretch to the contact. I have tried rubber mullens and happy mouth mullens, but have never found a bit that a horse is as happy to stretch to and salivate as this one. So much salivation that foam was literally flying and a very happy horse.
Date published: 2015-07-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I'm a believer. Rather than opting for something that makes a "stronger suggestion" to help us be a functional dressage duo, I went for something kinder. And it worked. Mare is happy and forward and reaching for the bit like never before. I also feel good about this bit since my mare and I tend to tense up together, meaning there are occasions when I don't have the lightest of hands. I spent $200 on a fancy HS bit prior to this one and my mare was not too pleased. It was heavy and I think she was reacting to the sheer weight in her petite mouth. There are a few teeth marks on the bit after a few weeks of use, but I expect it to hold up for a while. My girl usually wears a 5 1/4 but I went to the 5 1/2 in this loose ring and it is perfect.
Date published: 2015-06-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just right I've ridden in this bit for several months now. It creates a stable but supple mouthpiece for the horse to lean into a bit. Horses have better throughness and relaxed jaws. Now I just need them in full cheek and D ring options!!
Date published: 2015-05-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect for Young Horse! This bit has been perfect for my young horse. It's very flexible and we are now jumping in it. My goal is to ensure that my horse has a soft mouth as she grows up and this is the bit to achieve that.
Date published: 2015-01-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nicely made bit So far I really like this bit, he has settle into it well, seems to take up contact well, all of which has been tricky with this horse. I have had it about a month and he hasn't yet put a mark on it.
Date published: 2014-12-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Didn't solve the issue I was told by my vet that my horse has a sensitive tooth on the lower arcade where the bit touches and he is quite sensitive (even under sedation when getting his teeth floated!). He will toss his head when I ask him to back up. He didn't mind this bit but he actually tossed his head more than with his regular double jointed metal bit, so I am sending it back. It is soft and flexible, but it didn't solve the problem.
Date published: 2014-11-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Soft and perfect I needed a bit change for my guy. This it was recommended to me and I fell in love with it. While soft he is still very very responsive to any aids and he is so happy with this wonderful bit. He does dressage stadium and cross country in this bit like a perfect gentleman and I'm so pleased
Date published: 2014-09-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Horse loves it, what more? The first day I rode him in this he readily accepted it, went on the bit immediately without my insisting, and never protested it. I think that is his way of saying 'hey ma, this is really nice.' Better be for $90! I love the flexibility of it too, so you get a bit of both worlds: a straight mouth piece as well as a slight bit of jointed pressure. I sized it a half inch up and it fits perfectly how a loose ring should. He's happy, I'm happy. :)
Date published: 2014-08-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from bit for horse with sensitive mouth My horse has chewed through more than one bit and requires a gentle bit. Believe she has a low palate. She doesn't need a stronger bit but was looking for something to stop her from going through bits like candy. I ususally use a happy mouth and decided to try this one. She likes the bit, it's gentle enough but has already started to wear it down. I gave it four stars only for decreased durability. Probably would try something else in future. FYI have had her teeth done and had mouth checked by vet for other issues.
Date published: 2014-08-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice bit for sensitive mouths I've had this bit for about a month now and my mare is very happy in it. I originally tried the Happy Mouth Mullen which is much thicker and stiffer, but cheaper. She hated that bit. She has taken to this one nicely, it is very flexible and Bit Butter helps. Minus a star for the price, but if it holds up, it will be worth it.
Date published: 2014-06-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Well made The quality of this bit is great and it is just right in softness and firmness. I just wish it come in egg but version.
Date published: 2014-02-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing difference I had purchased a Herman springer kkMy pony was not accepting the bit . The nathe bit he is forward and accepting this bit . This bit is excellent for a horse or pony with a soft mouth
Date published: 2014-01-17
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Wish it worked! I wanted this to work so badly as my horse has been difficult to find the right bit for. He rode well the one time I used it, but that being said, destroyed it. I made sure the bit was in the correct position, but he was able to bite all the way down to the metal. If your horse has a very quite mouth, then this may work. I'll be exchanging this for a Myler next.
Date published: 2013-12-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worked perfectly I bought this because I needed a softer bit for my OTTB- I used a loose ring french link but he would never really have contact, he would just hold his head up and tucked. I borrowed a hermsprenger D-ring and he went wonderfully in it, but those were so expensive I went for the loose ring option. He has taken well to this bit! I do dressage, XC, and show jumping it it! I got the 51/2 and it pinched a little at first but my crooked horse kind of holds his head with a tilt, which probably did it. Hasn't happened since the 1st week! Great bit- useful one to have for the future with other horses that have trouble taking contact!
Date published: 2013-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this bit Great quality bit. My horse loves this bit. Definitely worth a try.
Date published: 2013-08-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for Sensitive Horses My sensitive OTTB loves this bit for Dressage. Was going in a KK Ultra, but never wanted to really "take" contact, he was always a little backed off. He is so much more secure in the bridle now.
Date published: 2013-01-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from just wish they carried a bigger variety Love the Nathe bits...just wish Smartpak would carry the cartwheel gag Nathe (elbow elbow nudge nudge)...fabulous especially considering the problems with the happy mouths these days.
Date published: 2012-06-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally, a bit my pony takes contact with I ride and drive a pony which is very sensitive and likes to hide behind the bridle. I used to ride and drive with a KK Ultra, but I just wasn't happy with the contact feel. This is the first bit I've used that he's willing to stretch into and even lean on a little. It has made a huge difference as we work on collection and lengthenings.
Date published: 2012-06-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this bit for fussy horses! I have a couple of horses that fuss with the bit and bridling. Not only will they willingly put the bridle on, almost themselves now, their mouths are quiet and foamy! It is also working great for a horse that tends to such back from bit and who's mouth is generally dry in a KK ultra. Happy to have it in my bit box!
Date published: 2012-05-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice bit Bought this for my paint mare that has always had a problem opening her mouth, champing, etc despite multiple vet checks, different bits, and trainers assuring me it's not my hands. We ride trails, small jumps, and training dressage. I'm using it with a new Micklen bridle, and so far am seeing improvement. Too early to tell for sure, but her mouth is quieter, not rubbing her face on her leg at every chance. It's softer than a happy mouth. She seems to like it better than the "bean" snaffle and is moving into contact better. Tried the new bridle with the bean bit, then with this bit. She definitely prefers the Micklen bridle, and did seem to go even better when I changed to this bit. Still too early to tell if this is "the" answer, but I have seen good improvement so far.
Date published: 2012-02-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Bit Ever! Great bit and really gets my off-the-track thoroughbred soft and supple. I had been using a French Link and he was ok, but he really loves the soft bit and I love the control I get with it.
Date published: 2011-05-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Strange size Have to return for different size. Looks like a great bit but ordered a 5" and inside ring to inside ring measures 4 1/2" and is too small. Bummed I have to pay shipping and I don't know what size to reorder since the sizing is strange. Also wish it came in an eggbutt.
Date published: 2011-04-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from oops Horse hated it, went back to a plain metal snaffle. Obviously, depends on the horse!
Date published: 2010-12-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Bit One Can Buy This bit is hands down the best bit to use when training youngsters as well as for light mouthed horses in general. I use it on my 17.2 hand hano/tb and he is perfect, we even will school intermediate fences in the nathe! The best part about smartpaks version of this nathe is that you cna buy in in a 5 3/4 which is great for the big horses and you can hardley find it anywhere else! Thansk smartpak for this amazing bit !!!
Date published: 2010-07-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Life Saver This bit really helped get my horse's confidence back after being "bit abused" by a trainer in Colorado. We're finally getting back on track after a year of horsey rehab.
Date published: 2010-06-14
  • 2016-10-24T12:38CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.4.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_30
  • loc_en_US, sid_7154, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders