Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Review Snapshot

Myler Level 1 Dee

Myler Bits
- Item #18408
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The Myler Bitting System is a graduated system, meaning that as your horse learns and progresses through his training, you will change the way you communicate with him by re-bitting him periodically. Each Myler Bit is designed to use select pressure points for the best communication for that level.

The Myler Level 1 Dee is great for horses who have just begun training, is learning basic gaits, transitions, and obedience, and has begun to "break at the poll".

Favorite Features

  • Curved mouthpiece that allows horse to swallow.
  • Uses tongue pressure and bar pressure - working mostly off of the tongue
  • Distributes tongue pressure more evenly than traditional designs 
  • Uses restrict and release action
  • Stainless Steel large 3 3/4" Dee
  • Copper inlay mouth

Imported

Sizing It Up

Customers Also Shopped For
Every Lorenzini bit is unique. It is the ...
Description:
Every Lorenzini bit is unique. It is the result of a treatment that makes it an original and unrepeatable element. Small differences enhance the handmade production- Smooth to the touch and in the horses mouth, the lightweight metal always has ...
Every Lorenzini bit is unique. It is the ...
Description:
Every Lorenzini bit is unique. It is the result of a treatment that makes it an original and unrepeatable element. Small differences enhance the handmade production- Smooth to the touch and in the horses mouth, the lightweight metal always has ...
The Original Bit Butter's special formulation provides soothing ...
Description:
The Original Bit Butter's special formulation provides soothing care to replenish moisture for dry, callused, unresponsive areas of your horse's mouth. Enriched with a "MouthSoftening Complex," this palatable blend of natural butters, essential oils and unique flavor encourages acceptance and ...
Perfect for the sensitive horse, the cover's T-Foam ...
Description:
Perfect for the sensitive horse, the cover's T-Foam fillingSoftens the curb chain against the horse's chin- offering comfort without compromising the effectiveness.Featuring T-Foam Technology, the Curb Chain conforms to the horse's chin for a custom fit, every time. Self ventilating ...
Happy Mouth bits are uniquely constructed with high ...
Description:
Happy Mouth bits are uniquely constructed with high tech plastics, making themSoft, flexible, gentle and comfortable for your horse. The unique apple scent increases your horse's acceptance. Happy Mouth bits are non-toxic, flexible and long lasting with a stainless steel ...
JP Bits by Korsteel provide the ultimate communication ...
Description:
JP Bits by Korsteel provide the ultimate communication between horse and rider. The exclusive curved design provies comfort and enhances performance. Popular full cheek exerts pressure for turning. Eggbutt sides prevent rubbing. 4", 4 1/2", 5" or 5 1/2". Imported. ...
Happy Mouth bits are uniquely constructed with high ...
Description:
Happy Mouth bits are uniquely constructed with high tech plastics, making themSoft, flexible, gentle and comfortable for your horse. The unique apple scent increases your horse's acceptance. Happy Mouth bits are non-toxic, flexible and long lasting with a stainless steel ...
out of 5
100% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
    Experience:
  • Competitor:
Quality
Value
Palatability

Helpful?

Myler Level 1 Dee is rated 4.9 out of 5 by 30.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fit! I ordered a level one myler for my 14 hand pony and it fits her perfectly ! I love the way the bit is shaped to fit her mouth without adding too unnecessary pressure to her mouth.
Date published: 2015-03-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic Bit I love this bit this is the 3rd I have and there is nothing like it. My horses love them.
Date published: 2015-01-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great purchase! Definitely would recommend this bit! Love it! Our guy was run in a gag but previously a roping horse. Now started English
Date published: 2014-11-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Bit - Worth the Money I bought this bit less than a month ago for my 3 year old Warmblood gelding who 5 months under saddle and he no longer throws his head when I apply pressure. He is MUCH happier working in this bit. Prior, I was using a loose ring french link snaffle that would cut the corners of his mouth if I didn't have on a bit guard and he would throw his head and pull if I applied even the slightest pressure. My only complaint with this bit is it seems to run large. Mine is a little big and I know my horse is a 5 and 1/4 - it hangs out of the corners of his mouth a little more than I would like but its still functional.
Date published: 2014-10-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Happier Pony I attended a Centered Riding clinic last month and my 21-year-old New Forest Pony gelding was a little fussy with his mouth. I was using an O-ring snaffle, a pretty standard, but soft bit. Upon inspection of Keeper's mouth, the instructor noted that he had a very low and soft palette. She recommended this bit, so I got home and ordered it. The first time I used it, he was much less fussy. I found in particular, he is much more responsive to the indirect rein. I'm thinking about trying it on my other two ponies.
Date published: 2014-10-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have a green colt who fought any bit I put in his mouth. This is the first one he seems to accept comfortably.
Date published: 2014-08-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from wanted to love it "I" really liked it but my hard to fit pony didn't...
Date published: 2014-01-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love it My mare doesn't like snaffles because they hit the roof of her mouth, and french links do nothing for her. She just blows right through them. She's really mouthy. The ergonomical shape of this bit, combined with the independent action and roller work really well for her. The bit says quiet in her mouth while we are riding, no hitting, and she can play with the roller. I am very happy with this bit!
Date published: 2013-12-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfy fit I bought the size 4 3/4 for my 14h appy with a pretty narrow nose. Fits perfect. She is also very sensitive. She took the bit no problem.  
Date published: 2013-12-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Happy Rider I own a strong, built down hill Holsteiner that got very heavy in the mouth and would drop his head with his waterford D ring. My trainer recommended Myler's and the first time I tried my horse in this bit he went around like a hunter! I couldn't believe I wasn't riding a freight train without breaks anymore. He loves this bit because of the roller in the middle and the copper in lay. He plays with the bit a lot and I love seeing the slobber at the end of the ride because it shows how much he is finally accepting the bit. I also know he is happy that I no longer have to pull back so hard to get him to stop, just a slight tug and release and he comes back down.
Date published: 2013-07-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE THIS BIT We have three of these bits, one for each horse, and we LOVE THEM! My old gelding has a very soft, sensitive mouth and really likes this bit (he loves the roller as well.) My mom's 13yo OTTB also loves it. My very green 5yo OTTB also really likes it. Our horses are all at different stages of training/experience but all three do great with this bit. We love how each side works independently of the other. Definitely worth the money!
Date published: 2013-04-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Im Impressed My horse has never stretched down into a bit like this one. As soon as I started using this bit I instantly got more extension and collection from my horse. She's never performed better. Thanks!
Date published: 2013-02-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My horse loves this bit, so I do too This bit is great, and Myler always makes a nice product.
Date published: 2012-07-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I LOVE this bit!!! This bit is amazing. My mare has an extremely soft mouth and will constantly bite and chomp with even a nice fat soft french link. She is so comfortable in this bit. She drops her head, extends forward, and travels with a consistant rythym with this bit. I love it so much that I also bought the eggbutt version so I can show her dressage with it (eggbutt version is legal). This bit if perfect for horses with soft mouths, just beginning their training, or are being retrained.
Date published: 2012-05-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Myler Level 1 Dee Snaffle bit I already owned this bit but in a 5" size. My half-arab mare is small and so I purchased this one in a 4 3/4" size to accommodate her.All of the Myler bits are well made, don't rust, provide tongue relief, which this young horse needs. I have six or eight Myler bits. Love them!
Date published: 2012-03-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from a necessity to my bit collection This bit is my go-to bit for a soft-mouthed horse, as I ride with soft hands. I first came across it with an experienced show pony who did not appreciate being bumped in the mouth, or inconsistent hands; it changed her attitude towards her work. We then used it for my own pony who was becoming more tractable and would only collect with a soft bit in her mouth. My old jumper, who would panic and fight with a lot of bit in his mouth, schooled and competed in the Myler. My thoroughbred just off the track went straight to this bit, and has never needed anything else in his schooling. I appreciate the independent movement between each rein, and the way the bit conforms to the palate. In other words, I'm a huge fan!
Date published: 2012-03-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Bit My 4yr old Polish Arabian took this bit perfectly the first time. I have not had any problems with it or with him while he has it.
Date published: 2012-03-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for the right horse I bought this bit for a pony with a small mouth and low pallet. She loves this bit.
Date published: 2011-09-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this bit! The first bit ever that my horse cannot suck up and grab between his teeth and I've tried alot of bits!! Now he has to pay attention to me instead of using the bit as a play toy! Really like how the independent movement allows each side to work seperately, after working awhile I was able to really lift his left shoulder around the bend and maintain our balance better. The only thing I'm not thrilled with is that the D-rings are so large they actually rub right at the caveson so I may invest in an eggbutt for this particular horse as his mouth is always moving and I don't want any excess irritation for him. But, overall, definately worth the money, a bit that I would recommend to anyone. It molds across his mouth well, looks too big but it's just the unique shape.
Date published: 2011-05-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent, soft bit I switched from a full cheek level 1 Myler to this bit, the full cheek had a little too much action for my horse, because of the hooks. Just the slightest rein pressure would confuse him, and he would jig at the halt.In this bit, there are no hooks so there is a much more quiet connection between us, and he is much more relaxed and doesn't think too much about whats in his mouth, and rather can concentrate on what we're working on.I really like how Myler designed their bits so they pivot, it really allows communication to move the shoulder up. Excellent line of bits!
Date published: 2011-03-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Helps horse trust bit pressure I have a 8yo TB that I started last year on a soft rubber mullen bit, as she just did not tolerate much bit pressure. After a few unsuccessful tries with a few 3-pc snaffels I tried her on this bit and had great success, as the 'release' and lack of 'pinch' is what she needed to trust the bit. For kicks I tried in on my 1st level Trakehner who had become a little heavy in her KK Ultra and she is becoming much lighter!!
Date published: 2010-11-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love It or Hate It You can't really beat Myler's quality and value. The bits may be expensive, but they are made to last and you only see this level of quality in bits that cost over $200 - and even then, it's a gamble. Myler bits actually look pretty hanging in a tack room.I find horses either love this mouthpiece or blow right through it. When they like it, it's great! I keep several different Myler bits, in various mouthpieces, on hand and they're great training aids.
Date published: 2010-07-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Myer Bit I have tried the Myer system on several different horses. Some have liked the construction of this one and others have not. When it is the right fit for the right horse its a great bit, but some of my horses just like a traditional D-ring.
Date published: 2010-02-19
  • 2016-10-01T12:20CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.4.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_28
  • loc_en_US, sid_8408, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders