Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
Contact our experts 24/7: Call 800-461-8898

The SmartPak Experts are now SmartPak TEXTperts!

All of our supplement and product expertise is just a text away! Ask questions, manage your account, and place orders by texting 26756 from your mobile phone. Have a great ride!

Text us at 26756

Available Monday - Friday
7:00am - 10:00pm EST

By texting 26756, you're giving SmartPak your consent to text you to help resolve your issue, including automated replies, at the number you provided. To opt out, text STOP to 26756. Text HELP to 26756 for info. Msg&data rates may apply. Consent to receive texts not required to buy products. Terms & conditions and the full Text Message Privacy Policy can be found at https://www.smartpakequine.com/content/2waytextTC in case you're interested.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
colors available

Product Video:

Our toughest waterproof blanket yet
Find out why

Mountain Horse Polar Breech

Mountain Horse
- Item #18519
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.
We're sorry, but certain colors/sizes are sold out and are no longer available.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The Mountain Horse Polar Breech is the ultimate winter riding pant! Breathable, windproof, and waterproof makes this breech great for those cold, snowy, blustery days!

Imported.

 

Favorite Features

  • Breathable, windproof and waterproof, with fully sealed seams to lock out moisture
  • Snow gaiters in lower leg keep snow out
  • Reinforced imitation leather full seat and ergonomically shaped seat and knees for maximum comfort in the saddle
  • Full length waterproof zippers at side seams
  • Reflective piping around the knees when riding in low visibility
  • Elasticized waist with belt loops so you can wear as many layers as needed
  • Adjustable, elastic foot strap
  • Two front pockets with hand-warming micro fleece
Key Specifications
  • Breech Material: 100% Polyester
  • Type (Front Zip, Side Zip, Pull-on): Front zip
  • Rise: High rise

Specifications

Breech Material 100% Polyester
Patch or Seat Material Faux leather
Type (Front Zip, Side Zip, Pull-on) Front zip
Rise High rise
Ankle Closure Elastic foot straps
Pockets 2 Front
Insulation 100% fiberfill
Special Features Wind, waterproof, full seam-sealed, two way full length zippers on sides, faux leather full seat for grip, front pockets with hand-warming micro fleece
You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "A new offering from FITS, The Performax ™ ...
    Description:
    "A new offering from FITS, The Performax ™ Kimberly Knee Patch Zip Breech has just what you're looking for. Featuring a back yoke and euroseat styling, this breech displays a traditional sleek appearance suitable for any horse show. Front zip. ...
    "Pocket the performance of the Kerrits Polartec Power ...
    Description:
    "Pocket the performance of the Kerrits Polartec Power Stretch Breech! A classic warm winter breech for the coldest days at the barn; performance, flattering style lines, and all the snuggly comfort of your favorite sweatpants. Imported"
    "The patented design of the Cadence® Full Seat ...
    Description:
    "The patented design of the Cadence® Full Seat Breeches provides maximum support and full range of motion whether you're out on the trail or jumping cross country. Cadence® stretch-cord breeches won't chafe, thanks to their over-locked edge stitched construction. Gripper ...
    "The Issential Riding Tight is a basic tight ...
    Description:
    "The Issential Riding Tight is a basic tight that’s beyond ordinary. It is designed and patterned in the saddle for the perfect fit and ultimate comfort. With 4-way stretch, body-contouring panels, and flattering seam lines you can expect the Irideon ...
    "The strategically-placed, cleverly cut Gripstretch panels provide mid-level ...
    Description:
    "The strategically-placed, cleverly cut Gripstretch panels provide mid-level stick in a design that visually slims your backside. They’re breeches that work double time to help you ride and look your best. One of Kerrits our most popular fullseats. Imported"
    "The Kerrits Cross-Over Full Seat Breech is proof ...
    Description:
    "The Kerrits Cross-Over Full Seat Breech is proof that style and function can ride in sync. Kerrits durable Dynamic Extreme™ fabric is combined with proprietary Perforated Nubuck™, creating a full seat breech perfectly engineered for the rigors of the barn ...
    "Your seat is the key to your ride. ...
    Description:
    "Your seat is the key to your ride. Keep it cool with tights that work to bring down your skin’s temp while they wick away sweat. We put anti-slip Kerrit Sticks along the inner leg and seat, so you can ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Mountain Horse Polar Breech is rated 4.3 out of 5 by 94.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love these! I love these Mountain Horse Polar Riding breeches! They are so warm and fit over your clothes. Great cuffs and boot straps.They do run a little long but they are the best winter breeches I have found!
    Date published: 2017-01-24
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Runs small but great product Well made and warm. They run small so I did have to move up a size. I am usually a medium and even given the measurements provided which seemed big, I had to go up a size.
    Date published: 2017-01-05
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Loved these pants but.. I absolutely loved these pants. Contrary to other womens experience the fit was vreat for me. Unfortunately Mountain Horse has a quality control issue which i also experienced with the Stella boots which dont stay waterproofed. These pants only lasted one season before the zippers on the legs failed and wont stay zipped. This is so very disppointing but seems to ne a common issue with Mountain Horse. If not for this failure i would have rated these a 5
    Date published: 2016-12-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Warm Got these right before our negative temps and really bad wind chills hit. Really glad I did. I can go out to get my horse without being so frozen that I can't ride by the time I get back to the barn. Just zip them off to ride in the indoor. Would probably keep them on to ride outside, but I'm not really into freezing for no good reason.
    Date published: 2016-12-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Warm! The pants are very well made and warm. Tried them on and went outside for a bit on a cold day. Sadly, I have to return them because they are just way too long! At least 6" and as a result, pull down from waist while walking.
    Date published: 2016-12-12
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Liked the materials used but not the fit These might work if you are tall and have big thighs. Had to return. Knee area was way below my knee and the whole pant was unbelievably baggy. They seemed well made and warm and I liked the feel of the fabrics used.
    Date published: 2016-12-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I almost wish for cold & snow! It hasn't been cold or snowy enough for me to use yet, but I will say that it is extremely well made. I love its features: pockets, cuffs, high waist, reflective stripes, just to name a few. If I don't gain any weight, I know this will last me for as long as I continue to ride. Everything it advertises to be. I should add it is very warm with room for multiple layers.
    Date published: 2016-11-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent winter warmth with full seat security This is my second pair of Mountain Horse Polar Breeches. I used the first pair for many years of winter riding until the fabric began to wear thin.
    Date published: 2016-11-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great winter pants These fit a bit small so had the go up a size. A size 8-10 is a medium. Lol e these, great quality, can't wait for winter!
    Date published: 2016-11-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great improvement I have a pair of winter Mountin Horse pants and jacket from about 15 years ago. The pants from way back when are comfortable, warm and fit great. The only complaint is they were not long enough for riding purpose when put over boots.The new pair I just got is great, many improvements, love it. I read all reviews and got size small so I can wear pants underneath, otherwise I would fit into size xs.Love the way the look, fit and all the little improvements. Winter can come now !
    Date published: 2016-10-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Could not survive winter without these! This is my second pair of mountain horse winter pants. My first pair lasted about 6 years and I wear them everyday all winter long. I could not survive these freezing cold winters without them! They are warm and comfy and you can also just hop on and ride without being too baggy. Love Love Love these pants! Very excited that I got them at the end of the season for 50% off! Thank you Smartpak!
    Date published: 2016-03-11
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Sizing Chart specs not same as actual product Bought the XS Mountain Horse Polar Breech. The size chart said it would measure 29" waist/ 39" hip/ 31" inseam. I have to shorten everything so the inseam was not a critical measurement, it was the only one that matched the product! The actual waist measurement was 26" and the hip 38". Disappointed.
    Date published: 2016-02-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from nice but too long Really nice ski pant type breech. I would have loved to wear them but alas I'm short and fat and they were too long...way,way too long. The large fit fine- except for the legnth and I didn't want to go through the hassle of getting them professionally shortened. Super well made and would have been perfect for winter riding or other activities where a warm ski pant was needed. Smart Pak's return poilcy is quick, seemless and a joy to deal with.
    Date published: 2016-02-13
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from poor customer service I ordered two pair of Mountain Horse Polar Breeches, I received a invoice stating that they were in stock and being shipped the next day, when I didn't receive them I called the company, they said they were sorry but they ran out of stock and wouldn't get them back in stock until August and this is February.
    Date published: 2016-02-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Buy of the year I needed a warm pair of breeches to get me thru the winter. Saw these on sale and thought I would give them a try, Best Buy I did all year. They are warm, water proof and I go from catching horses in the snowy fields to the saddle without taking my snow pants off, love them
    Date published: 2016-02-03
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not made for woman Had to return.. Waited forever to finally get these and had to return. Large way too big,medium too small. i am a very active winter rider and need good quality warm stuff.. These didn't cut it
    Date published: 2016-02-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just what I needed! Needed a hard-core winter breech for Wisconsin Winter rides. Love the full-seat breech feature - makes is easier to train without getting cold. It has great insulation, fits well with a variety of boots, and the adjustable fitting features make for a truly comfortable fit. I am 5'2" and the XS is perfect in length! Thank you for being about the only site that carried clothing in XS!!
    Date published: 2016-01-26
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from I returned these pants today. They were comfortable and warm but the top snap on the belt popped off when I tried them on for the first time. My arthritic fingers had a difficult time with the side zippers on the pant legs. I love Mountain Horse products. These pant are just not for me.
    Date published: 2016-01-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from high quality, functional pant they were on clearance so an XL was ordered. Way too large so ended up returning them. Will definitely purchase a pair next fall.
    Date published: 2016-01-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product Instantly warm. Very comfortable. Is perfect for the extreme weather that barn areas are subjected to. Easy to clean in muddy conditions. An amazing product.
    Date published: 2016-01-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super warm Since I bought these three weeks ago, we have had nothing but snow, wind and cold. I am using the polar breech for riding, plowing, shoveling, etc, and plan to sue them for snowshoeing this winter. They are roomy without being bulky, comfortable to ride in and to work in. I am short (5'5")and was worried that they might be too long. They work out just fine. long.
    Date published: 2015-12-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great weatherproof pants I really like the features of these pants. They have snaps and adjustments in all of the right places. I find the fit difficult, but I don't think it is the fault of the pants. It is just because I have an "oversized" waist and hips and relatively short legs. They are relatively straight cut and just not really great for my body type! I originally got a large, thinking I would wear it over other clothes, but they were way too long. I got the medium, and the length is much better, but the waist and thigh area is a bit tight, making it almost impossible to mount from the ground. But, overall, as advertised and will definitely give me more motivation to lose the weight I need to to fit into them a bit better!
    Date published: 2015-12-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Mountain Horse Polar Breech Really nice winter riding pants. After reading numerous reviews about sizing, it helped to make my decision based on weight & height of the reviews I had read. I purchased a size small and am happy with the fit. I'm 5'3" in height & 125 lbs. the length is good when on horse as it keeps boots protected from bad weather. My waist is small so the waistband fits fine, but I will not be able to wear jeans under these pants, I can however wear eng. breeches under them or a liner pant.
    Date published: 2015-11-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love these pants. These pants keep me warm and are comfortable to ride in.
    Date published: 2015-11-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for keeping warm I bought these as a replacement for a previous pair bought through another retailer. They were out of stock and I NEEDED these to cope with the cold Wisconsin winter. Have only had this pair a month, but had my previous pair all winter and I LOVE them. Since I am only 5'2", length is always an issue for me, but they fit great everywhere else, and the length isn't as bad as some things. I have some back issues that do not respond well to cold, and these pants made it possible for me to deal with the below zero temperatures and even colder wind chills we had in WI this winter.
    Date published: 2015-03-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Sleek design I purchased this breech in a small and xtra small. The small was too big and the xtra small is a tiny bit snug. I selected to go with the xtra small and will just need to stay trim. I am 5'5" and 116 lbs with a 27 inch waist and 36 inch hips and 31 inch inseam. So, the xtra small is a little bit too snug and a little shorter than I want but, the small was just too big. I would like if this breech came in differing lengths such as xtra small short, xtra small regular and xtra small tall. Otherwise, very nice design on this product.
    Date published: 2015-03-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from I purchased these breeches a month ago and have been completely satisfied with quality and style. They keep me comfortably warm in this harsh New England winter. My only issue is that the legs are a bit long (and I'm 5'7"). Otherwise the fit was perfect for me.
    Date published: 2015-02-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Breech Got these as a gift for my horseback rider boyfriend and he loves them. Great quality, true to size and looking great too. I definitely recommend.
    Date published: 2015-02-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Order 1 size up - super warm! So I typically wear 32 in men's pants, but I could not get the small around my waist. The medium is snug, but definitely works. I am 5'8 and have a 28" natural waist! MH really needs to fix the size chart. I would almost consider the large since you do need to leave room for pants underneath.As a product, I can't rave about them enough. They are toasty warm, and I love that they zip all the way off! These are a must-have for the year-round instructors out there, and perfect for winter trail riding.
    Date published: 2015-02-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Looking! I love the fit of these pants -- they are long enough for someone with long legs. I also like the fact that they have belt loops and adjustable snaps at the waist. The pants are well designed to keep the snow out and are comfortable for riding and working around the barn. They do run small though, so I suggest ordering a size up.
    Date published: 2015-02-03
    • y_2017, m_4, d_23, h_23
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_3, tr_91
    • loc_en_US, sid_8519, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders