Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Review Snapshot

Mountain Horse Polar Breech

Mountain Horse
- Item #18519
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for SmartPerks FREE SHIPPING. (Find out why)
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75. Have a question? Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime! Applies to eligible items as long as you have active SmartPaks over $40 for at least one horse.

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.
We're sorry, but certain colors/sizes are sold out and are no longer available.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The Mountain Horse Polar Breech is the ultimate winter riding pant! Breathable, windproof, and waterproof makes this breech great for those cold, snowy, blustery days!


  Imported.

Favorite Features

  • Breathable, windproof and waterproof, with fully sealed seams to lock out moisture
  • Snow gaiters in lower leg keep snow out
  • Reinforced imitation leather full seat and ergonomically shaped seat and knees for maximum comfort in the saddle
  • Full length waterproof zippers at side seams
  • Reflective piping around the knees when riding in low visibility
  • Elasticized waist with belt loops so you can wear as many layers as needed
  • Adjustable, elastic foot strap
  • Two front pockets with hand-warming micro fleece

    Sizing It Up

    You Might Like
      Customers Also Shopped For
      With its super cozy and warm faux fur ...
      Description:
      With its super cozy and warm faux fur lining, the Active Winter Rider Boot is sure to keep you warm on your coldest riding days! Favorite Features Warm faux fur lining YKK Vislon side-fitted zipper is strong and durable to ...
      The Cavallo Champion-S Winter Soft Shell Full Seat ...
      Description:
      The Cavallo Champion-S Winter Soft Shell Full Seat Breeches are sure to be your new favorite winter wonder breeches that hide your flaws, flatter your figure, and keep you warm in the cool weather! Favorite Features Water-repellent soft shell outer ...
      The Mountain Horse Ice Rider Tall Boot has ...
      Description:
      The Mountain Horse Ice Rider Tall Boot has a tall, sleek look and elegant features. Upper boot is made from strong Duralon&trade with heat insulating Thermolite lining to keep your legs warm. Durable elastic material inserts along calf area for ...
      out of 5
      87% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
      Tell us what you think!

      SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

      • Review 0
      • Votes 0
      • Discipline:
      • Expertise:
      • Product
        Experience:
      • Competitor:
      Quality
      Value
      Palatability

      Helpful?

      Mountain Horse Polar Breech is rated 4.3797 out of 5 by 79.
      Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not made for woman Had to return.. Waited forever to finally get these and had to return. Large way too big,medium too small. i am a very active winter rider and need good quality warm stuff.. These didn't cut it
      Date published: 2016-02-01
      Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just what I needed! Needed a hard-core winter breech for Wisconsin Winter rides. Love the full-seat breech feature - makes is easier to train without getting cold. It has great insulation, fits well with a variety of boots, and the adjustable fitting features make for a truly comfortable fit. I am 5'2" and the XS is perfect in length! Thank you for being about the only site that carried clothing in XS!!
      Date published: 2016-01-26
      Rated 3 out of 5 by from I returned these pants today. They were comfortable and warm but the top snap on the belt popped off when I tried them on for the first time. My arthritic fingers had a difficult time with the side zippers on the pant legs. I love Mountain Horse products. These pant are just not for me.
      Date published: 2016-01-26
      Rated 4 out of 5 by from high quality, functional pant they were on clearance so an XL was ordered. Way too large so ended up returning them. Will definitely purchase a pair next fall.
      Date published: 2016-01-18
      Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product Instantly warm. Very comfortable. Is perfect for the extreme weather that barn areas are subjected to. Easy to clean in muddy conditions. An amazing product.
      Date published: 2016-01-05
      Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super warm Since I bought these three weeks ago, we have had nothing but snow, wind and cold. I am using the polar breech for riding, plowing, shoveling, etc, and plan to sue them for snowshoeing this winter. They are roomy without being bulky, comfortable to ride in and to work in. I am short (5'5")and was worried that they might be too long. They work out just fine. long.
      Date published: 2015-12-22
      Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great weatherproof pants I really like the features of these pants. They have snaps and adjustments in all of the right places. I find the fit difficult, but I don't think it is the fault of the pants. It is just because I have an "oversized" waist and hips and relatively short legs. They are relatively straight cut and just not really great for my body type! I originally got a large, thinking I would wear it over other clothes, but they were way too long. I got the medium, and the length is much better, but the waist and thigh area is a bit tight, making it almost impossible to mount from the ground. But, overall, as advertised and will definitely give me more motivation to lose the weight I need to to fit into them a bit better!
      Date published: 2015-12-22
      Rated 5 out of 5 by from Mountain Horse Polar Breech Really nice winter riding pants. After reading numerous reviews about sizing, it helped to make my decision based on weight & height of the reviews I had read. I purchased a size small and am happy with the fit. I'm 5'3" in height & 125 lbs. the length is good when on horse as it keeps boots protected from bad weather. My waist is small so the waistband fits fine, but I will not be able to wear jeans under these pants, I can however wear eng. breeches under them or a liner pant.
      Date published: 2015-11-10
      Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love these pants. These pants keep me warm and are comfortable to ride in.
      Date published: 2015-11-09
      Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for keeping warm I bought these as a replacement for a previous pair bought through another retailer. They were out of stock and I NEEDED these to cope with the cold Wisconsin winter. Have only had this pair a month, but had my previous pair all winter and I LOVE them. Since I am only 5'2", length is always an issue for me, but they fit great everywhere else, and the length isn't as bad as some things. I have some back issues that do not respond well to cold, and these pants made it possible for me to deal with the below zero temperatures and even colder wind chills we had in WI this winter.
      Date published: 2015-03-09
      Rated 4 out of 5 by from Sleek design I purchased this breech in a small and xtra small. The small was too big and the xtra small is a tiny bit snug. I selected to go with the xtra small and will just need to stay trim. I am 5'5" and 116 lbs with a 27 inch waist and 36 inch hips and 31 inch inseam. So, the xtra small is a little bit too snug and a little shorter than I want but, the small was just too big. I would like if this breech came in differing lengths such as xtra small short, xtra small regular and xtra small tall. Otherwise, very nice design on this product.
      Date published: 2015-03-07
      Rated 4 out of 5 by from I purchased these breeches a month ago and have been completely satisfied with quality and style. They keep me comfortably warm in this harsh New England winter. My only issue is that the legs are a bit long (and I'm 5'7"). Otherwise the fit was perfect for me.
      Date published: 2015-02-10
      Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Breech Got these as a gift for my horseback rider boyfriend and he loves them. Great quality, true to size and looking great too. I definitely recommend.
      Date published: 2015-02-09
      Rated 5 out of 5 by from Order 1 size up - super warm! So I typically wear 32 in men's pants, but I could not get the small around my waist. The medium is snug, but definitely works. I am 5'8 and have a 28" natural waist! MH really needs to fix the size chart. I would almost consider the large since you do need to leave room for pants underneath.As a product, I can't rave about them enough. They are toasty warm, and I love that they zip all the way off! These are a must-have for the year-round instructors out there, and perfect for winter trail riding.
      Date published: 2015-02-05
      Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Looking! I love the fit of these pants -- they are long enough for someone with long legs. I also like the fact that they have belt loops and adjustable snaps at the waist. The pants are well designed to keep the snow out and are comfortable for riding and working around the barn. They do run small though, so I suggest ordering a size up.
      Date published: 2015-02-03
      Rated 5 out of 5 by from Spendy but worth it. I like the level of protection from the cold and snow/rain these breeches provide. They do tend to ride down a bit on the waist when your walking and climbing around, but are otherwise comfortable.
      Date published: 2015-01-28
      Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great body fit, long legs I'm 5'4" and 130 pounds. I carry my weight proportionally. The body fit is outstanding and the warmth definitely able to handle a Bozeman, MT winter. I did find the legs were considerably too long, but as with everything, if that's all I have to deal with, it's not a problem. Style isn't my problem. Warmth is.
      Date published: 2015-01-27
      Rated 2 out of 5 by from Did not fit me well. These did not fit me well at all, the waist was fine while standing, but there was no give when I sat, making them very uncomfortable. The hips were quite large, making them bunch up and baggy in the seat, I returned them. I can't rate them on durability, I only had them long enough to try them on.
      Date published: 2015-01-21
      Rated 4 out of 5 by from Mountain Horse Polar Breeches Riding in temperatures/wind chill below 40 deg. was never something I enjoyed. The pants could be warm enough, but the fit for riding would be bad. Good fitting breeches were thin and didn't keep my legs warm. I was skeptical that there could be winter riding pants that were both warm and good to ride in, but after my wife praised the Mountain Horse Polar Breeches I thought I would give them a try. She was right. The size runs small both in waist and length.
      Date published: 2015-01-12
      Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good riding pants Bought these for my wife but found they fit me much better. She's 5'8" , I'm 6'1". She's disappointed but, I'm happy. They are a comfortable, non bulky , quieter alternative to other winter over-pants.
      Date published: 2015-01-08
      Rated 3 out of 5 by from Can't trust size chart! As far as keeping you warm there great but finding the size that fits is another story. They are unisex which I don't like to start with since men and women aren't built the same. I bought an xs pair for a friend who wears a jean size of 4 to 6 and they wouldn't go over her hips, they were listed for a 29" waist so they should have fit and she should have had room for jeans underneath. This is a tall and slender woman. She ended up getting the medium that I had ordered for me. I wear a size 8 to 10 and the medium was to small in the waist which going by the waist chart I should have been more than good just like she should have been. Were both somewhat tall, she is 5' 8" and I am 5' 7". I am now waiting to get a larger and see if they fit. Here's hoping they work since they are correct about keeping you warm on those bitter cold days
      Date published: 2015-01-07
      Rated 5 out of 5 by from they are warm! these are great outdoor pants, many good features. the one thing I would be careful of is the sizing, they seem to run small around the waist. you can adjust them to an extent but I would either go up a size or talk to someone in customer service to make sure you get what you need. once I got ones that fit, I couldn't be happier.
      Date published: 2014-12-26
      Rated 5 out of 5 by from Everything that was said to be. Very warm, have only worn them a couple of times. Very comfortable
      Date published: 2014-12-23
      Rated 5 out of 5 by from Warm & comfortable I slip these polar breeches over my jeans (I ride western- cow horses) & finally I can stay warm riding in cold weather. Several of my western riding friends have purchased a pair as well.I love them!!
      Date published: 2014-12-16
      Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nice product These are nice pants but run small. I could not wear my jeans under them and be comfortable.
      Date published: 2014-12-08
      Rated 4 out of 5 by from great quality Bought these for my sister. When they arrived I tried them out. Love the breathability and material. Putting on my list for Santa!
      Date published: 2014-11-24
      Rated 4 out of 5 by from Ready for winter! I recently bought a pair of a Mountain Horse Polar breeches in time to test them out on very chilly day. I would normally have ordered a medium, but based on reviews I ordered the small. I am 5' 6" and 132lbs and they fit well. I would have room to add another thermal layer, but not enough room for jeans. I love the articulated knees and the versatile zippers...very handy! I only have one complaint. On a 4 hour trail ride I had trouble with the seam intersection of the quilted lining...painful! I cannot imagine why there is not a gussetted crotch. Is it because they are unisex and men don't have this problem? Fortunately I sew and I am planning to redesign that area. If successful the polar breeches will be perfect! They are otherwise beautifully designed and so well thought out.
      Date published: 2014-10-21
      Rated 4 out of 5 by from Tried the large. Way too big. Tried small. Couldn't zip. Tried med. length good. Tight in hips. Can wear so will keep for winter. Hate unisex sizing. Made for man. Come on Mountain Horse. Make clothes for both sex. 5'8"150lbd
      Date published: 2014-10-21
      Rated 5 out of 5 by from Why didn't I buy these sooner????!!! Safe to say that these have changed my barn life this winter. Mountain Horse's designers are geniuses. These pants keep me so warm and the full seat enables me to ride and feel comfortable in the coldest temperatures. Great gators to keep the snow out. Zippers where you never thought you even needed zippers (but they're so useful!), water repellant material, well-placed pockets…. I could go on. I am 5'6", 115 lbs and 26" waist and got the XS. They JUST fit -- but fit me perfectly. Together with my Mountain Horse Nordic Light boots and my 8-year-old Mountain Horse jacket, I am warm and happy!
      Date published: 2014-02-11
      Rated 5 out of 5 by from These are great! These pants are perfect in the cold weather we've been having. They keep me warm in below zero temps. I ordered a small and they fit well and are comfortable for riding. A little long for me but most things usually are as I'm 5'1". They are holding up well and after a wash they look like new! I am very impressed with the quality and fit and in my opinion are good value for the price.
      Date published: 2014-02-10
      • 2016-05-02T15:34CST
      • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.2.0
      • cp_2, bvpage2n
      • co_hasreviews, tv_3, tr_76
      • loc_en_US, sid_8519, PRD, sort_mostRecent
      • clientName_SmartPak
      Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders