Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Review Snapshot

Mosquito Halt

Farnam Companies, Inc.
- Item #11540

 

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Protect your horse from mosquitos and other annoying insects with Mosquito Halt.  Contains two insecticides and two repellents for use on horses for residual control of mosquitoes, gnats, face flies, stable flies, house flies, mites, chiggers, and lice.

Favorite Features

  • Kills and repels mosquitoes as well as gnats, face flies, stable flies, house flies, mites, chiggers, and lice
  • Active ingredients include Permethrin for quick knock down and residual control
  • Includes sunscreen for protection against harmful UV rays
  • Superior spray bottle is leak proof with an easy to hand, ergonomic design

View Product Label

Due to federal regulations, we are unable to offer expedited shipping, or ship to Alaska and Hawaii for this product. Please note this item may ship separately from your order. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience.

You Might Like
    out of 5
    94% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Mosquito Halt is rated 4.6763 out of 5 by 139.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great flyspray Works on all the annoying flying critters in Nor California, although needs to be reapplied everyday if not more often. I've never had a horse have a reaction to it, or had it irritate my skin or nose.
    Date published: 2015-08-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best all around fly spray I live in Florida where the mosquitos can be really bad. I originally bought this fly spray for that reason. What I found was it is a great all around fly spray. I hate when I spray the horses and the flies still land on them like they are mocking me! I've tried a lot of the other fly sprays, but, in the summer in Florida, this is the one I use.
    Date published: 2015-08-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simply the best! I have been using this product for several years, it is aggressive and the most effective I have found. It has a strong smell, so use it in a well ventilated area. It will sting if your horses have open cuts, but what doesn't?I order it as a combo pack, I get 4 spray bottles and a gallon. 1 for the trailer, 1 for the shows, 2 for the barn. NEVER want to be without it.
    Date published: 2015-08-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Mosquito Halt Seems to be the only thing that works on my sensitive OTTB
    Date published: 2015-08-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Stuff against mosquitos! Though the desert area around Phoenix, AZ does not get an abundance of mosqitoes, they are quite vicious during monsoon season.....this stuff seemsto be the best of all I've tried.....buy it every year.
    Date published: 2015-07-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2015-07-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Stuff! Started buying this after it was recommended by my farrier. It's great! SmartPak sends the bottles in shrink wrap so there is no risk of leaking and wasted product.
    Date published: 2015-07-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really works! I had tried another product with little relief for my horse. This works
    Date published: 2015-07-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best fly spray ever! This is the only spray I will use. Won't go to a show without it!
    Date published: 2015-07-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome product The flies and especially mosquitoes are horrible on my property this year to the point where my one mare didn't even like going outside. As soon as the the mosquito halt hits her she gets instant relief. Highly recommend this product, and love the super fast shipping!
    Date published: 2015-07-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent for Mosquitos, Flies, and Ticks I have been using this fly spray twice a week from March to November for over 5 years and in addition to being a great mosquito and fly repellent none of my horses have gotten Lyme disease, nor do they get tick bites, like they did previously.
    Date published: 2015-07-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Seems To Work Well.. While this is a mid priced product - it seems to work as well as any others in this category. However the smell of it is not very good...may not purchase again due to smell alone...
    Date published: 2015-07-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great, nice smell Works really well and it doesn't have a harsh chemical smell; it actually smells really nice
    Date published: 2015-07-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice aroma The past 6 years we have had a drought in Texas. Due to the excessive rainfall this year, we have more than normal mosquito problems. Decided to try Mosquito Halt. It has a pleasant aroma and seems to do a good job. Wish they made a "people" version.We usually use Bite Free as it is the only product strong enough to last more than a couple of hours. However, this year we will also use the Mosquito Halt.
    Date published: 2015-07-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Actually works I looked up the reviews on fly sprays and this one was rated very high. here in Florida our sprays get really tested and over the years I have tried a lot of products. This one really works well and the pleasant smell is a bonus!
    Date published: 2015-06-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Consistent Results I have used this product in several locations of Texas and Colorado. It has been my "go to" mosquito spray for years.
    Date published: 2015-06-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great my horse is really scared of any type of sprays and he really like this bc its a quiet sound and he is very sensitive to flies
    Date published: 2015-06-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from does the job My sister loves this spray. I tried it and find it does the job. None of the fly sprays last as long as the label's say. Usually have to reapply every day or night.
    Date published: 2015-06-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this fly spray I bought this for the first time 2 years ago. Now it's the fly spray I trust with my fly sensitive thoroughbred.
    Date published: 2015-06-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Mosquito Halt I have been using this product for several years now and have found it is the only spray that works! Works on flies as well as mosquito's and other bugs. And it smells nice.
    Date published: 2015-06-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love it Second year using it find it to work well and be a good value
    Date published: 2015-06-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Best sweat resistant I've been using this product for years and am sticking with it. It has been the best for my good-sweating horse here in SW Florida when the days heat up and the mosquitoes come out. It has a pleasant scent, and the spray bottle is a good one, which are both just plusses.
    Date published: 2015-05-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Truly works against mosquitoes and stomach mites I have been using this for several summers now. Fly spray does NOT keep mosquitoes off in my experience. I hate seeing them covering my Arab's belly and neck! This spray keeps them off, and manages to smell good at the same time. It also works against the mites that can irritate the belly! Other horses in the field have mite bumps, but not my guy!
    Date published: 2015-05-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Mosquito Repellent This is a great product for repelling mosquitoes. However, the smell is incredibly strong. I do worry the chemicals are too harsh for my horse. I am looking for alternative mosquito sprays.
    Date published: 2015-04-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Insect Repellant I keep plenty of mosquito halt on hand. Long lasting, effective and doesn't gag you with the smell.
    Date published: 2015-03-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from my preferred product in Florida With mosquitos in abundance here in Florida, it's hard to find a product that seems to work. I like this one.
    Date published: 2015-02-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of the best fly sprays out there! We have lots of bugs. Every imaginable type of biting fly, with mosquitos and deerflies being particularly aggressive and high-volume. This is the only fly spray I've found that seems to be relatively effective; it is also moderately priced in the fly spray market, which makes it even better. I purchase by the gallon!
    Date published: 2015-01-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Does The Job! I have been using Mosquito Halt for more than two years now on my two geldings that are turned out 24/7 and trail ridden. Works very well. Here in the warm buggy south, I apply it daily during fly season. It protects them for about 24 hours.
    Date published: 2014-12-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Kills Flies Instantly Living in Florida is a constant struggle against bugs and this does work. I bought this for my horse that goes out at night and was getting eaten alive by mosquitos. Since getting this I've noticed a lot less bug bites on his neck. This also kills those annoying tiny black flies that bite and stick to the horses. It doesn't last as long as it claims to but I don't expect fly spray to work longer than a few hours in Florida.
    Date published: 2014-10-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Fly Spray I live in a big mosquito area in the NE and this is the best repellent I've found. It is also great on my sensitive skinned horse that breaks out with human mosquito repellents.
    Date published: 2014-09-24
    • 2016-02-08T14:13CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_10, tr_129
    • loc_en_US, sid_1540, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Mollie and Eden
    I started riding when I was 9 years old and quickly got swept up into the competitive hunter/jumper world. I showed my first pony, Chloe, in the Small Pony Hunter divisions were we competed at shows like Fairfield Hunt Club, Old Salem, HITS, and West...

    Learn more »

    SmartPak Barn Field Trip, Part 2: Decoding hay and grain for horses
    Download the worksheet to test your knowledge! How much hay and grain does your horse get every day? How much SHOULD your horse be getting each day? Many horses may not be getting what your feed bag recommends, so we’re

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-800-461-8898.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.