Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Review Snapshot

Melp - 250 ml

EA Mattes
- Item #11862
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING


Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Melp contains regreasing properties ideal for sheepskin products, washable leather, and wool. Melp is highly recommended for extending the life and quality of Mattes sheepskin products.

Favorite Features

  • Specially formulated for lamb and sheepskins
  • Restores the natural properties
  • Highly concentrated
  • Bio-degradable

Made in Poland

Sizing It Up

250 ml

Customers Also Shopped For
Clinically demonstrated to promote relaxation and improve back ...
Description:
Clinically demonstrated to promote relaxation and improve back flexibility, theSoft and pliable Equilibrium Massage Pad is designed to provide effective, easy to use, affordable therapy for horses and ponies. Each massage session lasts for 30 minutes, using strokes, vibrations and ...
The VenTech Elite Sports Medicine Boot is the ...
Description:
The VenTech Elite Sports Medicine Boot is the standard for equine comfort with all the premium features you expect from a Professional's Choice product. The exclusive VenTech technology is lightweight and multi-layered with a ventilated, limestone-basedNeoprene exterior and UltraShock lining. ...
The Relentless Strikeforce No-Turn Bell Boots takes overreachProtection ...
Description:
The Relentless Strikeforce No-Turn Bell Boots takes overreachProtection to the next level! This superior boot combines technology with savvy design to provide serious overreachProtection. In addition to the toughest strike plate, cutting edge materials help reduce "rebound," the tendency for ...
The Kensington Fly Masks with Removable Nose features ...
Description:
The Kensington Fly Masks with Removable Nose features double fastening VELCRO Brand closure withHeavy elastic neck strap for safety and double eye darts for maximum room in the eye area. Favorite Features Full mesh coverage of the ears, lined with ...
Back on Track products utilize a state-of-the-art fabric ...
Description:
Back on Track products utilize a state-of-the-art fabric infused with ceramic powder, to reflect the horse's own body-warmth to create a soothing far infrared thermal heat, which can help alleviate discomfort associated with inflamed muscles, ligaments, tendons and joints and ...
The Back on Track Therapeutic Hock Wraps use ...
Description:
The Back on Track Therapeutic Hock Wraps use state-of-the-art fabric which contains polyester thread embedded with a fine ceramic powder. Designed to reflect the horse's own body-warmth, it creates a soothing far infrared thermal heat, which can help alleviate pain ...
The Professional's Choice Ballistic Overreach Bell Boots provides ...
Description:
The Professional's Choice Ballistic Overreach Bell Boots provides ultimateProtection with a reinforced Pro Mesh strike area. Pro Mesh material is rip-stop, durable, and will not hold water. UltraShock lining absorbs shock andProtects the vital areas of the hoof while theSoft, ...
out of 5
88% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
    Experience:
  • Competitor:
Quality
Value
Palatability

Helpful?

Melp - 250 ml is rated 4.568627450980392 out of 5 by 51.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from used it for years I have used this product for the life of a pad I have had for over 10 years and the pad looks like a gently used new pad.
Date published: 2014-10-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gets the sweat out Wonderful for washing cover for Mattes girth and getting the sweat out and leaves it fluffy.
Date published: 2014-10-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Revitalizes Sheepskin! I am glad to finally have something that I can safely clean my sheepskin products with.
Date published: 2014-09-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good on sheepskin, Horrid on other fabrics Read all previous reviews so thought I'd give it a try. Great on the actual sheepskin, but didn't come even close to cleaning the pad around it. Does what it says for sheepskin but don't even think it will get anything else clean too. Lots of high quality products available that do a much better job (unless you have only sheepskin and absolutely nothing else)
Date published: 2014-07-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Makes sheepskin look brand new again I used this for the first time on a half pad that I admittedly have only washed once, with regular detergent (it dried out and shrank a little so wasn't encouraged to wash again).. I used Melp in lukewarm water/agitation washer and it looks brand new again -- fluffy, clean, with even pile, no shrinkage.I also have a pair of Ugg sheepskin-lined slippers that were looking pretty ratty. They are black suede on the outside, and I was afraid of the dye bleeding all over the sheepskin...but they were at the point where they were almost too gross to wear, so I took the risk. With Melp and cold water, they came out as fluffy, if not more so than when I got them 2+ years ago, and no bleed or fade on the suede. This stuff is fabulous!BTW the bottle does give directions: use 50-75 ml per washing, depending on how dirty the item is. I didn't have a metric measuring tool so I eyeballed 1/5 of the bottle per wash -- the bottle is 250 ml. So, figure five washings per bottle -- not cheap, but worth it to preserve valuable items.
Date published: 2014-05-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great I had used something else to was my sheepskin saddle pad when it dried it was so stiff, so I tried this product, brought it back to the nice soft saddle pad I had. I will never used anything else
Date published: 2014-03-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for fleece, not so much for quilt The soap worked great on my fleece lined mattes pad. The fleece is fluffed back up and very clean. However the quilt did not come very clean at all.
Date published: 2014-02-04
Rated 1 out of 5 by from No instructions! I bought this product to wash my brandnew Mattes halfpad. The bottle has NO instructions on how to use it (how much detergent to use). Also, my washer is a new one and requires high efficiency detergent, and I don't know if I can even use this product.
Date published: 2013-07-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works Well I bought this because it is what the Mattes folks recommend you use to wash their sheepskin pads. The pad washed very nicely in my machine with Melp, although it is kind of stinky to use. Once the pad dries, the smell goes away and my washing machine was fine with the next load of wash - no residual odor. The pads are expensive, so I am going to continue to use this product as it is what the manufacturer recommends and (other than the temporary smell) it does a nice job.
Date published: 2013-07-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Cleaning Aid I got this for my custom Mattes pad that I was scared to wash without it. I hadn't washed the pad in over a year (only used at shows, maybe 8 times), and the first time got the pad extremely clean. I cannot speak to if it is any different than Woolite or something cheaper, but if you have something as expensive as a Mattes, it's a definite buy!
Date published: 2013-03-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for sheepskin This product totally restored my Mattes pad that I thought was doomed. It feels softer and fluffier than when I first bought it! I didn't do much for the saddle stains on top, but that wasn't my primary concern. Great stuff.
Date published: 2013-02-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Keeps my mattes fleece pad clean and in great shape!
Date published: 2012-10-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from First time user, WOW I was reluctant to wash my sheepskin pad; with anything due to its cost. After, Melp was recommended, I tried it with trepidation. WOW! This stuff is great, it only takes a small amount and my very grungy sheepskin looks like new!
Date published: 2012-10-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A Great Purchase On My Part But... Melp was great but it was really expensive for what its worth like it works but its not finaminal you know im saying but I would still recommend it anyway
Date published: 2012-10-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works Well Tried this on an old sheepskin half pad that was very flat and dirty. Washed it in a front loader machine on "handwash" cycle, using the amount of Melp recommended on the bottle. The half-pad came out clean and fluffy. It's still old though, don't expect miracles. I air-dried the pad which took several days. If you're washing a pad for a show or clinic, be sure to leave enough time for it to dry. Very happy with the results for an old pad.
Date published: 2012-08-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Cleans Wool, not Pad The sheepskin comes out of the wash just beautiful but the pad itself is still dirty. I have tried spraying the pad first but it still dirty. I think shampoo might work better -- and its cheaper.
Date published: 2012-04-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for sheepskin pads Just used it for the first time on a sheepskin saddle pad. Cleaned well, and seems to have softened the leather.
Date published: 2012-03-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Melp is great I had a sheepskin half pad that looked ready for the garbage and I was lamenting the money I'd have to spend to replace it, and got the melp on a whim. It worked great! My pad looks nearly good as new and is fluffy and full, instead of filthy and flat as a pancake.
Date published: 2011-12-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works as Advertised Works well in the washing machine, on both my Mattes and Fleeceworks pads. Didn't quite get all the stains out, but I wouldn't expect such a gentle detergent to do so. The bottle lasts a while, I have done 3 washes so far, and still have over half the bottle remaining. Well worth it!
Date published: 2011-11-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A must for Mattes My Mattes pad looks and feel great after many washes with Melp. This producct does not remove stains...but it fluffs and cleans the sheep skin.
Date published: 2011-10-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Did what I wanted it to!! Bought this as an experiment to see if I could recover an extremely dirty Beval sheepskin / felt therapeutic saddle pad that had been lying around in the tack room at our barn. I washed it in the washing machine with MELP (on cold); let it dry for 3 days (!!); and lo and behold, a clean pad.The only damage from washing was that I needed to replace some of the stitching that held the fleece to the felt pad (and that may been damaged before it was washed).
Date published: 2011-10-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from For any Sheepskin product Toss some in the washer put on gentle cycle and you are good to go!
Date published: 2011-09-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Cleaner This is the only product I use on my sheepskin saddle pads. It does an amazing job and keeps everything looking and feeling like new!
Date published: 2011-07-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product I've used this product only on sheepskin pads and throws. It brings back to the fluff and seems to clean it without drying the skin better than other products I've tried for wool.
Date published: 2011-06-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from melp it worked pretty good, the saddle pads are not new again but clean
Date published: 2011-05-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great Used to clean my older Mattes pad and it worked very well. My pad looks like new, soft and fluffy!
Date published: 2011-04-01
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Probably will not buy again This is a very small bottle for the price. After washing my sheepskin pads with the melp, I didn't think the result was that great. The pads were still dirty, and still smelled like horse sweat! :) I wasn't overly impressed with this product.
Date published: 2011-03-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from i wash saddle pads and breeches with this product to lengthen their lives
Date published: 2011-01-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this stuff! I have a white horse so I get white fleece pads and boots. This detergant gets ALL the dirt and grime off everything and leaves the fleece looking extremely nice! I use it on all my fleece products too, not just Mattes.
Date published: 2010-12-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth Every Penny For years I resisted buying Melp, thinking that it was a gimmick. I was finally tired of buying a new pad every single show season, since they didn't look very nice after a season of shows. I purchased Melp a few weeks ago - thinking that $10 was definitely worth trying as an alternative to buying yet another $200+ pad - and it brought some of my pads back to life! Took out the yellow tinge and softened the fibers again. Definitely buy Melp if you buy any real sheepskin pad.
Date published: 2010-09-09
  • 2016-08-31T11:18CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.3.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_6, tr_45
  • loc_en_US, sid_1862, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders