Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Colors and Styles

Mattes Half Pad with Rear Trim- All Purpose

EA Mattes
- Item #17281
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer. That means this item isn't eligible for additional discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The Mattes Half Pad with Rear Trim holds your saddle in place, is breathable and moisture wicking, and can be used over a baby pad or by itself. Provides cushioning and protection for your horse's back and can aid in saddle fit.

Favorite Features

  • Billet strap with self VELCRO® brand closure.
  • Luxurious fleece lining
  • Available in White or Custom Colors

Please note: For custom colors, MATTES does not recommend a light quilt with a dark sheepskin, as the sheepskin may bleed onto the quilt

Melp is specially formulated and contains regreasing properties ideal for sheepskin products, washable leather and wool. Highly recommended for extending the life and quality of Mattes sheepskin products.

Sizing It Up

Medium – 17” (20½” w/Fleece) 
Large – 19” (22½” Spine w/Fleece) 

A note regarding the fit of this pad: The back of your saddle should not sit on the rear fleece trim.


You Might Like
    out of 5
    94% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Mattes Half Pad with Rear Trim- All Purpose is rated 4.6667 out of 5 by 18.
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Mattes Not impressed. My horse does need a good half pad due to old injuries, but I've gotten better protection from ones half the cost. The pad was beautiful and felt good quality, if that's what your going for. If your horse really needs the protection, I would look elsewhere. Ecogold is my favorite (the half pad that Smartpak doesn't carry, but should!!!) and Thinline is great too.
    Date published: 2012-11-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from luxary pad My mare loves this pad...so this was the goal for me. Have used it w/ and without a full pad underneath. It's a very thick soft wool that drys quickly and gives great cushion. Was a high ticket item for me but is a quality pad that will no doubt last for years while giving my mare comfort under saddle.
    Date published: 2012-06-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great! The pad was great! I loved Smartpak's quick shipping and all my stuff arrived at the same time. I have a boney TB who needs some extra back cushion, so I used this pad over one of Smartpak's medium diamond saddle pads and the difference was phenominal. He was much more easy going and I could tell the pad was great. I put 4 for the value stars, because obviously it's slightly expensive. I think it's worth it though. I can't comment on the durability as it's only been two rides, but it looks as if it will hold up. It's so good looking too! I got so many compliments and so many people saying that they wish they had one! Plus the sheepskins very soft. :)
    Date published: 2012-03-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from nice pad Fleece is not quite as nice as I hoped and expected otherwise nice pad. Can't say much for durability as I have only used it for two circuits and has not yet been washed. The med fit my 17" butet perfectly.
    Date published: 2012-01-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Investment I bought this pad for my TB 18 months ago a use it every time I ride (4-6x a week), it has truely impressed me with the minimal wear it has sustained; the white has picked up a bit of the brown from my saddle. The fleece is still as fluffy and soft as when I bought it and has not compressed from use or laundering. It gives enough cushioning to make my horse confortable as well as making it easier to find that perfect fit on most horses (I have not personally ever had a problem with it helping a saddle fit a horse but I am sure it happens).My only regret, I didn't get the correction version. I will be purchasing the Mattes Hunter pad when I need a new show pad.
    Date published: 2011-12-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice pad My horse seems very happy with this pad. It's cushy and leaves plenty of room for his withers.
    Date published: 2011-10-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy care This pad is worth the money. Easy to clean and is a perfect fit for my big warmblood and saddle!
    Date published: 2011-09-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful, worth the price This is a great product. My saddle fitter recomended it to me. I purchased a new horse and my saddle was a hair too wide. She reccomended this to me as it is the only half-pad on the market with a break in the fleece to prevent pressure on the spine and give the horse maximum comfort. Its also just really soft and pretty haha! I have a 17hh TB and the large size fit him.
    Date published: 2011-01-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Won't ride without it! I bought this pad (along with a Thinline pad) two years ago. I began using them together, and have noticed a HUGE difference in the way my horse moves. I do not know how much of the change is due to the Mattes pad, but I like it so much that I never ride without it. I even bought a second one for schooling! I use my schooling pad about 5 days per week with a square pad underneath. At shows I use both pads directly against the skin, which means they get sweaty. Despite heavy use, they have held up extremely well, and I will always use them!
    Date published: 2010-12-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Holds up nicely to frequent use and washings It has been a year since I purchased this pad and it's still holding up well. I've thrown it in the washing machine several times and the sheepskin still maintains good form (always AIR dry -- no heat in the dryer!). When I first got the pad the sheepskin was REALLY fluffy and it looked like my saddle was strangling a sheep. Over time, though, the fluffiness calmed down and it looks just fine. The description didn't mention this is an open-spine type of pad. No major complaints with this pad except I noticed the stitching on one section of the spine has come undone. It could be because I've washed this pad so many times. The medium is a good fit for my 16.5 saddle. Would purchase product again when my current pad needs to be replaced.
    Date published: 2010-07-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Might not be able to live without it after this... I've used quite a few other brands of half pads, refusing to buy into the "Mattes is better" theory. Even though some of the pads I used were more expensive than the Mattes, they just haven't held up in the same way. I've used mine for over 2 mos, riding 5-6 days a week and the thing barely looks like it's been touched, much less squashed down by riding all that time. I'm pretty impressed, and maybe it's all in my head, but my horse seems to be going along a little bit more happily too.I ordered the large and I think it is a little bit big for my saddle, but not bad. I think the size down would have been too small, so there you go.All in all I'm very happy with this pad and would definitely order it again, should my current one bite the dust. :)
    Date published: 2010-07-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great half pad wouldn't use any other one! fits my saddle perfectly!
    Date published: 2010-06-29
    • 2015-08-30T15:01CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_17
    • loc_en_US, sid_7281, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Horse of the Month: Dax
    Horse of the Month: Doc’s Mostly Yella aka Dax Breed: Quarter Horses Age: 8 years old PATH Intl. Member Center: Miracles in Motion Location: Keene, NH Dax is an 8 year old palomino quarter horse. He is about 16hh and

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright 2015 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.