Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Colors and Styles

Mattes Correction Quilted Half Pad with Pockets for Shims- All Purpose

EA Mattes
- Item #17332
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer. That means this item isn't eligible for additional discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The new EA Mattes Quilt only Correction Pads are a great addition to the Mattes line. Using the same shim pocket and shim system as the traditional sheepskin correction pad, the new Quilt Correction Pad allows for precise, incremental change for each level of desired correction.

Favorite Features

  • Streamlined design puts the rider closer to the horse and offers stability.
  • Great for riders who prefer less pad between themselves and their horse.
  • This pad is backed with a light flannel and allows a closer feel.
  • All Purpose in White, Black or Custom Colors.

Imported.

Sizing It Up

Measurements:
Medium – 20½” Spine
Large – 22½” Spine 

You Might Like
    out of 5
    100% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Mattes Correction Quilted Half Pad with Pockets for Shims- All Purpose is rated 4.8947 out of 5 by 19.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simply the Best Half Pad It isn't cheap but it is fabulous. Fit my underweight TB youngster with the shims to protect his back and fit my mature hunter too. High high quality.
    Date published: 2013-03-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fabulous correction pad My cc saddle is a tad wide. My instructor recommended, I purchase a Matte correction pad. As always, I could trust her knowledge. The saddle fits works well now. I very much like that one can customize the pads. I have already put the next one on my wish list.
    Date published: 2012-09-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Purchase I had to get this because my jumping saddle was fitting a little too low in the front and needed a bit of a lift while my horse got back into shape. I was told to get this by my saddle fitter and it's worked out great. I can use it on my other horse too that also needs more of a lift. For a Mattes pad it is a good price and I love that it comes in black! I'll be getting one for my dressage saddle soon.
    Date published: 2012-04-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really adjusted ill-fitting sadle The shims in the pad enabled me to use the same saddle on two very different horses. One mare was very wide and my Antares saddle fits her well, but the other mare is narrow and no amount of girth tightening prevented saddle slipping. I was amazed at how well the shims improved the fit.
    Date published: 2012-01-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Purchase As my young horse continued to grow my saddle started tipping down in the front. Rather than buy a new saddle I decided to buy a mattes correction pad. This pad has made all the difference, my saddle feels balanced and my horse is going great. The best part is that you can use it on any horse with any saddle!
    Date published: 2011-09-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice pad Well constructed with lots of inserts. I was able to quickly and easily adjust the pad to correct the fit of my saddle to my horse.
    Date published: 2011-08-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great! Bought to help saddle fit...works great, looks good!
    Date published: 2010-11-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for adjusting saddle fit Bought this pad to provide a little lift for the front of my saddle for a new young horse who has a lot of filling out and muscling up to do. Works great, fits over my regular sheepskin Mattes pad, and the shims make adjustments quick and easy. I deliberated over buying this one versus the sheepskin one and I like this one for everyday riding because its easier to wash, fits over my sheepskin pad just fine, and allows more flexibility on what pads I can use it with. After getting it I really want one with the sheepskin to show in so I only have one pad on (I show my hunters in only a half pad) for a cleaner look.
    Date published: 2010-09-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE This Pad!! I love this pad. It is extremely well made and has worked wonderfully! I was contemplating buying a new saddle as my present one is not fitting my new horse very well. He is very narrow and high withered, and my saddle is just a bit too wide for him. It was rubbing his shoulder area and his trot was jilted and stiff. But, I LOVE my saddle and did not want to have to sell it. So, I thought I would try this pad-- it is pricey, but much, much cheaper than a new saddle. Well. it is great. I put 3 shims in the front pockets, and my saddle now fits perfectly. No rubs, and his stride has opened up and feels much more free. The shims lay perfectly flat without bunching up, and the whole pad stays n place without slipping or shifting. It is also very pretty, but inconspicuous -- it does not look like you are using all kinds of padding or gadgets to achieve a better saddle fit . I love it so much I want to save up and buy the sheepskin one. I have no regrets about this purchase and cannot think of any negative thing about it. It allowed me to keep my favorite saddle and my horse is happy!
    Date published: 2010-09-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Greatest pad ever! I have a gelding with a huge left shoulder muscle and a pratically non existant right shoulder muscle. Saddle fitting was near impossible. The back of the saddle would kick to the right and hit his spine with every stride. He would tense up and cantering was impossible. I used this pad and we had the most amazing ride ever. The pad comes with felt inserts for all 4 panels and you can stuff the panels depending on where you need to compensate for body voids. The pad is very durable and I love the heavy duty elastic down the spine. This pad has changed my rides forever. We are now ready to show.
    Date published: 2010-03-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good pad for fixing minor saddle fit issues I bought this pad to give my saddle a little lift in front when the wool gets packed down in between fittings. It works perfectly for that purpose. I like that you can add/take out the shims to fit it just right, and without the shims, the pad is slim, so it doesn't affect the rest of the saddle fit. Word of advice on the fit, though - the large is pretty large, so would probably be suited for a saddle in the 18"+ range.
    Date published: 2010-01-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Mattes Quilted Correction Half Pad Excellent pad! Huge difference in horse's attitude.
    Date published: 2009-11-17
    • 2015-08-26T12:54CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.5
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_17
    • loc_en_US, sid_7332, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Horse of the Month: Dax
    Horse of the Month: Doc’s Mostly Yella aka Dax Breed: Quarter Horses Age: 8 years old PATH Intl. Member Center: Miracles in Motion Location: Keene, NH Dax is an 8 year old palomino quarter horse. He is about 16hh and

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright 2015 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.