Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Review Snapshot

Mad Cow Leather Care

KL Select
- Item #16612

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Mad Cow Leather Care is a special all natural blend of glycerin soap and conditioners. Smells good, too! Formulated for everyday use. 8 oz or 16 oz.

You Might Like
    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Mad Cow Leather Care is rated 4.8636 out of 5 by 22.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great tack cleaner! This is my favorite tack cleaner! It works great on all my tack and really helps to keep the leather soft and well-conditioned. It also lasts quite a while. I gave this four stars on value because it is a little pricey, but it's worth it. I do agree, though, that they have changed the scent. It now smells more floral but still works the same. I do wish though that they hadn't changed the scent; it used to smell great! However, in my opinion it's still the best tack cleaner out there!
    Date published: 2013-01-04
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from CHEAP PERFUME A few months ago I received my first jar of Mad Cow Leather Care from a friend and thought I'd found my go-to daily conditioner. The smell was fresh and subtle and it made my new bridle feel like butter within a few short months of daily use. When the jar ran low, I ordered two more. When they arrived, i opened one of them to take a whiff and WHAM, the formulation had been changed so that it now smells like a strong, cheap perfume. It's unclear whether that batch was mistakenly mixed by someone with a heavy hand or whether that's their updated product. I sent both jars back and am now searching for something to take Mad Cow's place in my daily tack cleaning routine. What a disappointment! I'd buy it again in a minute if the old formulation could be gotten.
    Date published: 2012-09-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product I use this on all my tack. I love that it does not leave as much residue as some cleaners/conditioners.However, I prefered it when it was more of a creamier texture vs. the newer formula.Mad Cow is still my first choice and gets the job done.
    Date published: 2012-08-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Best! Great product. It's hard to find and I love being able to include it in my monthly SmartPak order. It does an outstanding job of cleaning the gunk off my tack and never leaves it greasy or sticky and really brings out the natural shine. Plus, it smells great, too!
    Date published: 2011-05-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from lovely it is my second jar. I look forward to cleaning my tack with this product. Leaves no residue and smells lovely. Once in a while I like to use leather wash before I apply the mad cow.I would like to give leather CPR a try as well but so far this is my favorite. It is a classy product.
    Date published: 2011-01-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great leather care product This is the best smelling leather care product I have ever used. It cleans and conditions and doesn't leave your leather feeling sticky or oily. It leaves a very nice finish on the leather. And I don't smell like leather conditioner all day no matter how many times I wash my hands!
    Date published: 2010-11-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super on Tack Have used for a few years...does a great job leaving no sticky residue.
    Date published: 2010-06-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product! I recommend this to anyone who wants to take good care of their leather. It makes my saddle, bridle and leather halter feel really soft. Has a great smell too!
    Date published: 2010-04-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great value, easy to use A fellow boarder at my barn turned me on to this product. Cleans much better than any spray and is easier to use, especially for regular maintenance of tack. She says that she's had her container of Mad Cow for over a year and still has about 1/4 of the container left, and, I've seen her, she cleans her tack EVERY time she rides - so it's lasted her a really long time. So far, I've enjoyed using it - it leaves my tack clean, supple, and smelling great.
    Date published: 2010-03-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from THE BEST! This is the best leather care on the market. I have used it fo ryears and my equipment is in top notch condition. Don't delay, buy it today!
    Date published: 2010-01-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from mad cow This is the best cleaner i ever used.. love the smell!!!
    Date published: 2010-01-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Favorite Tack Cleaner! This is definitely my favorite tack cleaner for the moment. I had gotten it a while ago and it is just as great as I remembered. I would recommend this to anyone who is looking for a tack cleaner that makes their tack look clean and supple.
    Date published: 2009-12-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from WOULDN'T USE ANY OTHER CLEANER...EVER!! I've been a long time user of the standard glycerine soap bars as well as spray glycerine soaps. When SmartPak started carrying Mad Cow Leather Care I decided to try it and see what the difference was. After just one use I was sold! Not only does it clean the saddle, but it conditions and softens the leather! I used to use neatsfoot oil to soften my leather, but it always left an oily, sticky residue and isn't really great for stitching. With Mad Cow I no longer have to use oil because it conditions beautifully. Not only does it leave the leather with no gross residue, it smells wonderful! I was cleaning my tack and someone asked me what kind of shampoo I had used that day!! I love this product and would not go back to the regular glycerine soaps that I have used in the past!!
    Date published: 2009-07-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best soap you can buy! Mad Cow Leather Care is the best for tack. I found it to be the only soap that cleans, conditions and even softens new and old leather. Mad Cow takes the squeak out of leather and helps it to stay soft for an easier break-in and longer life.
    Date published: 2008-11-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic I have tried lots of different brands of tack soap with varying ingredients, but I always end up coming back to Mad Cow. It keeps all my leather clean and soft without any greasy buildup. I love it and I am quite pleased to see SmartPak has started carrying it.
    Date published: 2008-10-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product Mad Cow Leather Care is a great smelling softer glycerin-type cleaner that also conditions. I use this on my saddle and bridle and think it provides a good alternative to traditional saddle soap. It really does smell great, which makes tack cleaning a little more pleasant!
    Date published: 2008-08-27
    • 2016-02-06T14:40CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_21
    • loc_en_US, sid_6612, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Mollie and Eden
    I started riding when I was 9 years old and quickly got swept up into the competitive hunter/jumper world. I showed my first pony, Chloe, in the Small Pony Hunter divisions were we competed at shows like Fairfield Hunt Club, Old Salem, HITS, and West...

    Learn more »

    SmartPak Barn Field Trip, Part 2: Decoding hay and grain for horses
    Download the worksheet to test your knowledge! How much hay and grain does your horse get every day? How much SHOULD your horse be getting each day? Many horses may not be getting what your feed bag recommends, so we’re

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-800-461-8898.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.