Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
Contact our experts 24/7: Call 800-461-8898

The SmartPak Experts are now SmartPak TEXTperts!

All of our supplement and product expertise is just a text away! Ask questions, manage your account, and place orders by texting 26756 from your mobile phone. Have a great ride!

Available Monday - Friday
9:00am - 5:30pm EST

By texting 26756, you're giving SmartPak your consent to text you to help resolve your issue, including automated replies, at the number you provided. To opt out, text STOP to 26756. Text HELP to 26756 for info. Msg&data rates may apply. Consent to receive texts not required to buy products. Terms & conditions and the full Text Message Privacy Policy can be found at https://www.smartpakequine.com/content/2waytextTC in case you're interested.
Putting your horse's supplements on AutoShip helps you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements on AutoShip, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one individual AutoShip supplement or horse's SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
Because you have your horse's supplements on AutoShip, you get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by syncing them with your AutoShip order, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
colors available

Product Video:

Our toughest waterproof blanket yet
Find out why

Lettia CoolMax® Girth Cover

Lettia
- Item #14971
Our Price: List Price:
Our Price: Our Price: Sale Price: : $ (%) :
Member Price:
(Members save 5% at SmartPak)
:
SmartPerks Price:
(Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items!)
:
Your Price:
(You save 5% as a member of . And, because you have supplements on AutoShip, you save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items!)
:
SmartPerks Price:
(Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you can save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items! Enter promo code PERKS at checkout.)
:
Your Price:
(You save 5% as a member of . Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you can save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items! Enter promo code PERKS at checkout.)
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING
AutoShip and Save Time (Details)

days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Sizing

Available in White (40") or Black (26"). Please note: the measurements listed are the actual measurements of the girth cover. They do not correspond to the size girth that they should be used with.
What Customers Say:
You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "The Ariat Lathrop Full Zip will make a ...
    Description:
    "The Ariat Lathrop Full Zip will make a cozy addition to any equestrians wardrobe. Perfect to wear to the barn or around town, it includes Ariat's moisture movement technology that wicks moisture away from the body to the outside where ...
    "One of the few true 100% Mohair cinches ...
    Description:
    "One of the few true 100% Mohair cinches on the market. The premier material for cinches, mohair is a natural fiber that is sheared from Angora goats."
    "This 100% cotton girth is reinforced with nylon ...
    Description:
    "This 100% cotton girth is reinforced with nylon webbing. Heavy duty elastic ends on both sides with roller buckles are great features of this washable girth, which distributes girth pressure evenly. A centrally located D-ring enables the rider to easily ...
    "This is a 25 Strand double woven white ...
    Description:
    "This is a 25 Strand double woven white rayon cinch featuring a nylon wrapped center. 3"" nickel plated straight pull buckles and 1"" dees. Made in USA"
    "This cinch is a 15 strand white rayon ...
    Description:
    "This cinch is a 15 strand white rayon cinch with cross bar ends. Features 3"" nickel plated straight pull buckles and 1"" dees. Made in USA"
    "A superior quality cinch that uses 21st Century ...
    Description:
    "A superior quality cinch that uses 21st Century technology to enhance riding comfort. The modern design of this cinch provides natural lubrication to prevent chafing and galling during use."
    "27 strand double woven white rayon cinch with ...
    Description:
    "27 strand double woven white rayon cinch with nylon wrapped center and scalloped leather reinforced bars. Cinch features 3 nickel plated straight pull buckles and 1 dees."

    Reviews

    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Lettia CoolMax® Girth Cover is rated 4.2 out of 5 by 37.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Inexpensive solution I bought this product because a new horse I just acquired came with a minor girth rub. With this girth cover she could continue in training without further irritation to the area and allow it to heal. Quick, easy, inexpensive fix!
    Date published: 2016-10-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fits well! I bought this a few weeks ago and it fits my 52" girth very well! It seems easy to clean and my horse, despite that he hates almost everything, seems to hate my girth a little less now. If you needed this for a smaller girth it would definitely be too big!
    Date published: 2016-09-02
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Disappointed I was disappointed to see how wide this girth cover is. The design is clumsy and bulky. It is also fleece on one side and quilted on the other; that was not clear in the photo. Aside from it being far too wide, it was too short for my 52" and 54" girths. The quality was weak. I cannot imagine using it for any situation. I was glad that the SP return was no hassle, as usual.
    Date published: 2016-07-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Seems to be a good quality product, I have only just started to use this girth cover.
    Date published: 2016-05-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nicely made, comfy This is a very nicely made, high quality girth cover. The only reason I did not give it another star is because it is rather big and slides on my girth. I have a cut-back dressage girth and I knew it would be large on the thinner parts but it is quite large in general. That being said, it really doesn't move once you tighten the girth. I am going to try to wash it in warm water, that will probably help it shrink to a perfect fit. Most people have commented that the fleece is not on the side that touches your horse and I was apprehensive about that at first but now that I've used it, I prefer this style. The fleece reaches around the edges of the girth o prevent pinching and the non-fleece against the horse seems like it would be easier to keep clean and much cooler against their skin.
    Date published: 2016-02-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great value This Cool Max cover fits well over the girth. It's lightweight and washable. I haven't used it long enough to vouch for its durability, but it looks very well made.
    Date published: 2016-01-14
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Lovely product. This is a well made and lovely product, but my horse cannot tolerate any areas that rub on his skin. It it fleece on the outside side and quilted fabric against the body. I'm worried that it will cause irritation because of his sensitivity, not because it is poorly made. I had to return it for those reasons.
    Date published: 2015-06-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exactly What I needed I love this. My horse kept getting upset with my girth rubbing his stomach and this literally not only helped my horse not mind the girth it fit my girth perfectly. My mum has even borrowed it on occasion for her horse. We will be most likely getting her, her own to use.
    Date published: 2015-05-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect for horses that hate fleece My gelding had chronic dermatitis/chemical burns on his belly at midline concentrated in the girth area (from oil based fly sprays...but that is another discussion). He has never like fleece girths...lots of snapping and pinning of ears. I had invested in a Lettia click girth with gel. He seemed comfortable with that girth, but I wasn't able to get it as clean as I like. So I tried this cover. It seems study and well constructed. It is a quilted fabric on the side touching him...therefore none of his fleece reaction behavior. The girth underneath was kept clean and dry. This cover fit the dressage gel click perfectly, so no twisting as other people experienced. Seems to be a good compromise with his preferences and my need to keep tack clean :) Ordering a second one so that I always have a clean one ready to go. We will have to see how it holds up to lots of washing.
    Date published: 2014-11-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Does not fit Prestige Anatomic Dressage Girth This is a super nice well made girth cover. It would fit a normal strait girth but it doesn't fit the Prestige Anatomic Girth. It will not even go past the first curve of the girth. Over all a nice product but it will absolutely not fit those type of girths.
    Date published: 2014-05-08
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Disappointed after a couple of rides I bought this to cover my contoured dressage girth for my mare. I was a little surprised when it arrived that the bottom (against the horse) is a quilted material, while the top (not against the horse) was similar to sheepskin material. I gave it a try anyways and liked it for about 4 rides, and then the top stretched out and now the cover twists during the ride, causing bunching and worse discomfort for my mare than having no cover. If they had made the entire cover out of the same material I don't think it would be as bad if twisted, but since there is a seam and a significant difference in thickness it is making very uneven sweat marks and I have had to stop using it.
    Date published: 2014-03-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Pleased! This girth cover is exactly as advertised, fits over my girth well, and my horse seems very comfortable wearing it. I like it better than my fleece girth because it is easier to clean and it dries more quickly. It does seem to wick sweat well. I haven't had it very long so I don't know how it will hold up over time, but it seems well made.
    Date published: 2013-10-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cushy Girth Cover I love the quality of this product. It does run large for a 48" girth. Unfortunately, it only comes in 1 size. I will make it work and will enjoy using this product.
    Date published: 2013-09-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great This is the second one I have purchased and my horse loves them. My other one is over a year old and is still in great shape. Thought it would be nice to have one for a backup. They wash up great.
    Date published: 2013-08-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Sometimes a necesity I like this girth cover because it is not too bulky; it protects the sensitive skin in the girth-area without me needing a bigger girth. It is fairly wide, though--my nice leather show girth slides in and out easily; it does not fit "like a glove" around the girth.
    Date published: 2013-07-01
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Fair Product Not quite long enough for my girth but it's okay and so far doesn't move or bunch up.
    Date published: 2013-03-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product Absolutely love the cool max lining. It really helps to keep the girth area dry.
    Date published: 2013-01-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Value This girth cover is great quality for great price.
    Date published: 2013-01-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from effective and economical Have been using this for a few months, having purchased elsewhere and just purchased a second one from Smart Pack. I have washed mine twice already and it is holding up well. The black is unobtrusive with my dressage girth and saddle. It doesn't slip or bunch up, and my horse's girth galls have disappeared and he hasn't gotten any new ones. Should have tried this a year ago instead of trying new girths! Will never be without one of these!
    Date published: 2012-11-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Buy Love this girth cover, was everything it said it was. I got the white one. Not sure on the durability as I have only had it a short time. My horse is enjoying it!
    Date published: 2012-08-17
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Had high hopes I like everything about this girth cover expect the fit. As others mentioned, once it is used a few times, it stretches out and will bunch and turn as you are riding.
    Date published: 2012-03-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Does the job I got a Professional's Choice SMx VenTECH English Girth, my other previous horses loved them, but my new gelding was very ouchy and sensitive with it, I picked one of these up at the Smartpak retail store just to try it out and it fit my 52" girth perfectly. The quilty part goes against the horse and the felt part goes out but it works perfectly, my horse stands well for saddling and tightening of the girth and seems to really enjoy it. I think it works great with the Professional's Choice SMx VenTECH English Girth because the material makes it so the cover WILL NOT SLIP FOR ANYTHING, its actually pretty difficult to even get on because its so sturdy (I attach a lead rope to the girth and pull!) My horse loves it and I have used it through water, hard work outs and mud. I wash it about every 4 months and its held up, obvious wear and tear at the top where it rubs the saddle pad but other then that its excellent. For 15 dollars and a girth cover that I use everyday I think its held up excellent and I would highly recommend this product, plus it keeps my girth clean and long lasting, AND I cant help but love how the white looks up against my bay horses belly!
    Date published: 2011-12-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My favorite girth cover This is the second girth cover I have purchased from this manufacturer. I use them primarily because my horse is a very heavy sweater. This cover stays firmly on his girth without tugging or moving (I do use anatomical girths though...) Absorbs a remarkable amount of sweat to protect the leather girth. I wash them every other ride and they have held up remarkably well. Will most likely add another couple to the stash.
    Date published: 2011-12-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good design. The girth cover is designed nicely. I wish the side against the horse was fleece too. Instead it is quilted padding. It is sufficient but it is odd to have fleece on the outside and not on the inside ??? It is economical and hopefully will wash well. I like it.
    Date published: 2011-11-21
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great Sweat Absorber I bought this girth cover to prevent rubs and chafing. This works great, however after a few rides the fleece top widened and the cover did not stay in place and I had to re-adjust. I would say this is an effective temporary fix, but not the solution.
    Date published: 2010-01-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cool Max Girth Cover In the ad the product looks all fleece. It actually is fleece on the portion that does not touch your horse and a very nice material with foam & stitching that does touch your horse. It has finished/stiched ends that are around the girth buckles. So far my horse is not getting sores!!
    Date published: 2009-10-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have 2! These girth covers are great! I wash them after every other ride, and they have kept their shape well. My girth is in great shape thanks to the cover, and my horse is happy! There is no frayed stitching and the fleece is in good shape. Great product!
    Date published: 2009-10-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Girth Cover I love this CoolMax (Dressage) girth cover. It's short enough to fit my leather girth without excess length at the ends, and the cut-outs at each end make the girth buckles accessible and easy to fasten.
    Date published: 2009-08-11
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Lost it's shape after a few careful washings... The Lettia CoolMax Girth Cover initially worked well but then lost its shape, stretched out and started bunching up and twisting over my leather girth after about two months of use.
    Date published: 2008-11-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from A nice alternative to sheepskin I purchased this to protect my new girth. I've washed it after every other ride and it has held up very well. It also has a nice quilted inside that is made with Coolmax. My horse doesn't like Neoprene girths much, so I have a leather girth with this cover. This combination breathes very nicely and since the cover washes up very nicely I would also consider it a perfect cover for schooling shows. Great job and great price, Lettia!
    Date published: 2008-04-06
    • y_2017, m_12, d_16, h_22
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_35
    • loc_en_US, sid_4971, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak
    • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
    • CLOUD, getContent, 94ms
    • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders