Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Colors and Styles

Leather Lead w/ Solid Brass Snap

Item #15841
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Supple English bridle leather lead with a brass plated snap. This lead will compliment your finest show halter and stand up to everyday wear and tear. Choose Havana, Chestnut or Black. Measures 6'L x 1"W.

This leather lead pairs beautifully with the Double Stitched or Triple Stitched halters.

If you want to personalize the lead, the nameplate will be attached near the snap.

You Might Like
    out of 5
    96% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Leather Lead w/ Solid Brass Snap is rated 4.68 out of 5 by 25.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Decent for the Price This lead would be perfect for me if it was longer and a little narrower. But I like that it has a strong brass snap and no chain. And the price is great.
    Date published: 2013-06-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Lead for the Price Nice, supple leather that looks great with my halter. Love the brass nameplate so my leads don't get mixed up. Absolutely recommend!
    Date published: 2013-05-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from nice lead! very impressed with the leather, can't say how it holds up seeing as I have not used it yet, I bought it just for something to go wtih my leather show halter, but very nice soft leather and looks great with my halter!
    Date published: 2013-05-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Lovely Leather Lead! I bought this leather lead for my convertible grooming halter ( which is brown ). I wanted something that looked nice, but will hold up to everyday wear and tear. And this is defiantly the one I was looking for!! It was soft and Supple right out of the box! And though they don't have the color, brown, to match my convertible grooming halter, the Havana color matched very nicely! If you look really closely of them side by side in the light you can tell the color is slightly off, but the stitching is the exact same color! I would recommend this product to anyone wanting a good quality lead for everyday while looking great, and for those getting the convertible grooming halter!
    Date published: 2013-05-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from beautiul quality at a bargain price! I bought this just as an every day lead and when my order arived, i was very suprised by how soft and nice the leather was. The engraved name plate was realy nice too. This is a lead nice enough for show but at the price of a consignment shop!!! Ill be orderig another one to keep just for show days!
    Date published: 2012-11-10
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from I like that it doesn't have a chain and that it's a good value. I don't like the shorter length and that it bleeds. Overall fair buy, but not too exciting. Bought the matching Havana double stitch perri's halter, and that really bleeds! Bought cheap fleece covers for it.
    Date published: 2012-01-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Inexpensive Lead I'm really happy that SmartPak sells a inexpensive leather lead & I love that it doesn't have a chain, just a clip. The color on mine did bleed onto one of my white towels because it was so hot outside so I would be careful where you put it. Overall great buy!
    Date published: 2011-11-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from love it! I was so happy to find a leather lead without a chain. I bought this to go with the convertible grooming halter and although they say they do not have an exact match for the halter, the Havana is perfect. Great combo that we will use all the time.
    Date published: 2011-01-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice lead... But don't bother with the nameplate, mine broke off in less than 2 months and it is very easy to bend. The name plate should be thicker and more durable. Now I have two holes in the lead where the plate used to be.
    Date published: 2010-11-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Leather Lead w/o Chain Wonderful product. Nice, supple, soft leather. Excellent for showing young stock where you don't want a stud chain attached. Reasonably priced for the quality!
    Date published: 2010-09-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Lead I thought it was an excellent lead for the money. The leather felt smooth and supple and looked great.
    Date published: 2010-04-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice lead This is a nice lead for the price, and very nice to get one without the long stud chain! Like many, I wish they offered this in 8 foot size.Note, the havana is the color to chose to match the double stitch halter.
    Date published: 2010-03-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great lead if it were just a few feet longer! Would like more length.
    Date published: 2009-11-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from leather lead very nice comfortable lead and hardware for the for the money; nice name plate too.
    Date published: 2009-10-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Lead! Nice Quality Leather - Heavy Snap - just wish it were a little longer...othewise perfect! Thanks SmartPak!
    Date published: 2009-09-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Treat! Nice to find a leather lead without the chain!! Really handle nicer than rope and is a very nice daily luxury!
    Date published: 2009-09-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Leadline I've been looking for a good quality brass snap leather lead without a chain for some time now (they always have chains). My horse despises chains and doubling them up can be dangerous, especially while grazing. This is a great one and the nameplate really completes the show look. The leather is soft and pre-oiled, so I'm confident that it will really last. My only wish is that this came in a 3/4" size, as that would make it more appropriately sized for my hands (it is a little wider than some other leather leads).
    Date published: 2009-08-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from my favorite lead this is my favorite lead out there, and i have one for every horse in my barn. although it's more expensive than the average lead, it's well made and durable; i've had most of mine for over 5 years and they are still in great condition despite a lot of abuse.i like a leather lead because they hold up better than cotton (which stretches and frays) and are easier on the hands than nylon, which burns if a horse pulls back. it is also safer to tie with leather than cotton or nylon.i like this lead in particular because, unlike most leather leads, it doesn't have a chain; not every situation calls for a chain, and when not in use, they tend to get in the way. these are great for everyday use around the barn, but nice enough to clean up and take to a show. they are also incredibly durable; i leave them out on the paddock gate all day in every kind of weather and they hold up beautifully with minimal care.highly recommended!
    Date published: 2009-08-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice lead Nice lead - holds up well and looks great. Add a brass name plate and take it to shows.
    Date published: 2009-07-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT FIND! I got this lead to match the triple stich leather halter I also bought from here (very nice halter). Its a great lead! not only does it match the halter perfectly but its of very nice leather too! its nice and light weight not too bulky and heavy like some leather leads can be. i love these leather leads and you can't beat the price!
    Date published: 2009-07-01
    • 2015-08-26T13:29CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.5
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_25
    • loc_en_US, sid_5841, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Horse of the Month: Dax
    Horse of the Month: Doc’s Mostly Yella aka Dax Breed: Quarter Horses Age: 8 years old PATH Intl. Member Center: Miracles in Motion Location: Keene, NH Dax is an 8 year old palomino quarter horse. He is about 16hh and

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright 2015 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.