Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Review Snapshot

Leather Hunt Bat

Roma
- Item #12149

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

This Leather Hunt Bat is a great look for the show ring. 

Favorite Features

  • Leather covered fiberglass center
  • Tapered handle
Sizing It Up

Available in 16" or 21" lengths

Made in the UK

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    FLECK bats and crops are individual one-off items. ...
    Description:
    FLECK bats and crops are individual one-off items. First-class raw materials, perfection in manufacture, and an eye for form and colors to satisfy the demands of any rider. Woven nylon cover, soft wrapped grip, nickle mushroom cap.
    Smarter gear for smarter riders! A great training ...
    Description:
    Smarter gear for smarter riders! A great training tool, the Rockin' SP Leather Training Fork was designed utilizing the same smarts, obsessive attention to detail, and insight of world champion riders as our other Rockin' SP products. Featuring the great ...
    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Leather Hunt Bat is rated 4.4074 out of 5 by 27.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great bat for the price! My identical hunt bat "mysteriously" disappeared at my barn so I was in need of a new one. Basically the same hunt bat runs $20 more at my local tack shop, so I ordered this one from SmartPak. It arrived quickly and it's great quality. The only difference is that the handle of my old bat was leather while this one is a kind of velvet material. But it's still great!
    Date published: 2014-07-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful Hunt bat! This is a very nice bat...very nicely put together and great for every day use. I do like the nice touches it has and fear that it might grow legs and disappear!
    Date published: 2014-01-17
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Cheap looking, will be returning I was excited to find a bat made by county at this price point.  Well I guess you get what you pay for.  Instead of a leather wrapped handle it is wrapped in some fake velvety material.  It is a shame.  If they had wrapped the handle and charged a few dollars more this would have been a great bat.  The free initials were embossed on the end on the leather and you can barely see them.  Overall it is a bat and will work but I think it is ugly and cheap.  There really should be a better description.  
    Date published: 2013-12-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I am pleasantly surprised with how nice this is. The popper on the end is nice and wide, and the handle is wrapped with velvet.
    Date published: 2013-02-13
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not for me I did not like the balance of this bat in my hand, nor the finish (velvet covered handle).
    Date published: 2012-11-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice bat Reasonable price on good quality bat. Feels well balanced and looks great.
    Date published: 2012-09-15
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nice Crop It is a nice crop but it is 23" not 21" so it is too long for me to show with. But it is nice for schooling. It is a good buy!
    Date published: 2012-07-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Well made bat The bat is nice and balanced but we were looking for one with just a tad more weight and a handle that has more to grip. So we are going to continue our search.
    Date published: 2012-04-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great classic bat This is a really nice looking bat. Especially for the price. Relegating my old show bat to schooling and taking this one to the shows....
    Date published: 2012-01-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Bat Very happy with it so far, bought the 16" which is a good size. I was a little surprised it had a velveteen covered grip and silver end cap, thought it looked a bit too fancy when I first saw it. Different from others at the barn so that is good.
    Date published: 2011-11-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Really nice bat! This is a really classy crop for the show ring. I had my initials engraved on it as well and I agree with the other reviews that the engraving isn't as exciting as I hoped it would be. I'm still glad I did it though so I will always know which one is mine if it gets set down somewhere, but don't expect more than that. Still a good quality show bat and I like that the top of the handle is larger so it can't slip through my hands.
    Date published: 2011-09-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Bat Perfect for the show ring and great for every day. Really like the initials engraved on the flap!
    Date published: 2011-01-27
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Mixed! I purchased this bat for showing because it is shorter than the crop I use for schooling as my horse is a little more lit up at shows. The leather detailing is nice at the handle end and around the stick. The tip of the bat (the tip which would rest over your knee) is a little disappointing. There is a big gold ROMA insignia on one side of the leather tip. I would have rather just had it plain or had their ROMA printed in black so you couldn't really see it. I had the "Custom Engraving" done and this ended up being a laser stamp in black on the opposite side of the leather tip. You can HARDLY SEE my name. This is how the ROMA should have been printed! I wanted the custom option, but would have rather had engraving done on the top of the other end in the metal cap. Just my opinion, of course.
    Date published: 2010-08-14
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from CANT SEE THE INSCRIPTION THE INSCRIPTION OF MY INITIALS ARE BARELY THERE, SMALL PRINT AND SHALLOW. SOMEONE ELSE HAS THE SAME WHIP AT THE BARN, AND CAN CONFUSE WITH MINE. THE BRAND OF THE BAT IS ON THE WHIP LEATHER IS OVERPOWERING GOLD. THE GRIP IS GOOD. SHIPPING, ALTHOUGH "FREE", TOOK A LONG TIME.
    Date published: 2010-05-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! I rarely use the whip. However, just incase I need one, I carry the bat. It is short and light. Perfect for jumping and shows.
    Date published: 2010-04-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Quality Has a good weight to it, the 21" is a good length. The grip feels like velvet, which seems a little random but its got good grip to it and seems alright. I got it laser engraved with my horse's name (he has a short name) which I think is a great option. It's not very noticeable but I'm glad I got it engraved.
    Date published: 2010-04-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lovely stick! This is a great crop! (Or stick, or bat -- whichever you prefer!) The shorter length is perfect for those of us who like to always carry a stick "just in case." I also highly recomment the laser engraving. All crops look the same, so having my initials on this one should help keep it from walking off at horse shows! I like it just as well as my $$$ Beval stick.
    Date published: 2010-03-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from nice stick Very nice quality. Perfect for the show ring. I did get it laser engraved, at least you might be able to find it if you place it down some where by accident.
    Date published: 2009-12-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really nice quality bat. I was borrowing a friends and had to buy my own. I love the weight and quality of this bat. The details are beautiful and they really seem to hold up.
    Date published: 2009-06-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Must Have! I love this Leather Hunt Bat! The 16" bat is perfect for the equitation ring. It is small enough to not be distracting (I even use it in flat classes) but still effective if needed. It is also great for smaller kids and their ponies. Just a tip so your Leather Hunt Bat does not walk away at a show... just wrap the handy SmartPak name label they provide with your order around the handle and everyone will know its yours.
    Date published: 2008-05-13
    • 2016-02-12T15:05CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_25
    • loc_en_US, sid_2149, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Mollie and Eden
    I started riding when I was 9 years old and quickly got swept up into the competitive hunter/jumper world. I showed my first pony, Chloe, in the Small Pony Hunter divisions were we competed at shows like Fairfield Hunt Club, Old Salem, HITS, and West...

    Learn more »

    SmartPak Barn Field Trip, Part 2: Decoding hay and grain for horses
        Download the worksheet to test your knowledge! How much hay and grain does your horse get every day? How much SHOULD your horse be getting each day? Many horses may not be getting what your feed bag recommends,

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-800-461-8898.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.