Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Kool Coat Airstream Detach-A-Neck

Weatherbeeta Blankets
- Item #15929
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer. That means this item isn't eligible for additional discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Mesh panels provide cool summer protection against the sun and all types of insects.

Favorite Features

  • 270 g polyester fabric
  • Twin chest straps
  • Hidden front surcingle
  • Adjustable and removable leg straps
  • Gusseted shoulders provide freedom of movement
  • Generous tail flap for full coverage
  • Removable neck provides versatility
  • UV protection where fabric is solid across the back (approximately 90% UV protection)

Lightweight polyester ripstop outer.
Imported.

Sizing It Up

How to measure a horse

You Might Like
    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Kool Coat Airstream Detach-A-Neck is rated 4.0229 out of 5 by 175.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for the price This is the 2nd one I bought, 2 different horses..love the amount of straps to help keep it in place..generous sized
    Date published: 2014-09-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great UV protection Keeps my dark bay from fading in the sunlight. Material is somewhat weak however, I have had to purchase several because they do easily rip
    Date published: 2014-09-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fly sheet Overall quality product. I will have to return for a smaller size. Bought a size 78 but need smaller size.
    Date published: 2014-07-25
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Thin - Ripped too easily This blanket lasted two days. The neck attachment looks dangerous too with all the snaps and buckles.
    Date published: 2014-07-22
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Pleased with the quality, but not with the fit I bought this to keep my mare from fading and to help protect her from bugs. I read the reviews and bought her a 75 (she normally wears a 78). The blanket came fast and looked to be great quality. The 75 was still too large for her. The neck fit great and it appears to be a good quality, just hard to figure out what size to get.
    Date published: 2014-07-21
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Does not stay on I bought this fly sheet about 3 weeks ago for my gelding. It is already ripped and it will not stay on correctly! I was told that it had to be adjusted multiple times when it is on him. We eventually decided to leave it off of him for his safety.
    Date published: 2014-07-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Needs better surcingle This is a roomy sheet, and seems to keep my horse cool and bug-free. However, the single surcingle which is set very high on the sides does not seem to discourage the sheet from slipping way over to one side or the other. I think it could use 2 crossing surcingles instead.
    Date published: 2014-07-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nothing better! Excellent material and smart design. Fits growing cob sized mare just right! Bought upon advise of professional trainer: the only make she uses.
    Date published: 2014-07-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from wish it fit. :( My horse finally destroyed his Rambo he'd had for 3 years. I didn't want to spend that much on another Rambo right away, so I tried this one. My trainer has it for her OTTB and the fabric upper part keeps him nice and clean. I wanted that for my grey who would rather roll or sleep like Seabiscuit than anything else in the world. He wears a 72 in fly sheets since they always run big and this one is no exception. It looked like it fit fine at first. After he'd worn it two days, I noticed rubs on his shoulders and didn't think they'd been there before. The next day I looked again and they were definitely bigger areas. Even though the front buckles were on the last holes, the neck was just a little too big. I thought about putting an extra closure up there, but it would have been too much work and might not have helped. There is a nice nylon lining in this sheet, so I don't know why it's rubbing like that, but it's definitely this sheet. I exchanged it for the Mio, which fits like his old Rambo. It doesn't keep him as clean, so I'm a little disappointed. My horse is dainty, with narrow shoulders and a short neck. Also, the neck piece was too big (they all are) but when i cinched it down all the way, it stayed in place fine. I like that it's detachable (the Mio isn't). Try it; it might fit your guy.
    Date published: 2014-07-01
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Rubs withers I bought this a few weeks ago, and was very hopeful. I have had issues in the past with mesh fly sheets 'grabbing' onto the hair and working themselves backwards so they were tight across the chest and hanging off in the back. I was hoping that as this one had solid fabric on the top, it wouldn't happen. It does seem to be better in that regard, but does catch on the hairs somewhat, leaving some of them sticking up even after grooming. I haven't used it during seriously hot weather, but no problem with sweating on fairly warm days. I thought the size was true to Rambo and Weatherbeeta, and one size larger than Kensington and similar brands. My mare usually wears 80 in Kensington, and 78 in Rambo and Weatherbeeta. I ordered a 75 and a 78, and the 75 was definitely too small-- tight around the chest, and/or showing a bit of the back of her thighs depending on how I adjusted the chest straps. The 78 works pretty well, it does hang slightly off the back of her rump after she moves around a bit, but not enough to look funny. It slips sideways a bit, but not enough to be a problem. I was thinking it was going to be quite workable, when I realized that it was causing a pretty nasty rub on her withers. I'm going to try adding extra padding at the withers and see if that helps, but not sure. :(
    Date published: 2014-06-27
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from sursingle band I have a time keeping them from twisting the Kool Coat to one side when rolling.
    Date published: 2014-06-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality and Price***** Great quality sheet, light, and soft, horses don't seem to mind wearing it even if its hot outside. Can't beat the price, and the added bonus of the neck attachment! Would highly recommend to others and purchasing again!
    Date published: 2014-06-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Overall great fly sheet!! This fly sheet definitely helps with the flys. The only thing I wish was different is I wish it had some belly protection. There is only one belly band and it comes off really easily. I bought 4 of these. One was destroyed in just a week or so. Not really sure how it happened, but smartpak was really great as usual and sent me a new one right away!
    Date published: 2014-06-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great buy for the price and quality I purchased 3 of these fly sheets. A friend had bought a few prior which made me order the sheet. The quality is more then you pay for; soft, light, has a neck attachment, and easy to put on/off. The disadvantage of the sheet is only having one belly surcingle, so it can slip at times, the bonus is it is detachable from either side. Easy to have a second surcingle sewn on for more security. I would highly recommend this sheet, and would purchase again!
    Date published: 2014-06-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super sturdy, great value and comfortable This is my 2nd Kool Coat (I just bought this for my 2nd horse) and I am not disappointed. The first one is over 1.5 years old and still in perfect condition. These sheets are cool and comfortable and yet seems to last longer than others I have purchased. I highly recommend these for summer protection. I like the neck piece option and so does my horse!
    Date published: 2014-06-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from best fly sheet on the market I use this fly sheet on all of my horses for many years now. This product works better than any other I have tried in the past. It's hot in AZ but the horses stay cool all day long. Excellent fit, never slips or slides even in pasture, very easy to wash in my washing machine. I keep the sheets on 24/7 . Now all my boarders have switched to Kool Coat
    Date published: 2014-06-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great sheet All my horses have this sheet. Perfect for summer weather and keeping the bugs off. Washed like new everytime, and is perfect for shows.
    Date published: 2014-06-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Holding up well so far A friend had one of these and recommended so when my mare punched 4 holes in a brand new fly sheet first night out I ordered one of these as a backup. Time will tell but two weeks and holding up fine. It does shift, though, and am considering a surcingle to try and stabilize. Think it would be 5 star product with crossing belly straps. I also did not find that it runs large as many have - that said my mare is not finished growing, but if anything I find it on the small side compared to her other gear in same size.
    Date published: 2014-06-16
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Safety concerns - this sheet does not stay put Purchased this, and will be returning it. My horse wore it for one day, and three times I had to readjust the because the whole thing was hanging off of him. Per other reviews, I ordered one size smaller - but then found the bottom of the sheet didn't even cover my horses sides completely, it was about 6" too short on both sides. If you have a horse who just stands around all day, it might work for you - but for an active horse who lives outside, rolls, runs and plays, buy something more secure!
    Date published: 2014-06-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Sheet for a Great Price! I bought this fly sheet for my gelding who suffers from sweet itch and is very sensitive to all insect bites. He came with an Amigo Bug Buster, but they tend to be quite tight through the shoulders and it would rub 6" of his mane off.This sheet is much more roomy in the shoulders and fits him better than the Amigo did. Many reviewers are right when they say it runs large, but it's not a huge difference. It doesn't run any larger than the Amigo does, and the 69 fits my 14.2 Morgan a little big but it will be fine.
    Date published: 2014-05-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from I LOVE This Sheet! I bought this sheet a couple years ago and it is still going strong! My mare is hard on flay masks and neck pieces to sheets and blankets, but this sheet has held up very well. She has rolled in fresh piles and mud with it on, and it washes out with a quick hosing and toss in the washing machine. Up close you can tell that it is now an off white color, but at a distance it looks brand new. My mare has to have this sheet during the day, she has a hair loss problem on her face, neck, shoulders, and patchiness on her hindquarters. Waiting on a biopsy to confirm the reason for the hair loss. This sheet keeps her from sunburning in the summer sun!! As plus it keeps the bugs off of her as well. My only complaint about this sheet has to do with the neck piece. The neck piece where it attaches to the sheet has a tail end that covers the fleece wither patch, this tail end flips to where it hangs down towards her ears when she is grazing. Exposing her wither region to the sun which for her could mean a potential sunburn. I bought this sheet so long ago I can't remember what size I bought for her or if the size ran small or large.
    Date published: 2014-05-22
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nice sheet but did not fit my horse I thought the sheet was very good quality, well made, and it did keep him cool. However the shape just didn't fit my horse and no matter how I adjusted the straps it would slide off one side or the other. If it fits your horse it is a good value for the price.
    Date published: 2014-05-21
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Lasted 3 days I bought this and my 3 year old (who was going out alone in a round pen) managed to put a whole in it and take the whole belly strap off. I was impressed that it lasted 3 days. Very nice and light weight material, but way to many straps on the neck and not enough for the belly...
    Date published: 2014-05-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great flysheet- runs HUGE. I was looking for an alternative for traditional mesh flysheets. I have had problems with the mesh sheets pulling and being restrictive around the shoulders.This sheet had a little more structure and I like the mesh panels to keep the horses cool. Overall I really like this sheet but the sizing is way off. I ordered a 69 for my horse that is normally a 74 and a 72 for my horse that usually wears a 76.
    Date published: 2014-05-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love it! This is a great sheet. I just got it so I can't say anything for the durability but the fabric does seem very durable. The sizing runs massive- My 16.3hh OTTB wears an 78-80 in other brands (his winter blankets) and I got this in a 72 for him because other reviews said it runs large as well. The 72 fit him absolutely perfect! The neck is a bit too long but not even enough that I had to fold it- it just has a little bunching towards the front, didn't bother my guy. All in all I'd say I love the product so far, just order it in a smaller size!
    Date published: 2014-04-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Keeps her clean I have now bought two of these, one for at home, and one for shows. They are very lightweight, even in the hot Florida summer, but of fabric that is easily washed. We use them when in the trailer to keep the hay off so the horses arrive at the showgrounds as clean as they were when they got in the trailer.
    Date published: 2014-04-20
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Thought this would be the answer....it was not. Purchased this for last spring and summer. The neck piece was literally 8" too long. I was going to fold it over and either sew or velcro it back, but then I thought it would be too hot. My horse has a normal size frame/neck for a 15.3 horse. The body fit VERY WELL, however, the sheet kept twisting to either side. My barn manager was exhausted trying to keep an eye on him to make sure he was not caught up in it. She had to put it back in place within a half hour of putting it on the horse. I was skeptical, so I spent a a week at the farm observing him while helping out with summer camp. She was telling the absolute truth. I must have fixed it 5-9 times each day for 3 days until I said enough is enough. If the neck piece had fit, and the thing didn't twist, I would have loved it, however, I cannot have a product become a HUGE safety concern.
    Date published: 2014-04-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great use sized wrong I love these sheets. We have used them for years, still have some of the original sheets from a few years ago. Only thing I have to say is that my horse that wears a size 81 in Horseware Rambo Supreme fits in a 75 or 78 in this sheet.
    Date published: 2014-04-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Must have I have been using these for years, they're durability depends on your horse they may or may not  last long but for the price i'm happy to get  a season out of 2. Beside the UV and insect protection i really like the grooming time it saves me, yes i said it, i don't always have time to groom head to toe! 
    Date published: 2013-12-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best flysheet I've found for my horse! I absolutely LOVE this fly sheet. It is a soft fabric and actually fairly durable. My playful friesian sporthorse is pretty rough on his blankets and, after wearing it every day for more than 12 hours since March 2013, it has only recently torn-- and that tear was the tail flap because he was rubbing his rear end and it got caught on something. Additionally, he gets very hot in our NC coastal weather (super humid!!). I used to use a mesh Centaur flysheet and he'd be so hot that he'd be drenched in foam and even panting in August. In this Kool Coat Airstream sheet, he was never NEVER once drenched in foam or panting, even when the heat index was 110+ degrees. The value for this sheet is incomparable. I will never again buy another fly sheet. This is my favorite, hands down.
    Date published: 2013-10-02
    • 2015-05-22T08:08CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.3
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_8, tr_167
    • loc_en_US, sid_5929, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Recipe: Homemade Carrot and Oat Treats
    It has been such a cold and snowy winter here in Massachusetts for the past few months. I look for any excuse to fire up my oven. Prior to visiting my horse Bug last weekend I decided to make her

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.