Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Keratex Hoof Hardener

Keratex Equine Hoofcare
- Item #17363
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

 

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Keratex Hoof Hardener strengthens weak, worn and cracked hooves by improving the molecular structure of the horn itself. The gentle acting chemical formulation forms additional intermolecular bonds between molecules of keratin through the process of cross-linking, producing a tougher, stronger horn structure. Keratin is the main protein constituent of horn and is best described as the building block of the horn structure. 

Favorite Features

  •  Strengthens, hardens, and protects hooves. 
  • Equally effective in wet & dry conditions.
  • Prevents the horn from taking in excess moisture, making it resistant to softening and weakening in wet conditions. This results in a reduction in shoe loss and abscesses.
  • Keratex Hoof Hardener is not an oil or resin layer and does not seal the hoof.
  • Keratex Hoof Hardener will ensure the treated hoof is able to breathe naturally so the moisture balance is properly maintained.
  • Should also be applied to the sole of the hoof to prevent bruising.
  • Includes brush for application.
  • Great for use on both shod and unshod horses because of its hardening and strengthening effect.

Apply to lower half of hoof and sole, avoiding coronary band and frog. Use daily for one week then twice weekly for general hoof maintenance. If the hoof has been treated with any oils or greases over the past three months, degrease the hoof thoroughly with acetone before applying Keratex Hoof Hardener. Do not use any oils or greases while using Keratex Hoof Hardener.

Due to federal regulations, we are unable to offer expedited shipping, or ship to Alaska and Hawaii for this product. Please note this item may ship separately from your order. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience.

You Might Like
    out of 5
    95% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Keratex Hoof Hardener is rated 4.723 out of 5 by 148.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from really works! I have seen a major difference in my horses feet since I have began using this product
    Date published: 2015-07-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy to use Bought this several weeks ago for soft hoofs. So far, so good. Shoes have stayed on in soggy pasture and horse seems happy.
    Date published: 2015-07-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Liquid Gold!! This product saved both of my horses' feet last summer! They both had crumbling hooves and the farrier was making weekly visits to put lost shoes back on :( my trainer recommended Keratex. It is definitely worth ever single penny.
    Date published: 2015-07-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product I have been using this for several months and I love it.
    Date published: 2015-06-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product! I've been using this on my barefoot mare who has navicular. Really helps on her soles especially in the hot humid summers of South Florida. Along with supplements for her feet this product keeps her sound and comfortable. Very happy with the results. Noticeable difference.
    Date published: 2015-06-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Well worth the cost This product was recommended to me by your amazing staff at IHSA Nationals and I kind of balked at the price of it but I'm very glad I sucked it up and shelled out the money for it. My gelding has poorly shaped feet, white line disease and chronic chipping. This was a fantastic compliment to his supplements, with visible results in just a couple weeks!
    Date published: 2015-05-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A MUST have I restart OTTB's and first step is getting hooves to improve as much as possible. We live in a very wet southern climate which doesn't help matters. I have used this product in the past to harden feet after pulling shoes or those with them. I recently got a new one that had seedy toe, a huge abscess(almost to the bone on xray) in one hoof and some white line. He required a hoof wall resection but once that was healed and we were duct tape boot free I started using the keratex all around! I have also just gotten the gel and I have seen steady improvements. They aren't cracking and flaking off between trims as much and I've got fingers crossed that in a couple cycles thanks to improved nutrition and keratex we'll have shoes on again!
    Date published: 2015-05-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really does the job I have used this product about 2 months. For the 2 1/2 yrs I've owned him, my horse has had tender feet,ie the soles were soft and thin. After about two weeks I started imagining that he was not so tender and reacted less to stones. By 4 weeks I was sure. I even heard my farrier say nice things about the horse's feet for th first time, in the third month of treatment!It is really effective.
    Date published: 2015-04-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for Barefoot horses The product works within days. Easy to use. I hope that I can have Rose go barefoot.
    Date published: 2015-04-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product! I first starting using Keratex, when my farrier recommended it for my [then] new horse who had really poor feet. You will not immediately see the results of using Keratex but now, a year later my farrier is so happy with the improvements that he sees on my horse's feet- and I'm happy that I don't have to call the farrier two or three times between appointments!
    Date published: 2015-02-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product! Great product! Really helped my horses hooves! Would buy again!
    Date published: 2015-02-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A must have hoof care product I have been using Keratex Hoof Hardner for years now and it is something I would not be without.
    Date published: 2015-01-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My farrier said this the best stuff to put on my horse Buzz hoofs he getting line crakes in 3 off his hoofs and this made his feet harder and using smarthoof supplements would help grow out crakes and his feet are much better
    Date published: 2015-01-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I can tell a huge difference in the overall health of my horse's hooves!
    Date published: 2014-12-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product Purchased this on recommendation of my farrier. Satisfied with product results, easy to apply.
    Date published: 2014-11-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stays barefoot! This is the first summer I tried Keratex after reading recommendations about it on a Facebook post. If I kept my gelding barefoot during the warmer 6 months of the year he gets ragged edges and cracks in his hooves. I had to resort to putting on at least front shoes to keep his feet looking nice. With the Keratex I can keep him barefoot and his hooves stay nice and solid year round. While the product seems expensive, it is a bargain compared to a set of shoes every 6 weeks.
    Date published: 2014-10-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I am very pleased with this product. My horse has shelly feet and Keratex Hoof Hardener helps his feet better than any other product i have tried.
    Date published: 2014-10-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works! My OTTB arrived to our rocky soil with super sensitive hooves. I researched what to do as I wanted to leave him barefoot. I did a two fold approach, I bought this product and applied daily for 7 days. I have since applied twice a week since (3 plus months total). I also put him on a repair dose of farriers formula supplement. The combo has worked. He is much less tender footed, and his new hoof growth appears very healthy. Highly recommend this product and will continue to use. It is pricy, but does last a long time.
    Date published: 2014-10-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Helps keep shoes on! We use this twice a week on our three Chestnut horses, who tend to lose shoes due to weak, shelly hoof walls. This is the only product so far that has toughened up the hoof walls to keep them strong enough to hold shoes until the next regular farrier visit.
    Date published: 2014-10-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product works. Stronger feet in a short period of time. Now my horse keeps his shoes on.Easy to apply...only negative feature...it is a little stinky.
    Date published: 2014-10-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Noticable improvement My pony had soft crumbly soles after a bought of laminitis. I researched products and keratex hoof hardener seemed to be the most highly regarded product. There was a noticeable improvement in just a week. My vet even commented the next time he was out! Definitely recommend.
    Date published: 2014-09-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This WORKS ! I am a retired Equine Podiatrist and am very impressed to see that one of my OTTBs is NOT abscessing this year due to diligent application of this every day. Not cheap, but finally being able to ride my horse is priceless !
    Date published: 2014-09-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This stuff is incredible we had a horse we couldn't get a full 6 weeks out of his shoes until we started using Keratex - our farrier recommended it and we use it on many of the horses now!!
    Date published: 2014-08-17
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great product for hoof care I'm on my second bottle of Keratex and it really seems to be helping my horse's feet. He's keeping his shoes on and that alone has made all the difference in the appearance of his hoofs. The Keratex has kept the existing cracks (from losing his shoes previously) from worsening. **A quick tip, to keep the dirt out of the bottle, pour into the lid and apply with the brush from the lid.
    Date published: 2014-08-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from One Week and Impressed! My TB like many has struggled for years with his hooves. We tried a bunch of different things to prevent his lameness and abscesses that he got all the time! It was time consuming and with his hock arthritis, it set him back in his muscle build up from the stall rest. The first thing that improved his feet significantly was Blue Seal Sunshine Plus in his feed regime. It is high in protein and it was what helped transition him away from back shoes. His front feet were still a problem however. After throwing his shoes a month after a visit, the farrier took them off to experiment with being barefoot. His soles were still very soft to the touch and he felt ouchy on them. I was applying Farrier's Fix and while it seemed to be helpful, he was still ouchy even with Cavallo Sport boots on the front. I bought the Keratex Hoof Hardener and began last Monday. Today (the following Monday), I was able to successfully ride him in the walk and trot with hoof boots without him feeling ouchy! His soles throughout the week haven't been as soft either. I am convinced that this product is working wonderfully and with time will help his front feet grow! It's easy to apply and takes minutes to dry! Worth the money in the long run.
    Date published: 2014-08-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! My thoroughbred has been barefoot for a few years now and has had tender soles this summer, Keratex has really helped him, I noticed a difference in his hooves within a week with daily use. My advice is to pour the solution into the cap before applying to your horse's hoof--you'll get your entire bottle contaminated with dirt otherwise:) Use a hoof pick with a brush on it to clean the hoof really well before applying.
    Date published: 2014-07-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best on the market Based on chemical research and reputation this is the best product available for hoof strengthening
    Date published: 2014-07-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Stuff! This really helps my horse with shelly feet in the summertime. It is a great product all around and it is most effective if applied two to three times per week.
    Date published: 2014-07-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great investment for weak hooves I've only been using it a couple weeks, but I think my horse's hooves are already tougher and stronger
    Date published: 2014-06-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works!! I have used this product for several years after pulling shoes. It helps feet from being tender and hoof walls from breaking up.
    Date published: 2014-05-21
    • 2015-08-29T12:55CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_14, tr_134
    • loc_en_US, sid_7363, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Horse of the Month: Dax
    Horse of the Month: Doc’s Mostly Yella aka Dax Breed: Quarter Horses Age: 8 years old PATH Intl. Member Center: Miracles in Motion Location: Keene, NH Dax is an 8 year old palomino quarter horse. He is about 16hh and

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright 2015 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.