Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Review Snapshot

Keratex Hoof Hardener

Keratex Equine Hoofcare
- Item #17363
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for SmartPerks FREE GROUND SHIPPING.
(Find out how)

 

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Keratex Hoof Hardener strengthens weak, worn and cracked hooves by improving the molecular structure of the horn itself. The gentle acting chemical formulation forms additional intermolecular bonds between molecules of keratin through the process of cross-linking, producing a tougher, stronger horn structure. Keratin is the main protein constituent of horn and is best described as the building block of the horn structure. 

Favorite Features

  •  Strengthens, hardens, and protects hooves. 
  • Equally effective in wet & dry conditions.
  • Prevents the horn from taking in excess moisture, making it resistant to softening and weakening in wet conditions. This results in a reduction in shoe loss and abscesses.
  • Keratex Hoof Hardener is not an oil or resin layer and does not seal the hoof.
  • Keratex Hoof Hardener will ensure the treated hoof is able to breathe naturally so the moisture balance is properly maintained.
  • Should also be applied to the sole of the hoof to prevent bruising.
  • Includes brush for application.
  • Great for use on both shod and unshod horses because of its hardening and strengthening effect.

Apply to lower half of hoof and sole, avoiding coronary band and frog. Use daily for one week then twice weekly for general hoof maintenance. If the hoof has been treated with any oils or greases over the past three months, degrease the hoof thoroughly with acetone before applying Keratex Hoof Hardener. Do not use any oils or greases while using Keratex Hoof Hardener.

Made in the UK.

Due to federal regulations, we are unable to offer expedited shipping, or ship to Alaska and Hawaii for this product. Please note this item may ship separately from your order. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience.

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    Magic Cushion Hoof Packingis a natural anti-inflammatory and ...
    Description:
    Magic Cushion Hoof Packingis a natural anti-inflammatory and analgesic hoof packingfor the equine athlete. Provides relief from the soreness resulting from the everyday rigors of training, laminitis, white line disease, pedal osteitis, abscesses, navicular syndrome, bruising, corns, canker and any ...
    Continuous treatment promotes faster healing! The Veterinary Preference ...
    Description:
    Continuous treatment promotes faster healing! The Veterinary Preference Thrush Treatment is a fast-acting treatment for Thrush and White Line Disease with a unique delivery system. The active medication is saturated into self adhering cotton rolls that, when pressed into the ...
    EquiFits newly introduced custom-fit, Hoof Savers provide cushionedProtection ...
    Description:
    EquiFits newly introduced custom-fit, Hoof Savers provide cushionedProtection to your horse's hooves. Constructed using EVA Foam technology similar to that used in the running shoe industry, the pads offer pain relief to laminitic and sore-footed horses andProtection to shoeless hooves. ...
    Banixx safely and effectively kills bacteria and fungus, ...
    Description:
    Banixx safely and effectively kills bacteria and fungus, making it a great all-around addition to your first-aid kit! Its non-irritating formula works well on wounds, lacerations, post-surgical wound care, fungal infections, scratches, white-line disease, thrush, rain rot and more. Favorite ...
    It's finally time to say goodbye to the ...
    Description:
    It's finally time to say goodbye to the duck tape, diapers, individual ingredients etc. you keep spending both time and money. Rebound Hoof Pack is a potent, super sticky hoof pack formulated to draw pain, soreness and inflammation out of ...
    Huuf Magic is an easily applied, non-messy penetrating ...
    Description:
    Huuf Magic is an easily applied, non-messy penetrating treatment that effectively aids in the treatment of thrush, seedy toe, white line disease, coronary band scurf, cracked heel bulbs and other problems associated with the sole, frog and hoof. A unique ...
    The Noble Equine 5 O'Clock Hoof Pick is ...
    Description:
    The Noble Equine 5 O'Clock Hoof Pick is ready for happy hour with built-in bottle opener at one end! Designed with a comfortable handle for a steady grip. Imported. Favorite Features Easy grip ergonomic handle Bottle opener end for dual ...
    out of 5
    95% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Keratex Hoof Hardener is rated 4.713450292397661 out of 5 by 171.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works wonders! Worked really well on hardening the soles of my tender footed WB when she transitioned from being mostly stall kept to turned out a lot.
    Date published: 2016-04-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this product! My horse's hoof strength & quality has improved drastically since using Keratex. Even my farrier noticed! She can go longer inbetween trims and has less chipping/breaking!
    Date published: 2016-04-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works perfectly!! Love it! I love this stuff!! It has worked wonders on my mare's feet in a few weeks. She had lost her strong feet after being in a wet field. So slowly we are getting back to where we were!!
    Date published: 2016-04-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from It works! My gelding has been on hoof supplements for years due to his sensitive soles and has never been able to go barefoot. He still must wear shoes to walk across rocks and gravel to get to the riding arena, but as of today he no longer had to tip-toe up the driveway!Keratex is not easy to apply and you must wear gloves as the liquid is a watery consistency that can burn the skin as well as the frog of the hoof.
    Date published: 2016-03-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product works I have used his for several years it works well on dry an wet soils especially in a sandy area
    Date published: 2016-02-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great product. Works super. Use it when transitioning a horse from shoes to barefoot for the winter. Wish it came with an applicator bottle.
    Date published: 2016-01-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from work fast I bought this product a few months ago for a few horses that were having trouble keeping shoes on. Their feet were very shelly around the nails of their shoes. This product helped very quickly.
    Date published: 2015-12-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Farrier/vet recommended My horse doesn't have the best of feet and they tend to get soft when its wet out and he throws shoes. I use this about 2 to 3 x's a week and it really helps with keeping his shoes on. Its the only thing I have found to work!
    Date published: 2015-12-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for barefoot horses! I pull my horses' shoes in the winter/non-showing season for us. He does pretty well when his shoes are first pulled, but he usually need a week to adjust. This helps SO much!!!!! I wish I knew about this earlier than this year!!!! It is worth the money for sure!
    Date published: 2015-12-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bob's Shoes are Staying On!! Bob is an OTTB. He seems to have the notoriously soft hoof walls that come with being a thoroughbred. All four of his hooves are light as well, so Bob is doubly blessed in that regard. Before starting Bob on Keratex, he consistently lost his shoes before the farrier's next visit, and his feet literally looked like he chewed his nails. After two months with Keratex, Bob is keeping his shoes on and the general appearance of his feet is much improved. Some of the reviews mention how messy application of this product can be. I heartily recommend using a paint bottle with a sponge tip applicator. I got mine from Amazon.
    Date published: 2015-12-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy to use, highly recommended We have seen small changes already on our thin soled gelding. Only been using the product for 3 weeks now, excited to see the future weeks to see how keratex impacts his crumbly feet. Highly recommended by our farrier.
    Date published: 2015-11-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Life saver for my poor mare! I bought this product on the recommendation of my farrier. My poor mare abscessed 3 times in three months and has such soft, tender soles, she could barely walk. My vet recommended that she stay in during muddy season but that is not practical for her. I started applying Keratex Hoof Hardener and after 12 days, she is sound again and has nice hard soles. I am on maintenance of just twice a week now and bought EasyCare easy boots RX for the really bad muddy weather. I may not even have to use them. Great product. I highly recommend it.
    Date published: 2015-11-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I bought this about a month ago and started using it right away! Saw improvement within a week or so. Great product.
    Date published: 2015-11-04
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Product! I've been using this product weekly for a few years. Great product! Keeps hooves hard & healthy; I don't have to worry so much about loosing shoes
    Date published: 2015-10-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Keratex Hoof Hardener This product was recommended to me by my farrier. It's too soon to tell how it is working for my horses.
    Date published: 2015-09-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really helps make hooves better! I have been using this product for several months on my warmblood. His hooves were very brittle, and he was constantly breaking up. I have been using it every other day, and his hooves have really improved. Much stronger, no breaking up. I highly recommend.
    Date published: 2015-09-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It works!! Both my horses have been barefoot for years and never had problems until this spring. The footing in the ring was very hard and they both became foot sore. They also developed cracks as well. I bought a bottle of Keratex and applied it once a day for 7 days. Afterwards, I applied it twice a week. Wow- after a month there was major improvement and their hoofs were no longer sore! I am a believer!! The farrier was very impressed as well. My only complaint is the bottle- I just transfer the liquid into a can with a brush to avoid spilling.
    Date published: 2015-08-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So far so good! My TB gelding has been battling abscesses in his front foot and the sole has been very chalky and crumbling. I applied this product daily for the first week and have noticed a huge difference already! The sole is much harder and the crumbling has almost stopped. Will definitely keep up with the weekly applications.
    Date published: 2015-08-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from All my farriers Recomend it Every farrier I ever had has recommended using it.
    Date published: 2015-08-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Hoof Saver! My mare's feet are a mess this summer- lots of wet weather has been making her feet very soft. They are cracking and she keeps losing shoes. I decided to try Keratex, and it has been working great. Since I started using it, she has not lost any shoes. It will take a while for the cracks to grow out, but so far the Keratex seems to be doing its job.
    Date published: 2015-08-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from so far so good bought this to help transition to barefoot where moisture is an issue and so far so good. just wish application was simpler-perhaps a sponge tip applicator instead of brush
    Date published: 2015-07-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from really works! I have seen a major difference in my horses feet since I have began using this product
    Date published: 2015-07-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy to use Bought this several weeks ago for soft hoofs. So far, so good. Shoes have stayed on in soggy pasture and horse seems happy.
    Date published: 2015-07-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Liquid Gold!! This product saved both of my horses' feet last summer! They both had crumbling hooves and the farrier was making weekly visits to put lost shoes back on :( my trainer recommended Keratex. It is definitely worth ever single penny.
    Date published: 2015-07-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product I have been using this for several months and I love it.
    Date published: 2015-06-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product! I've been using this on my barefoot mare who has navicular. Really helps on her soles especially in the hot humid summers of South Florida. Along with supplements for her feet this product keeps her sound and comfortable. Very happy with the results. Noticeable difference.
    Date published: 2015-06-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Well worth the cost This product was recommended to me by your amazing staff at IHSA Nationals and I kind of balked at the price of it but I'm very glad I sucked it up and shelled out the money for it. My gelding has poorly shaped feet, white line disease and chronic chipping. This was a fantastic compliment to his supplements, with visible results in just a couple weeks!
    Date published: 2015-05-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A MUST have I restart OTTB's and first step is getting hooves to improve as much as possible. We live in a very wet southern climate which doesn't help matters. I have used this product in the past to harden feet after pulling shoes or those with them. I recently got a new one that had seedy toe, a huge abscess(almost to the bone on xray) in one hoof and some white line. He required a hoof wall resection but once that was healed and we were duct tape boot free I started using the keratex all around! I have also just gotten the gel and I have seen steady improvements. They aren't cracking and flaking off between trims as much and I've got fingers crossed that in a couple cycles thanks to improved nutrition and keratex we'll have shoes on again!
    Date published: 2015-05-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really does the job I have used this product about 2 months. For the 2 1/2 yrs I've owned him, my horse has had tender feet,ie the soles were soft and thin. After about two weeks I started imagining that he was not so tender and reacted less to stones. By 4 weeks I was sure. I even heard my farrier say nice things about the horse's feet for th first time, in the third month of treatment!It is really effective.
    Date published: 2015-04-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for Barefoot horses The product works within days. Easy to use. I hope that I can have Rose go barefoot.
    Date published: 2015-04-21
    • 2016-07-24T10:31CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.3.0
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_16, tr_155
    • loc_en_US, sid_7363, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders