Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Review Snapshot

Keratex Hoof Hardener

Keratex Equine Hoofcare
- Item #17363

 

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Keratex Hoof Hardener strengthens weak, worn and cracked hooves by improving the molecular structure of the horn itself. The gentle acting chemical formulation forms additional intermolecular bonds between molecules of keratin through the process of cross-linking, producing a tougher, stronger horn structure. Keratin is the main protein constituent of horn and is best described as the building block of the horn structure. 

Favorite Features

  •  Strengthens, hardens, and protects hooves. 
  • Equally effective in wet & dry conditions.
  • Prevents the horn from taking in excess moisture, making it resistant to softening and weakening in wet conditions. This results in a reduction in shoe loss and abscesses.
  • Keratex Hoof Hardener is not an oil or resin layer and does not seal the hoof.
  • Keratex Hoof Hardener will ensure the treated hoof is able to breathe naturally so the moisture balance is properly maintained.
  • Should also be applied to the sole of the hoof to prevent bruising.
  • Includes brush for application.
  • Great for use on both shod and unshod horses because of its hardening and strengthening effect.

Apply to lower half of hoof and sole, avoiding coronary band and frog. Use daily for one week then twice weekly for general hoof maintenance. If the hoof has been treated with any oils or greases over the past three months, degrease the hoof thoroughly with acetone before applying Keratex Hoof Hardener. Do not use any oils or greases while using Keratex Hoof Hardener.

Made in the UK.

Due to federal regulations, we are unable to offer expedited shipping, or ship to Alaska and Hawaii for this product. Please note this item may ship separately from your order. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience.

You Might Like
    out of 5
    96% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Keratex Hoof Hardener is rated 4.717 out of 5 by 159.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy to use, highly recommended We have seen small changes already on our thin soled gelding. Only been using the product for 3 weeks now, excited to see the future weeks to see how keratex impacts his crumbly feet. Highly recommended by our farrier.
    Date published: 2015-11-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Life saver for my poor mare! I bought this product on the recommendation of my farrier. My poor mare abscessed 3 times in three months and has such soft, tender soles, she could barely walk. My vet recommended that she stay in during muddy season but that is not practical for her. I started applying Keratex Hoof Hardener and after 12 days, she is sound again and has nice hard soles. I am on maintenance of just twice a week now and bought EasyCare easy boots RX for the really bad muddy weather. I may not even have to use them. Great product. I highly recommend it.
    Date published: 2015-11-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I bought this about a month ago and started using it right away! Saw improvement within a week or so. Great product.
    Date published: 2015-11-04
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Product! I've been using this product weekly for a few years. Great product! Keeps hooves hard & healthy; I don't have to worry so much about loosing shoes
    Date published: 2015-10-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Keratex Hoof Hardener This product was recommended to me by my farrier. It's too soon to tell how it is working for my horses.
    Date published: 2015-09-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really helps make hooves better! I have been using this product for several months on my warmblood. His hooves were very brittle, and he was constantly breaking up. I have been using it every other day, and his hooves have really improved. Much stronger, no breaking up. I highly recommend.
    Date published: 2015-09-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It works!! Both my horses have been barefoot for years and never had problems until this spring. The footing in the ring was very hard and they both became foot sore. They also developed cracks as well. I bought a bottle of Keratex and applied it once a day for 7 days. Afterwards, I applied it twice a week. Wow- after a month there was major improvement and their hoofs were no longer sore! I am a believer!! The farrier was very impressed as well. My only complaint is the bottle- I just transfer the liquid into a can with a brush to avoid spilling.
    Date published: 2015-08-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So far so good! My TB gelding has been battling abscesses in his front foot and the sole has been very chalky and crumbling. I applied this product daily for the first week and have noticed a huge difference already! The sole is much harder and the crumbling has almost stopped. Will definitely keep up with the weekly applications.
    Date published: 2015-08-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from All my farriers Recomend it Every farrier I ever had has recommended using it.
    Date published: 2015-08-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Hoof Saver! My mare's feet are a mess this summer- lots of wet weather has been making her feet very soft. They are cracking and she keeps losing shoes. I decided to try Keratex, and it has been working great. Since I started using it, she has not lost any shoes. It will take a while for the cracks to grow out, but so far the Keratex seems to be doing its job.
    Date published: 2015-08-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from so far so good bought this to help transition to barefoot where moisture is an issue and so far so good. just wish application was simpler-perhaps a sponge tip applicator instead of brush
    Date published: 2015-07-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from really works! I have seen a major difference in my horses feet since I have began using this product
    Date published: 2015-07-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy to use Bought this several weeks ago for soft hoofs. So far, so good. Shoes have stayed on in soggy pasture and horse seems happy.
    Date published: 2015-07-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Liquid Gold!! This product saved both of my horses' feet last summer! They both had crumbling hooves and the farrier was making weekly visits to put lost shoes back on :( my trainer recommended Keratex. It is definitely worth ever single penny.
    Date published: 2015-07-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product I have been using this for several months and I love it.
    Date published: 2015-06-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product! I've been using this on my barefoot mare who has navicular. Really helps on her soles especially in the hot humid summers of South Florida. Along with supplements for her feet this product keeps her sound and comfortable. Very happy with the results. Noticeable difference.
    Date published: 2015-06-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Well worth the cost This product was recommended to me by your amazing staff at IHSA Nationals and I kind of balked at the price of it but I'm very glad I sucked it up and shelled out the money for it. My gelding has poorly shaped feet, white line disease and chronic chipping. This was a fantastic compliment to his supplements, with visible results in just a couple weeks!
    Date published: 2015-05-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A MUST have I restart OTTB's and first step is getting hooves to improve as much as possible. We live in a very wet southern climate which doesn't help matters. I have used this product in the past to harden feet after pulling shoes or those with them. I recently got a new one that had seedy toe, a huge abscess(almost to the bone on xray) in one hoof and some white line. He required a hoof wall resection but once that was healed and we were duct tape boot free I started using the keratex all around! I have also just gotten the gel and I have seen steady improvements. They aren't cracking and flaking off between trims as much and I've got fingers crossed that in a couple cycles thanks to improved nutrition and keratex we'll have shoes on again!
    Date published: 2015-05-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really does the job I have used this product about 2 months. For the 2 1/2 yrs I've owned him, my horse has had tender feet,ie the soles were soft and thin. After about two weeks I started imagining that he was not so tender and reacted less to stones. By 4 weeks I was sure. I even heard my farrier say nice things about the horse's feet for th first time, in the third month of treatment!It is really effective.
    Date published: 2015-04-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for Barefoot horses The product works within days. Easy to use. I hope that I can have Rose go barefoot.
    Date published: 2015-04-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product! I first starting using Keratex, when my farrier recommended it for my [then] new horse who had really poor feet. You will not immediately see the results of using Keratex but now, a year later my farrier is so happy with the improvements that he sees on my horse's feet- and I'm happy that I don't have to call the farrier two or three times between appointments!
    Date published: 2015-02-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product! Great product! Really helped my horses hooves! Would buy again!
    Date published: 2015-02-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A must have hoof care product I have been using Keratex Hoof Hardner for years now and it is something I would not be without.
    Date published: 2015-01-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My farrier said this the best stuff to put on my horse Buzz hoofs he getting line crakes in 3 off his hoofs and this made his feet harder and using smarthoof supplements would help grow out crakes and his feet are much better
    Date published: 2015-01-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I can tell a huge difference in the overall health of my horse's hooves!
    Date published: 2014-12-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product Purchased this on recommendation of my farrier. Satisfied with product results, easy to apply.
    Date published: 2014-11-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stays barefoot! This is the first summer I tried Keratex after reading recommendations about it on a Facebook post. If I kept my gelding barefoot during the warmer 6 months of the year he gets ragged edges and cracks in his hooves. I had to resort to putting on at least front shoes to keep his feet looking nice. With the Keratex I can keep him barefoot and his hooves stay nice and solid year round. While the product seems expensive, it is a bargain compared to a set of shoes every 6 weeks.
    Date published: 2014-10-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I am very pleased with this product. My horse has shelly feet and Keratex Hoof Hardener helps his feet better than any other product i have tried.
    Date published: 2014-10-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works! My OTTB arrived to our rocky soil with super sensitive hooves. I researched what to do as I wanted to leave him barefoot. I did a two fold approach, I bought this product and applied daily for 7 days. I have since applied twice a week since (3 plus months total). I also put him on a repair dose of farriers formula supplement. The combo has worked. He is much less tender footed, and his new hoof growth appears very healthy. Highly recommend this product and will continue to use. It is pricy, but does last a long time.
    Date published: 2014-10-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Helps keep shoes on! We use this twice a week on our three Chestnut horses, who tend to lose shoes due to weak, shelly hoof walls. This is the only product so far that has toughened up the hoof walls to keep them strong enough to hold shoes until the next regular farrier visit.
    Date published: 2014-10-11
    • 2016-02-10T14:57CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_14, tr_145
    • loc_en_US, sid_7363, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Mollie and Eden
    I started riding when I was 9 years old and quickly got swept up into the competitive hunter/jumper world. I showed my first pony, Chloe, in the Small Pony Hunter divisions were we competed at shows like Fairfield Hunt Club, Old Salem, HITS, and West...

    Learn more »

    SmartPak Barn Field Trip, Part 2: Decoding hay and grain for horses
    Download the worksheet to test your knowledge! How much hay and grain does your horse get every day? How much SHOULD your horse be getting each day? Many horses may not be getting what your feed bag recommends, so we’re

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-800-461-8898.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.