Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Keratex Hoof Gel

Keratex Equine Hoofcare
- Item #18310
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

 

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Keratex Hoof Gel keeps hoof horn water tight in wet weather and stops cracking in dry weather. Not a damaging oil, but a powerful hydrophobic treatment that leaves the hoof glistening dry. While Keratex Hoof Hardener repairs damage to the hoof horn's molecular structure caused by water and ammonia, Keratex Hoof Gel quite simply stops the damage from happening in the first place. Keratex Hoof Gel protects hooves from damage caused by manure, urine and excess water absorption. Keratex Hoof Gel allows the hoof to breathe. Air can pass freely through Keratex Hoof Gel in either direction and excess moisture can be expelled from the hoof. No water or typical chemicals can enter the hoof from the outside. If you are showing or going to an event, all you need to do is apply Keratex Hoof Gel, let it dry, and then buff it with a cloth to have a super natural sheen on the hooves. 1 liter.

Due to federal regulations, we are unable to offer expedited shipping, or ship to Alaska and Hawaii for this product. Please note this item may ship separately from your order. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience.

You Might Like
    out of 5
    98% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Keratex Hoof Gel is rated 4.775 out of 5 by 40.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best hoof treatment for wet and dry weather I have been using this product for over 4 months now and you can really tell the difference between my horses hooves and the others at the barn. Our weather has been crazy with heavy rains and then major drought. My horses hooves have no cracks in them what so ever while all other horses hooves are a crumbly mess. All I am doing is putting the Keratex hoof gel on 2-3 times per week. Cleaning out his feet is easy as there is usually nothing there to pick out. My horse has a pond in his pasture and he likes to go in it A LOT!! This normally is really bad for horses hooves but you would never know it as his are still looking fantastic. I highly recommend this product to everyone!!
    Date published: 2014-07-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works as described Even after just one application my gelding's feet were cleaner and drier than before. Manure was just wiped off with a towel. Arena dirt didn't stick and NO thrush yet!Excellent product!
    Date published: 2014-02-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Anything from Keratex! I have been using this product for about a month maybe, and I am obsessed. I started off using the Keratex Hoof Hardener, which I LOVE. My horse has now been barefoot for a year, with help from Smartpak Hoof supplement and the Keratex hardener. Now that we've gotten an excellent checkup from our farrier, I've decided to move on to a new hoof product. I can't believe the how good this stuff works. I live in Michigan, and right now is mud season. The mud comes right off his feet, and he has stayed thrush free as well! Love, Love, love it. Also, a lot of reviews claim this doesn't polish the hoof as much as the company claims, but I found that to be totally false. It deinatley gives Zoom's feet a great sheen. 
    Date published: 2013-11-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for challenging TB hoofs I have a tiny OTTB (00 & 000 shoes), with very thin soles and very weak hoof wall. It was a rough summer, but this hoof application helps keep a very nice moisture balance in the hoof. I also use it on my old retired guy, who has bad hoof quality as well. Would HIGHLY recommend. Only drawback is that it is expensive, but it lasts along time.
    Date published: 2013-10-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Product Keratex Hoof Gel has really helped my TB mare. She has low heels and grows a long toe. The summertime moisture softens her hoof wall and contributes to crushing her heels and cracking along the nail holes. Keratex Hoof Gel protects her feet from the wetness by providing a breathable barrier. Apply it to clean hooves and let dry. Do not use any other hoof dressings. This is an amazing product. Use it consistently and you will see results. Very important to shake it up thoroughly. You will need a small hoof brush to apply it. I use it everyday in summer and 1 or 2 times a week in winter according to need.
    Date published: 2013-09-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Eureka! Something to keep hooves dry! We have a mare with narrow feet. Her front feet have actually widened a bit due to balanced riding and shoeing, but her commissures are deep and narrow and tend to hold stall shavings, mud, etc. It got to where thrush would start, I treated with iodine - over and over. Our trainer recommended Keratex Hoof Hardener thinking it would help the frog. I found this hoof gel and thought it would be even better and it has really helped! The only complaint I have is the lack of an applicator. I ended up buying an empty hoof oil bottle on another site. It says to apply to a clean, dry hoof, but I don't want to wash her feet and wait for them to dry. I just pick them out and brush them off. Although, they don't seem to hold the mucky stuff so much now. Much dryer and healthier. Great product, but invest in the bottle with a brush in the lid for easy application.
    Date published: 2013-08-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from keratex has done it again ! I have been using the keratex hoof hardener for a couple months now and loved it, I saw this product and wanted to give it a try because thrush season is coming up. I did an unintentional experiment with my two horses, both freshly shod and living in the same paddock one of them got the hoof gel all over and the other didn't. It rained... no it monsooned, and when I brought them in the next day the one without the gel had soggy feet and frogs and took forever to dry while my other horse with the gel had hard feet that dried quickly. Will recommend to everyone !
    Date published: 2013-02-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product Great choice for a barefoot horse. His feet still look good even after being out on pasture through a rainy week. No chips or cracks, and best of all his feet have stayed dry and thrush free. Goes on easy and dries fast, though I suggest getting a hoof can to pour the product into, as it doesn't come with a brush. Definitely recommend for wet weather.
    Date published: 2013-01-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from VERY impressed I bought this because I liked Keratex Hoof Hardener and I was looking for something for the up coming wet/mud season in the paddocks. The gel is great going on - NOT thick and goopy. I clean hooves and put it on before I start grooming. By the time I finish grooming it has dried and it doesn't look like there is anything on the hoof. I dribbled water on the hoof and it beaded up like on oil! I put it on soles & frogs too. The farrier said my horses hooves look better than in a long time. No 'product build up'.
    Date published: 2012-10-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing This stuff really works. My TB mare is out to irrigated pasture and the moisture in her hooves was getting so bad she was going to have to move to a paddock. I won't have to move her with this product!
    Date published: 2012-10-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it I have been using Keratex Hoof Hardner to toughen up sole of my horses feet and to strengthen crumbling around shoe nail holes and liked that product a lot, so I tried their gel.This is great - it goes on smoothly, not goopy like some hoof conditioners/oils. It dried before I finished grooming the horse and didn't look like I had applied anything, but when water dripped on his hoof it beaded up and rolled off!I'm planning on using this this winter to keep moisture out of his hooves if we get another wet winter like we had last year.The only thing I don't like it is doesn't come with a built in brush.
    Date published: 2012-10-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Product I've only used this product a few times but have already seen great results. My mare's soles used to be quite soft and her frogs too squishy. Now her soles are nice and tough and her frogs are just right (pliable but not too soft). I've also noticed her hooves are easier to pick out. I am very pleased with this product and plan to keep using it forever!
    Date published: 2012-08-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful! I was recommended this product by my farrier (a farrier I could only use because my vet recommended my horses to him). He carried this product so I could purchase it from him. I had to stop using him as my horses didn't need corrective shoeing anymore; I now purchase here.This product is amazing and does wonders providing a barrier to moisture out here in humid and wet Virginia! I would highly recommend Kerotex! Make sure to purchase a seperate container with a brush though as this is just the product only.
    Date published: 2012-08-23
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works Great -- If you can get it out! Ordered this some time ago for my TB with classic TB feet. It definitely has helped his feet and we were going along splendidly using it until I noticed it was getting tougher and tougher to get out of the can. I looked inside and, although the can is still about half full, the gel is literally gelled in place. Can't reach it with the hoof brush, can't get it to move at all. I tried leaving it out in the heat hoping it would melt a bit, no luck. Tried keeping it inside hoping the coolness would perhaps soften it up, no luck. This stuff is a great deal and worked well, but if you can only use half of the can, it really detracts from its usefulness. Bummer.
    Date published: 2012-08-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Quantity will last forever This is a nice product and you get a lot of it for the money. It's a little bit of a hassle cleaning the hoof well enough to apply the product, but probably worth the effort. My geldings hooves are the best they've been in a long time.
    Date published: 2012-03-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Definitely makes hoofpicking easier I purchased this product to combat hooves that seem to be susceptible to moisture damage.The hoof is definitely easier to pick, now. Mud and manure come out easier, and the sole looks cleaner, so it does seem to be preventing the hoof from absorbing as much moisture.I do not think this gel provides shine to the hoof like they advertise.I haven't had Keratex Hoof Gel long enough to tell how much it really helps in the long term. However, the foot with a deep sulcus crack from thrush (which was treated prior with topical antibiotics) does look less mushy.
    Date published: 2012-03-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from HUGE difference My mare likes to run around and be crazy in her pasture. She used to constantly loose shoes until I started her on keratex. I used the liquid kind, but I realized the gel is so much cheaper for more! It works the same in my opinion. She hasn't lost a shoe since I started her on it and I've saved so much money for not calling my farrier every week to put on a lost shoe! So happy :)
    Date published: 2012-01-08
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Smelly but effective This works great in the sandy, low country, soil my horses live in. I have a retired barefoot TB with classic TB hooves, and this gel helps regulate the moisture level.
    Date published: 2011-11-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sore Feet No More My horse Kali has soft soles. Whenever we would have wet or moist (snow) conditions, she would be sore in her front feet, and I was unable to ride her. This would happen almost twice to three times a month. My ferrier suggested shoes, but I believe in keeping my horses feet natural. I began using Keratex Hoof Gel about a year ago, since then Kali has never been sore. I apply it year round 3-4 times a week. This product has allowed my horse to be sound, and to be able to keep my horse natural.
    Date published: 2011-10-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another great product I am a huge Keratex fan and use the hardener on my horses regularly. When I saw the gel I wanted to try it in addition to my current program - I am glad I did. Works hand in hand, keeps hooves healthy and horses happy and working!!
    Date published: 2011-08-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from fantastic I'm just mad I didn't try/buy this product way long ago, years ago. If only I'd known how well it works! I'd been fighting smushy soft feet on my Arab forever. His heels stayed low, he was prone to thrush no matter what I did or what product I used. He was always on some hoof supplement or the other in his feed. Using this Kertex stuff, the gel and the other super expensive Kertex has reversed all the problems within a month. Now my boy has super strong, hard but reslient hoof horn, and the heels are nice and tough and growing out. Couldn't be happier with the results.
    Date published: 2011-07-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Healthy Hooves I have used Keratex Hoof Gel for many years and my horses hooves are in great condition!! Keratex protects the hooves in wet, muddy conditions and is great to use when horses are bathed frequently at shows. Keratex also keeps hooves from becoming dry and brittle and cracking. I always have this product on hand and use it on all my horses to prevent hoof issues.
    Date published: 2011-05-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good stuff I decided to try this because my horse's hooves were getting cracks (not a lot, but often enough that I was concerned that pieces of the wall could easily break off as a result), and after he had a case of white line disease, which although not symptomatic for him, can cause major problems in horses. What attracted me was the claim that it made a seal to keep hooves dry, but did not dry them out. Before I started using this, I used to have to use thrush remedy at least once every week or two because my horse's turnout was often muddy. We never had a bad case of thrush, but I think if I had not stayed on top of it, we could have. So I have been using Keratex in place of a regular hoof conditioner. I put it on his sole, frog, and wall but leave about one-half inch at the coronet, which is in the directions. I have been using Keratex around 6 -8 months. The big can has lasted me that long, and I just purchased a new one. My horse's hooves look great, and especially the soles, which used to be white and crumbly when I picked them out. Now they are much harder.They also claim that it will make hooves shine, but so far I haven't seen this-I keep waiting! And I do wish it were just a little thicker. I would not exactly call it a gel-it's pretty liquid. But I like that you can apply it with a brush. Very simple. Remember to shake well!
    Date published: 2011-03-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Keratex Hoof Gel I am pleasantly surprised with the results of this product so far. There is a lot of mud and manure on our place and Dixie's hooves are always packed with mud and manure and very hard to clean. And we have been struggling with a bad crack on her right front hoof since March 2009. After applying Keratex to her hooves 3 or four times, I can tell a real difference in the ease of cleaning her hooves and her sole and hooves are looking a lot better. My hope is this will help get a handle on that crack!
    Date published: 2011-02-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works well, but smelly I am a huge fan of Keratex products. This one works great, but be sure you have a very well ventilated area where you can apply it to your horses' hooves. I wish Keratex included a brush for application.
    Date published: 2011-02-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works well I've been using this product several times a week on clean dry hooves (over the nail holes) probably since last summer. I've seen an overall improvement in his feet. While this could be in combination with the hoof supplement he also gets, I do believe this product has been working and will keep using it. A bottle lasts a very long time.
    Date published: 2010-12-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best for Troubled Feet Good product a must use if your horse is turned out alot. Keeps horn moisture even, I have never seen anything like it. I will never put oil on my horses feet again.
    Date published: 2010-12-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from best investment in hoof protection I have used this product for over 3 years...would not go without it! Began using it for a TB/QH with thin soled, chronically bruising feet that always seemed to get thrushy or abscess. Discovered later that a seedy toe (small hole) on his toe was permissive to white line disease. Muddy paddocks were bad news to this fellow. Using this product 2-3 times a week has made an incredible difference in hoof quality & overall soundness. Good option for horses that have hooves that seem to take on too much moisture or bruise easily. Helps the barefooted horses too.
    Date published: 2010-03-24
    • 2015-05-25T10:06CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.3
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_4, tr_36
    • loc_en_US, sid_8310, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Recipe: Homemade Carrot and Oat Treats
    It has been such a cold and snowy winter here in Massachusetts for the past few months. I look for any excuse to fire up my oven. Prior to visiting my horse Bug last weekend I decided to make her

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.