Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Kensington Protective Sheet

Kensington Protective Products
- Item #12294
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer. That means this item isn't eligible for additional discounts or promotions.
We're sorry, but certain colors/sizes are sold out and are no longer available.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Please Note- Select Colors Only On Sale

Why We Love This


The Kensington Protective Sheet provides maximum protection from biting insects, cuts, and rubs.  This sheet provides protection for up to 78% of UV rays.

Favorite Features

  • 1000 x 2000 denier 
  • Withstands fading, fire, mildew, soiling and wear and tear, even in the most severe weather condition
  • Lined shoulders keep the sensitive horse's shoulders free from rubs
  • Includes elastic leg straps
  • 2 adjustable belly surcingles

Made in the U.S.A.

Sizing It Up

How to measure a horse

You Might Like
    out of 5
    91% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Kensington Protective Sheet- Select Colors Only On Sale! is rated 4.6263 out of 5 by 198.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this! I bought a 78 and had to send it back and get an 80. But that wasn't a hassle at all. They received the 78 quick and processed the return and I had my 80 in a matter of days. Very happy with the size and cut. Fits my girl like a glove.
    Date published: 2015-07-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Kensington quality at a great pricd Great fit, versatile sheet. Love Kensington products!
    Date published: 2015-07-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It's sturdy and it fits! I don't know which was more important to me when I bought this sheet - something to protect my mare from other horses' bites when in the turnout paddock, or something that wouldn't rub the hair off her chest like other brands' sheets have in the past. Fortunately for me, the sheet has exceeded my hopes in both departments. It is roomy in the shoulders but not too big in the neck. The fabric feels very strong, and after four weeks of use, there are no bite marks or holes. The leg straps are reinforced and when I adjust them, they stay adjusted at that same length. Several other horses at the barn already had Kensington fly sheets, so I tried their sheets on my horse to get an idea how sizes would run. Despite measuring my horse at 77", a 74" sheet appeared to fit her well. I ordered a 74” sheet via telephone, after the SmartPak rep said it’s common for fly sheets to run a little large.
    Date published: 2015-07-23
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Kensington Fly Sheet Overall I'm really please. I do think that the sizing is a little larger than other size 74 sheets/blankets I have purchased. It's large on my mate.
    Date published: 2015-07-16
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from My horse's blanket size is 72 and I read that these run a bit small so I got her a 74 inch. It was still about 2 to 3 inches too small. This blanket is also not very breathable. My horse sweats in it a lot so I have to take it off regularly to let her cool off.
    Date published: 2015-07-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful fly sheet! This is a great sheet, very well made, sizing is 100% true. Fits extremely well. Material is heavy enough to not rip, shred or otherwise be wrecked!. Very breathable so horses stay cool while wearing it. An excellent value if you're looking for a quality fly sheet.
    Date published: 2015-07-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Sheet ever! I bought this sheet 2 years ago and my horse was trying to tear it apart but it stayed to gather very well is very durable!
    Date published: 2015-06-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love color!!! I have 3 of these want more . Durable fit well and awesome colors
    Date published: 2015-05-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Sturdy fabric, great color choices, runs small I love how sturdy this sheet is- the fabric is thick and won't easily tear. I also love the color choices- the black plaid looks great on my buckskin pony!There are just a couple odd things to mention- first, this sheet runs small. I sized up one size (he measures a 69" and fits most 69" blankets perfectly, but I ordered a 70" in this sheet) and it's just a tad on the small side for him! It is a little roomy in the shoulder/chest, even though my pony has large shoulders, but the overall length from shoulder to hind-quarters is on the short side. The last 3-4" of his butt is not covered by the sheet. It works, though, so I'm keeping it. Hopefully it won't rub him in the shoulders.The other odd thing is that it comes with only one surcingle strap under the belly. Most other sheets come with two, so that you can cris-cross them. It does have the two back straps that go between the back legs, though, and so far the sheet has stayed in place on my pony even though be is pretty active in turnout.
    Date published: 2015-05-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Heavy Duty This fly sheet is great so far. Its only been 2weeks that hes had it on but it fits very well and is true to size and is very well made which i need becaouse my hors is in an enclosure with lots of trees to get snagged on and rocky ground that he rolls on. I am impressed with the durability of this product.
    Date published: 2015-05-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Pleased I have purchased multiple fly sheets like this. I prefer them to the slinky variety: they hold their shape, stay in place, and are attractive. I prefer the original Kensington fly sheets over the SmartPak Kensington fly sheets as the originals have more options (neck cover, etc.), have a softer wither protector, and have a stronger back design. I only wish they had clasp closures at the chest instead of buckles. They run true to size.
    Date published: 2015-04-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Smart Pak Pink fly sheet and fly mask I have been using the SmartPak Pink flysheets and flymasks since the first year that they became available,I think. So, that should be about 14 years. Do they wear out? Of course, but I usually get about 5 to 6 years out of them. That is awesome! They are well worth the investment!
    Date published: 2015-04-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fit The material the sheet is made from seems sturdy and breathable. The sage color is attractive and the blanket fits my horse well. He is hard on blankets and although we have only had it the past 2 weeks, it is doing well and he is not picking at it.
    Date published: 2015-04-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from How to stop static electricity Someone asked a question about static electricity. If you spray Miracle Groom on the underside of your sheets and blankets it will prevent static electricity.
    Date published: 2015-04-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from EXCELLENT: LASTED ME ABOUT 6 YEARS I have used the same two Kensington Protective Sheets (fly sheets) for my two donkeys for the last 6 years. Only at the end of this past summer did the hardware (clips, buckles, and rings) wear out beyond further use. My donkeys are so hard on EVERYTHING--blankets, tack, buckets, fencing, etc.--and the Kensington Protective Sheets have withstood an extraordinary amount of abuse for longer than I ever dreamed they could.Hands down, this product is the best. I have always found, with fly sheets, that you get what you pay for. The Kensington Protective Sheet is definitely worth the price.The only problem is that I now need to replace the fly sheets and I cannot find the Kensington Protective Sheet in small enough sizes... (I need 58-60 inches for my donkeys.)
    Date published: 2014-12-31
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Love the Textilene but NOT the static electricitiy Awesome fly blanket and durability for more humid climates! Have a terribly touchy unhappy horse due to the static electricity from the DRY weather we have in AZ -- HOW TO STOP???
    Date published: 2014-11-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from I love the colours of this sheet I overall loved this product but I did not like how low the front "belly strap" hung. My horse loves to kick high under his chest and it could have easily got stuck. There was no way to adjust it any tighter. Other then that this product felt sturdy and was very lightweight.
    Date published: 2014-09-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Prefer quality of traditional colors. The "Smart"colors of this sheet are nice but the quality is slightly inferior to the traditional colors in red and tan/black plaid. The Smart Pak colors have fleece at the wither instead of the nicer quality slightly padded covered wither pad in the traditional colors and the fit of the Smart Pak version was a bit different and didn't fit my horse as well. Also, the traditional colors have a nice piece of binding along the back that the Smart Pak version doesn't have this. My horses tend to lay down in their stalls and the Smart Blue color showed manure stains immediately. I'm very happy with Smart Pak's exchange program- I returned the Smart Blue and exchanged it for the black/tan which looks very sharp and hides dirt/ manure stains much better than the blue. These are very nice quality and sharp looking fly sheets I have the red and tan/black. My boys look very handsome in these, definately a step above the typical fly sheet.
    Date published: 2014-09-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fashion for no flys Extremely stylish and effective . Stays bright and looking new.
    Date published: 2014-09-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Fly Sheet I have had a heck of time finding a fly sheet that was durable, fit well, was not "too heavy" for high temperatures etc. The Kensington Protective Sheet is the closest to meeting all those needs that I have found. Hopefully the design won't change so that I can purchase these in years to com.
    Date published: 2014-08-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Quality Fly Sheet I have had this sheet for about a month now and it has held up great.
    Date published: 2014-08-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE! I have used this fly sheet all summer with only some minor damage (snags) to the neck piece. He has destroyed several other fly sheets within weeks of wearing. I would definitely recommend this for someone who has a horse that will wear this out in the pasture.
    Date published: 2014-08-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Can't be damaged, YAY!!! After my blanket repair guy upped his prices I reviewed how much I use him. Way Too Much! I could have bought many horse outfits for the prices I was paying for repairs. And all my fly sheets looked like Frankenstein should be wearing them with all the repair stitches everywhere. So I consciously quit being the prudent New Englander whose motto is "Wear it 'till you wear it out."After I tossed old fly sheets, I scrutinized and I pawed through the SmartPak catalog until I found the best buy for my buck. The Kensington Fly Sheet and Fly Mask grabbed me. So I ordered two with matching masks. They are everything AND MORE that SmartPak claims them to be. I can't say enough about their durability. I have 2 gelding brothers T/Oed together 365 days a year and they play and play ruthlessly. There is lots of tug-a-war going on with sheets and rugs and forget the halter damage they make! Re the Kensington fly sheets: No damage so far! This is THE fly sheet to see your horse through horsey games and rumpus.Plus, Kensington has thought of so many details that are fantastic. For instance, there is elastic in the middle of the nylon leg straps so you get both the durability and the stretch factors. The colors are very attractive too. I have a chestnut in the sage green and a bay in the baby blue. Gorgeous!Both boys seem to love their sheets and masks. They really looked very proud the first morning I turned them out in them. It was eye opening to see them parade around the field in their new outfits. I knew then that this purchase was right.Oh! And the flies don't bother at all, they really work very well.
    Date published: 2014-07-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice sturdy fly sheet Great sheet - fit was good. I ordered a size larger. Seems to be durable. Easy to adjust and put on.
    Date published: 2014-07-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fly sheet My horse has been wearing this sheet for a few weeks. The sheet fits him well and does not rub his shoulders. The sheet also makes his coat shine. The sheet consists of durable construction.
    Date published: 2014-07-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from excekkent quality Other fly sheets that I have bought over the years have been torn up within 30 days (my horses are rough). The Kensington sheets I bought 3 years ago are still going strong. Had to buy one for a new horse
    Date published: 2014-06-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Sheet Very durable and fashionable. Keeps flies and bugs at bay while keeping horses comfortable!
    Date published: 2014-06-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this Fits my warmblood 16.3 mare.perfectly. I really like the color which is unique to Smartpak. I am going to buy the neck piece next
    Date published: 2014-06-16
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Sizes run small Great material and color but it does run small. I ordered a size 72 for my mare and it stopped at her hind end. All of her blankets and sheets are a 72 and fit just fine. Great fly sheet otherwise!
    Date published: 2014-06-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Even better than what I expected After doing my research, I finally decided on the 82" Kensington Smart Purple for my 16.2 hand TB. I had read about how flimsy many other fly sheets were, but I needed something durable. The Kensington Protective Sheet is a fantastic investment! The sheet molded to my horse's shape, so the fit is perfect, and the material is indestructible. My "pony" is comfy and quite stylish... What more could I ask for?
    Date published: 2014-05-24
    • 2015-08-29T13:26CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_19, tr_179
    • loc_en_US, sid_2294, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Horse of the Month: Dax
    Horse of the Month: Doc’s Mostly Yella aka Dax Breed: Quarter Horses Age: 8 years old PATH Intl. Member Center: Miracles in Motion Location: Keene, NH Dax is an 8 year old palomino quarter horse. He is about 16hh and

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright 2015 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.