Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Kensington Fly Mask with Ears

Kensington Protective Products
- Item #12291
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer. That means this item isn't eligible for additional discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

A fly mask that lasts! Textilene® is a breathable mesh fabric that's vibrant and durable enough to withstand outdoor use. The densely woven PVC strands enable this fabric to be heat-sealed while the high UV performance ensures protection and long lasting color. The fabric provides years of reliable relief against the sun, wind and dirt. Plus, the Textilene® fabric is fully recyclable.

Favorite Features

  • Constructed of the innovative, extremely durable, fully breathable mesh Textilene® fabric
  • Double eye darts for maximum room around the eyes
  • Mesh ears to keep bugs out
  • Heavy duty double locking VELCRO® Brand Closure and elastic neck strap will ensure a correct fit and will keep the mask on and in place
  • Fleece around the nose and neck will keep your horse comfortable
  • Provides 73% UV protection

Sizing It Up

Small (Large Pony/Yearling)
Medium (Arab/Cob)
Large (Horse)
X-Large (Warmblood/Small Draft)

Kensington Fleece Fly Masks run slightly large, so if you think your horse may be between sizes, please size down.

You Might Like
    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Kensington Fly Mask with Ears is rated 4.2581 out of 5 by 93.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent product!! It is great helps keep flys out of our standardbred's eyes!! runs large enough to fit his big head !!
    Date published: 2014-08-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from looks great! the purple flymask fit my grey thoroughbred mare perfectly and looked great on her too! no more nasty flies in her eyes and ears
    Date published: 2014-07-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect fit, Happy Horses The fit for both horses was perfect. My gelding was said to not like a fly mask but he loves this one! My mare is much happier also.
    Date published: 2014-07-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE this flymask! Love the embroidery! One of the only masks my horse hasn't destroyed! Made super well! Highly recommend :)
    Date published: 2014-06-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome fly mask I have this mask in the green plaid, horse size. It fits my 16hh warmblood horse really well. The feature I particularly love is the elastic insert on the double lock throat strap. This allows me to tighten the mask up so bugs can't fly in, but allow it to still be comfortable and stay on. The material is sturdy, with softer material for the ears. The cut is generous enough, and the colors are very nice. Overall a quality product that I expect to last for many seasons.
    Date published: 2014-06-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from one tough mask! I bought this mask for my horse who is turned out with a destructive buddy. He has ripped the cashel masks to shreds. So far, this mask has not been touched! It looks the same as the day I bought it.
    Date published: 2014-05-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Kensington Fly Mask with Ears This fly mask is wonderful, it fits perfect, and looks wonderful. The quality is great!!
    Date published: 2014-05-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good looking Seems to be well made. Is now being tested on my pasture horse. Good fit.
    Date published: 2014-05-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice mask, design change from last year We got this mask this year for our new pony as the one we had last year was pink and now we have a gelding. :) The old one was still in great shape though. No question that we'd buy the same one again. OK now the difference in design this year is BIG to me - the mask now slips on OVER the head (as in, you have to slide it up the horse's nose, due to the new band of elastic holding the sides together). The old design allowed you to "wrap it around" and that was nice for our pony who didn't like things going over her head. I do wish that the description was more clear about that.
    Date published: 2014-04-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So far so good! I purchased 2 of these fly masks-1For a fly-mask-Houdini; and 1 for a fly-mask-destroyer. So far, here's the deal:Definitely, these masks are studied than the many, many, (really many) masks I've bought. So far, neither horse have been able to pull the mask off, or shred it. I? Could not be happier at this point! Stay tuned-the month is young!
    Date published: 2014-04-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fits well with plenty of eye clearance I bought this mask in the middle of winter. Most suppliers were out of stock for the season, but I has happy that SmartPak wasn't! My Appy ulcerated his cornea and vet said to keep a mask on him to protect the eye and also give him some relief from the snow glare. I have other fly masks but none gave his eyes as much clearance as this one did. I do like the elastic in the Velcro closure that the mask has, but I had to figure out how much to tighten it as my boy is a Houdini and initially had to find the mask buried in snow! I also found his pasture mate was pulling it off him....jealous? I will be buying another for my other horse....once summer comes!
    Date published: 2014-03-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth buying again I bought my first Kensington fly mask three years ago. At the time I thought it was expensive for a flymask, but it was the only quick option. I had that first flymask for three years on horses that live outside! I have since bought three more for my other horses.
    Date published: 2013-10-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from ears are kind of big-- my daughter re-sewed to fit our Welsh pony better:)
    Date published: 2013-09-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cute and Durable The colors are pretty and at a large barn, embroidery is so helpful to keep track of which things go to which horse
    Date published: 2013-07-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful I am very pleased with this fly mask, so much in fact that I have ordered more of the same for the rest of my herd. The thick fleece prevents rubbing and the material is tough tough tough!
    Date published: 2013-07-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Ford F-350 of Fly Masks. This is my 3rd summer with this mask, and I can't say enough good things about it. It has survived my horse getting turned out 1) with a horse that is notorious for ripping the fly masks off of his paddock buddies, and 2) with a horse that my horse roughhoused with to the extent that his 600D rain sheet came out of it in tatters. In all of that, this fly mask has come off him exactly once. Every other horse in the barn has destroyed at least one fly mask in the time since I got this one, and while the fur is a little bit clumpy (like a well-loved teddy bear gets), otherwise, it looks just as good as it did the day I pulled it out of the package for the first time. I'm tempted to buy another one in a different color, just because I've had this one for so long I'm getting bored with looking at it. No sign, though.It's also SUPER-easy to clean. My boy is a real pig and cakes it up with mud at least twice a week. If I bring him in and it's already dried, I just give it a few brushes with my stiff grooming brush, and the dirt just falls right off immediately. If it's still wet, I turn the hose on it, sling it against the barn wall a few times to knock most of the water out of the fleece, and put it back on.I did buy a size too large because I wasn't aware that the products runs big, and it does, but all I have to do is fold the fuzzy strap over and it fits great. My horse is super sensitive to rubs, and hasn't had a single one from this mask. He knows what it's for, and puts his head down right away when he sees that I have it!
    Date published: 2013-07-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Attractive, sturdy mask I wanted a mask that stayed on my horse, protected him adequately, and was more attractive than a plain old grey one. This mask does all those things wonderfully. It runs a tad large, but the double velcro strap still keeps it on securely, even when the velcro doesn't match perfectly. The soft fleece at the nose is a nice touch, and of course Kensington products are of dependable quality and a nice array of colors. The SmartBlue looks sharp on my grey.
    Date published: 2013-06-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fancy, sturdy fly mask I bought this for my pony in the hopes that due to the SmartBlue color and monogramming it wouldn't migrate from horse to horse. She has a cob sized head with 'mare ears', the large is a little bit too big around so they seem to run true to bridle size with fairly normal ears. The mask is sturdy and the mesh on the ears and the fleece trim are both very soft so I'm hopeful it will hold up to 24/7 turnout without giving her rubs. Plus the SmartBlue is gorgeous and the monogramming is cute and subtle.
    Date published: 2013-05-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good purchase Fits well on my large draft. I do wish the material were softer but she enjoys it!
    Date published: 2013-05-28
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Awkward Fit There is something strange with the fit or cut of this fly mask. The bottom fleece edge barely rests below my mare's eyes, and the section behind the ears and on the bridle path is about three inches wide. (see picture)The quality is good, and I like how the ears are lined with a soft nylon material. The fleece is super soft, but the fit isn't right and I can't get it to stay on my horse. I've owned several other brands and styles of flymasks and haven't had any issues.
    Date published: 2012-08-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Fly Mask I really like this fly mask, however the area where the eyes are not shaped the best, and when my horse rubs sometimes they will get inverted and press against his eye.
    Date published: 2012-08-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Fly Mask! This is the fourth summer that I've been using this fly mask on my two draft crosses and they still look NEW! Great protection for the horses. In fact, my 'boys' know what the masks do for them as they lower their heads for me to put them on. My masks are a little large as I bought the XL size, but the horse size probably would've fit them better as they are draft crosses but each only about 15.3. The ears are a little too long and the velcro on the throat lach just needs to be rolled over to be snug against them - but even with my 'ordering' size mistake, the masks stay on them all night and have worked well for FOUR summers! Wonderful product - your horse will thank you!
    Date published: 2012-07-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The flies don't really bother my pony around his face so much, but lately his allergies have been very bad causing his eyes to get irritated and very swollen. I decided to start using this fly mask, and on Sunday, his eyes were perfectly normal again! No dripping, goobers, or swelling in sight. This fly mask also does not seem to bother him in any way, and it offers great protection for his ears as well. I also love that it comes in the SmartBlue to match his SmartBlue halter!
    Date published: 2012-07-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A good purchase My horse has needed a fly mask with ears, as he is subjected to biting flies irritating the inside of his ears. I tried a different brand, however, it was way too big. I have been happy with the earless Kensington I previously purchased for him...a great fit and the darts around the eyes work really well. He is a warmblood but has a smaller, more refined head. If his ears were farther apart, this mask wouldn't work, but it is a great fit for him.
    Date published: 2012-07-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great buy I bought this fly mask because my horses ears are very sensitive to bugs, I already had a kensington mask without ears that I LOVE so I am sure that this one will be great quality as well! I love that its embroidered as well!
    Date published: 2012-07-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from nice large size mask I ordered a large blue with black mesh ears. My horse likes it and it fits great. He doesn't get over hot in it and it does the job!
    Date published: 2012-07-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A great mask and I've tried many I run a 16-horse barn and have tried SuperMask and Cashel...the Cashel ears always rubbed my horse as well as many horses at our barn could get the Cashels off. The SuperMasks stayed on better but the quality was not a good as this mask. THe Kensington mask ears were bigger, and I like how they are stiff fabric and stand up. Great quality, the fur lining is better quality as well. A better mask overall. Stays on well, too.
    Date published: 2012-07-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Was too small The medium was too small for my large pony, but the large was way too big for her. It's too bad because I love the quality of these masks, and have the large with the removable extended nose for my horse.
    Date published: 2012-07-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this Product I purchased this item the start of fly season last year along with the leg wraps. This was by far the best purchase i could have ever made. After one and a half fly seasons these items still remain intact and in great condition. I have purchased other leg wraps/flymasks before but none of them have withstood the fly season let alone almost 2! Couldnt be happier with the quality and the product. This product line is my go to when ever i need a new item.
    Date published: 2012-07-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth the Money I've only had my Kensington fly mask for a couple of weeks now, but I love it! I bought another well-recommended fly mask (based on reviews) first and within a week it had several holes in it. The Kensington is holding up great! There's not even a stray piece of material. I got the green with navy embroidery, and it looks fantastic!I've already recommended it to a couple of barn mates!
    Date published: 2012-07-05
    • 2015-05-27T09:52CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.3
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_6, tr_87
    • loc_en_US, sid_2291, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Recipe: Homemade Carrot and Oat Treats
    It has been such a cold and snowy winter here in Massachusetts for the past few months. I look for any excuse to fire up my oven. Prior to visiting my horse Bug last weekend I decided to make her

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.