Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Kensington Fly Mask with Ears

Kensington Protective Products
- Item #12291
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer. That means this item isn't eligible for additional discounts or promotions.
We're sorry, but certain colors/sizes are sold out and are no longer available.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

A fly mask that lasts! Textilene® is a breathable mesh fabric that's vibrant and durable enough to withstand outdoor use. The densely woven PVC strands enable this fabric to be heat-sealed while the high UV performance ensures protection and long lasting color. The fabric provides years of reliable relief against the sun, wind and dirt. Plus, the Textilene® fabric is fully recyclable.

Favorite Features

  • Constructed of the innovative, extremely durable, fully breathable mesh Textilene® fabric
  • Double eye darts for maximum room around the eyes
  • Mesh ears to keep bugs out
  • Heavy duty double locking VELCRO® Brand Closure and elastic neck strap will ensure a correct fit and will keep the mask on and in place
  • Fleece around the nose and neck will keep your horse comfortable
  • Provides 73% UV protection

Sizing It Up

Small (Large Pony/Yearling)
Medium (Arab/Cob)
Large (Horse)
X-Large (Warmblood/Small Draft)

Kensington Fleece Fly Masks run slightly large, so if you think your horse may be between sizes, please size down.

You Might Like
    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Kensington Fly Mask with Ears is rated 4.2347 out of 5 by 98.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It stays on I bought this in the medium size which is Arab sized. I didn't read close enough. My horse is 15.2 ApHC mare who usually wears cob. Anyway, this is a little small and I agree the ears are really close together which will likely work on an Arab but less so on a QH etc. I have the next size up on my Appendix mare and it's fits well. The bottom line: they stay during turnout and hold up well, and are easy to wash.
    Date published: 2015-05-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from stands up with my active crew This is my 3rd year purchasing kensington fly protection wear. Use mask, leg wraps & sheet to keep a very fussy horse who will run all day from bugs without them. Even considered having to sell him at one point.
    Date published: 2015-05-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! Fits great! Doesn't rub! Really holds up well! Not to mention pink and embroidered!!!
    Date published: 2015-05-08
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Made My Horse Sweat This is a great fly mask however I wish it was a bit more breathable. The fleece around the ears made my horse sweat a lot so it got super itchy for him. It's fine for cooler days but then the flies aren't really out anyway. I wish it didn't make my horse sweat because it looks so cute on!
    Date published: 2015-04-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Was wonderful--until his neighbor destroyed it! This mask fit my horse better than any flymask I've tried--and he is hard to fit--he has a Thoroughbred head but it is huge! So, he's always stuck between horse and warmblood sizes. I still, like all flymasks, had to jerry-rig the seams and non-fleece edges with moleskin to help with rubs. The fleece doesn't stay that fleece-y for long. And I wish it came in lighter colors with light trim--it's hot when we use flymasks here! Ears fit nicely and velcro was super sticky. Others might be interested to know that I ordered 6 different flymasks to try simultaneously. I tried them on myself to "see what I could see" through them and this one had better visibility than most. Very classy looking too!So, basically I thought it was great--until his neighbor ripped a hole through it and pulled it off of my boy, badly scraping up his nose in the process! I nearly caught him in the act, as he was still parading around with it, completely destroyed in his mouth in the neighboring paddock when I got there! BTW the velcro was still attached together. I've had a lot of different flymasks on my guy and this has never happened with his neighbor, so I'm wondering if there was something attractive about the pattern or the fleece edging?? I'm not going to repeat the experiment for the sake of my boy's nose... And that it only lasted a week!
    Date published: 2014-12-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from kensington fly mask with ears This is the best fly mask with ears I have bought. My horse actually keeps this one on. Seems to be well made and latches on to a snug fit. Roomy eye darts which I love. You cant go wrong with this fly mask.
    Date published: 2014-11-19
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from A Very Strange Fit I bought this fly mask because I needed something a little more heavily constructed than the Cashel one, plus I liked the fleece lined edges. While it is definitely made of sturdier materials and looked like it would hold up a lot better than the Cashel, the fit at the poll and ears is terrible. The ears are way too close together; there's not a horse in the world that actually has ears with that little space between them. The mask actually rubbed hair out at the bases of the outsides of my horse's ears. The actual head/jaw portion of the mask fit properly, so going up a size wasn't the solution. Kensington needs to re-design this fly mask so that the ears are placed the proper width apart, and then let me know because once that fit problem is solved, I'd love to try this fly mask again. Until then, sadly, I have no choice but to return it and go back to the Cashel.
    Date published: 2014-09-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So cute! I bought this in a size medium for my horse who where's a cob size bridle and horse size halter and it fits great! I love the way it looks and it has extra room in the ears if your horse has big ones! I would defiantly buy another.
    Date published: 2014-09-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent product!! It is great helps keep flys out of our standardbred's eyes!! runs large enough to fit his big head !!
    Date published: 2014-08-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from looks great! the purple flymask fit my grey thoroughbred mare perfectly and looked great on her too! no more nasty flies in her eyes and ears
    Date published: 2014-07-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect fit, Happy Horses The fit for both horses was perfect. My gelding was said to not like a fly mask but he loves this one! My mare is much happier also.
    Date published: 2014-07-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE this flymask! Love the embroidery! One of the only masks my horse hasn't destroyed! Made super well! Highly recommend :)
    Date published: 2014-06-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome fly mask I have this mask in the green plaid, horse size. It fits my 16hh warmblood horse really well. The feature I particularly love is the elastic insert on the double lock throat strap. This allows me to tighten the mask up so bugs can't fly in, but allow it to still be comfortable and stay on. The material is sturdy, with softer material for the ears. The cut is generous enough, and the colors are very nice. Overall a quality product that I expect to last for many seasons.
    Date published: 2014-06-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from one tough mask! I bought this mask for my horse who is turned out with a destructive buddy. He has ripped the cashel masks to shreds. So far, this mask has not been touched! It looks the same as the day I bought it.
    Date published: 2014-05-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Kensington Fly Mask with Ears This fly mask is wonderful, it fits perfect, and looks wonderful. The quality is great!!
    Date published: 2014-05-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good looking Seems to be well made. Is now being tested on my pasture horse. Good fit.
    Date published: 2014-05-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice mask, design change from last year We got this mask this year for our new pony as the one we had last year was pink and now we have a gelding. :) The old one was still in great shape though. No question that we'd buy the same one again. OK now the difference in design this year is BIG to me - the mask now slips on OVER the head (as in, you have to slide it up the horse's nose, due to the new band of elastic holding the sides together). The old design allowed you to "wrap it around" and that was nice for our pony who didn't like things going over her head. I do wish that the description was more clear about that.
    Date published: 2014-04-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So far so good! I purchased 2 of these fly masks-1For a fly-mask-Houdini; and 1 for a fly-mask-destroyer. So far, here's the deal:Definitely, these masks are studied than the many, many, (really many) masks I've bought. So far, neither horse have been able to pull the mask off, or shred it. I? Could not be happier at this point! Stay tuned-the month is young!
    Date published: 2014-04-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fits well with plenty of eye clearance I bought this mask in the middle of winter. Most suppliers were out of stock for the season, but I has happy that SmartPak wasn't! My Appy ulcerated his cornea and vet said to keep a mask on him to protect the eye and also give him some relief from the snow glare. I have other fly masks but none gave his eyes as much clearance as this one did. I do like the elastic in the Velcro closure that the mask has, but I had to figure out how much to tighten it as my boy is a Houdini and initially had to find the mask buried in snow! I also found his pasture mate was pulling it off him....jealous? I will be buying another for my other horse....once summer comes!
    Date published: 2014-03-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth buying again I bought my first Kensington fly mask three years ago. At the time I thought it was expensive for a flymask, but it was the only quick option. I had that first flymask for three years on horses that live outside! I have since bought three more for my other horses.
    Date published: 2013-10-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from ears are kind of big-- my daughter re-sewed to fit our Welsh pony better:)
    Date published: 2013-09-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cute and Durable The colors are pretty and at a large barn, embroidery is so helpful to keep track of which things go to which horse
    Date published: 2013-07-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful I am very pleased with this fly mask, so much in fact that I have ordered more of the same for the rest of my herd. The thick fleece prevents rubbing and the material is tough tough tough!
    Date published: 2013-07-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Ford F-350 of Fly Masks. This is my 3rd summer with this mask, and I can't say enough good things about it. It has survived my horse getting turned out 1) with a horse that is notorious for ripping the fly masks off of his paddock buddies, and 2) with a horse that my horse roughhoused with to the extent that his 600D rain sheet came out of it in tatters. In all of that, this fly mask has come off him exactly once. Every other horse in the barn has destroyed at least one fly mask in the time since I got this one, and while the fur is a little bit clumpy (like a well-loved teddy bear gets), otherwise, it looks just as good as it did the day I pulled it out of the package for the first time. I'm tempted to buy another one in a different color, just because I've had this one for so long I'm getting bored with looking at it. No sign, though.It's also SUPER-easy to clean. My boy is a real pig and cakes it up with mud at least twice a week. If I bring him in and it's already dried, I just give it a few brushes with my stiff grooming brush, and the dirt just falls right off immediately. If it's still wet, I turn the hose on it, sling it against the barn wall a few times to knock most of the water out of the fleece, and put it back on.I did buy a size too large because I wasn't aware that the products runs big, and it does, but all I have to do is fold the fuzzy strap over and it fits great. My horse is super sensitive to rubs, and hasn't had a single one from this mask. He knows what it's for, and puts his head down right away when he sees that I have it!
    Date published: 2013-07-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Attractive, sturdy mask I wanted a mask that stayed on my horse, protected him adequately, and was more attractive than a plain old grey one. This mask does all those things wonderfully. It runs a tad large, but the double velcro strap still keeps it on securely, even when the velcro doesn't match perfectly. The soft fleece at the nose is a nice touch, and of course Kensington products are of dependable quality and a nice array of colors. The SmartBlue looks sharp on my grey.
    Date published: 2013-06-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fancy, sturdy fly mask I bought this for my pony in the hopes that due to the SmartBlue color and monogramming it wouldn't migrate from horse to horse. She has a cob sized head with 'mare ears', the large is a little bit too big around so they seem to run true to bridle size with fairly normal ears. The mask is sturdy and the mesh on the ears and the fleece trim are both very soft so I'm hopeful it will hold up to 24/7 turnout without giving her rubs. Plus the SmartBlue is gorgeous and the monogramming is cute and subtle.
    Date published: 2013-05-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good purchase Fits well on my large draft. I do wish the material were softer but she enjoys it!
    Date published: 2013-05-28
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Awkward Fit There is something strange with the fit or cut of this fly mask. The bottom fleece edge barely rests below my mare's eyes, and the section behind the ears and on the bridle path is about three inches wide. (see picture)The quality is good, and I like how the ears are lined with a soft nylon material. The fleece is super soft, but the fit isn't right and I can't get it to stay on my horse. I've owned several other brands and styles of flymasks and haven't had any issues.
    Date published: 2012-08-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Fly Mask I really like this fly mask, however the area where the eyes are not shaped the best, and when my horse rubs sometimes they will get inverted and press against his eye.
    Date published: 2012-08-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Fly Mask! This is the fourth summer that I've been using this fly mask on my two draft crosses and they still look NEW! Great protection for the horses. In fact, my 'boys' know what the masks do for them as they lower their heads for me to put them on. My masks are a little large as I bought the XL size, but the horse size probably would've fit them better as they are draft crosses but each only about 15.3. The ears are a little too long and the velcro on the throat lach just needs to be rolled over to be snug against them - but even with my 'ordering' size mistake, the masks stay on them all night and have worked well for FOUR summers! Wonderful product - your horse will thank you!
    Date published: 2012-07-27
    • 2015-08-29T12:45CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_6, tr_92
    • loc_en_US, sid_2291, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Horse of the Month: Dax
    Horse of the Month: Doc’s Mostly Yella aka Dax Breed: Quarter Horses Age: 8 years old PATH Intl. Member Center: Miracles in Motion Location: Keene, NH Dax is an 8 year old palomino quarter horse. He is about 16hh and

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright 2015 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.