Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Colors and Styles

Kensington Fly Boots

Kensington Protective Products
- Item #12292
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer. That means this item isn't eligible for additional discounts or promotions.
We're sorry, but certain colors/sizes are sold out and are no longer available.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Finally, fly boots that stay upright! Can be used to protect wounds, as a covering over leg wraps, and for added protection when shipping.

Favorite Features

  • Three VELCRO® Brand closures keep boot secure on leg
  • Heavy fleece to help prevent rubs
  • Nylon support piece for reinforcement and structure
  • Exclusive USA made 2002 TEXTILENE ® Mesh is specially formulated to withstand fading, fire, mildew, soiling and wear and tear 

Sizing It Up

Boots measure 15" high and 12" in circumference.
Pair.

You Might Like
    out of 5
    86% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Kensington Fly Boots is rated 4.3184 out of 5 by 201.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from They stay up!!! I bought some hind boots last year for my old retired TB who is very intolerant of the flies! They worked great so got fronts for him this year too and a pair for my other TB - they are turned out in them 10 hours a day and they are rarely out of place when we bring them in from the pasture
    Date published: 2015-07-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great quality Love my new fly boots, very durable material stay on well!!
    Date published: 2015-07-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Gets the job done! My gelding has arthritis in his knee and these help greatly when trying to keep flies at bay!
    Date published: 2015-07-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Colorful practicality! My horses are fashionably stylin' in their colorful new Kensington fly boots. With the constant rains this season in the Midwest, these are as beautiful as they are functional. Applause, applause!
    Date published: 2015-06-30
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from WOW !!!!!! My horse has very thing skin and the flies love her and bite her till she bleeds and she is constantly stomping. I LOVE these boots She has worn them for two months now and they do not to budge on her legs despite the running around,bucking and rolling. She no longer stomps at the flies.
    Date published: 2015-06-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I'm so happy I took a chance on these fly boots!!! I was a little skeptical about these boots being able to stay up and not slide down my horse’s legs and cause discomfort, but I decided to give them a try because of the reviews. I’m so happy I did because they stay on nicely! They feel a little stiff coming out of the package, but they soften after a few days. There are no wear marks on my horse and there is no indication that they are bothering him in anyway. There are zero bug bites of any kind in the areas the boots cover. Usually when a product like this lasts more than 24 hours on this horse, I consider it durable! The durability tests that I have witnessed thus far are, running with his buddies, rearing and playing, and he’s been through the woods that are on the property. These boots even stayed on when he took a swim in the water tank! I plan to buy more pairs w/my next Smart Pak order to take advantage of the free shipping!
    Date published: 2015-06-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice Purchased these to hopefully save feet once fly-stomping season begins on a mare that got tender feet last year. Others have said fly boots are a big help. Took a few days to get one adjusted correctly so it did not fall down. Both still twist somewhat but no biggie.
    Date published: 2015-06-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very effective boots for a good price My horse was having problems with the biting flies on his legs. He was stomping non stop and very irritated. These boots have eliminated the problem. The material is sturdy and stays up well on his legs. I have used them daily for about 4 weeks and they seem to hold up fine (though he is not rough on them). The boots fit him well with room to spare (16.2 fine bone horse). My only improvement would be that these boots came in different length options. I'd like a longer/taller boot to cover more of his lower leg, but overall they work well.
    Date published: 2015-06-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from works great I bought this a month ago for my mare that gets scratches on her socks. They stay put and are very durable. I haven't had any problems with them sliding down her legs and the first week she stomped a lot until she got used to them. They fit her just right, she's a 1200lb QH. Not sure how they would fit a smaller boned horse though. I'm very happy with my purchase.
    Date published: 2015-06-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from They get the job done I've used Kensington fly boots for years now. I've tried other, cheaper brands on occasion, but keep coming back to Kensington. I find that they last better if I hose them off when I remove them at night and flatten them out to remove the creases. I don't spend a lot of time at it, but I pull on them and hang them on the fence to dry.
    Date published: 2015-06-04
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from nice boot but does not hold up I have not had the a month and they are already coming apart at the seem and the fleece seems to rub if there is any moisture on the legs.
    Date published: 2015-05-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Comfortable These boots are easy to put on and fit comfortably. They keep the flies away from the whole lower leg
    Date published: 2015-05-21
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from No Sag, But Rubbed TB Ankles And Mesh Disintegrate I thought these were a sure thing when purchased, as they stated they had a lifetime warranty. Within 3 months, all the mesh around the ankles of both pairs I bought had broken/fallen apart and the fabric rubbed my TB's wussy skin.
    Date published: 2014-12-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally, the right product for FL weather! Tried other fly boots but these, by far, are the best for the Florida climate. They are not lined so they don't create heat and they do stand up. Both my 30+ mare and active 6-year-old gelding wear them all day w/o rubs or falling down.
    Date published: 2014-12-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great so far! I bought these after my vet recommended some fly boots, because my mare's hind legs were swelling in reaction to the bugs. They've been great so far, but I do have to fasten the bottom strap well above her fetlocks and slide them down so they sit on top of the joint. Otherwise she winds up walking on the bottom edges.I have the matching pink fly sheet and mask too!
    Date published: 2014-09-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Held up great, even with a naughty foal! These boots exceeded my expectations. I finally had to retire my pair after a year-- they survived that long on a Dutch Warmblood broodmare in pasture through two mischievous nursing foals who both seemed to love removing velcro straps. One of the three straps on one boot did get torn off a couple months ago, and that boot finally ended up a play toy between two foals after being removed this last time, may it RIP. However, I still have the one remaining boot on the mare... Figure it's better than nothing! These really helped eliminate stomping, which is incredibly important for broodmares who have foals sleeping at their feet. Great product!
    Date published: 2014-08-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Upside down is better! I"ve been using these all summer on my 15.2 Missouri Fox Trotter. They definitely keep the flies off his front legs and are wearing really well. I keep them on him with the exception of our rides. They are really big but I've found that if I turn them upside down so that the fluffy part is on the bottom, they son't sag as much. And if they do, it's more gentle as they fall. But I do have to wrap a side inside the other for them to be secure.
    Date published: 2014-08-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best fly boot I have had almost every fly boot out there and none of them hold up as long as these do. They fit my 14.2 appy and my 17.1 Oldenburg. I havehad them for about two months now and theu are great.
    Date published: 2014-07-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Fly Boots These boots worked great for my Arabian. He is 15.2 hh and they are a perfect size, although I don't think that they will fit my 16.3 hh Thoroughbred. My Arab likes to chew everything, and these seem to be very durable. He also likes to take boots off, and these have not came off yet. I bought a different set last year that had a twisting issue, which ended up making his legs swell, these did not have that issue and they stand up well.
    Date published: 2014-07-03
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Wouldn't stay on The product looked exactly as expected. However, it was impossible to keep them on in the pasture. After a couple of days, it was obvious they were loose, so we tightened them a little higher (over the knee). However, in 3-4 days, they were covered in mud and sagging, and a day later one came off in the pasture, shredded.
    Date published: 2014-07-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from They stay up! I bought these for my 15.1hh TB mare because the flies bother her legs so much that she is constantly stamping her feet. The instant I put these on she stopped and seemed so much more comfortable. I tried them for about 5 hours the first time and went back to the barn to check and they were still on and hadn't sagged one bit. I plan to have these on her 24/7 this summer as they make a huge difference in her comfort and I am pretty confident they aren't going to sag.
    Date published: 2014-06-30
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from horrible fit and don't last long at all These are horrible. They are made for ponies or something tiny. I have a walking horse and they are way to short to cover the leg and not wide enough to go around comfortably. The fit is bad too. They don't stay up and are constantly falling down near the cornet band no matter how tight or loose I make each strap. Total waste of money. They didn't even last 2 weeks before holes appeared; where usually my horse can have a 4 leg set last over 2 fly seasons. I will never purchase again. I will have to do dome research to find my brand that I love but the local shops don't carry anymore.
    Date published: 2014-05-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really Nice I've had a set of four for two years. They held up very well for these years, until of my horse landed in a bad living situation and the boots were destroyed due to the amount of horse-skirmishes and mud. Yet, in all the mayhem of those weeks, Only one boot was ripped to the point where I had to fix it. I meerly hemed the bottom cloth up to meet the mesh higher, and the boot functioned perfectly. They're good quality for what you want, and come in cute colors to boot!
    Date published: 2014-05-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice boots Just got them today, so not sure on durability, but they fit pretty well, seemed to slip down when I asked him to trot around, but I put some bell boots on and that seemed to help them stay up :)
    Date published: 2014-04-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great! These stay up well and help keep my horse comfortable by keeping the flies off his legs. Fit well and quality construction.
    Date published: 2013-10-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Worked Great. May not last as long as I wish... I bought these a couple of months ago and i have been very pleased with fit. They not only fit well, but they stay on and don't sag down the leg. I had two pairs, and used them on two different horses: the flyboots look great on one horse (the quiet one), and show some definite sign of wear on the other horse (more active). The wear is such that the weave is getting loose around the fetlock. They are still usable, but may not last more than one summer or a summer and a half. I still like them and would buy them again because of the way they fit and stay put.
    Date published: 2013-10-18
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Worsst fly boots ever Nothing good to say about this product. After one day of use, one of the plastic stays broke. By day three, the mesh started to pull apart and the back of my horse's fetlock was rubbed raw. Never again!!!!
    Date published: 2013-08-17
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from good purchase Bought theses fly boots seem to rip easy had to return already only after a few days ....have tp see how long second pair last
    Date published: 2013-08-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best fly boots! I just recently bought my second set after having the first ones probably over 6 years ago. It's taken forever for my oldest horse to actually put holes in these I couldn't easily fix by using a nail to push the fibers back over. I also use them to keep his socks clean the night before a show. Keep him comfortable and clean all at the same time.
    Date published: 2013-08-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent protection I am quite happy with these boots. I have a mare that has a knee that is starting to give her a little pain now and then and these keep her from having to stamp flies. The furry liner does a good job at not attracting seeds from weeds/grass in the pasture. They stay up well if you get the middle strap secure above the fetlock. The mesh is coming away from the stitching in a couple places, but it has not affected the protection.
    Date published: 2013-07-23
    • 2015-08-30T15:04CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_20, tr_181
    • loc_en_US, sid_2292, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Horse of the Month: Dax
    Horse of the Month: Doc’s Mostly Yella aka Dax Breed: Quarter Horses Age: 8 years old PATH Intl. Member Center: Miracles in Motion Location: Keene, NH Dax is an 8 year old palomino quarter horse. He is about 16hh and

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright 2015 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.