Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

Kensington Breakaway Halter with Lead

Kensington Protective Products
- Item #12322
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The Kensington Breakaway Halter Set with Lead is stylish and functional!

Favorite Features

  • Triple stitch, 1” nylon webbing with padded nose band
  • Leather breakaway at buckle and snap at throat
  • Matching 9.5 ft. 5/8” poly lead adds a touch of fashion to your everyday halter 
  • Exclusive USA made 2002 TEXTILENE ® Mesh is specially formulated to withstand fading, fire, mildew, soiling and wear and tear
  • Brass plated snaps and hardware to insure maximum strength.

Sizing It Up
Pony (Pony/Yearling)
Cob (Arab/Cob)
Horse (Standard Horse)
Oversize (Warmblood/Small Draft)

Please note- sizes tend to run small. If your horse is a large cob, then you should consider ordering a large size halter. If your horse is a large horse, then you should consider order an XLarge size halter.

Halter Size...Crown Piece (ring to middle hole)...Cheek Piece...Nose Band...Throat Latch
Small...12 ½ "...5"...8"...10"
Medium...16 ½"...6 ½"...9"...13"
Large...18"...7"...11"...14"
XLarge...20 ½"...7"...11"...14"

Imported.

Please note, all breakaways halters will release at different degrees of pressure under different circumstances.

Customers Also Shopped For
The Wellfleet Double Raised Padded Halter features a ...
Description:
The Wellfleet Double Raised Padded Halter features a distinctive double raised detail on the noseband and browband enhancing the elegance of this beautifully crafted halter. Wellfleet Bridlework represents the combination of the finest vegetable tanned North American bridle leather available ...
The Professional's Choice Clinician Halter is designed by ...
Description:
The Professional's Choice Clinician Halter is designed by professionals, this custom-made halter features two strategically placed knots that trigger pressure points on the horse's nose to help maintain control of a difficult or young horse. The halter is slightly rigid, ...
The Hybrid Halter genius design was invented by ...
Description:
The Hybrid Halter genius design was invented by Kalley Krickeberg's Horse Education Company. The Hybrid Halter is a combination halter for universal use. With the Hybrid Halter you will have improved training results, better control, and more convenience when compared ...
The SmartPak Beta and Cotton Breakaway Halter gives ...
Description:
The SmartPak Beta and Cotton Breakaway Halter gives breakaway a whole look!Heavy cotton webbing combined with brightly colored, and durable beta make this halter sturdy and eye catching. The easily replaceable break-away tab makes it safe and convenient! Great for ...
The Walsh Heritage Halter is perfect for turnout ...
Description:
The Walsh Heritage Halter is perfect for turnout with a 1" wide straight chin. Stamped edging and a single buckle design give this halter a very traditional look, making it a classic barn must-have! The beautiful havana leather with brown ...
The Schockemohle Memphis Padded Halter is a Schockemohle ...
Description:
The Schockemohle Memphis Padded Halter is a Schockemohle best seller! This versatile halter is perfect for show and daily work in the barn. The crown piece and noseband is padded withSoft fleece for your horse's comfort. Favorite Features Made fromSoft ...
Each halter is handmade by skilled Amish craftsman ...
Description:
Each halter is handmade by skilled Amish craftsman of the highest quality leather. Favorite Features Double stitched 1" nose and cheek pieces with contrastingSoft padding Adjustable chin strap Rolled throat piece, convenient snap at throat for easy on 1" double ...
out of 5
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
    Experience:
  • Competitor:
Quality
Value
Palatability

Helpful?

Kensington Breakaway Halter with Lead is rated 4.480769230769231 out of 5 by 156.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice quality and pretty We are really happy with this halter. We bought the blue plaid which looks great and fits well. I did get the extra breakaway strap due to the other reviews but have not needed to use it. The one it came with has worked fine.
Date published: 2016-02-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I love the halter! I am VERY happy with the halter but found the lead line too long. I drape the lead line over my mare when loading her into and out of the trailer; I was afraid she would step on it. I cut almost two feet off and now it's perfect (aside from the ugly end that I burned and wrapped with thread).
Date published: 2016-01-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very handsome! I love the way this looks on my Gelding! The only issue is the fit. It's a little tight in the throat latch and it's a little short. I'm worried the next size up would be too big though.
Date published: 2015-12-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very pretty I love this halter and lead rope. The colors and design are perfect. The quality is great. It seems like they will hold up for years.
Date published: 2015-11-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! My mare looks gorgeous in her new halter and lead set!
Date published: 2015-10-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Many adjustments available I have bought these halters for many years for all my horses. The adjustments are nice, especially on the nose band, so that they fit the horse's face properly. The breakaway feature is a must. The colors and plaids are exception. They last forever and wash up nicely. If you are wondering, I recommend getting one.
Date published: 2015-09-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Quality This halter is very well made, and has a great fit. The padded noseband and slightly stiffer sides make it very easy to slip on.
Date published: 2015-08-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love Kensington Quality I bought this for my daughters import. He is very hard on his gear, as he is only 4 yrs old. Very nice to have the security to know, this halter will break away if he gets into trouble. Really looks nice with his coordinating protective sheet!
Date published: 2015-07-31
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Love the color, not the quality I was very excited to get this as the pink plaid is really cute, but I was quickly disappointed with the large brass buckles and just the strength of the halter in general. The lead rope was like yarn, not substantial. A rare miss from SmartPak.
Date published: 2015-07-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Beautiful but CHEAP hardware didn't last a season I have a 12 yo gelding who is turned out during the day in his halter. It looked well made, but broke in less than 3 months. I have to say I've never seen such flimsy hardware--how do you break real metal? (Note the piece that should hold this buckle in is completely missing...which also means there's an inch-long piece of gold "metal" somewhere in their pasture that could skewer a hoof. That will be fun to go try to find in 20 acres.) Usually I only have to replace a halter every couple of years and that's just because it starts to look faded or frayed, but like others said, Kensignton really cut corners on the hardware. Interesting, in re-reading the description it just says "brass plated hardware"--plated what? Wouldn't buy or recommend Kensington again after this experience, which is a shame because the rest of the halter still looks new and was gorgeous on. Just can't trust the safety if it breaks this easily under regular wear. Thanks Smartpak for standing behind this purchase. You guys are always great.
Date published: 2014-12-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Bummer! I was so excited to get these halters and put them on my horses. They are so pretty! Like everyone else said, the breakaway pieces are not strong, so I had to replace them soon after getting the halters. Now about a year later, the hardware is completely rusty on one of my halters. My horses are not turned out with halters and the halters are kept out of the elements. This was a big bummer! The halter looks terrible and I will soon have to replace it.
Date published: 2014-10-21
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Pretty and that is about it Not impressed with the leather breakaway halter. It is VERY weak and a replacement leather strap costs only 3 bucks but to buy only a replacement costs a lot after shipping is included! The padded nose band has cracked within two mths. This halter is very eye appealing and would be good for just basic pasture wear but not for anything more then that (ie; tie up for tacking up, trailering), not worth the 50 bucks. Lead rope is very durable and soft in your hands. Wish this would have worked out. Happy that SmartPak will take it back, even after 6mths!!I have a draft cross and purchased this in the pink.
Date published: 2014-09-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great halter with nice looks I have been using this halter for over a month now and it has been great. I think it will last for years. I find it to be thicker and higher quality than other, cheaper halters. I originally ordered the X-large for my 16.3 hand warmblood cross based on other people's reviews. My horse does not have a large warmblood-like head. I ended up having to exchange the halter for a size Large. This one fits him perfectly. It looks very nice too.
Date published: 2014-09-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love! This halter is just perfect. The material is easy to clean off mud and dirt and the latch is easy to open and close. I love that there is padding and this halter looks great on my horse. The breakaway piece has not broken over the last 4 months with daily turnout. I get lots of compliments on this halter. I love this halter and definitely recommend it!
Date published: 2014-08-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Kensington I just put it on my horse and on the second day the nut and bolt can apart . really liked it when I got it, but I am sending it back and getting a baker one.My friend when and ordered Kensington the same day I put it on my horse.
Date published: 2014-08-15
Rated 2 out of 5 by from WORST BREAKAWAY PEICE I bought this for my lesson horse. It looks good on him however he broke the brake away piece in the pasture. And when I ordered the replacements they are smaller and the screws fall off so easy! I might try using a screw driver but not to terribly happy with the purchase.
Date published: 2014-07-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sturdy but runs large! I just received this halter and took it out to my horse today. I ordered the large and it is too big. I buckled the poll strap and the chin strap on the last holes and it was still too big. But I can tell it is sturdy and well made so I'm just going to exchange it for a medium. I really like the halter itself. For reference, my horse is a 15.1hh TB mare. She is pretty fine boned, but has a longish head. I am sure the medium will fit her perfectly.
Date published: 2014-07-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not bad I bought this a couple of weeks ago with the usual great Smartpak service (got it in a few days). It looks nice but when it gets wet it really grows, I almost need to tighten it a hole everywhere after I hose my horse. That's annoying because if my mare is out in the rain, it might get too loose and get caught on something. The other thing is that some of the metal paint is already wearing off already. My horse wears her halter while she's turned out, including rain as long as there isn't a thunderstorm, so the weather is probably playing it's part in that. Overall decent for the price, I won't buy it again though.
Date published: 2014-07-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Daughters Favorite Halter Ever!! My daughter is collecting the Smart Pink items for her horse and She just loves this halter! It looks great on her bay Arabian and it has held up well for the last year. I love the Pink Plaid, Padded Noseband and Breakaway Crown. This is something she uses everyday!
Date published: 2014-06-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Distinctive and looks great! I bought this recently so can't speak to durability, but it is a great looking halter and lead rope combination. Everyone who sees it comments on how nice it is. Of course, it's still very clean so that could be part of it. I really like the cushioned nose band. The hardware works smoothly. The only negative I have is that the faux leather bits really look like faux leather.
Date published: 2014-06-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome fit. Runs a bit big so I ordered a size down. Very sturdy and great colors.
Date published: 2014-05-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Has there been a change in the lead rope? I bought the Kensington halter and lead rope a year ago and loved it. I am still using it today, however, the new one that I purchased a month ago has the lead rope totally falling apart already. Sorry to see that you changed it as it was so wonderful before.
Date published: 2014-05-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I LOVE this halter! However it does run super small! Both my geldings needed a size up from what they normally wear.
Date published: 2014-04-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Cute halter! I just received my halter today and am thrilled! It appears to be good quality and the light blue looks really sharp on my dark bay. I agree with the other reviews that the breakaway strap seems flimsy, so I plan to buy some replacements just in case. The large fits my 16.3hh thoroughbred like a glove. His face is a bit fine boned and he usually wears a small horse or even a large cob sized bridle. The matching lead rope is definitely an added bonus. Overall I would say that this set is a great deal for the price!
Date published: 2014-02-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this halter! I bought this halter almost a year ago and it is still holding up strong and wonderfully! I love the breakaway leather piece, it broke when it needed to, and it was very easy to order a replacement one and put on the halter. I love how this halter looks on my horse, and I love the matching lead rope that comes with it. It is a little pricey but definitely worth the price!!!! Would highly recommend this product to others!!
Date published: 2013-11-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! I love this halter/lead. The colors are great and it's nice and padded for your horse's comfort. 
Date published: 2013-11-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great and Colorful Halter I really like this Kensington halter. I got it in the Smart Sage color and it is very pretty! The quality is great. I ordered the XL for my 16.1hh AQHA gelding and it fits him well.
Date published: 2013-10-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic Halter & Lead!!! I love this halter. We have had it for more than 2 years now and it's lasted well as our "after bath" halter for shows. My horse has never really resisted so can't speak to the strength of the breakaway piece. The halter and lead have both been through the washer and dryer multiple times with absolutely no sign of wear or materials fatigue. They both still look brand new even a couple years later! We just got a new horse so are transitioning our previous SmartPink halter to every-day barn use and are about to order a new one (in a more "manly" color for my gelding) for use around the show grounds.
Date published: 2013-09-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ideal halter I bought this for my 20 year old North American Singlefoot! He looks so handsome in it and it fits great! Rave reviews from all at the barn!
Date published: 2013-09-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love This Halter! I've owned two of these halters, and I have been very pleased with them. They hold up really well even though my horse is pretty rough on halters. Plus, it looks great on him! I've bought the matching fly sheet too, and I've been pleased with it as well. Kensington is a great brand, and all of their products have lived up to my standards! This halter is my favorite halter to use!
Date published: 2013-08-11
  • 2016-08-24T11:18CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.3.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_14, tr_142
  • loc_en_US, sid_2322, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders