Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!

Product Video:

Our toughest waterproof blanket yet
Find out why

JP Korsteel Hunter Dee - Copper Oval Link

Korsteel
- Item #15125
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The JP Korsteel Hunter Dee - Copper Oval Link is a bit with a classic, traditional look and updated link. Made from Copper, the link encourages horses to salivate and play with the bit. This bit is great for horses who need incentive taking contact from a normal snaffle.

Imported

Favorite Features

  • Copper link encourages horses to accept the bit

Sizing

Available in 4 3/4", 5", 5 1/2" 12mm thick
What Customers Say:
You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "JP Bits by Korsteel provide the ultimate communication ...
    Description:
    "JP Bits by Korsteel provide the ultimate communication between horse and rider. The exclusive curved design provies comfort and enhances performance. Traditional stainless steel snaffle mouth Imported"
    "The Myler Bitting System is a graduated system, ...
    Description:
    "The Myler Bitting System is a graduated system, meaning that as your horse learns and progresses through his training, you will change the way you communicate with him by re-bitting him periodically. Each Myler Bit is designed to use select ...
    "Korsteel bits are proven performers for all levels ...
    Description:
    "Korsteel bits are proven performers for all levels of training and competition. They are crafted from materials of the highest quality. 20 mm mouth. Imported."
    "The Myler Bitting System is a graduated system, ...
    Description:
    "The Myler Bitting System is a graduated system, meaning that as your horse learns and progresses through his training, you will change the way you communicate with him by re-bitting him periodically. Each Myler Bit is designed to use select ...
    "The Stubben Loose Ring Snaffle- Copper Mouth is ...
    Description:
    "The Stubben Loose Ring Snaffle- Copper Mouth is a double broken loose ring that is suitable for all disciplines and all levels. It is equally functional for beginners and experienced riders. The Sweet Copper metal offers the advantage of combining ...
    "The Myler Bitting System is a graduated system, ...
    Description:
    "The Myler Bitting System is a graduated system, meaning that as your horse learns and progresses through his training, you will change the way you communicate with him by re-bitting him periodically. Each Myler Bit is designed to use select ...
    "Novocontact bits are designed to create a unique ...
    Description:
    "Novocontact bits are designed to create a unique oval shape which widens the contact surface on the tongue while the rider keeps a steady contact. As the rider gives a rein aid the mouthpiece turns forward and the contact surface ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    99% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    JP Korsteel Hunter Dee - Copper Oval Link is rated 4.9 out of 5 by 74.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I like it! This is a great bit to try if you want to avoid the nutcracker action of a regular snaffle. it looks good, is good quality, and my horse likes it. It gives me more control than my loose ring oval mouth JP copper mouth snaffle.
    Date published: 2013-09-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great bit I purchased this bit for my QH. It made a world of difference. When I first got him, he was resistent to taking the bit. Now he gives me minimal difficulty. He also enjoys playing with it and promotes good salivation. I would recommend this bit. When I first pulled it out of the bag I thought the D ring looked very large, however, when put on it looked okay. Overall, I think my horse and I both love it.
    Date published: 2013-09-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from JP Bit I am a big fan of JP korsteel bits (Have 3 of them lol) and I decided to buy this bit for my QH mare who hates every bit I've tried on her besides a short shanked curb with a copper dog bone mouth piece, but I wanted to use a milder bit so I looked to this one and it has been the best so far, think the copper makes a big difference in her acceptance of a bit, and I like that it is formed to lay over the tongue better. I would definitely recommend this bit
    Date published: 2013-07-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful bit! When I first got this in the mail, I worried the D rings would be too large and overwhelm my mare's small mouth. (They measure 3.5" in height if anyone's wondering, I absolutely could not find a measurement online at all)However, after a few rides I realized that it's perfect! The larger D rings are in style (at least where I live) and they actually aren't too large at all. My mare loves the copper pieces and I've noticed more salivation already!Very nice, mild bit!
    Date published: 2013-06-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Bit My OTTB goes great in this bit. She really likes the copper center with the double joints!
    Date published: 2013-06-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great bit My horse likes this bit. He accepts it easily. I didn't need anything harsh, and this friendly bit does the trick.
    Date published: 2013-05-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great bit! I purchased this bit for my 3 year old TB. He was fussy about a full cheek and not reponsive enough with a thick eggbutt so I decided to give this a try after much research. The dee rings are a perfect size and he listens very well with this in his mouth. I noticed increased salivation after having it in for 20 minutes. He does sometimes pay with the oval more than I care for but he is only 3. I feel like he is happier with this in his mouth and it looks great.
    Date published: 2013-03-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this bit! My horse normally is very fussy with his mouth, always chewing the bit, or opening his mouth. He is a green WB. I've tried loose rings, happy mouths, ect, and didn't get a great response. This bit had my horse so soft, and relaxed. He was responsive and got on the bit. LOVE this bit.
    Date published: 2013-03-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2013-03-04
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from An Okay Bit I like the copper in this bit but am not overly impressed with the response I get from my horse when using to train. I will keep this bit and use it for more leisurely rides. Though, for the price I think it is overall a nice bit.
    Date published: 2013-02-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love My horse seems to really like this bit!
    Date published: 2012-12-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Does the trick! Just the bit we were looking for! Works great and a great price!
    Date published: 2012-10-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fits the bill I'm sure people have their reasons for buying the other brands that cost $80 or even $150 but I think for most horses this version is just fine. I've used korsteel in the past and have no complaints. I had mine engraved too since it's the bit style of choice at my barn and everything seems to grow legs around there.
    Date published: 2012-09-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good price, great quality I have a 15.1 TB mare that i ordered the 4 3/4 bit for. She took to it right away and does very well it in. My only complaint is the size of the "D." She's pretty petite and they look a bit large on her.
    Date published: 2012-09-13
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Ok bit Bought this bit in the hopes of finding something as palatable as the Happy Mouth but more durable. The price point was great and I think it's a good bit for the value, but I just don't love this bit for my horse. The copper french link is more of a coating so Teddy didn't mouth it as much as he had his Happy Mouth. I also found the D rings to look really big on his somewhat petite Quarter Horse nose. I have passed this bit along to my trainer who has put it on a OTTB who had been in a plain french link and he is really liking it. I upgraded to the KK Ultra D ring instead.
    Date published: 2012-09-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Bit for Baby I bought this bit for my three-year-old who just came home after his first 90 days under saddle. He was in a eggbutt French link and I wanted a nice stable bit with that mouthpiece along with the copper. I use a loose-ring version of this bit on my mare and she's pretty happy with it. So far it's worked well for him and these are well-made and designed bits for a good price.
    Date published: 2012-08-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Bit I got this as a change from a full-cheek snaffle for my quarter horse, and he LOVES this bit. He is very soft and round in it, with great forward movement. A lovely, gentle bit.
    Date published: 2012-05-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My horse likes it I bought this bit for my brand new 5 year old OTTB and as far as I can tell, he seems to like it. I wanted to get the Herm S KK ultra but it was out of my price range and I am so glad I got this one. My horse is becoming very soft and responsive and being off the track, has a tendency to want to balance on the bit, so he is getting a lot better thanks in part to this soft bit. I would totally recommend it.
    Date published: 2012-04-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-04-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from lovely bit my horse appreciated the copper link in the middle and he remained as light as he does in the french link gag. The bit is reasonably priced and is also quite lovely.
    Date published: 2012-04-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Bit, Good Value This is a good bit, especially for the price. I bought the 4 3/4" and the copper link seems a little large, but it isn't a huge problem. I don't know if it isn't proportionally sized, or if I was just expecting something a tad smaller. Seems well-made and high quality.
    Date published: 2012-03-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Bit Ever! This bit is well made, and my horse loves it. The copper oval link is my go-to bit for almost every horse I know!
    Date published: 2012-02-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great all around bit! Use this for flatting, jumping everything for an ideal all around bit. Less severe bith multiple breaks and horses love it!
    Date published: 2012-02-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Bit I love this bit and so do the horses. They are very soft when it's in their mouth! The mouth piece is curved too.
    Date published: 2012-01-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good value My horse, who has worn a regular snaffle all of his life took to this bit immediately and I feel that he's happy with the center piece.
    Date published: 2011-12-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Happy so far I bought this for my very green 6 year old Anglo-Arab. He is a big boy who is a bit mouthy. He seems pretty happy with it so far and chomps on the bit less. I am a fan of double jointed bits for the most part anyway so it was nice to see this as an option. The 5 1/2 inch size fits him pretty well too.
    Date published: 2011-08-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Smart purchase Love this bit. It was cost effect and does the job. Our horse responds just like we expected her to. Thanks SmartPak!
    Date published: 2011-08-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Not what I needed but nice bit I was on a quest to find a d-ring with the lozenge without getting a KK Ultra. Nice bit, decent price, I just found out that my horse doesn't like copper and he didn't respect it much
    Date published: 2011-08-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just what my horse needed. My horse wears a 4.75" bit. As you can imagine, there are very few bits that come in this size — and very few that are soft enough for his sensitive mouth. I love the curved bars of the JP bits, as I feel they are very soft and forgiving to my horse's mouth. The oval link is a lot softer on his tongue, too. My only complaint is the copper (which is also great for making him salivate) scratches up very quickly and the bit looks worn on that particular part, and it can be kind of hard to clean the joints. My horse loves it, so I can't complain!
    Date published: 2011-08-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just what we needed This was the perfect choice for my green TB. The thin mouth piece fits in his small mouth better then fatter snaffles and he loves the copper center piece. I like that is has large D's on a 4.75" bit, most of them out there have small pony sized D's on that size mouth piece. Great quality, just what I expect from Korsteel.
    Date published: 2011-06-03
    • y_2017, m_1, d_20, h_22
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_7, tr_67
    • loc_en_US, sid_5125, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=AGE, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders