Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

IRH Elite Xtreme Helmet

International Riding Helmets
- Item #16898
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're sorry, but certain colors/sizes are sold out and are no longer available.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Low profile geometry and extreme ventilation make the new IRH Elite Xtreme Helmet one of the most comfortable and fashionable helmets on the market. The center front vents together with the right, left and 2 rear vent ports ensure maximum air intake and the optimal air flow needed for cooling.

Favorite Features 

  • Harness system is completely adjustable and is designed at the back to accommodate a pony tail without affecting the helmet's fit. 
  • The IRH Elite Xtreme Helmet is ASTM F-1163-04a/SEI Certified.

Imported

Sizing It Up  

Helmets Comparison Chart

You Might Like
    out of 5
    89% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    IRH Elite Xtreme Helmet is rated 4.4224 out of 5 by 116.
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Great fit and comfortable, but poor quality! I bought this recently for the helmet awareness week to replace my old GPA show helmet. I got a long oval size and the fit is perfect, very comfortable and light. No forehead pressure marks :) The bummer part: I have worn this helmet only a few times since getting it, and the black paint is scratched and shows white marks. It has not been tossed around or handed rough at all. I would not mind the scotches if it didn't appear that the black matte finish was just spray painted on a white helmet. I can see the paint just peeling off more and more. Very disappointing because the fit is great, but it is going back!! I do however very much appreciate SmartPaks return policy, thank you so much for taking care of your customers!!
    Date published: 2014-09-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great helmet! Comfortable and attractive I really like this helmet. I think it runs a bit small. My other two IHR helmets were both 71/8 and in this one, I needed a 71/4. Thank you SmartPak for free shipping both ways! The helmet does not make me look like I have a bubble head. It is super comfortable and the air vents make it nice and cool for the summer. No complaints!
    Date published: 2014-07-19
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from What's up with the ears? During helmet awareness day, I figured I'd give myself a present for being such a good girl and actually wearing my(cheap) helmet while riding. Since my 4-year-old has this model helmet and he never wants to take it off, I figured it must be comfortable. For me, however, that was not the case. It comes down so low that my (very normal) ears were squashed flat against my skull underneath. After a couple of minutes of trying it on at home this was driving me batty already. Perhaps there are people who are not sensitive to this or whose ears are somehow not in the way of the fit of this helmet, but I am returning it. On the upside, it is a very good looking helmet and very well-made.
    Date published: 2014-07-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Major Price increase! I love this helmet, I had 2. Crashed in both of them riding my young horse this weekend. Smartpak had the record of my purchase and I paid $139 for this helment in 2011. Just looked up the replacement info from IRH and realized I missed the 3 year crash replacement deadline by a week :( I really don't want to spend over $200 to replace this helmet, so I guess I will be looking into other options.
    Date published: 2014-06-23
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Helmet! This is a really great helmet! I ordered the long oval and it fit my head better than any other helmet I have tried on. The only problem is that it is cut so low that it touches my ears and folds them over. I really tried to look past this because the helmet was great in every other way, but it was too painful for my ears so I did have to send it back. 
    Date published: 2013-12-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this helmet and they improved it! The features that I need are the grey color(stays cooler)shape and comfort. I had an older model and loved it, now they have added a washable liner and a better quality harness. 
    Date published: 2013-11-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fitting helmet These helmets fit the long oval head shape ! No more pain on the forehead !
    Date published: 2013-10-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lightweight, good fit This helmet is lightweight, a major requirement for the heat of South Texas riding. It is also comfortable and looks pretty good. I cannot comment on durability as I have only worn it a few times.
    Date published: 2013-09-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Update on July 15 Post I did go ahead and return the original helmet, exchanging it for the next larger size. What a difference! Definitely think about sizing up on this one, and be wary of the sizing chart. By the chart, I should wear a 7. I ordered a 7 1/8 since that is what I usually wear. I returned that for a 7 1/4 for a perfect fit.
    Date published: 2013-08-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Cooler helmet The IRH Elite Xtreme Helmet is nicely vented. It stays a little cooler in the hot summer heat than others I've used. It also has a modern design and many safety features.
    Date published: 2013-07-17
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Overall Good Helmet Purchased this as a second helmet. The fit is a little tight, but I'm afraid the next size up would be too large. My other helmet has the adjustment knob, whereas this doesn't, so "it is what it is." The helmet appears well made and I don't have the bubble-head look. The Helmet Awareness Day sale made it more affordable.
    Date published: 2013-07-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this helmet! I love this helmet. It's so great looking and super comfortable. Very cool in the summer. I have the grey and silver, and in the year since I bought it there are no scratches or marks.
    Date published: 2013-06-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice helmet I had received this helmet as a Christmas gift but it was from another website. It didn't fit right and after getting no help from where it was ordered, I called Smartpak. They were very helpful and I ordered a 6 7/8 long oval. Fits me very well. I have a 3 yr old tb in training so I want my head protected and to look good. This helmet doesn't give me that bubble look at all and I love that I can wipe it clean. The vents really help keep me cool. I wish it had a bit more padding inside to make it more comfy but overall I really like it.
    Date published: 2013-02-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Most comfortable helmet I have a long oval head plus I live in Phoenix, AZ. The fit of the helmet is wonderful.I have owned it for years now. I still love it !!
    Date published: 2013-02-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great helmet I've used this helmet for quite a while now and still almost looks brand new. Despite a few scratches from dropping it. I wear it all year long with no complaints. Cool enough in the summer and warm enough in the winter. Very comfy too, perfect fit.
    Date published: 2012-12-17
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Yay - it fits! This helmet fits my insanely round head with just a teeny bit of extra room front to back. It doesn't crush my ears down or sit directly on my eyebrows. The other best fit for me was CO JR8, but the harness was too short to go below my ears. I must have giant ears. Anyway this helmet is light, comfortable and very vented. I gave it 4 stars because it is not beautiful to look at, but it looks very nice on. I love it!
    Date published: 2012-11-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Wish it had worked for me So glad to see a long oval option. Unfortunately the liner inside the brim was coming unglued & ultimately the hat tipped forward on my head while riding. Liked the low profile & ventilation.
    Date published: 2012-11-12
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Sweet Helmet Ordered same size as old IRH and it fit perfectly. Looks & feels awesome.
    Date published: 2012-10-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from smartpak was great about the returns! i ordered in a few sizes and then just sent back the other helmets free of charge
    Date published: 2012-10-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect non expensive helment Love this helment. When it was time to replace my GPA I decided to go with an IRH. Didn't feel the need to spend all the extra money. Helment is comfy and cleans up nicely! Living in PA, we experiance hot and humid summers so instead of having a gross and smelly helment I am able to take out the liner and wash it with normal soap. I also trust that it can really protect my head in case of a fall.
    Date published: 2012-10-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from stylish & safe Love how it looks & it fits like the 4 year old IRH I had
    Date published: 2012-10-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent helmet When my old helmet finally could not be super-glued just one more time I gave in a decided to get a new helmet. My sister recommended the IRH Elite and I couldn't be happier. It is insanely comfortable both fit-wise and with the extra ventilation. I would and have recommended this helmet to all my friends.
    Date published: 2012-08-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Right One for Me This long oval helmet fits perfectly and, even better, it is very well ventilated.I appreciate your help in getting me the perfect fit in a very short time.
    Date published: 2012-08-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality and Value Very Comfortable Fit and more attractive shape. I especially liked the chin strap pad that contains those loose ends of the harness adjustment for a clean look.
    Date published: 2012-07-28
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Doesn't Fit Me I ordered this helmet on Helmet Awareness Day since my current schooling helmet needs replacing. I was so excited because this helmet looks awesome, even my non-horsey boyfriend loved the way it looks. I got a 7 1/8" per measurements and it felt too tight on the sides of my head. I exchanged for a 7 1/4" and suddenly there was a huge gap in the front & back of the helmet. We tried to shim up the front & back with some extra padding but it still felt loose. I am waiting for a return shipping label right now. Wish I had a nearby tack shop so I could actually try helmets on!
    Date published: 2012-07-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from No more hot helmet head! I chose the IRH Xtreme Helmet because of its durable finish and venting. I couldn't ride another summer with a non-breathable velvet helmet! Now, all of the excess heat from my head is just released through the vents and replaced by fresh, cool air. It almost feels like you're not wearing a helmet at all!
    Date published: 2012-06-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect! The SmartPak rep was so knowledgable, she helped me find just the right helmet and the perfect size! It is so comfortable and looks fantastic, like it is still brand new. We are already in the 90's here in Houston, so the vents are a must. My hair is still wet at the end of my ride, but my head is cool instead of steaming!
    Date published: 2012-06-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from FINALLY!!!!!!!! It took months and months to find a helmet that fit my oval head with masses of curly, thick hair. THANK GOODNESS I finally found something that's breathable and looks good (meaning: no mushroom head or space-alien look!).
    Date published: 2012-05-23
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fit was bigger than expected I normally take a 6 7/8 in the IRH older plain model and when I tried this newer model it was probably one size too big. I was hoping it would be smaller than my original and perhaps it is low profile but it still seems as big as all helmets are. The straps are good quality and well placed. I am going to try some helmets from my local tack store before reordering again. Smartpak is very easy to return to and hopefully my return will complete easily.
    Date published: 2012-03-24
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great helment Very nicely made helment. Love the look. Did not fit my head to I sadly had to return it.
    Date published: 2012-02-29
    • 2015-05-23T08:07CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.3
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_7, tr_109
    • loc_en_US, sid_6898, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Recipe: Homemade Carrot and Oat Treats
    It has been such a cold and snowy winter here in Massachusetts for the past few months. I look for any excuse to fire up my oven. Prior to visiting my horse Bug last weekend I decided to make her

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.